Poipu house rental - New private heated salt water pool, crater/mountain/golf
New private heated salt water pool, crater/mountain/golf
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 - 14 nights
 

Poipu House Rental Photos and Description
4BR/3.5BA AC/Pool, excellent views

Bird of Paradise home is located on the rim of a dormant crater. This house sits high and is positioned perfectly to take advantage of the panoramic views of Pu'u Wanawana crater and Ha'upu mountain range, Pacific, rainbows and sunrises. This home is one of the highest and largest (5000 sq ft living area) house in Poipu Kai Resort. You can walk to Poipu Bay golf course (PGA grand slam), Poipu Beach (voted the best beach in the USA!), Brennecke's Beach, Turtle Cove and Shipwreck Beach within 5-10 minute pleasant walks through the green belts of Poipu resort.

This spacious air conditioned home is the perfect place to stay for a large family and friend. There are 2 Master Suites + Queen & 2 Twin Bedroom which can accommodate up to 8 people in complete privacy. We provide free high-speed Wireless Internet and unlimited local & long distance phone calls to USA and Canada. Our guests have unlimited access to Poipu kai Resort's Pool, Jacuzzi and low rate to tennis

This Poipu vacation rental home: Is built on the shoulders of the crater that erupted last in Kauai one million years ago, therefore we get the best views of majestic Pu'u Wanawana crater (another one near by) and Ha'upu mountain range, distant ocean, rainbow and sunrise.

The colorful tropical flowers of the hillside and dozens of bird of paradise flowers greet you upon your arrival at this 4 bedroom 3.5 bath home. Step inside the expansive living area connected to the lanai and you are surrounded by large picture windows framing swaying coconuts and green mountains, you'll know you are in a tropical paradise. The L shaped design of the home and the huge wraparound lanai encourages relaxing and absorbing the sunshine and the gorgeous views.

The Bird of Paradise Home is set up on two levels with very private bedrooms making it perfect for a large family or two small families with wireless internet throughout.

Poipu Kai Resort Amenities: Enjoy private heated salt water pool at home and the use of the resort swimming pool, hot tub and eight soft and hard tennis court for guests.

You are only a five-ten minute walk away, through the lush green belts of the resort, from the Poipu and Shipwreck beaches and The Poipu Bay golf course, home of the PGA Grand Slam. The resort has 24 hour security for your peace of mind.

Dining and Family Rooms: Large picture windows on all three sides offer majestic views of the mountains, rainbows, and coconuts swaying in the trade winds. The large open living room area of ~1000 square feet easily accommodates large families in comfort. The family room features cable TV, Wireless Internet, books, DVD and stereo radio. Between the spectacular views, beautiful sunrises, rainbows, large lanai, comfortable furnishings and tropical garden, you may not want to go home from this first class vacation home.

Poipu has the best climate and the beaches: On Kauai. The beaches can be enjoyed by toddlers and adults alike. There are wading areas for children and excellent snorkeling for all ages. In addition to watching monk seals and turtles at the beaches there is an infinite variety of outdoor activities ranging from horseback riding, hiking, kayaking to golf to challenge everyone.

Poipu Shopping Village: Offering a variety of shops, restaurants and retail stores. A great place to find gifts, art, clothing or groceries. Do not forget to ask about Hawaiian and Tahiti dance show by local Hawaiian every Tuesday and Thursday. - Old Koloa Town has two supermarkets, Sueoka's and Big Save for groceries.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of four. Erdogan, Ning, Deniz and Bora Gulari. We live in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Erdogan is a professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Michigan, Ning is a research engineer in the Electrical Engineering department. Bora is a graduate of the Aerospace Engineering Department and is a very accomplished sailor and currently spends most of his time sailing big boats. Deniz is a 6th grader full of curiosity.

We all live by 'be honest, work hard, play hard and enjoy life' Erdogan bought this Bird of Paradise Home in June 1992, a few months before the hurricane Iniki hit Kauai on September 11, 1992. At the time he was also the association president for the Makanui Condo Association and he came to the Island with the first flights from the mainland, bringing a generator along to power several of the neighboring homes. He also brought lots of tarpaulin (some of which you may still see in the garage) to distribute to neighbors and use in covering holes in the roof which we and the neighbors did get. We are planning to live in this home when we retire so we take care of it the best way we can and put all our effort and labor of love into it. We enjoy our vacations in Kauai and love to share the same experiences with you.

We started managing Bird of Paradise home and Hawaiian Hibiscus vacation rental home ourselves with the help of Kay & Bill Oldham, in May 2006. Before that the home was managed by a well-known management company with a nightly rate of $400-450* in 2005. We decided to take control after we found out that our management company actually charged 10-15% extra for our return guests who wanted to come back to Bird of Paradise home.

