Pender Island house rental - Spectacular Beachfront Loaction
Spectacular Beachfront Loaction
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Pender Island House Rental Photos and Description
Main house: 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, sleeps 6. Guest cabin: sleeps 2 w/ bath

Gowlland Point Place is an expansive, private setting that provides incomparable views and access to a spectacular marine environment. The main house sits on over 300 feet of low-bank shoreline, with a panoramic view of the San Juan Islands, Mt. Baker and ships en route between the Pacific Ocean and nearby ports. Enjoy the seaside environment and abundant wildlife from a large wrap-around deck, or directly on one of the area’s most desirable beaches. Orca, porpoise, otter, bald eagles and deer are common sights. The view is equally enjoyable during inclement weather from fireside in the sea-view living room. An available guest cottage allows up to eight people to enjoy the property. The three-plus acre property includes a historic orchard and a forested perimeter that provides a reclusive ambiance. Neighboring Brooks Point and Gowlland Point Conservancy Areas add to the property’s natural tranquility.

Geographic Coordinates (Lattitude & Longitude): For specific location via mapping software, Internet services or GPS, use the following geographic coordinates:

N48 44.190' W123 11.084'

More Details
Hide Details

22 Reviews of Property 157482 in Pender Island, British Columbia

Spectacular Waterfront Retreat On South Pender Island - Low Bank Beachfront
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Spectacular Waterfront Retreat On South Pender Island - Low Bank Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157482
+1 702 612-5387
Pender Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Vancouver
5

Great weekend on Pender Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
Communications with Richard (the owner of the house) were easy, before and after the weekend we rented the house. He provided us with a map and accurate directions to drive to the property.

The house was beautiful, very well equipped and the setting was very quiet.

I would return there and recommend this house to friends who wish to spend a week-end on the Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Spectacular Waterfront Retreat On South Pender Island - Low Bank Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157482
+1 702 612-5387
Pender Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
5

Wonderful vacation destination!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is an ideal vacation rental - private, spacious, comfortable, and well equipped. We had lots of room (as a family of 4) and enjoyed the beach, the nearby walking trails, the enormous yard, and of course the beautiful house itself. The owner was very accommodating and easy to make arrangements with. I definitely recommend this property rental for anyone who would like to spend time on the gulf islands. It doesn't get any better than this!!
business
Spectacular Waterfront Retreat On South Pender Island - Low Bank Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157482
+1 702 612-5387
Pender Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
5

Perfect summer vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We enjoyed a lovely week. The location is perfect - great ocean access, quiet, fabulous views. We kayaked, swam, biked, hiked and played bocce ball all around the large and lovely property. I especially enjoyed the hummingbirds. The home is very well appointed and spacious. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and will likely be back. Thanks!
business
Spectacular Waterfront Retreat On South Pender Island - Low Bank Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157482
+1 702 612-5387
Pender Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We Will Return

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I see a lot of other people have placed some choice words in previous reviews. I agree with everything that has been said in the past, and would probably just be saying more of the same if I wrote a few paragraphs. So let me summarize with one word: STELLAR!

The only further explanation I will offer is that it's our ONLY place to stay on Pender, having rented some other very nice properties in the past. This just brings the best of everything together in one place. I thank the owners for sharing this little piece of Heaven with our family.
business
Spectacular Waterfront Retreat On South Pender Island - Low Bank Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157482
+1 702 612-5387
Pender Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
5

Amazing beachfront property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Wow, this property has it all, amazing views, a well-kept home and a safe beach front. From the shoreline, we viewed eagles, seals and sea lions everyday. We were lucky enough to watch a couple of pods of killer whales off the nearby point for over one hour! The kids were thoroughly entertained outside with the beach, tidal zones, the yard and adventure walks along the shores and into the nearby trails.
Thank you Richard, all communications and transactions were seamless.
We hope to return very soon to this fantastic property on South Pender.
Owner's Response: Thanks for kind comments. If the property could speak to itself, we think the words would be similar to these! It's a gratifying to share this special spot with other families who depart with fond memories.
business
Spectacular Waterfront Retreat On South Pender Island - Low Bank Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157482
+1 702 612-5387
Pender Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
5

R & R + amazing Mother Nature moments!

R & R + amazing Mother Nature moments!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
You can't conceive of this amazing setting until you experience first-hand. By the end of our week stay we'd ventured out to taste-test the highlights of N/S Pender Island including artist studios, boutiques, a winery, a farmer's market, and the local 'shopping area' for grocery, liquor, bakery and take-out lunch items ... but while all were very pleasant none compared to this property -- you just simply don't want to leave!

After the first day, every other began at the crack of dawn by our toddler's command ("Outside! Outside! Water! Water!") who was as taken as we by the soft pebble-strewn beach and view of passing otters, seabirds, and seals. Grab your coffee, shovel, pail and children and adults alike will happily spend a few hours watching the world wake up. Back to the house for breakfast and seagazing at the stunning view provided by the wraparound porch, then change into swimsuits and return to the water, too frigid even in July for swimming, but perfectly lovely for a quick dip, rock throwing, stone skipping, fishing, reading, sunning, sea creature seeking.

As the day grows older you realize the beach serves as a path to a beautiful nature walk ... which affords passing conversations with a few locals and fellow visitors. Suddenly, there's a buzz of boat activity offshore, a sure indication a pod of orca whales are within sight. So you scramble up the cliffside to see the show and marvel with a few others lucky enough to catch the moment. Where else can an 18 month old get so close he learns that a whale goes "pssshhhhhhhh!" by hearing the sound of water leaving the blowhole as it arcs out of the water!

