San Felipe apartment rental - January 2010 Moon Rise
January 2010 Moon Rise
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

San Felipe Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 King, 1 Twin Trundel & Sofabed. Sleeps 2-4 Adults + queen & full beds on deck

FROM MEXICALI, TO SAN FELIPE & TO THE SOUTH--GOOD ROADS, SAFE PLACES TO TRAVEL AND A GREAT PLACE TO SPEND YOUR NEXT GETAWAY! SAVE $$$ BUY YOUR GAS IN SAN FELIPE WHEN YOU ARRIVE IN TOWN AND WHEN YOU LEAVE.

Enjoy incredible sunrises from your bed on the sleeping deck, at the foot of the beautiful Sea of Cortez South of San Felipe, Baja California Norte, Mexico away from crowds, noise and hectic living, in a SOLAR COMMUNITY.

A perfect desert and oceanfront hideaway just 2-1/2 hours South of the U.S. Border. Your 2 bedroom , private bath, apartment is fully furnished and includes your own patio, palapa, and sleeping, viewing & entertaining deck with incredible tides, spectacular ocean views full of seabirds, dolphins, local fisherman and full moon rises. Beachcomb, swim, fish from shore and explore our desert & mountain trails or take the short drive into San Felipe, where you can savor the Mexican culture and enjoy great restaurants and night life.

San Felipe: SAN FELIPE WAS A SMALL SHRIMP FISHING VILLAGE --. We still have lots of fresh shrimp and other great seafood, incredible tides, sunrises and sunsets, but it's growing. Only, a very safe, 2 hr. drive from the U.S. Border, at Calexico, CA. A town full of warmth, retaining and sharing its culture from the pleasant 'Buenos Dias' hospitality to the numerous restaurants, food stands and fiestas. Once visited, it will find a special place in your heart, with dreams of returning as soon as possible.

OUR PLACE. The ocean sparkles up to our sandy beach, right up to your casita front door. Peaceful and beautiful, you can rest, relax, beach comb, read, fish, jump in for a swim or just take a nap under the palapa. After sunset, you will be able to view the most incredible sky, so full, it's indescribable. Shooting stars and intermittent meteor showers will keep you fascinated for hours as will our impressive tides.

Baja 250, 500 & 1000 Races: Baja Racing. For over 18 years SCORE has brought racing to Baja. The terrain is incredible for dune buggies, 4x4s, quads and motorcycles. You can have the opportunity at least 3 times a year to become a spectator. Bring your chairs, lunch and drinks along to a shady spot on the route, and spend the day watching the adventure and sometimes drama, as helicopters fly over their vehicles and chase cars come in to change a tire or make a quick repair.

If you don't race, you can still rent a quad in town and take off for the sand dunes, or have a picnic in the desert.There are also guided dune buggy tours, or take a trip down to Gonzaga Bay, another beautiful fishing and vacation spot about 65 miles south of your vacation hideaway. Miles and miles of clear, clean sandy beaches for your enjoyment!

Side Trips: Take an overnight trip to the Valle de Guadalupe, Mexico's northern wine country. You will enjoy a day of tasting fine wines, and other delicacies. As you go North from Ensenada on the Tecate Rd., you become enveloped in the vineyards. Tasting rooms and wineries in every direction, all coming into their own. Growers like L.A. Cetto were immigrants from Italy, Bibyoff from Russia and many others. You might try and make the wine festival in August and be pleasantly surprised.

More Details
Hide Details

We started building our house and the Casita in 1988,on weekends, from Palm Springs, CA. By 2000, we were ready to move to Baja full time, selling our homes in CA and moving South. It's been a wonderful 25 years -- 13 retirement years. Best retirement ever!!!! Although we came out of retirement twice; once to teach English at Colegio de San Felipe de Jesus followed by a 3 yr. stint in Human Resources and Management Training at El Dorado Ranch, North of San Felipe. Now, we are both fully retired and enjoying every moment of it!

