San Miguel de Allende villa rental - EL mirador by evening, master bedroom suite, view of la Paroquia
EL mirador by evening, master bedroom suite, view of la Paroquia
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

San Miguel de Allende Villa Rental Photos and Description
Amazing Downtown Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, Sleeps 6, Unparalleled Location

Please take the VIDEO TOUR by clicking on the 'Video' button in the top-left of picture frame.

¿Que es?

Casa Piña SMA is one of San Miguel de Allende’s finest colonial homes furnished with period antiques and original artwork. This three-bedroom and four-bathroom downtown villa sleeps up to six guests and is attended to by a courteous, diligent and trustworthy staff that provide personalized service for guests and the luxury of total leisure.

Experienceing the best of both worlds

Casa Piña SMA’s front door is just half a block from the center of town, offers unparalleled access to the idilic life of el Jardin and convenient strolls to all points beyond in the centro historico. Yet behind the thick adobe walls of its original facade guests will experience a rare form of peace, privacy and privilege.

Dining al fresco and sunsets from the mirador

Casa Piña SMA’s focal point is the central patio with a large stone fountain in the middle. The south-facing “outdoor” living room and dining room is a year-round favourite with all guests. It fills with warm winter sunlight and remains cool and shady in the summer as the sun travels further north. It is a lovely spot to spend the entire day, to entertain or host a comida with guests. Another table in the cactus garden at the rear of the house provides an al-fresco dining option.

At sunset, the rooftop mirador is the best spot in the house to start the evening in style or to reflect on the day’s events as the sky lights up in a coulurful display and sun disappears behind the distant mountains.

Master bedroom suite and guest bedrooms

At Casa Piña SMA, the three widely-separated bedrooms over three stories provide privacy, tranquility and rest.

The second-floor master bedroom suite has a huge boveda, or domed, ceiling and provides guests with total comfort and space. It includes a king-sized bed, an adjacent, private, outdoor sun deck, two walk-in closets, and two en-suite bathrooms. Banks of south facing french doors on either side of a fireplace keep the room toasty with direct natural light in the winter.

The second bedroom, in a separate building, is half a flight up from the patio and has it’s own veranda. It has soaring ceilings supported by original beams, twin beds, fireplace, bathroom with shower, and French doors that open on to the cactus garden.

The third bedroom sits atop the the second bedroom but is a full story up from the master bedroom suite. It has a has a double bed, bathroom with shower, and a comfortable terrace overlooking the central patio. Guests seeking higher ground will find it along with stunning views up the sprial staircase to the rooftop mirador, or lookout.

Keywords: casa, villa, house, townhouse

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 6149 in San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico / Colonial Circuit

Casa Piña Sma: Steps To El Jardin, In The Shadow of La Parroquia
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 16 reviews
business
Casa Piña Sma: Steps To El Jardin, In The Shadow of La Parroquia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6149vb
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Austin, Texas
5

Guestbook Comment

My family and I have stayed in Casa Pina twice in the last few years; the house and the location are remarkable. We have stayed in other homes in San ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2004
  • Stayed: May 2004
My family and I have stayed in Casa Pina twice in the last few years; the house and the location are remarkable. We have stayed in other homes in San Miguel but the house on Aldama has been the best, it makes the SMA experience even more memorable.
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Casa Piña Sma: Steps To El Jardin, In The Shadow of La Parroquia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6149vb
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Ketchum, Idaho
4

Best staff imaginable!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We loved almost everything about Casa Pina. The staff was so great that we wanted to take them home with us!! The house is due for a little update and the formal living room has a very strong mold or mildew smell. One person in our party had constant sniffles due to an allergy to mildew. The location is unbeatable - very close to the square, shops and restaurants. The house manager was very helpful and wanted us to enjoy our stay - which we did! We would rate this 5 stars if the updating was done!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Casa Piña Sma: Steps To El Jardin, In The Shadow of La Parroquia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6149vb
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Saint Paul, Minnesota
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Four of us stayed at Casa Pina earlier this year. One of us had been to San Miguel before, but the other three were new to the City. The location of Casa Pina could not have been better for our stay. It is centrally located, and ideal for a walking trip to San Miguel. Aleida, the owner, was extremely responsive to all of our questions before arriving, and her staff were wonderful to us. We did not take full advantage of the cooking that could have been done for us, but the full breakfasts each day got us off to a great start. The three bedrooms are each lovely, and while there is a lovely living room and dining room, we spent virtually all of our waking (and non touring) time in the outdoor living room around the fire. It was magical. The house is filled with lovely art, and was a delight to come home to every night. We will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Piña Sma: Steps To El Jardin, In The Shadow of La Parroquia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6149vb
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Austin, Texas
5

Magical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our family (4 adults) stayed at Casa Pina over Thanksgiving. It was a magical experience. The interior courtyard and outdoor living room were just wonderful. The location was very convenient. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone looking to experience San Miguel. It just can't be beat for location and beauty.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Piña Sma: Steps To El Jardin, In The Shadow of La Parroquia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6149vb
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Laguna Beach CA USA
5

