Bernard cottage rental - 1 of the 3 cottages we have available
1 of the 3 cottages we have available
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Bernard Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom cottage, sleeps 2, bathroom, kitchen, large living/dining room, deck

Bayberry Cottage is located in Bernard on the 'Quietside' of Mount Desert Island, Maine. Our cozy cottage offers the ultimate in privacy situated as it is on a wooded hillside that slopes down to the waters of picturesque Bass Harbor. We are minutes away from the wonders of Acadia National Park.

Our cottage is ideal for two people. The cottage has one queen bedroom, bath with a shower, a fully equipped kitchen and a large living/dining area with woodstove and sliding glass doors opening onto a spacious deck.

Guest Comment: As you can tell, Roger and I enjoyed our stay in Acadia and hope to return to the area, ideally to Bayberry Cottage. The quiet location was perfect for us. The cottage is very similar to those we have stayed at in Estes Park and Jasper, Canada -- good, clean housekeeping places, well equipped for basic housekeeping -- exactly the type of places we dilettante hikers enjoy. Comfy but not too fussy, close to restaurants, but also close to good markets. I will tell my walking buddies about you!!

You are very attuned to your guests' needs. Your selections of restaurants and shops for us were perfect. What a clever person you are, selecting just the right guests and just the right places for us! :-)

We enjoyed wonderful hikes all throughout the island. The cottage proved to be a great location--not too far from 'the action' but far enough away for a peaceful rest. I will recommend Bayberry Cottage to others.

Ginny & Roger Smith, Texas

More Details
Hide Details

I am a 'transplant' - I moved to Maine from LI, NY in 1985 and have grown roots here in this most beautiful state. I so enjoy managing this unique property! Each season brings old Bayberry friends and newbies- I look forward to meeting new guests and reconnecting with returning 'regulars'.

The owners of this property have been summer residents on Mount Desert Island for years and have a true appreciation for the spectacular advantages of this particular property.....as they say 'Location, Location, Location'!

I have been managing this property for six years and am still in awe of the pristine location - the serene surroundings of nature abound, allowing you to detach and relax fully while enjoying the proximity of Acadia National Park and the conveniences of the neighboring towns.

6 Reviews of Property 154306 in Bernard, Maine

Water's Edge Cottage on Mount Desert Island Quietside - Privacy and Convenience
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Water's Edge Cottage on Mount Desert Island Quietside - Privacy and Convenience
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154306
+1 12076679556
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New York City
5

We had an incredible time at Bayberry Cottages!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our cottage was clean, cozy, private and with lovely views of the bay. It was everything we were looking for and Mary, the host, was attentive and helpful. I'm definitely planning to return soon.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Water's Edge Cottage on Mount Desert Island Quietside - Privacy and Convenience
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154306
+1 12076679556
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

"Amazing with Harbor Views with peace and quiet"

"Amazing with Harbor Views with peace and quiet"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This place is amazing with harbor views. It was exactly what we needed and it's a gem hidden down the long driveway. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need, plenty of brochures for things to do on the island. Thurston's is less than 2 mins down the street. If you love lobster then this is the place to go. The Sea Biscuit Cafe has amazing breakfast and they have a gluten free menu. Rupununi in Bar Harbor is another great place to eat (also gf menu). We had a "Wonderful" vacation and we are coming back in October for another 4 days. Can't wait!
Mary is a wonderful person and she takes care of her guests. We were extremely pleased with our visit. If you are thinking about insurance~Don't bother you won't need it.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Water's Edge Cottage on Mount Desert Island Quietside - Privacy and Convenience
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154306
+1 12076679556
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Far exceeded our expectations.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My girlfriend and I had never been to the Acadia/Bar Harbor area, so searching for a clean, quiet, comfortable cottage on the internet was somewhat tricky. We booked on a hunch, and we are so glad we did. We knew we had made the right decision as soon as we pulled into the long lane leading back to the cottage. Wonderfully decorated, with fresh handpicked flowers in several vases, smelled wonderful! The kitchen is fully equipped, and the fireplace was all the nite-time entertainment needed. Close enough to the park and restaurants to be a short drive, but far enough away to leave it all behind. We will be back for sure!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Water's Edge Cottage on Mount Desert Island Quietside - Privacy and Convenience
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154306
+1 12076679556
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Even better than described!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful time staying here. The cottage was very thoughtfully appointed and nicely decorated. The huge porch is perfect for morning coffee and sunset dinners. It's a quick drive to Southwest Harbor to stock up on delicious things to cook, so we took advantage of the charcoal grill and well-stocked kitchen. Even rainy nights were fun--we used the fireplace and watched the fog roll in. It was a cozy, quiet place to unwind and a good base for exploring the island. The owner takes great care of her property and her guests!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Water's Edge Cottage on Mount Desert Island Quietside - Privacy and Convenience
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154306
+1 12076679556
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Smyrna, GA
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Cozy and clean, this cottage is a great alternative to camping. It was well maintained, nicely furnished, roomy and comfortable. The cottage was surrounded by woods, nice and private, with a water view. It was away from the busy side of the island but close enough and the quietside had plenty of restaurants (Thurstons, Maine-ly Delights along with many others) and attractions (Bass Harbor lighthouse; Seawall - great place for tidepooling; enjoying the boats in Bass Harbor and SW Harbor; quietside sections of Acadia).
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Water's Edge Cottage on Mount Desert Island Quietside - Privacy and Convenience
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154306
+1 12076679556
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Massachusetts
5

Bayberry cottages

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We were looking for a cottage in the Bar Harbor area to spend a quiet week to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Something reasonable so we could spend the rest of our money on ourselves. our children, and our grand children. What we got was way beyond our wildest imagination. This cottage was absolutely perfect for us it was really comfortable and just a delight to spend a week(or a month) at. We had all the privacy we wanted but were not away from civilization. As a matter of fact a great Lobster restaurant was only a short walk from the cottage and, we found out, is one of the best on Mt. Desert Island. Thank you Mary for some really great memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 18/18