Maureen Martinez purchased this apartment in 1988

When I first set foot on this property - no other homes around, I fell in love with it at first sight. The incredible tides of the Sea of Cortez at our feet, the Sonoran Desert to the West and the highest peak, San Martir overlooking the magnificent red rock canyons and wonderful places to explore in between -- I knew this is where we'd retire and spend the rest of our lives, and so we did, and we are.

We've been truly blessed to live in an incredible place and become a part of the culture -- our Baja friends, Mexican families, co-workers at the Ranch, students at the Colegio all have contributed greatly to our lives and retirement in Baja. Would recommend it to anyone.

25 Reviews of Property 157581 in San Felipe, Baja

CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA
average rating of 4.9583335 based on 25 reviews
business
CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157581
+1 760 902-9998
San Felipe Northern Baja
5

Best Vacation Ever!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
First, thank you to our hosts Frank and Maureen for an absolutely incredible vacation. Your warmth and genuineness easily made us feel welcome. We greatly appreciated your hospitality.

Wow, where to begin? I don't understand why some people book expensive hotel rooms near the ocean, or with a 'glimpse' of the ocean, when right here one can enjoy a full unobstructed 180 degree view of the sea right from their doorstep. The setting of this property is absolutely remarkable as most days ours were the only footprints on the sand. Quiet, secluded, and absolutely wonderful!!

Each day we had smiles on our faces and great new memories. Whether is was from falling asleep on the rooftop deck to a million stars and the sound of the water and waking to incredible pastel sunrises, or taking our daily early morning kayak excursions while viewing sea turtles, jumping fish, and even pods of dolphins. There is plenty to do to stay active including fishing, long walks and seashell collecting along the beach, exploring newly uncovered areas during low tides, and of course the ever-popular siesta.

Fishing was easy whether from the kayaks we brought or right from the shore. We caught rockfish and corvina, and probably would have done even better had we brought the right sized hooks. A quick trip into the fish markets of San Felipe brought us a kilo of fresh, large shrimp for $15, and a dozen steamer clams for just $1.50. This is not Cancun...this is the unspoiled Mexico where it's still easy to find lunch or dinner for two for under ten bucks. Lot of good restaurants in San Felipe, as well as right in the little village of Delicias which is just a couple miles away.

This location has it all....wonderfully charming hosts, the incredible natural beauty of the beaches of the Sea of Cortez, great food, and the warmth of the Mexican people. You've no doubt read about crime in Mexico, but not here. For our entire 10 night stay we left our kayaks and fishing gear on the beach, and left the doors to our casita wide open whether we were there or not....all without any problems whatsoever. We've been fortunate to have traveled extensively and I can say without reservation that this was our best vacation yet.

Thank you Frank and Maureen for a great experience. We hope to see you again soon! All the best,

Joe and Kathy
Owner's Response: Wow, all I can say is that it's one of the best reviews we've ever read. Thank you so much.

It's great to have guests who really appreciate and love this part of Baja like we do. You reminded us of our early days here, in the late 80s when we just couldn't get enough and spent 12 years of weekends driving back and forth, before we could retire permanently. After 11 more years, we are still finding new things to do and each day brings us something special.

You were great guests and we enjoyed meeting and talking to you, as well as Marty and Dominic, who got alot in, in the two days they spent with you. Best of all, you managed to enjoy yourselves almost every minute of every day -- just what vacations are for!

Your comments about the solitude and safety are especially helpful to those who question coming to Mexico for a vacation, at any time. We are in a unique place, without problems and we too leave our doors unlocked and sleep on our deck, comfortably without a care, something that we can't do in our gated community in Palm Desert. San Felipe is indeed a special, safe place, only 2 hours South of the U.S. crossing at Calexico, on good roads. We are truly pleased that you decided to come and stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes, Frank & Maureen
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157581
+1 760 902-9998
San Felipe Northern Baja
Parksville, BC, Canada
4