So, you flow in and out of the house for meals ... down to and back up from the beach for entertainment ... pausing to watch the bald eagle fly back and forth overhead now that he's used to your presence ... or to watch in awe as container ships slide quietly by, leaving a wake of waves to play in ... while looking forward to the visits from the local deer who will emerge daily at dusk and dawn. The sun sets at 10 allowing the bliss stretch on and on until you finally allow yourself to go to sleep -- knowing it will all be there for you in the morning to enjoy, again.

Add to this a VERY responsive and professional owner and a spacious, clean, well maintained, comfortable home and you'll want to return before you've even left! Many thanks for the unmatched experience - we hope to visit again soon.
business
Spectacular Waterfront Retreat On South Pender Island - Low Bank Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157482
+1 702 612-5387
Pender Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
5

Owner very pleasant and professional

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Although I unfortunately had to cancel my stay at Gowlland Point Place for personal reasons, I was very impressed with the way both my reservation and cancellation were handled. When I made the booking I wired a deposit to the owner, Richard. Receipt of the deposit was acknowledged promptly. When I subsequently cancelled my reservation within the time limit set out in the contract, Richard was very polite and understanding. My deposit, minus a small cancellation fee (explained in the contract), was returned promptly. Both transactions were handled very pleasantly and professionally. I am planning to stay at Gowlland Point Place later this year or during 2013. Thank you Richard.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Waterfront Retreat On South Pender Island - Low Bank Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157482
+1 702 612-5387
Pender Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
5

Perfect place to relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our extended family gathered on pender island for a wedding at poets cove. Most stayed at the resort, we opted for this lovely house rental. We were very glad that we did! It is truly a very private piece of paradise. Deer, Whales, Seals, otter... Our family staying at Poets cove were desperate to see whales but never did. We saw them almost every day at this lovely home.
The only issue was that the guest cottage was not ready for our arrival, and needed some work before it could be lived in. When we called the owners it was a little difficult to contact them as we had no cell phone connection on pender and long distance is blocked on the house land line, so we couldn't call them from there. When we did contact him though he worked hard to resolve the problem, and helped us to work out a solution.
We would happily go back to this wonderful place. A great place to relax and watch the wildlife...
Tip- you should bring your own drinking water. We wish that we had known, so to bring it from the mainland and not pay high prices once we got to the island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We appreciate Michal's comments - hopefully the insight will help potential future guests get a feel for the property. 2011 has been extraordinary for Orca sightings. Nearly daily sightings seem to be the norm this summer. Four out of five days for our family so far! And other wildlife is ever-abundant too.

We welcome the chance to address shortcomings. Most items Michal mentioned are discussed in our Internet listing or the Rental Agreement. Basically, this is a rural area that differs in many ways from cities with full services and amenities. While you might be able to access your cell phone or the Internet, don't count on doing so at the house. However, both services can be established somewhere nearby if necessary. We do not provide long distance service on the landline, but local calls and toll free numbers are unrestricted. We suggest a prepaid calling card for long distance calls. Water is both precious and unmonitored as it originates from a private well, as with most Pender homes. We urge conservation in general, and recommend bottled water for drinking. We use filters and UV treatment to ensure the water is suitable for "general" household purposes, but it should not be expected to meet municipal drinking water standards. On the reviewer's visit, our housekeeper had not prepared the separate studio guest cottage due to a problem that ultimately made the cottage undesirable to occupy. We believe an otter family selected the crawl space below as their den. While cute and fun to have around, otters' dining habits and choice of bathroom locations makes their dwelling a smelly place ... unfortunately those odors extended into the cottage! We're working to correct the problem, but not with any harm to these wonderful creatures. So for now, the detached guest cottage is not being offered for use. Unfortunately Michal's family had to be the first "victims." We're sorry. It's yet another oddity that reinforces the fact that you are in a beautiful rural setting without city conveniences - the natural wonders sometimes present challenges and inconveniences.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Spectacular Waterfront Retreat On South Pender Island - Low Bank Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157482
+1 702 612-5387
Pender Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
5

Awesome and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
If you are looking to be awe-struck and just want to kick back and relax, this is the place for you. Beautiful setting with wildlife galore, this house on South Pender is about as relaxing as you will find. Great amenities and very well cared for, we had a wonderful family vacation here. Weather was outstanding (67 degrees and crystal clear each day) and the island is a very nice getaway with all that you need nearby except for reliable wireless (though the resort 5 mintes away allows you to squat on their signal). Highly recommend it for a laid back vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Waterfront Retreat On South Pender Island - Low Bank Beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157482
+1 702 612-5387
Pender Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
calgary
5

What a wonderful place to relax!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I had a wonderful time on pender and this house was stuning. I have to say the pictures do not do it justice. I was very surprised by the cabin and the veiws. I would go back in heart beat!
The owners were fantastic to deal with and the communication was great. Everything you need is in the cabin and you feel right at home.
I can not speak highly enough about what a special place this is and if you have the oppurtunity to go u will not regret your decission.
thanks again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words. We try to make sure the home has all the comforts a visitor needs, so that food, drink and personal belongings are all that's required. For all we can do to make it a comfortable, accommodating house, geography and nature are really in charge. If it were a dirt-floor straw hut or a gold-plated mansion, the same would be true. It truly is a magical spot. It's always rewarding to hear others say so. We're glad to be able to share it.
Helpful votes: 1/1