Durango house rental - Secluded, peaceful mountain getaway just 5 miles from Vallecito Lake
Secluded, peaceful mountain getaway just 5 miles from Vallecito Lake
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Durango House Rental Photos and Description
4BR/2.5BA Sleeps 6-8

This spectacular 2100 square foot, vacation rental home is nestled in a beautiful and secluded mountain meadow. The home sits on 11 acres surrounded by the San Juan National Forest and features a large pond, several streams, open fields of wildflowers and forests of aspens and spruce. Located only five miles from Vallecito Lake, it's a perfect place for an unforgettable, 'get-away-from-it-all' vacation where you can relax on a hammock, paddle a canoe on your own glassy pond, play a game of horseshoes, gaze into an endless starry night, and enjoy the crystal clear water and cool fresh air of Colorado mountain living. The two-story house features four bedrooms, two and a half bathrooms, along with a comfortable living room with an incredible floor-to-ceiling rock fireplace. A large deck wraps around the home with a covered, shaded sitting area looking out over the pond, meadow and trees.

AVAILABLE MAY - OCTOBER. NOT ACCESSIBLE DURING WINTER.

20 Reviews of Property 155158 in Durango, Colorado

Secluded Mountain Meadow Home - Vallecito Lake, Durango
average rating of 4.928571 based on 20 reviews
business
Secluded Mountain Meadow Home - Vallecito Lake, Durango
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155158
+1 970 247-3610
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Albuquerque, NM
5

Sarah

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family had the most wonderful time at this cabin. It is so secluded and so relaxing. Our kids wanted the camping experience so we set up a tent for them in front of the cabin to stay in while the adults slept comfortably inside the cabin in beds. It was a win win for everyone. I highly recommend this place - it brought our family closer together spending quality time in a super relaxing setting.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Mountain Meadow Home - Vallecito Lake, Durango
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155158
+1 970 247-3610
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Weslaco, Texas
5

Bit of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The mountain cabin was great! Just as stated, the place was extremely secluded and peaceful. The accomodations were superb. We had lots of time to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature. If you want to get away from it all and your main goal is to JUST RELAX, this is your place.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Mountain Meadow Home - Vallecito Lake, Durango
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155158
+1 970 247-3610
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Dove Creek Co
5

Great Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My Family and I had such a great time at the cabin. Wish we would have had a few more day to stay. We will for sure be going back when we find time. Everything was super. Thanks for letting us stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Mountain Meadow Home - Vallecito Lake, Durango
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155158
+1 970 247-3610
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Phoenix, AZ
4

Our Great Week in the Colorado Mountains

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our Family get-together at your cabin was absolutely wonderful! We loved the peace, serenity, quick access to incredible hiking trails and beautiful scenery. It may be worthwhile to recommend that a four-wheel drive vehicle be used to access the cabin as the last mile getting to there was quite rugged. However, the location and it's remoteness is fantastic. We loved the large kitchen table where we could all sit, eat, play games, and most of all laugh together. We loved that there was no TV. The deck looking onto the pond was fabulous. Thanks for providing a great place to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Mountain Meadow Home - Vallecito Lake, Durango
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155158
+1 970 247-3610
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Denver, CO
5

A Wonderful Retreat from the City!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family and our friends enjoyed a relaxing get away here at this wonderfully secluded home. The accomodations were clean and comfortable. The canoe and the pond in front of the house were so much fun for the kids and the adults! We enjoyed the area with many hikes, fishing, and horseback riding also. There was no TV, internet, or cell service, and it was nice to be away from it all for awhile. There were so many other outdoor activities at the house that the kids never got bored! The home is well taken care of and the owners were extremely helpful whenever we had a question. I think anyone looking to get away from the city for awhile will enjoy themselves at this cabin very much!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Mountain Meadow Home - Vallecito Lake, Durango
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155158
+1 970 247-3610
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Gallup, New Mexico
5

Excellent Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This is a beautiful secluded get away. For the past 29 years a group of high school friends get together for a reunion. Usually in the Illinois area. This year we branched out to Southwest Colorado. The house and the location did not disappoint. The house is clean, well stocked, quiet and peaceful. It is picture postcard perfect. I would highly recommend it for small groups or families. The owners were responsive and helpful with all inquires. Greg & Jan even provided and extra air mattress at my request. We took part in golf, ATVing and rented a boat out of the marina. It takes a bit of time to get down to Durango and I would suggest that having a 4-wheel drive vehicle is beneficial for the last 4 1/2 miles up the mountain. If you're looking for a peaceful setting with a lot of good outdoor fun, then this is a place for you. We enjoyed it greatly and I hope to make another trip in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Mountain Meadow Home - Vallecito Lake, Durango
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155158
+1 970 247-3610
Durango Southwestern Colorado
5

Get Away from it All

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Our family had a lovely stay - 3 kids (ages 8, 5, 5) & 4 adults. We made it in the minivan without any issues, but with the rains we didn't want to push our luck of getting stuck. We brought all our food with us & didn't leave the property once we arrived. Lots of walks, canoe rides, s'mores, board games, horseshoes, etc. Kids loved all the games, canoe, woods to explore. We had one mountain biker in the group that loved the challenge of the terrain (i.e, the road!) & the altitude. Thank you!
business
Secluded Mountain Meadow Home - Vallecito Lake, Durango
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155158
+1 970 247-3610
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Austin, Texas
5

Wonderful stay in the mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our varied group all found enjoyable activities right at the cottage, as well as driving to longer hikes and fishing in the excellent valleys nearby. And of course the man in our group loved driving the solid four wheel drive we rented, although the four wheel drive application was not necessary to reach the cottage.
The stars and especially the milky way were so clear and were enjoyed by stargazers from the porch. Beautiful wildflowers, mushrooms, trees and birds were plentiful right around the pond to keep the nature lovers happy. And plenty of boardgames were available for evening entertainment.
The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking all of our meals, and the cottage is beautifully furnished including comfortable beds with handmade quilts.
We enjoyed the remoteness and quiet, and it was just what we were looking for, and totally recommend a stay there for those looking to get away from the heat and the city.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Mountain Meadow Home - Vallecito Lake, Durango
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155158
+1 970 247-3610
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Las Cruces, New Mexico/ USA
5

Great Retreat!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Dear Greg & Jan,
We had an outstanding time at your cabin!!! The quiet and seclusion was exactly what we needed. The wildlife that we saw was unforgetable!!!! From hummingbirds to a 10 point whitetail deer in velvet walking through the yard. We rode the train from Durango to Silverton and enjoyed a few dinners at local restaurants.The cool crisp mornings watching wildlife come to the pond from the deck was a great experience. The cabin was very comfortable and relaxing. We had a wonderful time and look forward to booking the cabin again. Thanks again,
Sincerely,
B
Las Cruces, NM.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Mountain Meadow Home - Vallecito Lake, Durango
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155158
+1 970 247-3610
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Albuquerque
5

so relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed at this cabin again for a second time and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We loved being out of cell phone reception, with no television or internet. It was so nice to read, do puzzles, play horseshoes, watch the dogs swim in the pond, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. This year my dog and I discovered how fun it was to trail run in the early morning on the dirt roads, and bike and ATV trails you could reach right from the cabin. At 9600 feet and with all the hills we got an excellent workout with great scenery. Snowcapped mountain peaks, babbling brooks, pine trees, and aspens. What a great place to go to get away from it all!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: Depending on their phone and carrier, some folks have no problem making cell calls just outside by the gate.