Hakalau house rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps16
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Hakalau House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Attached Unit, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 12-16)

Newly constructed two story house with a one bedroom apartment adjoining with a beautiful ocean view located on historic property reminiscent of the sugar heydays of the early 1900's of Hawaii. Hakalau is a small village founded in the early 1900's by sugar processors.

Enjoy the peacefulness and wonder of "real" Hawaii. Hakalau Haven was built with the intention of giving our guests a place to escape everyday stress and kick up their feet while gazing at the stunning ocean views. The driveway to Hakalau Haven is essentially your portal to the tranquility of Hakalau bay just seconds away.

Famous Akaka Falls is just minutes away. To find Akaka Falls you drive through the quaint little town of Honomu. Honomu has Ed's bakery, small shops to buy souviners, and the Wood Shop Gallery for a quick bite to eat. The falls is 442 feet high, surrounded by beautiful scenery and the sweet smells of Hawaiian flowers await you. Kolekole Beach Park is only 1.43 miles away, great for kids, swimming, surfing, boogie boarding, sun bathing and a nice place to picnic. It is also located between two Botanical Gardens and several waterfalls. The town of Hilo, which offers shopping malls, museums, grocery stores, restaurants, and anything you might need, is just a short drive away. The Tsunami Museum is a must see. The dedicated staff at the museum has a wealth of knowledge regarding museums and life saving information for any visitor to the islands. A Farmers Market is open on Wednesday and Saturdays, with fresh produce and lots of crafts. Volcanoes National Park is a 45 minute drive and a great place to see this island grow. There's also a variety of beaches, white sand, black sand and even green sand.

Hakalau Haven is a new house that can comfortably sleep 10 people, with three bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Enjoy entertaining in our spacious kitchen with granite countertop and cathedral ceiling. We also have a one bedroom apartment with it's own balcony. We offer a full kitchen, clean linens, and all the comforts of home. We also have ADA accessories, including a wheelchair, walkers, portable commode, and shower chairs. We promise to make your vacation a memorable one.

Keywords: House and One Bedroom Apartment

More Details
Hide Details

We live in Palouse, Washington. We have a son with his wife and five grandchildren living in Hawaii.

The Owner purchased this house in 2007

We decided to build a home in Hawaii, so when we frequently visited our son and his family we could also enjoy the comforts of home. When we built Hakalau Haven we knew it would also be a vacation home for other people.

We have a beautiful garden and a breath-taking ocean view. Hakalau Haven is within easy walking distance of Hakalau Bay, which is also a Black sand beach. Two miles from Hakalau is Akaka Falls, a beautifully scenic 442 ft. waterfall. Hakalau is centrally located for several beautiful Hawaiian attractions.

41 Reviews of Property 155026 in Hakalau, Hawaii

Hakalau Haven - Historic Location - Beautiful Ocean View
average rating of 4.875 based on 41 reviews
business
Hakalau Haven - Historic Location - Beautiful Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155026vbi
808-963-6073 (Hawaii, USA)
Hakalau Hilo District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you and your family again at Hakalau Haven.
Mahalo & Aloha!
Starr
business
Hakalau Haven - Historic Location - Beautiful Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155026vbi
808-963-6073 (Hawaii, USA)
Hakalau Hilo District
5

Great Place for a Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Property manager made us feel thoroughly welcome. She was friendly and helpful. Our large group found the house and apartment to be everything we needed to enjoy our week stay. Plenty of private space available and the beds were comfortable. The house was very clean and inviting. The kitchen was very well stocked which was nice considering we ate at the house for breakfast and dinner each night. We found the house to be what we expected upon arrival, which reflects truth in advertising! The Hilo area was a pleasant surprise as we thought we would enjoy the Kona side more, but that simply wasn't the case. We had a great time. Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Hakalau Haven - Historic Location - Beautiful Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155026vbi
808-963-6073 (Hawaii, USA)
Hakalau Hilo District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Thank you for the review and also thank you for leaving the house clean. I am happy you and your ohana enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you agian.
Mahalo nui loa!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Hakalau Haven - Historic Location - Beautiful Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155026vbi
808-963-6073 (Hawaii, USA)
Hakalau Hilo District
Napa, CA
5

Hakalau Haven is the Perfect Gathering Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The Hakalau Haven is a wonderful gathering place for a family reunion and vacation retreat. Starr was True Aloha in accommodating our requests and needs. We were just as enchanted with the outside, abundant with Island trees, flowers and fruit. The house is very spacious and comfortable, perfect for any and every family activity, or even retreating away to a quiet space to read, meditate or go online. The kitchen is well stocked with great counter space for preparing and enjoying meals. The sunrise runs down to the bridge and old sugar plantation mill was stunning, imbibing and pleasing to all our senses. There are a number of outdoor activities to enjoy nearby, including ziplining (strongly recommended!). It is our hope to make the Hakalau Haven an annual family event. Mahalo nui loa! We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hakalau Haven - Historic Location - Beautiful Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155026vbi
808-963-6073 (Hawaii, USA)
Hakalau Hilo District
5

