Jordaan house rental - Our house
Our house
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Jordaan House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 4)

This self-contained monument house is located in the heart of the Jordaan, Central Amsterdam's 'village,' known for its wonderful cafes, shops, restaurants and galleries. The house is approximately 750 square feet (70 square meters), with private entrance, ground floor and three floors above.

You will appreciate the comfort of this home during your stay in Amsterdam. It is ideal for a couple or small family. The house is totally furnished, with two bedrooms (one bedroom can be configured to provide either two twin beds or one queen-size bed), a fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher, dining room, living room, terrace, full bath with tub and two WC's. Other amenities include CableTV/DVD, Internet ADSL/wifi, and washer and dryer. For your safety the Poppenhuis is a non-smoking environment.

This home is located steps from the most beautiful canals in Amsterdam. The Noorderkerk, Westerkerk, wonderful outdoor markets, food shops, all museums, the famous 'Nine Streets' shopping district, and the Anne Frank house are all right outside your door. Amsterdam's Centraal Station is a short fifteen minute walk or just minutes away by tram or bus.

Our property is registered with the City of Amsterdam as a short term stay property.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 156120 in Jordaan, Netherlands

Your Private Monument House in the Heart of the Jordaan
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Your Private Monument House in the Heart of the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156120vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Tempe, Arizona
5

Wonderful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Everything was as described on VRBO, if not better. We met our daughter and stayed three weeks. Plenty of room. Great kitchen, washer, dryer. Beautiful neighborhood. Very safe. Within a half-hour walk of popular museums, many a lot closer. Shopping and restaurants nearby. The stairs are very steep. Would not recommend for anyone with mobility constraints. We would gladly stay here again on a future visist.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Your Private Monument House in the Heart of the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156120vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
5

Perfect location, everything you might want/need is provided.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Can't beat this cozy and charming apartment for location and ambience. It has all the needed amenities. Great service, too.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Your Private Monument House in the Heart of the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156120vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Florida
5

Wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We just returned from a wonderful stay at this house. The location is excellent, in the heart of the Jordaan. It is within walking distance of the Anne Frank house, the canal tours, the Old Center and the Nine Streets shopping area. It is surrounded by beautiful canals and the area is safe and clean. The house itself is very charming, with all you would need in a home for a comfortable stay. Tony was very helpful and responsive during the rental process. Rick was waiting for us when we arrived from the airport and gave us a tour of the house and the surrounding neighborhood. He also arranged for a taxi to pick us up on our last day for the trip back to the airport. We will always have lovely memories of our trip and will think of Poppenhuis as our home in Amsterdam.
business
Your Private Monument House in the Heart of the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156120vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Seattle WA
5

Fabulous family apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed for 5 nights at this B&B and it was wonderful. Great location, near the train station but far enough away to not be too noisy. Nice neighborhood and very attentive owner/manager who checked in regularly to make sure we had everything we need. He also offered to give us a tour around the region. Very generous! Would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Your Private Monument House in the Heart of the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156120vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Bristol
4

6 nights in Amsterdam

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Overall a good place to stay in the heart of Amsterdam close to all the major tourist sights. The owner has thought of everything, with so many nice little touches. It is a four roomed house - one room on each floor. As a result there are no rooms at the back which meant the street noise does somewhat detract from the overall experience (however, Euro 2012 was on and the noise was worse on nights the national team were playing!).
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Your Private Monument House in the Heart of the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156120vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Albuquerque, New Mexico
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Excellent place and perfect location! We stayed there with 4 adults and one 3-year old and had a great time. Access to the city was fantastic and the neighborhood was lovely with great places to eat nearby. Will definitely stay here again when we come to Amsterdam.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Your Private Monument House in the Heart of the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156120vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Nova Scotia, Canada
5

Great place to stay...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely house in the centre of the Jordaan area of Amsterdam.
It was well appointed, very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The beds, linens and dishes were of excellent quality. Rooms were small and the stairs were steep but this is an historic area of the city so it all added to the ambience. Rick, the manager, greeted us warmly, and visited with us while he reviewed the house and points of interest in the neighborhood all of which was very helpful. At his suggestion we had a wonderful dinner at the Afghan restaurant across the street. Amsterdam is a wonderful city to visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Your Private Monument House in the Heart of the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156120vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
San Francisco
5