Such a beautiful Place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We have travelled the full length of the Baja often. This little place on the shores of the Cortez gave us one of the best holidays ever. The beach, the sunrises, the water washing the shore, the birds, the desert - and on and on. Absolutely beautiful. Mother Nature spared nothing creating this part of Mexico. The casa was comfortable and certainly met our needs. The owners, Maureen and Frank, were so helpful and trusting. When it was time to leave we knew that we had made two new friends. We will miss this place and them. Thanks for everything and perhaps one day we will return - that would be wonderful. Your Canadian amigos in Parksville. Brian and Faye
Owner's Response: Frank and I are always pleased when our guests enjoy this little piece of heaven by the Sea of Cortez. Having Brian and Faye with us for a month and a half was a very special time for us as well. Sharing recipes, watching Faye get so excited watching the Olympics and learning a bit more about hockey was equally enjoyable.. We had a very pleasant winter this year, with "some" wind and while Brian escaped shoveling snow in Parksville, he did help Frank move some sand. We do indeed look forward to your returning someday. Enjoy the beans!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157581
+1 760 902-9998
San Felipe Northern Baja
San Jose, California
5

The best vacation of my life!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
It has been a month since we returned from our beautiful vacation in San Felipe. It was not a day that I did not recall all our beautiful sweet moments in this absolutely lovely cottage owned by Maureen and Frank on the very shore of the Sea of Cortes.
Maureen and Frank were extremely friendly and helpful. They waited for us until 11pm and met us with their kind smiling faces. They showed us the house and I immediately fell in love with it. Lots of space to sit with the friends in the living area with great sea theme decorations. An amazing kitchen with absolutely all the dishes (awesome plates, wine glasses), utensils and appliances you might need. And you could see the Sea of Cortes right through the window and the door screen!
We started absolutely every morning with meeting this gorgeous sunrise - the pink-yellow-orange sun was calmly rising from the sea slowing my movements and thoughts and tuning for a beautiful morning meditation. Then was an amazing walk along the beach (lots of them with no one around). Just gorgeous pelicans and shining fish constantly jumping from the Sea in the air. Swimming in the warmest water, enjoying beautiful nature around. Then breakfast outside looking at the Sea. Maureen and Frank took care of everything - you will have great dinner table, lots of reclining chairs and of course their beautiful palapa. Between breakfast and lunch we were doing a lot of long beach walking - miles and miles with swimming and sea shell gathering.
Big local supermarket in San Felipe has a quality of a good supermarket in the US. We did one big shopping and were happy to cook dinner in the beautiful kitchen. When we felt for something special - quick trip to San Felipe always gave us a great choice of sea food and Mexican dishes. The moment the sun was disappearing we were ready to get to the roof for a glass of good wine and star gazing! Reading aloud before bed would finish a beautiful day. If you feel like travelling, there is a small town of Puerto Citos with hot springs right in the Sea of Cortes. You could also make a nice trip to the desert which is very green with a lot of beautiful plants and flowers. I can't wait to get back to this amazing place and I can't imagine better owners that Maureen and Frank. Thanks!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157581
+1 760 902-9998
San Felipe Northern Baja
5

Excellent weekend!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a wonderful time at Maureen and Frank´s place. They were both extremely accomodating, very nice people. The house was exactly what we wanted for a much needed weekend away. We took our kayak and also drove down the coast to Alfonsina´s. It´s a beautiful drive.
We hope to go back soon!!!
Thanks Frank and Maureen
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157581
+1 760 902-9998
San Felipe Northern Baja
Oakland, CA
5

Amazing Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had an excellent time at Maureen's and Franks hide away. Although somewhat difficult to find initially, once you do, it's well worth the journey. The views, the secluded atmosphere and access to an almost private beach is just simply fantastic! Maureen and Frank were extremely accommodating and ever such a sweet couple. Even in late May, it wasn't yet uncomfortably hot, and the ocean was like bath water. We would highly recommend this rental to anyone. Thanks for an exceptional holiday!

