Palm Springs house rental - Pool and covered patio with frosted resin panels
Pool and covered patio with frosted resin panels
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Palm Springs House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Our Original restored Palmer+Kriesel designed Alexander mid century sits on 11000 square foot lot on a cul-de-sac and was featured in the New York Times 'Home section' entitled 'Desert Cool' in 2005. Inside, you'll find classic modern treatments such as Eames tables and chairs, Case Study beds in both bedrooms, mixed with completely renovated bathrooms and kitchen. High vaulted ceilings and refinished flat cement flooring throughout with throw rugs and FLOR tiles.

The Living Room has a Hi-Definition plasma TV with DirectTv and movie channels. The master bedroom also features a wood burning fireplace. Wall-to-wall sliding glass doors open to a kidney shaped pool, surrounded by palm trees. There's even a private outdoor lounging/eating covered patio, framed by Frosted resin panels. 2 separate in-ground gas fire pits, one by the pool and living area, and the other by the hot tub, provide some privacy even when together on the property.

We have a brand new Hot Spring HotTub Spa as of February 2013 with Moto-Massage® jets, complemented by a Quartet® jet system, to soothe your neck, shoulders and back. Its comfortable seating, styled armrests, and SoothingStream® water feature provide maximum relaxation.

PS TOT#20010031

THREE LOUNGING AREAS : Additionally, a third seclusive lounging area off the middle bedroom (away from the other areas) by the hot tub features original Balinese wood loungers. Overall - magical and relaxing...

COMPLETE PRIVACY: The house is located on one of the larger lots in the Racquet Club Estates and is completely enclosed and private (backyard, pool ,spa, lounging areas)

GOLF + PARK: While 'true' golfer's probably won't want to use the clubs we make available, we do have an old set at the house for your use...in case you want to golf at one of the local public courses for fun.

Just one block away is a large grassy park with trees and benches, etc.

**UPDATE: As of FEBRUARY 2013 we have a brand new HotSprings Spa/Hotub for your enjoyment featuring exclusive 'Moto-Massage Jets' to soothe your neck, shoulders and back.

More Details
Hide Details

Owned by Hollywood entertainment professionals.

39 Reviews of Property 156877 in Palm Springs, California

Beautiful Mid Century Hideaway - featured in New York Times 'Desert Cool'
average rating of 4.9736843 based on 39 reviews
business
Beautiful Mid Century Hideaway - featured in New York Times 'Desert Cool'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156877
+1 323 443-2275
Palm Springs California Desert
Shreveport, LA
5

Such a lovely, relaxing, private, and quiet spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
It's hard to imagine a more tranquil and conveniently located spot in Palm Springs. Quiet and lovely with a well-stocked kitchen and large gas grill. Perfect for anyone who loves mid-century design. We loved the very private back yard with fire pits, pool, and hot tub with lovely mountain views. The Sleep Number beds ensured great sleep. The owner was perfectly organized and helpful.
business
Beautiful Mid Century Hideaway - featured in New York Times 'Desert Cool'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156877
+1 323 443-2275
Palm Springs California Desert
Shreveport, LA
5

Such a relaxing, well-appointed getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
It's hard to imagine a more tranquil and conveniently located spot in Palm Springs. Quiet and lovely with a well-stocked kitchen and large gas grill. Perfect for anyone who loves mid-century design. We loved the very private back yard with fire pits, pool, and hot tub with lovely mountain views. The Sleep Number beds ensured great sleep. The owner was perfectly organized and helpful.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thoughtful review - as they say, mi casa es su casa!
business
Beautiful Mid Century Hideaway - featured in New York Times 'Desert Cool'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156877
+1 323 443-2275
Palm Springs California Desert
5

So easy to rejuvenate!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This home is such a haven! The yard is huge and open but very private so you feel like you have the world to yourself. Marcel was very available but never once intruded on our time - perfect blend. We would definitely choose this home again for a Palm Springs get away.
Owner's Response: My pleasure! Marcel
business
Beautiful Mid Century Hideaway - featured in New York Times 'Desert Cool'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156877
+1 323 443-2275
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Perfect Mid Century Modern Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is a lovely and well taken care of home in the Racquet Club neighborhood. If you like the clean and simple mid-century modern aesthetic, then you will love this house. The backyard is HUGE with several areas to lounge and sunbathe and is completely secure and dog friendly. Two fire pits for the evenings and a great jacuzzi under the stars. The kitchen is very well stocked and we spent most evenings cooking at home and dining poolside. Very comfy beds and a great double shower in the master bedroom. Just a short drive to downtown shops and restaurants. Can't wait to go back!!!!! Thank you, Marcel!
Owner's Response: My pleasure, see you back soon!
business
Beautiful Mid Century Hideaway - featured in New York Times 'Desert Cool'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156877
+1 323 443-2275
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Perfect Palm Springs retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I were looking for a getaway for a week in Palm Springs and this house was the perfect place. From the minute we opened the door and stepped in, we had huge smiles on our faces.

We brought our dog, who loved the giant yard, the concrete floors, and plenty of flowers to sniff and butterflies to chase. The house is great inside/outside living and our favorite thing every day was to have coffee / beers outside by the pool in the sun. Other big pluses for us were the gas firepits outside, the huge master shower, the outside speakers that connect to your iPhone, and the bedrooms stayed nice and cool even in the heat.

The house is in a quiet neighborhood about 5 mins from downtown Palm Springs, close to a big park for the dog, grocery stores to pick up grillin's, and a $12 cab ride from the bars should you need (as we did on several occasions - thanks to Marcel's fun bar recommendations!). Clean and cheerful decor felt like authentic Palm Springs and it had everything we needed for cooking, cleaning, and much more.

