Eagle Rock cabin rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Eagle Rock Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 brs, 1 bath, sleeps 8

Cabin with 300 feet of creek frontage. Close to Roaring Run State Park with hiking and historic iron furnace. Swimming, fishing, canoeing, hiking, and hunting close by.

This cabin features three bedrooms, dining room, living room, and kitchen. Hammock and fire ring in yard. Gas logs in living room. Available year round. Fishing in a trout stocked creek on property!

Please note that this rental is a rustic summer cabin. We heat with gas logs and a wall heater. If your expectations are camping, you will be very happy, if your expectations are luxury hotel, you will be disappointed! 10% of our guests feel that that the cabin is not up to their cleanliness standards. The other 90% are fine with the condition. If you think you are in that 10% of folks with high cleanliness standards, this might not be the place for you. There are some cobwebs and the occasional bug. As long time campers, we love it!

Just a regular guy who brews beer at home. From Waynesboro but currently live in Blacksburg. Like most people we are busy which is why we like to head to the cabin whenever we can for some R and R.

Jeff Bowles purchased this cabin in 2001

If you are looking for quit and restful, this is the place. Not for fancy pants! Sometimes we have a mouse and there's an interesting assortment of insects especially in the summer. Most of them make good bait!

On a clear night you can see the milky way from the hot tub!

7 Reviews of Property 154966 in Eagle Rock, Virginia

Mountain creek, mountain view, rustic accommodations
average rating of 4.5 based on 7 reviews
business
Mountain creek, mountain view, rustic accommodations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154966
+1 5403154363
Eagle Rock Shenandoah Valley
Not Specified
5

Guestbook Comment

A great location and a great place. I did a December weekend with my wife, Dad, and brothers when unexpected cold weather derailed a previously plann...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2006
  • Stayed: Dec 2006
A great location and a great place. I did a December weekend with my wife, Dad, and brothers when unexpected cold weather derailed a previously planned camping trip. The cabin kept us warm, dry, and entertained. Experienced campers will find this place to be luxurious. Comfortable beds, a functional and well-stocked kitchen, and a beautiful creekside setting. It might not be appropriate for someone looking for all modern conveniences available, but then why rent a cabin if it's got everything you've got at home? I will rent it again and will recommend it to others.
Helpful votes: 11/13
business
Mountain creek, mountain view, rustic accommodations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154966
+1 5403154363
Eagle Rock Shenandoah Valley
Washington, DC 20230
5

Grandfather bought property on Craig's Creek 65 years ago (wanted to give a review of area)

Grandfather bought property on Craig's Creek 65 years ago (wanted to give a review of area)
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I haven't stayed on the property but have tubed passed it on the way down to our canp since i was a young child! Craig's Creek is just beautiful...clean, fresh mountain air and water. I live in the DC area and It's like traveling to another world. No noice, pollution, bright lights or hustle and bustle. You can actually see all the stars at night....hear the frogs and crickets. In the daytime, you can hear the birds sings and occasionally hear a Whippoorwill!! If you crave peace and tranquility, aren't afraid of bugs and just want to relax, Grab you swimsuit, water shoes, and a good book because there isn't much else to rent in the area, mostly private owned. I would recommend staying at this cabin and restoring you mind!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/5
business
Mountain creek, mountain view, rustic accommodations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154966
+1 5403154363
Eagle Rock Shenandoah Valley
Midwest
2

Good location for nature ... in more ways that one.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
With Jefferson National Forest just minutes away and a creek in the back yard, the location is excellent for outdoor activities! As others have stressed, this property is really along the lines of camping. I just wasn't prepared for so many critters indoors. We saw 3 mice (1 dead, 2 alive), a gekko (which the kids thought was fantastic! =) ), a cockroach, and a multitude of other insects...all indoors. Also, if you have mold / mildew allergies, you should either bring allergy medicine with you or choose another location to stay.
I would suggest bringing your own sleeping bags and pillows, as well as kitchen towels and rags.
The kitchen appliances worked well, as did the hot water heater. The water cooler in the kitchen was really a great touch! We weren't able to get the security code to work on the computer or WIFI, though.
The pictures on VRBO look quite charming and clean, but they really do not reflect the condition of the cottage. From the guest book, many fishermen and campers have had a great time at this location. Just be advised it is dirtier, mustier, and more run down than the pictures show.
The owner was helpful, replied to e-mails quickly, and sent a welcome packet in the mail.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: We appreciate the honesty of this guest. We really try to make it clear that this is a cabin the the woods, not the Marriott. Our wifi was hacked and is now working prperly again. We will be staying at the cabin ourselves over memorial day and plan to spruce up a bit. Even so, there will still be mice and gekko's :-).
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Mountain creek, mountain view, rustic accommodations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154966
+1 5403154363
Eagle Rock Shenandoah Valley
spain
5

hardly for campers !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
This cabin was everything we expected and then some more !
While not top luxury, it was more than adequate for our 4 weeks. The ONLY not so good feature is the sulphurous shower water - so wash in the creek ! The owners - managers are super friendly and helpful and we never saw so much wildlife. And the store is a few minutes walk away. Otherwise there's not much to do.
We loved it.
We loved Eagle Rock and we are emigrating there now from Spain. The cabin and surroundings are to blame !
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Mountain creek, mountain view, rustic accommodations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154966
+1 5403154363
Eagle Rock Shenandoah Valley
washington, dc
5

beautiful cozy spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
we absolutely loved this house. it was quaint and had some delightful eccentricities. the creek and surrounding scenery were beautiful and refreshing. we did a hike into Jefferson National Forest, which is in walking distance. there are fires to be built, good meals to be cooked (a nice dining room table sat 7 of us), games to be played, etc... the gas fire inside was really cozy and we were never cold actually. and the third bedroom has all these bunk beds, it feels like a camp sleepover. its too bad it was winter because there was all this fun stuff for use in the creek. another time! but we really enjoyed our time, and would not have wanted to be anywhere else for new years.
Helpful votes: 10/12
business
Mountain creek, mountain view, rustic accommodations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154966
+1 5403154363
Eagle Rock Shenandoah Valley
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
We now have high-speed internet with wireless.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Mountain creek, mountain view, rustic accommodations
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154966
+1 5403154363
Eagle Rock Shenandoah Valley
Burke,Virginia
5

Guestbook Comment

Had a great time. If you plan on going into the creek bring a pair of sneakers due to the rocks. The scenery is beautiful, make sure you bring a camer...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2005
  • Stayed: Jul 2005
Had a great time. If you plan on going into the creek bring a pair of sneakers due to the rocks. The scenery is beautiful, make sure you bring a camera. A great place to relax and unwind.
Check before you bring too many things. Much of what you will need is already provided as stated in the description.
Anything you might not find there can be located at the country store a short walk just down from the cabin.
I plan on going back soon.
Helpful votes: 13/15