Kailua Kona condo rental - Spectacular ocean view from the lanai
Spectacular ocean view from the lanai
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Aloha. Hale Kona Kai is known for its location. It is a small, quiet, well-kept complex within easy walking distance of Kona’s downtown. It’s surfside, about the closest you can get to the ocean unless you are swimming. Many of our guests return year after year.

Our unit, #202, is on the south end of the building providing additional privacy away from the pool and away from the other wing. Most of what you see is the ocean. Hale Kona Kai’s units are one-bedroom and the property is entirely non-smoking, with easy private high-speed internet access. Its proximity to the ocean makes it a wonderful place to kick back with a cool drink to enjoy nature’s many offerings oceanfront. If cooking doesn't feel like a vacation there are dozens of restaurants to choose from within walking distance and many more a short drive away.

Begin your day with breakfast on the lanai, watching a school of spinner dolphins swimming by---it is a fanciful show. Looking south you can also see the accomplished surfers. At lunchtime you will likely watch sea turtles sunning themselves on the lava rocks just feet below our lanai, and no one will want to miss the unobstructed view of the romantic sunset. You will not tire of the beautiful scenery throughout the day as it is ever changing. Many guests comment on their restful sleep as they are lured into the land of nod by the rhythms of the ocean surf.

This unit has been tastefully renovated and is well-maintained. It has a comfortable new king-sized bed, a fully-equipped kitchen, fresh paint, a fully tiled shower, and new appliances. It is decorated with a “spirit of aloha” and ready for your enjoyment with all the comforts of home. We leave the condo outfitted as we want to find it when we come to stay.

We have many repeat visitors year round. The building has a heated pool, reserved parking, an elevator, and on-site coin laundry facilities on each of the three floors.

There is so much to do on The Big Island. Here is a just a small list: swimming, surfing, boogie boarding, snorkeling, golfing, hiking, kayaking, walking, whale watching, scuba diving, biking, shopping, dining, and more. There is also great bird watching, botanic gardens and waterfalls to see, and don’t forget the many sacred Hawaiian ancient sites. If you’ve ever thought you’d like to see a volcano close up this is your chance! The Big Island has a little something for everyone and it never feels crowded.

The thing most people ask after visiting is when they can return.

Mahalo for viewing our listing we look forward to hearing from you.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Hide Details

We bought in this location because it is so close to the ocean and walking distance from so many great attractions. There is also a nice cross breeze making using the air conditioning optional.

Most guests find it hard to leave the lanai, there is so much to see, dolphins, paddlers, surfers, turtles, distance swimmers, cruise ships, it's a changing landscape on the ocean.

20 Reviews of Property 154937 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

On the Ocean with Front Row Seating for Dolphin Sightings!
average rating of 4.928571 based on 20 reviews
business
On the Ocean with Front Row Seating for Dolphin Sightings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154937vbi
+1 (206) 909-2378: Kona Time Zone
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Englewood,TN,USA
5

Holiday in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
beautiful location. Clean unit. Very well stocked unit. Much appreciated. Very quiet place. Nice pool on the water. Since I was there a couple of nights by myself, I felt very safe with all the locks on the doors. It was absolutely perfect and I did not want to leave and cannot wait til I can go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
On the Ocean with Front Row Seating for Dolphin Sightings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154937vbi
+1 (206) 909-2378: Kona Time Zone
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Sammamish, WA
5

Wonderful Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is our 3rd time staying at Hale Kona Kai and the 2nd in this unit. We will defiantly be back. It is a great home base. Close to some great beaches and you can walk down town to some great shops and restaurants. There is also Farmer's Market you can walk to with great fresh fruit and vegetables. The condo is well equipped with every thing you need for the beach including chairs and umbrella. You can't go wrong renting this condo for your next vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
On the Ocean with Front Row Seating for Dolphin Sightings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154937vbi
+1 (206) 909-2378: Kona Time Zone
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Allentown, PA
4

