Vieques Island house rental - La Solana
La Solana
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Vieques Island House Rental Photos and Description
House - 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s) - 2 Baths - (Sleeps 4-6)

La Solana is our breathtaking hillside house in Vieques, Puerto Rico with gorgeous views of the Caribbean Sea. Stunning views from our forty-five foot by ten foot deck allow you to see Puerto Rico and Culebra by day and thousands of stars by night.

La Solana is located in Los Chivos just minutes from town and beaches!

The house is two bedroom and two baths, but can accommodate 6 guests. The master bedroom has a king size bed and the guest bedroom features two twin beds. The great room has a sofa bed as well.

La Solana is completely furnished with everything you may need for your vacation.

21 Reviews of Property 155087 in Vieques Island, Puerto Rico

Breathtaking La Solana in Vieques Puerto Rico
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Breathtaking La Solana in Vieques Puerto Rico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155087
410 804-7124
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Brooklyn NY
5

Just perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was our second long term stay(6-8 weeks each time), and we have booked again for next year! The house is so comfortably furnished with gorgeous views of the ocean and surrounding hills, and the kitchen is appointed with everything the cook might want. And the grill is excellent and well maintained. The covered porch is breezy and perfect for lounging on those days you wish to stay home from the beaches and wish to relax. But if you do go to the beach, everything you need is available and in top condition.
Bedrooms and baths are perfectly situated for privacy and comfort.
New landscaping added to the beauty of the property this year.
We look forward to our return and have no doubts about enjoying it yet again.
What few suggestions we could think of were addressed immediately by the owners or the attentive and friendly house managers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
business
Breathtaking La Solana in Vieques Puerto Rico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155087
410 804-7124
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Hagerstown, MD USA
5

Our Wonderful Thanksgiving 2013 at La Solana on Vieques Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We spent 10 wonderful days at the beautiful home on Vieques Island known as La Solana during Thanksgiving 2013. My wife and I had several long, lazy and leisurely days of the most total relaxation I have enjoyed since I cannot remember. Shortly thereafter, our son, his girl-friend and our grand-daughter arrived. Although we had been on the island in 1996, it had not seemed to change a bit. The 11 or 12 (or more) beautiful beaches are as pristine as I remember. On some beaches, we could not see another person for two or three hundred yards. The water is luxuriously warm and clear.

The house is beautiful, roomy, and equipped with every convenience and amenity you can imagine including WIFI, a gas grill, charcoal grill, and a serious hammock. Everything is clean as can be. In addition to a fully equipped kitchen, books, and a library of DVDs, the owners make available plenty of beach chairs, portable hammock, boogie boards, loads of snorkeling equipment, even a lightweight set of horse shoes for the beach. The huge front deck gives you a panoramic view of the sea, distant islands, and the mainland of Puerto Rico, and was a great setting for a family lobster and grouper dinner by candlelight on one of our first nights after our son et al arrived. At one point I hooked my laptop up to the WIFI and sent an email to one of my lawyers regarding a business transaction I was working on back in the U.S. I promptly got back an email with some legal advice that said "Shut off your laptop and enjoy your time in paradise." And I did.

We briefly wondered if our 14 year old grand-daughter would find enough to do to keep her interested. She not only loved everything about it, she has vowed to bring her mother back here to stay at La Solana and repeat everything that she did while she was here with her mother.

This was truly a memorable vacation for which we sincerely thank our hosts, Don and Gerri Wilkins.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Breathtaking La Solana in Vieques Puerto Rico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155087
410 804-7124
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Great vacation house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This house had everything we needed for a relaxing vacation. There is a great view from the front porch, the kitchen was very well-equipped, there was everything we needed for the beach, a gas-grill to cook our steaks, movies to watch on the VCR, and even earplugs to block out the roosters in the morning. The property manager, Michelle, was extremely friendly and helpful. You will definitely need to rent a jeep to get around the island. The roads are not great to get to most beaches but it is worth it once you get there--blue water, white sand, and no crowds. The restaurants around the island were excellent and the Bio-bay is not to be missed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Breathtaking La Solana in Vieques Puerto Rico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155087
410 804-7124
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Brooklyn NY
5

guest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Just like home, if not better! Comfortable, cozy, with every amenity and well appointed kitchen for the chef. Clean and well maintained by courteous and kind caretakers, Kelly and Cheo. A place to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breathtaking La Solana in Vieques Puerto Rico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155087
410 804-7124
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Should have stayed longer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
La Solana was the perfect house for our group. The pictures online did it no justice. We were pleasantly surprised to find it to be furnished so nicely and located quite conveniently to everything.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Breathtaking La Solana in Vieques Puerto Rico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155087
410 804-7124
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
New York City
5

