Kailua Kona house rental - Fantastic Oceanfront Location on Kona's Alii Drive
Fantastic Oceanfront Location on Kona's Alii Drive
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps16
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms. Sleeps 16. (With 2 Q Sofabeds + 1 K Trundle Bed.)

Incredible views from Living Room, Dining Room and Kitchen! Beautiful tri-level custom designed Oceanfront house with separate units, located on the water at beautiful Lyman's Bay just two miles south of Kailua Kona town. Penthouse Suite is 2BR / 2BA unit with fully equipped kitchen. Orchid Suite is also 2BR / 2BA unit with fully equipped kitchen (both sleep six). Studio Suite has full bedroom, dining area and kitchenette.

The Three Separate units allow for Togetherness when you want it and Privacy when you need it. Our previous guests always comment on this aspect of the house

Direct ocean access plus private solar heated pool and spa tub just steps from ocean. Conveniently located between Kailua town (shopping, dining, nightlife) and Magic Sands Beach (swimming, bodysurfing) and Kahaluu Beach Park (Best snorkeling plus surfing).

*** NEW! Broadband DSL Internet access with Wireless Access Point.

Moved to Hawaii in 2003. Worked for United Airlines for 27 yrs. as a Flight Attendant. Our mission is to provide our guests with Memories of a Lifetime. We have traveled the world to find the perfect spot for vacation travelers.. and Kona has it all !

We love to snorkel with fish and turtles, manta rays and dolphins.. even whales.

We own a home with a farm.. grow coffee , love 4 cats and one dog.

We will attend to your needs, have an On-call Concierge to book activities or find the best restaurant... get you great discounts on entertainment, luaus, heli-tours. Call Kass toll free at 855-833-4465. Come and live Your Dream !

Trisha Hansen or Sterling Dorje purchased this house in 2004

Kona on the ocean is the Best place to have a Vacation...life is relaxing or invigorating, stimulating and exciting. Life is what you make it.. Come and watch the turtles below the windows of the house pick up their little heads and breathe in air.. flap around in the surf. Go fish outside the house.. or go dive and get lobster... you can do it all.. here at Kona Shangrila !

79 Reviews of Property 156794 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa - New Lower Rates!
average rating of 4.8846154 based on 79 reviews
business
Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa - New Lower Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156794
+ (808) 325-5889
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Salt Lake City, Utah
5

Wonderful place to stay on the big island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
We enjoyed staying at this property very much. It was exactly what we needed. It had beautiful ocean views, turtles swimming in the bay, a nice pool, and hot tub. The owners were nice and easy to make arrangements with. We would like to come back with our children and would try to stay at this property again. We loved the big island! We loved the Pu'u'lu Valley hike to the black sand beach with it's crashing waves, we loved the sea kayaking and snorkeling, we loved the horseback riding in the Waipo Valley, we loved the beaches, we loved the night time lava viewing as it flows into the ocean, we loved the waterfalls, and we loved the luau that we attended. We had a great vacation and were glad to have such a nice place to stay, too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha ! Mahalo for your great review ! We are so blessed to live here on the Big Island and to share this beauty with our guests at Kona Shangrila. It is our passion to provide a First Class experience to our guests so they can enjoy all the wonders and adventures of this Paradise! We look forward to your return visit and please bring those you love to share it with you. Aloha and Mahalo !
Trisha and Sterling
Helpful votes: 11/13
business
Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa - New Lower Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156794
+ (808) 325-5889
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Wonderful Family Reunion at a Great House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We planned very early for a large family trip to Hawaii and found this house on VRBO. We worked with Sterling in the early planning stages and found his correspondence quick and informative. Our group of 14 included family ages 13 thru 90, and the house setup worked very well for us. Everyone had the ability to have private space and we grouped for meals either on the second floor or on the beautiful patio which was able to seat all 14 of us at 1 table very well. The best amenity of the house is the view and the open windows to that incredible view. Grandmother has mobility issues and was able to get around very well using the elevator. The younger of the group walked out to the water to either walk around the tide pools, snorkel, or kayak directly from the house. There is a very easy walk in beach just a few miles down the road for those not able to navigate the waves. From the house we saw many sea turtles, dolphins, and in the distance could watch the whales. Boogie boards provided were great. The pool was used more than we had planned, the water temperature was perfect. Kitchens also turned out perfectly we had every appliance, utensil, and accessories needed, just bought our food. Even with 14 there were plenty of beach towels and the multiple washer and dryers allowed us to return home with clean and dry clothes. We were able to find a message therapist that came to the home and gave messages at the open windows. We did find that the house was so comfortable and the view so great that we did not get out and see Kona as much as we thought we would, it was just to great to leave! On our day of departure Sterling was very helpful and even mailed back a small item that I left at the house. If you are looking for location and space you can't go wrong here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Aloha from Hawaii and Mahalo for taking the time to write a Beautiful Review of Kona Shangrila.
We are so happy that you found everything you needed and enjoyed the magnificent views.
Our mission is to give our Guests and their families Memories of a Lifetime and we so appreciate your telling us how you enjoyed the house.