Beautiful home in Central San Miguel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Casa Pina is beautifully laid out for the right balance of privacy and intimacy with lovely courtyard and rooftop spaces. The three bedrooms are elegant and snug, but we felt that the staff and service were the real keys to a perfect stay. Let Mari cook you dinner and you won't go to another restaurant. Just a few steps from the Jardin, the house is perfectly located. Highly recommended and just as advertised.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Piña Sma: Steps To El Jardin, In The Shadow of La Parroquia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6149vb
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Hilton Head, SC
5

Casa Pina SMA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Just returned from a wonderful stay at Casa Pina. It's located on one of the best streets 2 blocks form the Jardin-having stayed further away our other trips, we loved the proximity to the Centro.
The accommodations were top notch, with great privacy and quiet. We particularly enjoyed the outdoor sala and sitting around the fireplace in the evenings with our friends--that's what it's all about!
The staff was friendly and kept the place spotless and served us wonderful meals.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Piña Sma: Steps To El Jardin, In The Shadow of La Parroquia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6149vb
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
California
5

Artful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Four of us stayed for one week at the lovely Casa Pina. This being our first time to San Miguel, we weren’t sure what to expect, but our expectations were exceeded. We felt very at home in this wonderful large colonial home, itself a work of art. It had beautiful tiles, stonework, arches and stairways leading to a semi-hidden patio and bedrooms on different levels. Each bedroom had balconies looking over lush gardens and, at the highest level, over the town.. We were well taken care of by Teresa and Mari, a great cook who provided us with delicious meals. We especially loved the outdoor living and dining room and relaxed there while watching the light play across the courtyard and the multitude of well tended plants. The location is quiet, but very convenient for exploring the town. We will have many good memories from this special time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Piña Sma: Steps To El Jardin, In The Shadow of La Parroquia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6149vb
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Tampa, Florida
5

Authentic San Miguel Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
For the past 6 years I've been traveling to San Miguel de Allende on buying trips for Natalie Scott Designs. After staying in hotels my first few visits, I discovered the joy, convenience and cultural experience of renting a private home with staff. And, it is less expensive than staying in a hotel and the money spent in restaurants!

My friends and I had the pleasure of staying at Casa Pina this winter. The house is enormous, authentically decorated and the house cook prepared delicious meals!! We had so much fun exploring all the roof top terraces and indoor and outdoor living rooms.
I highly recommend Casa Pena and will stay there again.
Natalie
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Piña Sma: Steps To El Jardin, In The Shadow of La Parroquia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6149vb
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Sacramento, California USA
5

An artist's look at an artistic city.

An artist's look at an artistic city.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
I have visited Mexico millions of times. My dad was born in DF and the only one who ever left. (met mom in college is US). I had always wanted to see what I heard was a wonderful, art-filled colonial Mexican City. This "Semana Santa," I finally got my chance. After a whirlwind family visit in DF, me, my husband and 4 other friends got a prearranged ride to San Miguel and the visit began. The home was beyond description, except to say if you like 200+ year old homes, filled with wonderful authentic antique art and modern art, many, many patios, many living areas and wonderfully comfortable bedrooms, this is your place. Oh, and the city, gorgeous, clean, charming, great Mexican art-filled businesses. fabulous churches one block away from Casa Pina, is like a movie set. I think I've run out of space. BTW, Aleida, the owner, was incredibly helpful in all kinds of ways. And, her staff (3) took VERY good care of us. I tried to coax the cook to come home with us but, no way.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Piña Sma: Steps To El Jardin, In The Shadow of La Parroquia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6149vb
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Sacramento, CA
5

Missing Casa Pina already

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We had a blast! The home was even more beautiful than we imagined it. Aleida (property owner) met us at the home when we arrived and quickly armed us with a list of great places to eat, see and do – she was a very gracious host. She even recommended a wonderful driver (Martin) who picked us up in Mexico City and even took us to the Leon airport on our last day. There were six of us who stayed at Casa Pina and there were more than enough things to do to keep us all busy enjoying beautiful San Miguel. For instance, besides all the great shopping, and eating we did, I spent most mornings taking walks (4 miles or so) and doing a little sight-seeing before most got up and started their day (great way to get some exercise in). Others took time to just relax and read a book, while others cooked dinner some nights and enjoyed the nice evenings eating on the outside dining area. Check out the video on the website, you will see the home offers a variety of seating areas to enjoy a quiet space to just read a book or have some quiet time.

As soon as we left, we all missed being pampered by Mari, the wonderful full time cook, who prepared a delicious breakfast and lunch for us daily. The accommodations were very comfortable and clean thanks to Tere, who cleaned our rooms and took care of our laundry. We were spoiled for a week at Casa Pina.

Casa Pina is just steps from the Historic Plaza (Jardin), shopping, and eating, which made getting around San Miguel even more enjoyable. We loved Casa Pina and hope to be back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1