We value our guests very much and want to remain friends and share our love of Kauai with them. We are pleased to offer our high quality home to Kauai lovers at an affordable rental rate.

Mahalo and enjoy our Beautiful Kauai Island

Ning Gulari purchased this house in 1992

After looking at all the other Hawaiian islands ( excluding Molokai) it became obvious to us Kauai was by far the most beautiful and had the most friendly locals. We like water sports, windsurfing, kayaking, snorkeling etc. and we also liked the green lace like mountains of Kauai. Poipu had both great mountain views, some of the best beaches on the island and great snorkeling and easy access to Mahalepu our favorite beach for windsurfing. Our house has panoramic 270 degree views of the beautiful Hau'pu and Waimea mountain ranges great views of the sunrise in the morning. Our house is on the shoulder of the last active crater on Kauai and because of its high location nothing blocks this spectacular views!

Our guest said the view from our home is ' Views to die for' Just laying on the chaise lounge in the front lanai, watching coconut leave swaying in the wind, seeing 270 degree mountain to ocean view, I can only say you are in 'Paradise'.

67 Reviews of Property 155810 in Poipu, Hawaii

Private warm Pool, Stunning Mountain/Ocean views luxury home
average rating of 4.981132 based on 67 reviews
business
Private warm Pool, Stunning Mountain/Ocean views luxury home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155810
+1 7342232209
Poipu Kauai
Carlsbad, CA
5

Guestbook Comment

Your home is just that a HOME. We felt so comfortable in it. Even with ten people we did not feel crowded at all. The view overlooking everything...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2007
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
Your home is just that a HOME. We felt so comfortable in it. Even with ten
people we did not feel crowded at all. The view overlooking everything was
great! And once we understood the beltways - you could really get around to
everything we needed. Thank-you! for making our first family vacation an
experience we will want to do again soon.

Mahalo - Rosa Whipple

P.S. Duane's burgers(Anahola) are better than Bubba's and JoJo's Shaved Ice(Waimea)is the best!
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Private warm Pool, Stunning Mountain/Ocean views luxury home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155810
+1 7342232209
Poipu Kauai
5

Good value, nice house for vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just returned from a 6 night stay. The pictures shown in the gallery are representative of the property (except that the carpet in living room was recently replaced with wood flooring - a bonus). The kitchen was well stocked with cooking hardware, the pantry had reasonable offerings (and we left some behind for the next person as well). The cleaning supplies (dishwasher and laundry) were well stocked as well. There are two washer and dryers in the garage, very helpful.

The property manager called the day after we arrived and was very helpful.

The pool is more of a dipping pool for cooling down in the afternoon, and was perfect for our kids.

We timed our walk to the beach from the house and it was 10:30 each way. No need to drive to a parking lot to access the beach.
business
Private warm Pool, Stunning Mountain/Ocean views luxury home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155810
+1 7342232209
Poipu Kauai
5

wonderful, met every expectation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Property was well stocked, clean and well maintained, description of layout and property was accurate except pool should be mentioned as small sized. The onsite property manager was exceptional and went out of his way to provide help. Property had everything we could have wanted and more. Would highly recommend it and hope to stay there next year
business
Private warm Pool, Stunning Mountain/Ocean views luxury home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155810
+1 7342232209
Poipu Kauai
5

Great house.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The tile floor could use some throw rugs. Our kids had some pretty bad slips after they got out of the pool. also the community pool was frigid ...I would definitely suggest heating it.
business
Private warm Pool, Stunning Mountain/Ocean views luxury home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155810
+1 7342232209
Poipu Kauai
Georgetown, TX
5

Awesome Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We spent 7 nights in the Bird of Paradise for our 20th wedding anniversary and we could have spent 7 more! There were 5 in our party and everyone had plenty of room to stretch out and lots privacy. The location was perfect and most things were within walking distance. We walked to Shipwreck Beach one morning and got a great view of the sunrise. The view of the mountains from the living room and lanai were great. The kitchen was well stocked and we used the gas grill one night and ate outside on the great lanai which is a nice addition to the home. The home was clean and well decorated in Hawaii motif. We enjoyed the air conditioning and the washer and dryer very much. It was nice to come home and not have tons of laundry to do. We also enjoyed the pool even though we didn’t get to use it as much as we would have liked. Thanks for sharing your wonderful home with us and if we ever get back to Kauai we would be thrilled to stay there again.
business
Private warm Pool, Stunning Mountain/Ocean views luxury home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155810
+1 7342232209
Poipu Kauai
Boston, MA
5

Amazing Vacation Home for Families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This fantastic home was perfect for our family of four plus grandparents. (There was room for more, even.) The kitchen was the best equipped of any vacation rental we've ever stayed at. There was plenty of seating on the lanai, by the pool, in the living room so that you could relax where you wanted without needing to move furniture. The kids loved jumping in the pool right after breakfast while the grownups relaxed. The walk to Poipu Beach was short and pretty- our 6yo never complained once. There were plenty of buggy boards and snorkel gear so our kids could try them out without a big investment from us. The property manager came by and introduced himself, although we never needed to call him. Everything was clean. They request no shoes in the house to keep the floors wonderful, so bring slippers or house shoes if you'd want them.