We look forward to your return someday to our little Paradise on the Ocean.

Aloha and Mahalo,
Sterling and Trisha
business
Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa - New Lower Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156794
+ (808) 325-5889
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

From Guests Email upon departure.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Good morning trish and sterling -

We have had such an amazing week in your beautiful house! We want to stay another month - can you call our bosses and let them know?? Thank you for everything. The house was wonderful, comfortable and we'll stocked. We will be checking out by 11 this morning.

I wanted to let you know the clip that holds up the shower head in the 2nd floor bathroom broke last night. It just snapped in half when someone tried to rehang the shower head. We saved the broken piece because it could maybe be super glued. It's in the shower.


Thank you again for everything!


Shanna


Sent from my iPad
business
Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa - New Lower Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156794
+ (808) 325-5889
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
B.C. Canada
2

Needs work

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
First off I'd like to say that it is a nice property, but could use some work. Location is good, but getting out of the drive can prove to be a problem because the palms are blocking the view, plus it's on a curve. My biggest complaint is the amount we were charged, in my opinion we were over charged according to their rental schedule for January. Plus I was charged an Event Fee, but we couldn't have the Vow Renewal and party there because it wasn't large enough. Even though I told them we were having the party elsewhere, they still they charged the event fee anyway. They charged us more per night then they are advertising on their site. So not happy about the overcharging at all! Plus there is a cleaning fee on top so be aware that if you are planning a party of over 12 people forget it, not large enough even though they say it is. I tried 2 catering companies and they said there wasn't enough room, and the Owners recommended them. The 3rd floor is a crazy setup. From the stairs you have to walk right through the master to get into the condo, or walk all the way around to use the elevator. Very inconvenient! Plus, they told my husband that the second floor is the main unit, therefore most items are there. So if you want a quiet night without family, you have to chase for pots and utensils because most of them are there. The second floor master is ridiculous. It has no shower, just a huge useless Japanese tub that would drain the tank leaving no water for a shower for anyone else in the house. That should be taken out and a useful shower installed. The main floor was basic, but ok except there is no key for them to use the elevator to come to the higher floors for breakfast or supper. That's a huge problem when you have 80 year olds who have trouble doing stairs. We were told to leave a key in the lock box for them to use. Not a great idea when everyone is in and out and someone forgets to put the key back. An extra key for the upper floors would be more logical. We used to live in Kona, and have rented a lot of properties there. Yes it's on the ocean, but be prepared for noise from Alii Drive and the surfers out at 6:00 am yelling. Most of the other houses and condos we rented are in much better shape and setup a lot better. But if you must be on the ocean, and don't mind the noise and quirks, then this is a great place to be. For price and what you get, there are a lot nicer places for a far better price even during high season so do your research.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Aloha Antoinette,
We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at Kona Shangrila. Our main goal is to provide our guests quality accommodations at a fair price and enhance your overall Hawaiian Vacation Experience. So it pains us when one of our guests is unsatisfied.
The house was built in 1985. Since taking ownership in 2004, we have spent over $300,0000 in improvements and upgrades. Both Kitchens on the 2nd & 3rd levels plus 4 of the 5 bathrooms have been completely renovated with Granite Counters, quality cabinetry, fixtures and appliances. The interior was completely repainted in early 2013. Every effort is made to constantly maintain and upgrade.
You will note from all the other reviews that our guests approve of our efforts.
YOUR ACCUSATION THAT YOU WERE OVERCHARGED IS TOTALLY UNFAIR AND UNJUSTIFIED.
1. We charged you the 2013 8-person rate of $750 per night which is $50 cheaper than the 2014 rate of $800. YOU ACTUALLY GOT A DEAL!
2. You booked the house in Aug. 2012 - 17 months in advance. You agreed to and accepted the rate quoted on the rental contract. Never once did you say that you were overcharged or disagreed with the quoted rate.
3. We never made any claims on the ability to have large parties on the property. All the recommended caterers have catered events at the property before.
4. You never informed us of your decision not to hold your event at the house until this review.
5. Finally, you personally inspected and previewed the house in November 2013, and made no mention of any doubts or dissatisfaction.
If the setup was not suitable for your group, you had ample opportunity to cancel your reservation and seek alternate accommodations well in advance. Now you are making it sound like you walked into a situation you were totally unaware of.
This is why we are puzzled by your negative review.
We realize that sometimes customer satisfaction is a subjective thing.
As owners, we are very ethical in our business dealings and take it very seriously when you question our integrity and honesty.
Mahalo,
Trisha & Sterling
Hawaii Shangrila Vacations
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa - New Lower Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156794
+ (808) 325-5889
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Excellent location and fantastic views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My family and I had an amazing time at Kona Shangri-la. It was perfect for a family and the different floors offers privacy while still enjoying communal areas.