Best Trip EVER!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Aloha Starr,
The house was absolutely amazing! Way more than what we thought it would be. Our group size kept changing and growing but Starr was very accommodating and very understanding. She was the best hostess ever. We LIVED in this haven for just under two weeks and it felt like a home away from home. Although we were a large group there was enough space for everyone not to get in each others face. Which is exactly what we needed with such a large varied group. The adults loved the unit (again way bigger than we thought it would be) and used it as a Time out space for them.
I loved that the house was just outside the hustle and bustle of the city but still close enough to go in and do our shopping. Hakalau itself is an beautiful quiet little suburb where you can just relax and unwind. The bay at the end of the street was like a secret garden. Loved it! We are BIG basketball fans so the fact that the basketball court was just across the road was handy.
Starr we would like to thank you very much for putting up with us and I'd just like to let you know that everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves and absolutely LOVED the house. Sorry we didn't get to have proper farewells as Im sure the kids would have loved to show their appreciation.
I could go on about this house and our wonderful hostess forever. A+++ in our books.

Thank you once again Starr,
Hope we meet again in the future,
Lots of Love
Roimata and all the ohana from New Zealand!
business
Hakalau Haven - Historic Location - Beautiful Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155026vbi
808-963-6073 (Hawaii, USA)
Hakalau Hilo District
central California
5

Aloha!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Aww, what can we say except it was excellent. We had the time of our lives in Hakalau. There were 13 of us from age 1 to 59. Where we were on the island of Hawaii was a perfect fit. We ran each morning down the hill(1 mile) and walked up. Just beautiful. I miss it already. Hilo was like old Hawaii to us. The people went out of there way to help us or advise. And Starr, the best hostess with all her insights and wisdom. It was our 35wedding anniversary. I hope we don't wait til our 70th to return. I'm ready to go again. No regrets.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Mahalo Nui Loa!
Thank you very much and I hope you and your ohana return!
Aloha,
Starr
business
Hakalau Haven - Historic Location - Beautiful Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155026vbi
808-963-6073 (Hawaii, USA)
Hakalau Hilo District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Mahalo!

  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Mahalo for you review, I am so happy that your family enjoyed the house and I hope you will come back to visit. Thank you for leaving the house clean I really appreciate it.
Aloha,
Starr
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Hakalau Haven - Historic Location - Beautiful Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155026vbi
808-963-6073 (Hawaii, USA)
Hakalau Hilo District
Wahiawa
5

Susie

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Just came back from staying at this great home. We had 11 with us and we had a great time. This place is great from families. Starr was fantasic we had a minor snag but she responded quickly. I definitely will come back. It's close enough to town. We rented the main house and the the apartment. The apartment is great away from the kids, peace and quiet. Morning coffee on the balcony looking out to the ocean perfect. Thank you Starr.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Hakalau Haven - Historic Location - Beautiful Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155026vbi
808-963-6073 (Hawaii, USA)
Hakalau Hilo District
Taylors, SC
5

Hakalau HEAVEN

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
What a wonderful stay we had at Hakalau Haven! Absolutely perfect accomodations for three couples, as each had their own bedroom and bathroom. The house is huge, and can obviously accomodate more, but the privacy was awesome. We had friends staying one house down, as well as relatives up Chin ChuckRoad and were able to entertain very comfortably. Although the Big Island had quite a weather event (LOTS of rain) we couldn't have had a better time!
Mucho Mahalo's!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Mahalo Nui Loa! I am so pleased that inspite of the rain you still had a good time. That's whats nice about Hakalau Haven is that it's so spacious there is so much room to enjoy. I hope that you come back.
Aloha,
Starr
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hakalau Haven - Historic Location - Beautiful Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p155026vbi
808-963-6073 (Hawaii, USA)
Hakalau Hilo District
California
5

Perfect for our group!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Nine of us just returned from a 5 night stay at Hakalau Haven....and it was perfect! A huge house with comfortable beds, lots of sleeping options and privacy for all. The semi-detached apartment was great for the early-to-bed types, although Hakalau Haven must be well insulated throughout because the party noises didn't seem to travel to the main house's bedrooms either. The kitchen and downstairs great room with a huge dining table accommodated us with ease for Thanksgiving. The location is very serene on a quiet country lane perfect for a morning stroll. Starr did a great job and was always available for any questions. I highly recommend Hakalau Haven for a large group.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Mahalo!
It makes me happy to make my guest happy. I glad you all enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you again.
Aloha,
Starr
Helpful votes: 1/1