The owner, Marcel is awesome and from the moment you contact him, you feel in good hands. The only downside was the day we had to pack up and leave. We're still thinking about how great a time we had and are definitely going to make it an annual event. Thanks Marcel!
Owner's Response: Hope to see you back sometime, you would be very welcome anytime. Thanks for the nice review! - Marcel
business
Beautiful Mid Century Hideaway - featured in New York Times 'Desert Cool'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156877
+1 323 443-2275
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Super Swell Desert Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We love this place! This was our second visit and after the first, we knew we had to come back. The house is perfect. Open all the sliders in the house and the warm desert breeze puts you in a great mood.The indoor outdoor design is cool and the outside speakers are a nice touch for relaxing around the pool. This time we heated the pool, well worth it. The neighborhood is super quiet,. the hot tub is great,and the starry nights are beautiful. This house is an awesome place to unwind.Our jack russels loved it too. We're looking forward to our third visit. The owner Marcel was super helpful and accomadating. Cheeky's was good for breakfast and the Thursday night street fair was fun.
Stay here and you'll be happy.
Owner's Response: Very happy you had another a relaxing stay and the jack russels did too!
business
Beautiful Mid Century Hideaway - featured in New York Times 'Desert Cool'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156877
+1 323 443-2275
Palm Springs California Desert
Orlando, Florida
5

love this desert rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was a great find for a desert rental, reasonably priced and packed with amenities! It was everything the description stated and more. The San Jacinto Mountain looks like it is right in the back yard. It’s wonderful to sit in the hot tub and gaze at it’s enormity as you relax. The house is adorned with mid-century modern furniture and I liked the kitchen area. I loved the large duel shower in the master bedroom and the bed was vary comfortable to boot (also mid-century modern). I also loved the painted swirled cement floors, it’s so desert! I only wish I had stayed longer, I will be back! OH, yes, and I have already recommended this place to some of my friends.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for treating the house with such good care. Come back again soon!
business
Beautiful Mid Century Hideaway - featured in New York Times 'Desert Cool'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156877
+1 323 443-2275
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Yay!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Very neat and stylish. I love this place and will definitely reccomed it to other friends and family in need of a retreat. Much more spacious and comfortable than staying at a hotel if your with another couple. Sherman's deli, nearby, is our go-to for lox and bagels, koffi for iced lattes and Power Yoga and Beautiful Nail Spa make for the perfect day. I also reccomed Palm Greens Cafe for lunch and Peppers Thai for dinner when not in the mood to cook..
Owner's Response: Palm Greens Cafe is our new favorite lunch spot as well - happy to hear you had a great time in the desert.
business
Beautiful Mid Century Hideaway - featured in New York Times 'Desert Cool'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156877
+1 323 443-2275
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Chic and Rejuvenating

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
As a frequent travler to Palm Springs (who is used to nicer hotels like the Parker), we have since adopted a lovely dog and had to find more appropriate alternatives. We were more then pleased with this property and in fact wondered why we haven't rented private homes earlier. The home is comfortable, chic, and has a very spacious backyard, pool and patios for relaxing and taking it easy. Most importantly, it is very pet friendly and secure. There is a nice mix of modern contemporary and other details throughout the house that clearly demonstrate the owners took care (being graphic designers this is important to us!), with a well equipped kitchen, and updated bath/showers. We love the desert heat of July (so therapeutic!), but the house always stayed nicely chilled when we needed a little break from the sun. The BBQ grill is great, but looks like it gets it's fair use, and could use a nice solid scrubbing, but not a huge issue. Our only complaint is we wish we would have known to look for this house sooner, and have already booked our return next year.
Owner's Response: Thank you - see you next year!
business
Beautiful Mid Century Hideaway - featured in New York Times 'Desert Cool'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156877
+1 323 443-2275
Palm Springs California Desert
4

Decent Mid-Century

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Overall this was a nice rental. The owners communicated with us quickly and were professional.

The house needs a bit of TLC - paint, yard work, shower, etc.. But it is not in disrepair. Their A/V system is antiquated and the pile of wires behind the TV was a major eyesore (as is the quality of the TV).

The front tree did have what seemed like a massive beehive inside it.

The pool was hard to keep clean with the wind - however, its clear they have regular pool cleaning. The spa is fantastic.

My one real complaint - I broke a VERY CHEAP IKEA lamp when I was taking my son out of his highchair. We immediately informed them that it broke. Now, while the lampshade broke on my back as I protected my toddler son from it, we were charged full price plus tax for the lamp. I am fine with the full price (I bumped into the wobbly POS IKEA lamp) - but the tax part was petty of the owner.

A secondary complaint is their "pay it forward" policy on the gas tank for the bbq. That is also a bit tacky so buy a 1 gallon tank at Target to use. It will be enough for a week.

Otherwise... everything else was fine. I gave 4 stars because our trip was very relaxing and we had no issues that we needed to contend with.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the 4 stars, and despite some of your troubles, glad you had a relaxing stay. The bee hive was removed - we were waiting for a humane way to remove them by a beekeeper (which took a little longer than we hoped). We didn't feel it was a problem since the hive was in the front yard away from everything. We hope it didn't cause you too much concern. Also we repaint and touch up during the slower summer months in August, so if you come back you'll find everything freshly painted. As for the lamp - we really appreciated that you called and let us know and offered to replace it. It didn't even occur to me about the tax - we'd be happy to refund that - just shoot me an email and we'll work it out. As for the plasma and Direct TV and the A/C - we've never had any complaints - possibly a setting was wrong? We always tell guests to call us anytime with any issue as we often are able to fix any confusion very quickly. As for the wires behind the TV, you're right, they're probably not baby proof and we'll let future guests know. If you find yourself ever coming back, remind us and we'll do our best to earn that 5th star - Marcel
Helpful votes: 1/1