Isla Mujeres house rental - Shell House
Shell House
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Isla Mujeres House Rental Photos and Description
2 king size bedrooms, 2 full baths, 1 half bath, sleeps 4

The Shell house is the most original house in Isla Mujeres or maybe in the world. One of the most sensual houses you will ever enjoy. Experience the beauty of the Caribbean Ocean with180 degrees of ocean views. Have your ever imagine living inside a sea shell? Taken a bath under a shell fountain. The pleasure of waking with the ocean’s murmur and the gentle caress of the ocean’s breeze. Dip in your on private pool. Reach with just a few steps amazing cliffs and beaches that appear and disappeared with the tides, where the ocean shares incredible gifts, amazing shells and corals you find along the sea. Awaken to the most incredible sunrises where you need to pinch yourself to make sure you are not still dreaming. A sky full of stars like you have never experience, Moon rises that you have seen only in your dreams.

The shell house offers you the most inclusive place for a romantic wedding.

9 Reviews of Property 156977 in Isla Mujeres, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Casa Caracol Caribbean Paradise unique home
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
business
Casa Caracol Caribbean Paradise unique home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156977
+52 998 9988880110
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Bellevue, Ohio
5

One of my best stays on Isla…

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
This place is amazing! One of the greatest views I have had on Isla. The pool was great a bit chilly being we were their over Christmas. I feel that the house is a bit further out of town then I would prefer; however, the others in my group really enjoyed the fact it was not located closer to town. They did have a golf cart we rented (for less then in town) so that help a lot.

We had 5 people in our party this time. We all had enough space & we were very comfortable staying here as if we were at home. I found all details listed for this property to be accurate & fair.

I just love Isla! Love everything about the Island, I have traveled there many times and home to even more in the future! I have to say that Pizza Rolandi’s has always been a favorite of mine and it is now a favorite of my daughters!

The owners were out of town during our stay. However, we stayed in touch via e-mail. They were very helpful with everything that we needed!

I would most defiantly recommend this property to anyone! It was an experience of a lifetime!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 114/116
business
Casa Caracol Caribbean Paradise unique home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156977
+52 998 9988880110
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Allen, Tx
5

I Have Become a Mermaid

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
This house is where the mermaids live, I have become one myself. Your senses slow to a tranquil pace once you glide past the shell encrusted privacy wall. Come willingly and let the magic of The Shell House leave you breathless. The refreshing pool surrounded by coconut trees, succulents,brain coral, visiting iguanas and various sized shells was enticing us to dive in daily. We were delighted to see that the photos represented were just as promised. The living space with circular couch accommodated our party of four each evening as we stretched out for evening cocktails, downloading pictures (nice computer niche beside the couch) and girl talk. The half bath was great for quick "bano" breaks and swimsuit changes. We used the kitchen for light cooking, making morning coffee and evening cocktails. Plenty of outlets for recharging phones, computers and cameras throughout the property. AC was available in both shells but not needed during our trip. Housekeeper came by twice during our stay. Two amazing original paintings grace the main house. Spiral stairs to the upper bedroom. Large suite w/ king size bed, floor fan (not needed) plenty of closet space and a spectacular view of the grounds and ocean beyond from the balcony. Even the TV(s) were adorned with the shell motif. The master bath had ample hot water, though make sure the guests in Baby Shell are not taking a shower at the same time. Blow drier, towels, blankets provided in each bedroom.

The Baby Shell is my favorite. Slept like a baby in that giant room with king sized bed, dresser, side table and TV. A modest closet with a rolling dresser was enough as closet space for two. The jewel in this shell is the bathroom. Just as the photos advertised, the inlaid "water stream" leads you to the sink with shell knobs and spout. I spent plenty of time luxuriating in that awesome shower with the steady flow of hot water coming from a gigantic conch shell. Built in seat in the shower and nook for your toiletries. Over the sink you will find more nooks for your toothbrush, etc.

We felt very safe here knowing that the owner and grounds keeper were just a few steps away. The daily parade of tourists stopping for photos was not an issue with us as we felt like movie stars posing for pictures at "our house for the week".

I have taken photos of Shell House since 2005 and proud to say that I have made personal memories here at The Shell House.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 26/26
business
Casa Caracol Caribbean Paradise unique home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156977
+52 998 9988880110
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
CDA, ID.
5

Beautiful Unique House!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Raquel is the most amazing person to rent from. She goes above and beyond to make sure that everything is OK.