Views: This is the absolutely the highlight of the property. There are huge open panoramic windows on the 2nd and 3rd floor with the ocean outside.

Amenities: We made very good use of the grill - it had propane and was very easy to grill. The pool is on the smaller side, but we put it to good use. The hot tub is fantastic in the evening.

Dining Areas: The outdoor dining table was great. There were also tiki torches that we lit nightly. We primarily used the 2nd floor kitchen and dining table, but there is an identical kitchen on the third floor. Great cook ware and basic seasoning, oils and condiments.

Bedrooms: Master bedrooms are spacious. The secondary bedrooms are also a good size. Beds are comfortable as are the pillows - especially for a vacation house.

Bathrooms: Master bedroom on the 3rd floor is excellent. The 2nd floor master bathroom has a tub only (does not have a shower).

Others: We really appreciated the extra beach chairs and boogie boards. There is also an elevator which is great for those with mobility issues. The only issue is some road noise from Alii Drive as the house is right off a main road. However, if you close the bathroom doors to the master bedrooms, it really isn't bad at all.

Overall it was a great stay. My entire family really appreciated the view, location, and beautiful house. The owners were also kind enough to give us a tour when we arrived and are extremely professional and responsive.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa - New Lower Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156794
+ (808) 325-5889
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Long Beach, CA
5

Magical Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What an amazing house for our grand family vacation. Considering we had 4 generations present...there was something for each and every one of us. No matter what we needed, we found it in Shangrila! We wanted to give a big giant THANKS to you both for having such an amazing spot that we could all enjoy and share. From each one of us...MAHALO!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa - New Lower Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156794
+ (808) 325-5889
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Fenton, MI
5

We had a Lovely vacation at Kona Shangri-la

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My family group of 7 loved staying at both of the Shangri-la's for our 9 night Big Island vacation. This review pertains especially to Kona Shangri-la. My teens and 20 somethings enjoyed the private pool and hot tub, as well as being able to go explore down at the shore right outside the back gate. We saw turtles on the rocks every morning! The kids also liked the bright green geckos and the lovely garden plantings. My husband and I liked watching the paddle boarders who enter the ocean nearby each morning. We liked being able to use the fully equipped lovely kitchen ( we really only used one) for breakfast every morning. It saved us a lot of money over eating out all meals every day, and there were plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms, allowing private time when needed, and family time when wanted. That was a great advantage over being cooped up in a couple of hotel rooms. Really the price was better than three hotel rooms would have been for our group at a similarly nice hotel, and I believe the benefits of being at our own private house were way better than any hotel could offer . The house was conveniently located for exploring both north and south Kona -- we even got up to Kohala and the Pololu Valley which was an awesome day trip.. It is not close enough to walk to any restaurants but they are just a short drive away. We did not experience any heavy traffic during our stay on Ali'i Drive. We also appreciated the convenience of using the laundry room at the house! It made for some light packing! It was so awesome the way the windows open up on two of the levels to let the breeze and the sound of the ocean come in... however I will say that while we were there Kona was having a bit of a heat wave ( mid to high 80's) and we did need to use the air conditioning for comfortable sleeping. But probably at other times of the year, the breeze would be comfortable enough. The units were beautifully decorated and very very well kept and super clean. If we are ever blessed enough to visit Hawaii again we will definitely look up Sterling and Trisha's properties again! We had absolutely no problems whatsoever our whole trip! We highly recommend Kona Shangri-la! P.S. while in Hawaii don't miss going to the Place of Refuge, visiting the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, taking a trip to the top of Mauna Kea to see the stars, and make the drive to Pololu Valley and hike down to the black sand beach. It was all absolutely beautiful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Kay.
Thanks so much for taking time to write such a great review on Kona Shangrila. We so love that you enjoyed your holiday. It is our mission to provide a comfortable and beautiful space so you can create memories of a lifetime for yourself, family and friends. We try to provide all the amenities and guidance you need to explore the island with its wide range of adventures. Please come back again and visit us in Paradise. Aloha and Mahalo, Trisha and Sterling
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa - New Lower Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156794
+ (808) 325-5889
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Vancouver, BC Canada
5