Katie and Erin
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157581
+1 760 902-9998
San Felipe Northern Baja
5

ANOTHER GREAT VISIT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was our 4th visit in less than a year. Winter in San Felipe is another beautiful time. The weather was sunny during the day and cooler at night.Great for walking on the beach, but the bathing suits stayed in the suitcase. I love the view of the beach, and the mountains are spectacular. Sunsets are amazing.
Frank & Maureen as always are gracious hosts. They are terrific, and we look forward to seeing them. We feel like we have a new family! We will definitely be back soon.
David & Janice
Jamul, CA
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157581
+1 760 902-9998
San Felipe Northern Baja
5

SECOND VISIT IN 2 MONTHS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had such a great time on our first visit that we decided to get back there as soon as possible! We knew that it would be a bit warmer. It was considerably hotter, but not unbearable. There was always a nice breeze, so it was quite comfortable outside in one of the many shaded spots on the patio. We spent a lot more time in the water, and we took our beach walks earlier in the morning or later in the evening. The The sunsets were gorgeous and the water temperature just perfect.
When we arrived at the apartment it was like going home. We already knew where to find everything, so we unpacked and got right down to relaxing. We hope to be able to go back again at least once before the end of 2012.
We did take a drive to Puertocitos. The drive was beautiful, but Puertocitos was disappointing. We brought our kayak, but didn't use it.
This is a beautiful place to be for a great vacation. I can't wait to go back.
business
CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157581
+1 760 902-9998
San Felipe Northern Baja
5

SECOND VISIT IN 2 MONTHS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had such a great time on our first visit that we decided to get back there as soon as possible! We knew that it would be a bit warmer. It was considerably hotter, but not unbearable. There was always a nice breeze, so it was quite comfortable outside in one of the many shaded spots on the patio. We spent a lot more time in the water, and we took our beach walks earlier in the morning or later in the evening. The The sunsets were gorgeous and the water temperature just perfect.
When we arrived at the apartment it was like going home. We already knew where to find everything, so we unpacked and got right down to relaxing. We hope to be able to go back again at least once before the end of 2012.
We did take a drive to Puertocitos. The drive was beautiful, but Puertocitos was disappointing. We brought our kayak, but didn't use it.
This is a beautiful place to be for a great vacation. I can't wait to go back.
business
CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157581
+1 760 902-9998
San Felipe Northern Baja
5

The Reviews say it all...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
I can't add much excepting to say Jack and I just loved our stay. So much that we bought the little house next door!

When we arrived everything was as described in the write up; the apartment is charming, clean, and well provisioned. And Frank and Maureen, the owners, are delightful.

Perhaps, with all the bad press about Mexico, the most important thing to say is how safe it feels on the Baja. Use the same common sense that you would use anywhere else and you will be fine.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words Mary & Jack. The best part of your visit was your buying the house next door and you, Jack & Cosmos will be our permanent neighbors. So far, four of our guests have purchased homes on our beach or the next one down. It truly is a magical peaceful and fun place to settle.

Although you had no intention of buying a house when you arrived, once you saw the beauty of the Baja, you just couldn't resist even though you live on the beautiful island of Quadra. . We truly wish everyone would give Baja a chance. It's absolutely wonderful and we get to meet great people every day, from all over the world and especially you Canadians!.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
CHARMING BAJA BEACHFRONT CASITA & PALAPA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157581
+1 760 902-9998
San Felipe Northern Baja
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This place is great. Everything was either as expected or exceeded our expectations. The whole transactions with the owners where process in matter of minutes. They were ready to answer questions, provided me with more than detailed instructions on how to get to the rental, the place was clean and nicely kept. Everything needed in the house was provided for, and i mean everything: towels, kitchen utensils, movies, books, soap, grill, etc. We had the pleasure to meet the owner who was very nice, informative, and always willing to help. The proximity to the beach was amazing, it was literally out side the door. Finally, another plus is the fact that the place is not around downtown, therefore you get a much cleaner beach as well as the luxury to be away from all the tourist hasle. Definitely a place to recommend!
Owner's Response: Maria, thanks so much for staying with us. We're so happy that others can enjoy our little peace of heaven as much as we do. Sorry I didn't get to stay and meet you. Maybe next time. Best wishes, Maureen