Great location, quiet Very good

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I would give this a Very Good, if that were an option. Great location, off the bustling Alii Drive, so noise wasn't an issue (except for the breaking waves!). Easy walk into town for dinner or shopping Lovely view, we did get to see a few turtles right below our lanai! Sunsets were magnificent. Anne was helpful in providing info, and promptly returning the security deposit. The condo was clean and maintained, but could use some updating (the television, for example). The wifi worked great. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. There was enough light in the living room, but the bedside lights could use higher wattages for reading (my pet peeve). We really appreciated the beach amenities...2 boogie boards, 2 really good beach towels, a large beach mat, and 2 chairs and an umbrella, plus a small cooler. We were provided 3 rolls of toilet paper and a partial roll of paper towels, plus a partial box of tissues (it would have been nice to have full boxes since we stayed a week). Plus, coffee filters, and some butter, spices, and saran wrap, ziploc bags, etc. So, overall some nice supplies. The dishware was all good, and clean. The bedroom closet was very nice, with alot of room for storage. The bathroom was slightly weird, but I imagine the reason the shower was elevated had to do with a remodeling issue. Nevertheless, the shower was spacious and worked well. The toilet did have a tendency to run (I forgot to tell Anne that!). The furniture was comfy and in good shape. However, there was a mustiness kind of smell that might be attributed to the location right on the water. I'm not sure, but it did compel me to purchase some air fresheners. And after opening the patio doors and getting some air movement, the odor seemed to lessen.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Mahalo for staying with us. Yes, tropical life on the water does create some high humidity challenges & opening a window is always a good idea on the ocean. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we offered!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
On the Ocean with Front Row Seating for Dolphin Sightings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154937vbi
+1 (206) 909-2378: Kona Time Zone
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Seattle
5

Great condo with breaking surf out your window

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had a great time. Very centrally located nearby the farmers market, cooffe shops, and Huggos which has local music, hula, and beachside dancing. Unit has all the needed supplies and includes some extras like boogy boards and umbrella. Nice pool and off main road - so quiet. You can't get closer to the ocean than this.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We agree, it's the best location in Kona! Mahalo for staying with us.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
On the Ocean with Front Row Seating for Dolphin Sightings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154937vbi
+1 (206) 909-2378: Kona Time Zone
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
-
5

Absolutely Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Stayed here in Feb. 2011 and enjoyed our vacation so much. Every day there was something new in the ocean in front of us, it was spectacular. Really enjoyed the amenities of the condo and the ease of booking it. Great location, loved every minute!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The whales are back again now, we hope you come back to visit them. Thanks for staying with us!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
On the Ocean with Front Row Seating for Dolphin Sightings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154937vbi
+1 (206) 909-2378: Kona Time Zone
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
San Diego
5

Beautiful and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
What a great time we had on the Big Island. Anne made is so easy and was patient with my many questions. The weather was partly cloudy but we got our sunsets and cocktails in each night. I enjoyed the privacy and peacefulness of the condo. It's location was great. Close enough to all the restaurants, but far enough away from the crowds, we used this as a springboard to the rest of the island! The condo had everything we needed including information about a great used book store!! This is definitely a must do and must stay place!! Thank you for sharing your condo and letting us enjoy a place that we will surely return to. (Christy & Steve)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You are welcome back anytime, thanks for staying with us!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
On the Ocean with Front Row Seating for Dolphin Sightings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154937vbi
+1 (206) 909-2378: Kona Time Zone
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Nanaimo bc canada
5

PEACEFUL!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This condo is top notch! It is clean and comfortable and the view is unbeatable! We loved our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for the perfect place to stay. It is close to shops and restaurants. The neighborhood felt safe. The bed was comfy and you can't beat falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your stay, you are welcome back anytime!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
On the Ocean with Front Row Seating for Dolphin Sightings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154937vbi
+1 (206) 909-2378: Kona Time Zone
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Lake Oswego, Oregon
5

Ocean Front Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Situated as close as one can get to the ocean is this meticulous one bedroom condo. Each time we have visited, updates have been made to make our stay perfection with location. Pictures do not do adequately portray this well maintained and loved property. Although restaurants and attractions are walking distance, one feels in another world with the ocean and the sunsets your vista from the lanai. This is the perfect place for a respite of body and soul.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
On the Ocean with Front Row Seating for Dolphin Sightings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154937vbi
+1 (206) 909-2378: Kona Time Zone
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
California
5

Super Location, Clean and Well Equipped

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This condo location is the best. Yes, sea turtles, dolphins & eel action at different times of the day. This condo is so comfortable & beautiful. It was so nice to have everything we needed to settle in and have meals in. Thanks for making our vacation stress free.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
On the Ocean with Front Row Seating for Dolphin Sightings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154937vbi
+1 (206) 909-2378: Kona Time Zone
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Tampa, FL
5

Excellent Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We would highly recommend this property. The owner was extremely helpful. The unit is in a great location, very clean and quiet at night. You will go to sleep listening to the waves. All the essentials are in the unit, just arrive and relax. Within walking distance of shopping and restaurants.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10