Munich townhome rental - view from garden
view from garden
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Munich Townhome Rental Photos and Description
2 double and 2 single bedrooms +atelier with 2 additional beds, terrace, 3 baths

This charming town house in Central Munich is located in a quiet residential side street of the most desirable arts district called Schwabing. Highly acclaimed restaurants, bars, antique shops, galleries, playgrounds and the shopping center 'Muenchner Freiheit', from where the underground train takes you in 5 minutes to downtown Munich, are just a few minutes' walk away. Close by is the famous 'English Garden', a huge park with a beautiful lake and its Biergartens, where you can walk for hours literally into the countryside and enjoy nature.

The home with 2 double bedrooms, 2 single bedrooms and a big atelier with an additional 2 beds sleeps up to eight people. It has three bathrooms. From the terrace outside the modernly furnished living room you overlook your own private garden. The open kitchen is well equipped with dishwasher, refrigerator, electric stove and natural gas stove top. There is Cable TV and free wireless Internet. Free washer and dryer in the laundry room.

Additional Info about the house.: If you are a professional musician, ask if it is possible to use the Steinway grand piano to practice or rehearse. Artists might be welcome to use the atelier (please ask). Families are welcome. A personal housekeeper or babysitter is optional at an hourly rate, if available. We will try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Please let us know in advance, what your needs are. You may use the wireless high-speed Internet for free. Enjoy Cable TV in the cozy TV-room, which is also a nice place for children to play, next to the living room. Washer and dryer in a separate laundry room are free, too. There are two parking spaces (one in garage one in front) for mid-size cars.

What to do.: What makes this home very special, is the fact that it is located in a residential side street (little traffic) but still in walking distance to everything. Bakeries and a Bio-Supermarket (huge selection of organic food and products ) are just around the corner. Nightlife, public transportation, shopping, banks, ATM, restaurants, bars, beautiful playgrounds for children, parks, restaurants and Biergardens - all in walking distance. The underground train, which is a 5 Minutes walk away gets you in 5-10 minutes to downtown Munich, the Opera, the reknown concerthall 'Herkulessaal', the University, Museums, Theaters, the Kaufinger Strasse with its boutiques etc. Rent a bike and ride through the English Garden and along the Isar-Auen (meadows along the main river Isar) literally into the countryside (no cars!). The world famous Museums old and new Pinakoteken, and Pinakotek der Moderne (modern art) are a ten minutes bus ride away.

And: After 5 Minutes by underground train you arrive at the Olympiazentrum, place of the Olympic Games 1972 with its Olympia Tower and the revolving panorama cafe, 200+ meters above ground. Munich Zoo is an other highlight, particularly for children.

Or visit the Oktoberfest (9/22/07-10/7/07) or the romantic Christkindlmarkt (Christmas Fair) December 2007, to mention just the two most popular events in Munich.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 157409 in Munich, Germany

Spacious corner house in central Munich with private garden
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Spacious corner house in central Munich with private garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157409
949 497-7250
Munich Munich & Greater Munich Area
Bozeman, Montana, USA
5

Perfect Munich Rental for Large Group

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
We rented this house in Munich while we attended a tradeshow. It was a large group of people and this house fit our needs perfectly. Getting the rental set up was easy and painless. The contact person lived in California so calling was easy and contact was also possible via email. There was parking for two small cars and the house is located close to the Autobahn so getting in and out of town was quick.
It was close to the underground system, grocery stores, and plenty of shopping and eating.
The house was clean and well kept. The housekeepers spoke English very well and were eager to help out in any way possible.
This rental gave us the opportunity to experience living in a German city without feeling like tourists stuffed in a hotel district. Because of the location we also felt very safe. We would highly, highly recommend this rental and would stay here again without hesitation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 20/20
business
Spacious corner house in central Munich with private garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157409
949 497-7250
Munich Munich & Greater Munich Area
5

Perfect rental house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I am so very happy that I found this perfect rental home in Munich. We had five people in various age groups who stayed in this home for one week. I was so impressed with the size and location of this house. First of all the housekeeper Marianne and her husband Klaus met us at the house and they were so nice and easy to talk to. The gave us an excellent tour of the house and showed us how everything worked. They also had the refrigerator stocked with beer, water and orange juice. The house was clean and well maintained. We absolutely loved the location of this house. It was close to shopping, restaurants and the underground. This house is so spacious and it has everything you would possibly need, even a washer and dryer. I would very highly recommend this house to anyone visiting the Munich area. The owner was easy to deal with and he gave us many suggestions of things to do in the Munich area. If you are looking for a spacious and easy to rent house, look no further. If we ever go back to wonderful Munich I would hot hesitate to rent this wonderful house again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious corner house in central Munich with private garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157409
949 497-7250
Munich Munich & Greater Munich Area
Denver, Colorado, USA
5

Beautiful Home with Central Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Who wouldn't fall in love with a centrally located home on a quiet block, with four bathrooms, laundry, full kitchen, computer access and a beautiful yard? The owner's caretaker provided a warm welcome, showed us all of the appliances and gave us guidance on internet access and even local restaurants. Then she opened up a refrigerator full of beer. In sum, it was perfect and we would rent it again. We had a group of seven and we were all very comfortable. Thanks again for allowing us to stay in your lovely home!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious corner house in central Munich with private garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157409
949 497-7250
Munich Munich & Greater Munich Area
5

Perfect Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Just returned from a one week vacation in Munich. This home was a perfect place to use as home base as we explored Bavaria and surrounding areas. It has plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms and a wonderful open kitchen/family room/porch that we were able to congregate in for stories, meals, games, and chats about our daily excursions. The local contact was kind and helpful. It is an easy walk to stores, restaurants, and the U-Bahn. Would highly recommend!! Thanks for helping to make our vacation memories special!!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spacious corner house in central Munich with private garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157409
949 497-7250
Munich Munich & Greater Munich Area
5