Great for Families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My wife and I and our toddler son stayed a week at La Solana, and what a terrific time we had. The feature that really made the place outstanding is the large, covered deck that extends across the entire front. Naturally, it affords great views of the ocean, and whatever the temperature elsewhere, here it is always perfectly comfortable--great for adults who like to linger over dinner or relax in the hammock. But best of all the deck was a terrific--and very safe--playground for our son. Whether he was pushing his trucks along the floor, lying on his stomach communing with his adopted--and entirely harmless--pet lizard (who lived in the yellow flowers lining the deck), or watching the horses migrate up the hill each morning, we knew he could play freely--and safely-- while under our vacationing scrutiny. And, of course, La Solana is just a short drive from the beaches, which we visited every day. I highly recommend this place to families with children. (And there 's a tremendous amount of beach gear on hand--chairs, boogie boards, etc.) It is wonderful.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Breathtaking La Solana in Vieques Puerto Rico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155087
410 804-7124
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Newfield, Maine
5

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We returned to Vieques and for our third time to La Solana. It's a little slice of heaven on earth. The large veranda offers sweeping views of the Atlantic Ocean and the house is immaculate. It's a home away from home, well appointed in every respect from the spacious living areas to the comfortable king sized bed. This villa is situated so that you can drive to the beautiful beaches and other island delights in no time. It truly is a place where you can relax in true Caribbean fashion, whether it is laying in the hammock with a book or rocking on the veranda with a cocktail. The hosts are wonderful, very nice and helpful. It is evident when you are staying at La Solana that they have worked hard to insure you have a wonderful experience. We will return.
Owner's Response: Dear Diane and Richard,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It means a lot to us and to future renters.]
If you choose to come back in season we will be happy to give you the off season rate and of course a discount should you come back to Vieques during the off season.
Wishing you a speedy recovery, a comfortable retirement and a very enjoyable summer.

Fond regards,
Gerri & Don Wilkins
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Breathtaking La Solana in Vieques Puerto Rico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155087
410 804-7124
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The house is beautiful everywhere. The beds are very comfortable and everything is very clean. It’s located in a little quiet mountain in Vieques which gives it privacy. The view it’s just perfect and there’s a big hammock where you can lay down and relax looking at the precious view. The beaches are 10minutes away in car so I recommend renting one. In summary the house its perfect and I recommend it to everyone families and couples.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Breathtaking La Solana in Vieques Puerto Rico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155087
410 804-7124
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Perfect Caribbean Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
What I loved was the style and easy relaxing feel. It had every amenity that we needed - the beds were snuggly. The views were breathtaking and nirvana is "chillin" in the hammock. House was very festive and I would definitely go back in a heartbeat. Loved investigating a new beach each day and dining out was one wonderful experience after another. This vacation destination is well worth the price and I would go back in a heartbeat!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Breathtaking La Solana in Vieques Puerto Rico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155087
410 804-7124
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
New York, NY
5

the perfect home base for a vieques vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
La Solana is a stunningly beautiful house that meets the Vieques traveler's every need. The owner has thought of everything from designing a lovely home with a great view from the sprawling front porch to stocking the house with everything you need for a day at the beach to providing a fully-functional kitchen for cooking dinners at home. This is the perfect launching pad to enjoy everything Vieques has to offer--it's just a few minutes drive to "town" (Isabel Segunda), about ten minutes to Esperanza on the south side of the island, and 15 minutes to the amazing beaches in the old Navy base. We loved starting our day to the sounds of the roosters and coffee on the porch looking out at the ocean and the main island (Puerto Rico). It was just as sweet to end the day watching the sunset over the ocean and main island and later rocking in the hammock on this same porch listening to the coqui frogs sing.
We lucked out by staying at La Solana--it rained a few days during our week in Vieques and instead of feeling like we were stuck inside with no place to go, we relaxed to the rain outside on the front porch. (What a great giant hammock.) This is a great vacation home for all types at any time of the year in the Caribbean!
(I recommend renting a car to take full advantage of your Vieques vacation!)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4