Ocean View house rental - A Perfect Island Home!
A Perfect Island Home!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Ocean View House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Dedicated to Pele with representations of her throughout the house, Lava House is halfway between Kailua-Kona and the volcano. This home can be a writer's secluded paradise or a spacious family vacation spot. Though on its own unique lava landscape, Ocean View is surrounded by beaches, bays and tropical vegetation.

Huge gourmet kitchen, 2,900 square foot lanai, and nearby farmers' markets ensure dining island style. Nights are cool and comfortable. Coffee comes with morning sun on the lanai, brightening the ocean view.

Guaranteed to be your most diversified tropical vacation ever!

Keywords: House

5 Reviews of Property 154005 in Ocean View, Hawaii

Lava House
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Lava House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154005vbi
(503) 910-5178 (Oregon, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
5

Wonderful Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Joanne, thank you for sharing your beautiful home with our family. What a lovely view you have--and with the wrap-around deck--you can see forever. Your home is so comfortable, clean, and well-maintained. Everything we needed to prepare meals, built fires, etc., was right there. You told us to expect cool temperatures, and you were right. The fireplace was great for cool nights and mornings. All of us really enjoyed having a "real fire."

We had a wonderful time while on the Big Island, exploring volcanoes and meeting new people. Thanks so much for recommending the Junior Ranger Program for Caleb. The entire family went, and all of us were treated as if we lived on the island. The rangers were great, and we were able to meet and talk with residents who gave us insights that we would have not gained otherwise.

By the way, the Hana Hou DOES have delicious desserts. They served sandwiches at the Junior Ranger Program, so after the program, we just couldn't stop ourselves from having dessert there.

Linda was wonderful. We had to call her after we had left because my daughter left her swim suits in the house. She graciously met us and let us pick them up.

I would recommend your home to anyone who wants a comfortable and spacious home on the Big Island.

Charlotte
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Lava House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154005vbi
(503) 910-5178 (Oregon, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Barrie Ontario CA
5

escapees from Canadian winter

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Thank you Joanne for the use of your beautiful, clean and comfortable home. Our 3 weeks were both relaxing and filled with adventures, The big Island is diverse and we didn't realize how long it would take to get around it but we always enjoyed returning to the "lava". Grocery stores in Ocean View had comparable prices and some lower than Kona. If you like moderate temperatures the elevation of this home guarantees a break from the beach heat and good sleeping. We enjoyed meeting the folk at the nearby church and the coffee shop in town. Everything about Lava house was just as stated in the description and we felt welcomed by its ambiance. Two points to ponder; we are not beach lovers but if you were, the distance to a nice beach is at least one hours' drive and we would recommend buying bottled water for all cold water uses. Volcano National Park is very accessible and one can spend days there hiking and marveling at creation. Thank you again for sharing your home with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you to Kathryn and Gary for their lovely review. As someone who has spent years on the Big Island though, I must take friendly issue with one statement. Ka'u County does not have the white crescent beaches of the Kohala Coast. However, the black sand beach, the green sand beach, and the cliff surrounded Hookena beach are all within forty minutes of lava house and, I believe, well worth visiting. That being said, I again thank the Kuehls and I am so happy they enjoyed their stay. -Joanne, owner
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lava House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154005vbi
(503) 910-5178 (Oregon, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Wasilla, Ak
5

Four weeks in Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My husband and I spent 4 weeks in this wonderful property during Dec/Jan. It was a pleasure each morning to wake up to the sun peeking thru the shades. Our next step was to enjoy coffee out on the lanai. This home has everything you need for a great vacation. The house is very well kept and maintained. Your choices are endless as what to do each day! The stores in Oceanview have whatever groceries you may need. If it's fast food you crave, the L/L is there for you or the sweet bread factory is just a short drive. We've missed our mornings since our return. Thanks Joanne for offering your home on vrbo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Debby Somehow I had missed the fact that you haad written a review. Thank you so much for the lovely write-up. you left very good energy in the house and were very respectful to it. Mahalo and come again. Joanne
business
Lava House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154005vbi
(503) 910-5178 (Oregon, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Wasilla, Alaska
5

jecable@mtaonline.net

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Spent 3 weeks here Aug-Sep 2011 and was delighted. The internet was super fast, kitchen a dream and beds comfy. Would recommend to anyone who wants to get away from either sides of the Big Island. We wanted to experience living on the lava and this met our expectations fully. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Lava House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p154005vbi
(503) 910-5178 (Oregon, USA)
Ocean View Ka'u District
Rutland VT
5

An Oasis in Ocean View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
The Lava House is an exceptional rental property in the most unlikely of landscapes. This part of Ocean View is an old a'a lava flow, and the Lava House sits in an ebb of the flow. The house is easy to find, and striking in its appearance. You enter into a hallway and past the 3 spacious bedrooms to the living room/kitchen. The room is huge and beautifully furnished, and the kitchen is spacious & well-appointed (I love breakfast bars). But the highlight is the deck - it's huge, and encircles the house. On the west side of the deck is a sitting area, with lanai table & chairs. The view is spectacular - a 40-mile view of the southwest coast of Hawai'i, complete with tides and storms below, from the house's elevation of 2948 feet. The house is plenty spacious enough for 3 couples, and the neighbors and housekeeping staff are polite and inobtrusive. If you'd like to enjoy Hawai'i without dealing with Tourism Central, you couldn't do better than the Lava House. Just make sure no one sits on the coffee table!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6