We loved the lu'au on the beach at the Sheraton. Such a beautiful sunset. Poipu Beach was perfect for our 6 and 7 yos. There are two crescents of sand that meet in a spit going out to a rocky tidepool area. Our 6yo rode his boogy board back and forth over the sand spit, between the opposing (small) waves, without having to stand up. So fun! The snorkeling was super there, as was the tidepooling. We even saw a monk seal. One of our favorite meals was the ahi poke and sashimi platter from Costco. (Yes really. It was amazing, and far cheaper than a restaurant!!) Kalapaki Joe's was a huge disappointment, even though it's in walking distance. We did a small boat cruise and a helicopter ride, but both tour guides were duds. The views were terrific, however. We also drove up the Waimai canyon to the Pu'u o Kila Lookout. Amazing views. Really awe inspiring, plus we had an amazing rainbow on the way back.

The owners have a ton of information online and it all reflects accurately the details of the house. There are not hiding anything in their photos; they really want you to see what there is, and what there is is great. You won't be disappointed.
Owner's Response: Aloha Gisele,

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed staying in our home. We want our guests to enjoy their vacation so we do everything we can to make the home better for them.

Mahalo for your review.

Ning Gulari
business
Private warm Pool, Stunning Mountain/Ocean views luxury home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155810
+1 7342232209
Poipu Kauai
5

Bird of Paradise home on Kauau - fantastic place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our group (two families: two couples and 3 young teenage kids) had a wonderful time during our recent stay at Bird of Paradise home on Kauai. The house is beautiful, with great views and a wonderful large open living room/dining room/kitchen area that is attractive, comfortable, and relaxing.

We really liked the three separate sleeping areas: two separate master suites for the adults, and a downstairs space with two rooms for the kids. The house has a great combination of a large central space for everyone to hang out, and private spaces for everyone as well. Other amenities we appreciated:

- the two washers and driers, which made laundry very easy for our large group

- assorted boogies boards, flippers, and snorkel gear

- excellent large TV in the living room, plus TVs in all the bedrooms

- pool and deck on the property, which the boys used a fair amount

I would recommend this place whole-heartedly.
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your comments
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private warm Pool, Stunning Mountain/Ocean views luxury home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155810
+1 7342232209
Poipu Kauai
5

Bird of Paradise Home Review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The nine members of our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Bird of Paradise home in Po'ipu. We found the location very convenient (walking distance) to several area beaches, and to shopping for provisions at Costco in Lihu'e. The house itself was perfect for us. The large family room and dining rooms were great for gathering. The wrap around deck was awesome. We ate nearly every meal on the deck. The two younger children in our group really enjoyed the salt water pool, and when we weren't at the beach, they could be found in the pool. The sleeping accommodations were very comfortable. There was air conditioning in every room, although we never used it because of the nice cross winds. We found the two washers and driers particularly helpful because of the size of our group and the amount of time we spent at the beach. It was also nice that some beach toys were available for use (boogie boards, etc.). The kitchen was very well equipped and we lacked for nothing. We had a wonderful time on the island, exploring from Wiamea Canyon to Hanalei and many spots in between. We would definitely recommend the Bird of Paradise home to anyone interested in visiting Kauai, and hope to return ourselves some day.
business
Private warm Pool, Stunning Mountain/Ocean views luxury home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155810
+1 7342232209
Poipu Kauai
Gilbert, Arizona
5

Bird of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
What a lovely home and awesome views. This home was perfect for our sister reunion, the floor plan allowed us plenty of space. The home was well maintained and the location was easy to find. The area around the home was lush and green and the ocean was more then we expected. I would diffentely recommend this home to friends and family and hope to return with ours in the near future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private warm Pool, Stunning Mountain/Ocean views luxury home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155810
+1 7342232209
Poipu Kauai
Bow, Washington
5

Bird of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Our family, including two small grandchildren, loved your home. The location, views, pool, space, and lovely rooms all made for a perfect vacation. We loved the fact that we could walk (or run) to so many places including the beach, pool or a drink at the Grand Hyatt at sunset. The views from the deck will not be forgotten. I would highly recommend this home and we hope to back within a few years. Thank you! Kristine
Helpful votes: 2/2