The house is very unique, and everything is kept very clean. View is spectacular. Absolutely stunning place to go if you want to lay around and relax. Pool is beautiful.

If you want to run around and sightsee you will need to rent golf cart. It is a ways out of town.

I would definitely recommend this place. You won't be disappointed!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 16/16
business
Casa Caracol Caribbean Paradise unique home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156977
+52 998 9988880110
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
North Little Rock, Arkansas
5

Wonderful, Very Unique Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
My wife and I spent our 30th wedding anniversary at the Shell House. We spent 10 days there from December 7 - 16, 2008. It was so unique...we had our own swimming pool and hot tub. We were not disappointed.

We had spent our Honeymoon on Isla Mujeres in 1978 and have returned a dozen times since, but this was our best vacation yet on Isla.

My wife was born and raised in Destin, Florida when it was a sleepy fishing village. Her family was one of the founding families (Marler) and she always loved shells. So you can imagine how thrilled we were when we saw this home on HGTV a few years ago. We drove by it when we went to Isla for our 25th wedding anniversary and vowed to come back and stay in the Shell House.

Raquel, the owner (her husband designed and built the home)was great, and even picked us up at the ferry and gave us a ride to pick up our Golf Cart. She got us a discount for a 10 day rental and the golf cart is perfect transporation on Isla Mujeres. Raquel, checked on us a couple of times during our stay and brought us bottled water. Her husband's brother is a renounded Mexican artist and two of his paintings are framed and hung in the Shell House.

You have to get used to all the people who stop to take pictures, but we chose to enjoy all the attention. We talked to some of them and they were very surprised that you could rent the Shell House.

We found the rent very reasonable and the home very unique. We especially liked the fact that you could hear the waves lapping on the beach across the street. Sounded like you were really living inside a real a shell hearing the ocean.

If you want a truly unique vacation, the Casa Caracol is the place to stay. We don't regret it one bit!!

Hank
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 24/25
business
Casa Caracol Caribbean Paradise unique home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156977
+52 998 9988880110
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Annapolis, MD
5

A perfect place for a perfect vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
We loved the shell house. Breathtaking views of the Caribbean, very private, very relaxing, very comfortable; very spacious. It uplifted our spirits to stay in a place so artistically beautiful. The owners were extremely helpful, friendly and supportive; very attentive to making sure their guests have a perfect vacation. The property, inside and outside, was very clean, beautifully maintained and with great attention to detail. We liked being outside of town. We watched the sun rise over the ocean; in the evening a short walk or golf cart ride to the other side of the island allowed us to watch the sunset over Cancun. Great restaurants nearby: O's and the Mango Cafe. We climbed down to the mostly coral "beach" across the street from the house and collected shells; walked the southern point of the island; and lounged in and beside the pool at the house. We had intended to spend a few days in a hotel in town, but changed our plans and spent our entire vacation at the shell house. We didn't want to leave.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 19/19
business
Casa Caracol Caribbean Paradise unique home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156977
+52 998 9988880110
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Cottage Grove, WI, USA
5

Shell House is great!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
We stayed, with another couple and their daughter - 5 of us in all - for a week at the Shell House, because it was unique, and we had our own swimming pool. We were not disappointed. Raquel, the owner was great, and even picked us up at the ferry and gave us a ride to the house. The next morning she took us into town to rent a golf cart, stopped in the middle of the week with a bottle of margaritas, and took us back at the end of the week. You have to get used to all the people who stop to take pictures, but we chose to enjoy the attention, talk with people and because of it, met people from all over the world. If you want a unique vacation, the Casa Caracol is the place to stay. We don't regret it one bit!!