Amazing holiday location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed there as a family, and thoroughly enjoyed Kona Shangrila. Sterling and Trisha were excellent to deal with. The home is lovely, well stocked and in a great location. We were a close drive to Kailua -Kona, White Sands beach and Kahaluu beach. We were able to paddle board and snorkel right from our doorstep. We loved the sliding windows that opened up to the ocean breezes and the wonderful sounds of the surf! This home is perfect for separate family units, should one need it, as there are 2 fully equipped kitchens, but ended up using only one kitchen as our home base.Lovely to hear the surf, see the trees, sunsets and turtles . Amazing. Should we ever need a large home for an extended family trip again, we would definitely consider staying here again. Thanks for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Aloha Kim Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review on Kona Shanagrila. We do strive to provide Memories of a Lifetime for our guests and provide a very at home feeling by providing amenities to make you comfotable. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back another day with family and friends. Aloha and Mahalo. Trisha and Sterling
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa - New Lower Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156794
+ (808) 325-5889
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Canada
5

Donna D

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house was simply lovely and all 6 of us enjoyed our stay. We hope to come back one day soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Aloha Donna..
Thanks for posting such a nice review on Shangrila. We hope to see you again one day soon . Aloha and Mahalo, Trisha and Sterling
business
Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa - New Lower Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156794
+ (808) 325-5889
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
San Diego, CA
5

A+ All the Way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This was a wonderful location for our group vacation. Trisha and Sterling were very helpful throughout the entire rental process, and we found all of the directions on getting to the house and what to do once we arrived to be clear and easy to follow. We had five couples, so we all appreciated having our own bedroom and bathroom. We used the kitchen on the middle level (with occasional runs up to the top floor when we needed additional microwave or oven space) and found it to be very well-stocked. We were especially glad to find such a nice selection of condiments, spices, and basic ingredients - those sorts of things that you need to have but don't always remember to buy! It was also well-supplied with items like beach towels, some snorkel gear and beach toys, and even coolers. We used the washers/dryers, and were pleased that detergent was provided for them. Many in our group enjoyed snorkeling in the bay - what a treat to have that right next to the house! And the hot tub was also quite popular after the snorkel adventures. We enjoyed watching for sea turtles in the bay. One evening we had a wonderful barbecue on the lanai. We loved the large sliding windows and kept them open most of the day if we were around. The ceiling fans and portable fans helped us to keep the house comfortable - and we appreciated the detailed directions on the use of the ceiling fans. The house is in a terrific location - close to Kailua but out of the traffic - and so convenient to other areas. We visited the farmer's market, the Pu`uhonua o Honaunau Historic Site, Kealekekua Bay, Painted Church, and Bayview Coffee Farm. We also did the tour of the Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory, which was excellent. We were very sad to leave, and we hope to return someday soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Aloha Laura,
Thanks so much for taking time to write such a nice review on Kona Shanagrila. It makes us feel so happy to know our guests enjoy this beautiful home and location. It is our mission to help our guests create Memories of a Lifetime by giving them the amenities and guidance to create that space in their lives for their friends and families. We hope to welcome you once again to Kona Shangrila for another wonderful holiday. Aloha and Mahalo, Trisha and Sterling
Helpful votes: 5/6