Excellent Family Home For Munich And Bavaria

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My family vacationed here for nine days this Christmas. This was a perfect location for enjoying activities in Munich and close to many other tourist activities within a couple of hours. Within just a few minutes you can go from the house to City Center in Munich. The area near the house (Schwabing) has whatever you need from grocery stores to fine restaurants.
We had six adults and two children, ages 2.5 and 0.5, in our party. The house had plenty of sleeping quarters and bathrooms, so, there was no waiting and we were able to time departures with no hassle. It was a comfortable townhouse with four levels and plenty of space for everyone to enjoy different activities. We had ample space when we had five other family members visit on a couple of afternoons. I highly recommend this property and would definitely use it again.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Spacious corner house in central Munich with private garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157409
949 497-7250
Munich Munich & Greater Munich Area
5

Great place to enjoy Munich & Bavaria from

Great place to enjoy Munich & Bavaria from
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My family, my brother's family and our Mom (11 of us in total) enjoyed this house for two weeks. It is located on a quiet side street in the historic Schwabing area. We were close to Munich University with lots of restaurants, bars & pubs in the area. We were about a 10 minute enjoyable walk to the U3 & U6 U-bahn station on Leopoldstrasse. This was four stops to the Marienplatz and from there easy to get to the Hauptbahnhof. Marianne was helpful and came during our stay and changed sheets and did some laundry. Marianne's use of the English language was good! She was easy to work with. House was very clean, had all the kitchen appliances and utensils, as well as hairdryers and good washing machine and dryer. The backyard was nice with pretty flowers. House had a desktop computer with a printer and a strong wireless connection. This allowed us to book and print all of our train tickets on the many day trips we made outside of Munich (Salzberg, Bertchesgaden, Dachau, Nuremburg, Ludwig's Castles). There was one really good shower, one adequate shower and one we hardly used because it was a problem. The shower head would not stay in place and the shower curtain would not stay in place, so water got all over the floor. We all just used the other two. I would most certainly stay here again if I had a large group (6 to 11 people). This was an excellent place to stay and had an excellent location!! Check out Radius Tours for several opportunities within and outside of Munich.

Tulsa, OK & Houston, TX
USA
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious corner house in central Munich with private garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157409
949 497-7250
Munich Munich & Greater Munich Area
5

Everything perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We had a great Christmas, everything was perfect and Sonja was easy to work with and the property was clean and better than the discription.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Spacious corner house in central Munich with private garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157409
949 497-7250
Munich Munich & Greater Munich Area
New Jersey
5

Great getaway in the heart of Munich

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Location is fantastic, close to the Munchener Freiheit U-Bahn. close to the Englisher Garten See-Haus. Easy walk (or U-Bahn) to Marienplatz, museums, etc... restaurants, nightlife in the neighborhood though the house is tucked off two blocks from the busy area and is a quiet place to come and relax after a day or night out.

The house is large (there were 8 adults in our group) and comfortable. The fridge was stocked with beer, mineral water and orange juice when we arrived. The caretaker were very good about accomodating changes we needed in the house as our group changed mid-way through our 3 week stay (e.g., couple with children arrived).

Overall, a great place for a family vacation or for a group of adults wanting to spend some time in Bavaria. Would definitely go back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious corner house in central Munich with private garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157409
949 497-7250
Munich Munich & Greater Munich Area
Tucson, Arizona, USA
5

Superb Munich location & excellent service

Superb Munich location & excellent service
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
First let me say this is not a "spoof" posting - my family (7 people ages 18 to 60) actually stayed at this house for a week in early July 2008. We were greeted at the home at 8:00PM by Marianne & Klaus (caretakers) and given a warm welcome and tour of the house. The house was exceptionally clean and Marianne came by on two occasions during our stay to see if we needed any additional linens and to make sure everything was satisfactory. The kitchen was well equipped with plates, pots/pans, utensils, dishwasher, oven, refrigerator, etc. The backyard was a joy with a second story porch overlooking a beautiful lawn and garden including blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, grapes, apple tree, and flowers. Very peaceful for enjoying a glass of wine or a beer and good conversation!

Additional features of the home included PC / internet access, cable TV with a multitude of channels (both German & English), washer and dryer, and plenty of bathrooms!

The location was very convenient to shopping (grocery & retail stores) along Leopoldstrausse, many restaurants/bars, the English Garden park, and the U-Bahn (underground). The hub of Munich shopping (Marienplatz) is within walking distance (~1 mile) where you can also find the world famous Hofbrau House........and we did!

There are a couple considerations to be aware of - first, the house has four levels and you must be able to negotiate stairs. Second, if you are driving, parking is available on the street in front of the house, as well as a driveway/garage under the house, but the driveway is a little tight - go slow and be careful.

I would recommend this home to anyone based on the cleanliness, excellent care provided by the hosts, amenities, and location in Munich. My family and I would definitely enjoy the opportunity to stay here again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Spacious corner house in central Munich with private garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157409
949 497-7250
Munich Munich & Greater Munich Area
Bel Air, MD USA
5

Fantastic Munich Vacation Hone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
This home was a perfect place for our family vacation.
(3 generations). The house is well-located, clean, well-maintained, roomy and charming. We could easily walk to public transportation; not necessary to have a car. Their is a wide variety of restaurants, shops, etc. Their was a television with a large selection of programs and computer access, which was important when you are traveling with teenagers. The owners and their housekeepers were most helpful. We highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 9/9