You will need a golf cart as there is no place to eat within walking distance. It gave us the chance to explore the island throughout the week. As for dining, we ate somewhere different for each meal. Like Casa O's the best for dinner and anywhere in town for breakfast.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Casa Caracol Caribbean Paradise unique home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156977
+52 998 9988880110
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Michigan
4

Very Unique experience; great customer service

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
We stayed at the Shell House for a week in mid June 2008. Just from a value-point of view, it is very difficult if not impossible to find an entire house ( that you do not share) with air conditioning in the bedrooms and a beautiful private pool for what the Shell House costs. It is a very good value for the money. It does not have a DVD player or computer. By American standards, there is not 5500 square feet indoors. The 2 bedrooms are good size, and bathroom in the first floor shell is quite nice. The bathroom on the second floor is very cramped. There really is no other usable space inside-the living room is very artistic/pretty but not functional. The kitchenette is small but usable, as long as you don't want to prepare elaborate meals. The outside area around the pool and the Shell is very nice and comfortable.
The house could use some up dating, but nothing that is horrible. The house does sit on a major road on the island. Daytrippers from Cancun come by at a pretty constant rate, and tours stop and take pictures. This can happen dozens of times per day. Again, this can be a non issue or very annoying depending. One issue that I feel I must add for full disclsure, is that there is a full sized bus to the side of the House. It does add some character, but it was a bit of a surprise initially. The little restaurant at the Mayan Temple at the very tip of the island is very good, although they have limited hours. A golf cart is nice to explore the island for a day, but not necessary unless you want one-$40-$45 per day. Raquel can get you a number for a taxi, and we never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes. Round trip to town is $10, and we never had any problems. Again, personal preference. Pizza Rolandis does deliver, which is a nice alternative if you want to just relax on the balcony for the evening.

Raquel and Eduardo are about as nice and accomodating hosts as you could ever want. They are very responsive to any issues with the house, and are just very nice.

Isla is a great experience. BUT, it is not Cancun. It lacks some of the amenities and glitz, and is a little more real/gritty. Downtown is great with wonderful restaurants and cantinas. If you are into natue, I would recommend the Granja Tortuga ( Turtle Farm) and you can see turtles and dolphins off the cliffs at the Mayan Temple.

I would highly recommend Isla and the Shell House, but, you neeed to have realistic expectations.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 23/23
business
Casa Caracol Caribbean Paradise unique home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156977
+52 998 9988880110
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
TN
3

Unique home, nice owner.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
We stayed at the house for ten days. The house is very unique, but does not come with all of the amenities listed. There is no computer, no DVD. The kitchen and the bathrooms need to be updated and there is no air-conditioning downstairs.
All of that being said, it was an enjoyable trip. Raquel is very kind and helpful- she and he husband live right next door, but will not bother you. She sends a maid over every couple of days to clean and replenish your towels, etc. The pool is lovely- nice and warm. Definitely rent a golf cart- the local taxis are not owned by a company so you basically have to collect numbers from cab drivers and are at their mercy as to whether or not they will come to pick you up. You can also just start walking down the street, but hopefully someone will stop soon (it is hot and at night dark). The house is very near the Garrafon Park there is a decent little restaurant next door at the Temple Ixchel- no other places to eat anywhere around there. Go to the Na Balam for the beach, it has cheap bed rental good food and drinks- the best thing is that it is the most beautiful beach and also the quietest and least crowded. You cannot get to any water outside of the house, there are houses across the street on the water. People constantly stop outside of the house during the day to take pictures- people would say to us "I love your house!" . There are more luxurious places to stay- our friends stayed at the Casa de las Palmas which was very nice! but it is a duplex so, you would potentially have to share the pool with others. This place is very unique and if two couples want to go it would work very well, there is a bedroom in the conch shell part of the house upstairs (air doesn't get as cold in this room and the bathroom shower doesn't work as well). The second bedroom (better) is in the part that looks like a snail shell so, you would have all of the privacy that you need.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 19/20
business
Casa Caracol Caribbean Paradise unique home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156977
+52 998 9988880110
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Charlestown, RI
5

Wonderful time in Isla !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
We just got back from Isla Mujeres and staying at the shell house. There were 3 of us girl friends and Raquel was more than accomidating. She helped us get settled in an introduced me to people in town. The island is laid back and very charming. The house is just incredible, I don't know how I can explain all the detail that Eduardo put into it when building it. He is truly an artist !! If you appreciate art and something different you will LOVE this house. If you want to be where the action is - stay in town. This house is on the south side which is the residential section - very quiet except for tourists passing by and taking pictures of the house. There is always a breeze which I found neccessary in the heat. Even the faucets are shells ! I love the sea and scuba dive so this house was my dream! We ate out most of the time so we did not do any cooking. We found out later that the housekeeper will cook for you for a fee. The house was clean, comfortable and beautiful! It is not huge but more than enough space for us. Enjoy the island it is wonderful!
Renting a golf cart is a must to get anywhere !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 27/27