Great place to stay in the heart of Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights. The Poppenhuis, meaning dollhouse, has everything that one would need. The Jordaan is one of the most desirable neighborhoods; it is centrally located close to everything! Clean. Quiet. Safe. Lots of restaurants nearby. I highly recommend De Reiger (local fare) and Long Pura (Indonesian). Ralph the bartender at De Reiger recommended a great beer called La Chouffe (means elf); believe me after 3 or 4 you'll see them.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Your Private Monument House in the Heart of the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156120vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Washington, DC
4

Unbeatable location, affordable, fun rental

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My girlfriend and I and her two 20-something-year-old daughters stayed at the Poppenhuis for 4 days over the Christmas holidays in 2010, and enjoyed our stay immensely.

Most importantly, you cannot beat the location, period. You're in the heart of the Jordaan, and whether it's on foot, bicycle or nearby tramlines, you are equi-distant from anything you could possibly need or want to see and do. The house is located on a narrow, quiet side street nestled between the picturesque Egelantiersgracht and Bloemgracht Canals, yet only a 3 block walk from the bustling Rozengracht and Prinsengracht thoroughfares, and only a few blocks further from the famous 9 Streets shopping district. We walked everywhere.

The house itself has all the basics you could require -- a full kitchen, washer/dryer, cable TV -- in good functioning order. The two bedrooms are sizeable and comfortable.

The only caveat, and it's a major one that could apply to any number of houses for rent in the Jordaan -- is the very steep spiral staircase that has to be navigated up and down three flights any time you move around. This is not a place for anyone elderly, or who has difficulty navigating steep, narrow stairs. Also, if you are looking for a sleek state-of-the-art ultramodern house, this is not the place for you. It's delightfully shabby-chic, which will work well for you -- as it did for us -- if that's how you feel comfortable. As a value for the money, it was well worth it.

We wuld gladly stay there again, and recommend it for your consideration.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Your Private Monument House in the Heart of the Jordaan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p156120vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
SF Bay Area/California USA
5

Charming, clean Amsterdam house, in the ideal location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We are two experienced world travelers with high standards for cleanliness, charm, neighborhood appeal, integrity, comfort and safety, wherever we stay, whether it's a hotel or a home. Poppenhuis was fantastic, both for in-home comfort, cleanliness, amenities, etc. and for its ideal location on a quiet street in the charming and fun Jordaan district, with excellent walking and easy transit connections all around. Our experience with the owner, Tony, and the property manager, Rick, was excellent throughout--they are friendly, responsive, honest, and very helpful. We ended up staying for several days longer than planned, canceling a reservation at a five-star hotel in Amsterdam, because the house and neighborhood were so much more fun and a better value.

Both Tony and Rick gave us lots of good "insider" ideas for restaurants, side-trips, neighborhood haunts, etc., which added a lot to our experience. And we never needed a car at all, only using a cab when we needed to transport our heavy luggage to and from the Centraal Station--the location is that good. This includes daylong trips into the countryside and to other cities via train and transit.

Note that this is an authentic Amsterdam canal-style house, tall and narrow, so you need to be able to manage narrow stairs and traditional room layouts, smaller than your average American suburban home--but neither of us are spring chickens and we had no trouble, even with a recently healed broken ankle. Also, this is an urban neighborhood, with stores, restaurants, canals and the gorgeous Westerkirk church nearby, so if you need complete solitude and silence, you might want to look elsewhere. However, in spite of being light sleepers, we had no problems with noise, particularly since the bedrooms are at the top of the house. And because the house is between two canals on a quiet street, the main noise came from church bells and the kids playing in the street--charming, not annoying.

We researched our housing options thoroughly, considering several canal houses with waterfront locations, but this was a better value. And when we arrived, we were glad that we had chosen the quieter street between the canals over the more heavily-trafficked canal streets. Far fewer cars, trucks and motorcycles go by the Poppenhuis, yet it's right in the middle of the city.

Poppenhuis gets our highest recommendation! Thanks so much for an amazing experience, Tony and Rick.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4