Moneta cottage rental - Dock view
Dock view
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
 

Moneta Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6

Wide water view large dock with good swimming area, screened in porch. Fisherman's delight: nice covered dock, steps going to dock with handrail. Exterior bedroom downstairs for teenagers who want their privacy central air dishwasher washer dryer kayak paddle boat grills private

14 Reviews of Property 156830 In Moneta, Virginia

A FRAME IN TREES
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 14 reviews
business
A FRAME IN TREES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156830
+1 5402903375
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Lynchburg
5

Adorable little house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We had a great time during our stay! The house is well-equipped with all the essentials and we were all very comfortable. Dock was Great! This was perfect for our small group of friends. My friend, who booked the house, said the owner was super nice to deal with. We're already planning a return trip!
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
A FRAME IN TREES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156830
+1 5402903375
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
5

Wonderful property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Probably my favorite vacation yet! The location was very private and the cozy,quaint home was more than accomodating for my family of four. The boys loved the downstairs bedroom with games and their own TV. The fishing was great with us catching bass, catfish, and carp. I recommend Parot Cove for renting a boat, but we also caught fish from the dock. There is a perfect little country store within minutes of the property that has a full service restaurant and hand dipped ice cream. The Bridgewater Marina is within 10-15 minutes by boat or car that has multiple shops, restaurants and an arcade that was perfect for my seven year old. I cant say enough about how wonderful the owners are to work with. I highly recommend this property for the perfect family vacation or couple retreat.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A FRAME IN TREES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156830
+1 5402903375
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
4

Didn`t want to come home!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We are originally from Virginia and have been away for 20years.We decided this year to vacation there so we could be around family and friends.We really enjoyed ourselves and with all the surrounding activities we never got bored.Fishing and swimming was great!Would like to come back again in the near future.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
A FRAME IN TREES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156830
+1 5402903375
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Charlottesville, Virginia
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My friends and I spent a long time looking for a house that we could afford and when we found this one it looked perfect :) the description of the house and everything included was perfectly accurate. we all had such a great time. it had everything we needed and was located right on the lake with a great view. we spent plenty of time swimming in the lake and laying on the dock. there were also plenty of places close by to go so we were never left with nothing to do. we went to the national park and had a lot of fun shopping at some of the souvenir shops nearby. it was also comfortable to know that food lion was just up the road in case we forgot something. if we had a chance we would definitely come back again and we would definitely suggest this to anyone looking for a nice quiet place to stay.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
A FRAME IN TREES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156830
+1 5402903375
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
5

Absolutely loved this home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We would like to first thank The Thomas's for sharing their wonderful lake home with us. This was one of the most enjoyable and relaxing vacations we have every had. The house was very charming, very clean with all the comforts of home, including wifi! You have wonderful lake views from every floor of the home, the wrap around deck, and the guest bedroom with its own private deck and bathroom. The dock was great for fishing, swimming and enjoying the lake. Its amazing how affordable this great home is! The screened poarch was great for grilling out and dining outside.

This is defiatnely a vacation home we will stay at again and will recommend to family and friends. Again, thank you to The Thomas's for being so accomodating!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
A FRAME IN TREES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156830
+1 5402903375
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

a frame in the trees

  • Submitted: May 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
we are putting a divider around the bath downstairs after a long rental season we fixed the loose boards and the screens that were loosened to get back in from guests that locked their keys inside the house- the music next door was from boys putting on a roof the house was closed up tight for two weeks maybe that didnt help with the allergies
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A FRAME IN TREES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156830
+1 5402903375
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Scotland
5

Our October 2010 visit to Virginia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
I spent ages looking for this cottage as we wanted something lakeside and quiet. Plenty of room here and all the amenities you could wish for. You need to ask for sheets and towels as they were not immediately available. I really enjoyed the top deck overlooking the lake and the Fall weather was wonderful, not too hot and the colours of the trees were brilliant. You might want to stock up with laundry detergent and dishwashing and washing up liquid as they seemed to have run out. The place was very clean, very old american and comfortable. My only concern was that the wooden pathway to the front door could prove very slippery in icy or very wet weather. We only stayed 3 nights midweek so did not have enough time to fish or go out in the boat. I think that sleeping 6 people comfortably and perhaps a few more on the sofa or on the floor makes this an affordable getaway. The Skyline Drive is a short drive away as well as the local WalMart if you need to shop. Cooking outside is simple with the barbecue and gas grill and if the bugs bother you, there is a screened off hut by the water.

I definitely would go again as the wildlife is plentiful and the birdwatching quite good.

The chap next door was most helpful and averted a major crisis after we broke both corkscrews and couldn't open the wine! We replaced the corkscrews with a new one!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A FRAME IN TREES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156830
+1 5402903375
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Maryland
3

previous reviews not totally accurate

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We were very surprised when we got to the house that the reviews that I so carefully read did not really reflect the house. Yes it was very clean and the owners were fine. The house itself is a little worn down. Several of the steps going down to the water had nails sticking up and were very wobbly. There were many ripped screens on the screened in porch and some windows. The back sliding screen was warped and hard to close and let many stink bugs in. The big surprise was the second bathroom- I cannot believe no one mentioned that is in the middle of the downstairs bedroom- the toilet is just sitting out in the room so forget any privacy. If I had known this I would have brought a screen to put around it. So we essentially wound up all in the one bathroom. There is also a mold/mildew smell so a person with allergies would not do well here- I had to take benedryl when I was inside. In the end we had a great time- the area is beautiful, the view was not open but still a really nice view. We enjoyed eating on the deck, kayaking in the lake and the general peace and quiet (except for the occassionally country music blaring from next door). So as long as you know what you are getting it is an okay rental.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 7/11
business
A FRAME IN TREES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156830
+1 5402903375
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Staunton, Virginia
5

Excellent Family Vacation Spot!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
This was one of the best vacations we have had in years. Very kid friendly, they didn't want to leave! The house was clean and very comfortable, with grocery stores just minutes away. Just a little further down the road there is Bridgewater Marina which includes an acrade, gift shopes,eateries, ice cream store, and small amusement park (with a putt putt course)...right on the water! Our days were filled with fishing (plenty to catch), paddle boating and LOTS of swimming just steps away from the house. It was so relaxing and peaceful, we had trouble leaving!
On a rainy day we went to Roanoke and ate at Olive Garden (my wifes favorite) and took the kids to the Carmike Theater and my son was able to see his first 3-D movie (Awesome), and the round trip was only an hour. Since we had our laptop, the available internet access was a HUGE help for maping out this days venture.
The owners were extremely nice and always available to contact with any questions. Will surely be back next year.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
A FRAME IN TREES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156830
+1 5402903375
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Leesburg, Virginia
3

Peaceful getaway lake house

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We enjoyed the restfull atmosphere of this cozy lake house. Though we have visited Smith Mountain Lake several times for short weekend visits this was our first extended stay. We found the lake house to be as described and a relaxing place to stay for the week. We especially enjoyed grilling and eating in the screened porch in the evenings and sitting on the deck overlooking the cove during the day. A great place to fish from the boat dock.The dock is nice and easy to dock your boat if you rent your ownlThe owners are very accomodating and friendly. Overall a good experience.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3