Hanalei house rental - listen to jungle sounds from the lanai. ancient tiki hut along the riverbank
listen to jungle sounds from the lanai. ancient tiki hut along the riverbank
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Hanalei House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2)

Lonely Planet Loves our Private Riverfront Cottage, and You Will Too!

Hidden away on one of Kauai’s most lush and beautiful estates, Coco Cabana offers complete privacy and all the romance of a jungle cottage.

Lonely Planet named Coco Cabana one of the best and most affordable accommodations in Hanalei, and for good reason. The one-bedroom, one-and-a-half bathroom cottage offers all the comfort and serenity you’d expect from an upscale rental home, but at budget-friendly rates.

Before we get into details, read part of the glowing review left by Katherine in May 2012:

“We just booked our third stay at the Coco Cabana. If you like all the comforts of home while experiencing tropical Hawaii, the Coco Cabana is the place to stay. The house is very secluded down a quiet, narrow lane in a verdant jungle clearing right on a river. On my desk at work sits a picture I took while standing on the lanai of the view looking up the river through the jungle with the mountains in the back ground. People can't believe that was the view we enjoyed right from the house!?'

The cottage overlooks banks of the leisurely Wainiha River and is tucked away in five acres of palm trees, bamboo, and vines. The estate was once a taro plantation; today it’s home to dozens of species of native birds. Other than the gurgling river and singing birds, the only thing you’ll hear is the occasional patter of rain against the roof. Coco Cabana is truly the perfect setting for a honeymoon or other romantic getaway.

While you could easily spend your entire vacation enjoying the view from the hammock, Coco Cabana is only minutes from the North Shore’s best beaches, including Hanalei Bay, Lumahai Beach, Shell Beach, Tunnels Beach, Haena Beach, and Ke’e Beach. Adventurous travelers will also enjoy snorkeling, hiking (the Napali Coast is close by), cave exploring, golfing, kayaking, whale watching and more.

Coco Cabana is as lovely inside as it is out. You can hear the river from most of the rooms in the house, and the living room balcony has a full view of the water below. Coco Cabana also boasts a fully equipped kitchen, a wraparound lanai, and a hammock.

This gorgeous property is very popular with travelers. Contact us today before it’s booked! please visit http://v2.reservationkey.com/ferngrottoinn/Cabana to make your reservations.

While Hanalei is a North Shore favorite, the rest of the island is full of charm. Stay at Coco Cabana for a few nights. Then drive less than an hour to Fern Grotto Inn (www.ferngrottoinn.com), a collection of six adorable vacation rental cottages in Kapaa. From there, you can easily explore the Coconut Coast and Kauai’s South Shore. Visit our website at www.ferngrottoinn.com for more information.

More Details
Hide Details

The Coco Cabana property was once a Taro Plantation. I am drawn to old Hawaii and privleged to own a piece of it's history.

As the only home on the estate, Coco Cabana is very private and secluded, embraced by a lush tropical jungle, situated along a serene river.

It is close to many spectacular island activities yet isolated enough to relax in peace and quiet. There's a small general store at the end of the old country road.

14 Reviews of Property 153703 in Hanalei, Hawaii

Coco Cabana Jungle Cottage - secluded riverfront honeymoon retreat
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 14 reviews
business
Coco Cabana Jungle Cottage - secluded riverfront honeymoon retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153703vb
+1 808-821-9836
Hanalei Kauai
4

Great little hideaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Beautiful cottage and grounds. Tons of stuff available--it turns out we did not need to rent snorkel gear. They also had water shoes, umbrella, boogie board, fishing stuff . We loved the kitchen and it was helpful to have the washer/dryer after hiking in the mud.
Major downsides were the mosquitos were terrible. Also, surf was very high on the north coast so we weren't able to swim and snorkel at all and this place is remote--far from the calmer east and south coast beaches. Also, the roosters woke us up very early--before dawn every day and we found it hard to sleep. We were also surprised that the place doesn't get a lot of direct sunlight due to being in a valley surrounded by mountains, so we had a hard time drying out after the rains.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Coco Cabana Jungle Cottage - secluded riverfront honeymoon retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153703vb
+1 808-821-9836
Hanalei Kauai
Sacramento, California
5

Peaceful and lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is such a private beautiful place. We loved every moment of our 2 weeks there. Close to beaches but if you want a quiet place away from the crowds, just sit by the river and listen to the sounds of the birds and running water, there is even a small swimming hole there! The house was very cute and comfortable and came fully stocked with stuff you may have forgotten (mesquito repellant, soap, shampoo) stuff that folks have left, comes with a washer and dryer too. Just felt like home the moment you stepped through the front door. And so romantic. We are already planning our next trip there! Just one thing, we did have a flash flood one night and it did float my chair away! So be careful and move the chair further up the little hill when rain is expected! Loved this place tho. Can't wait to come back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Coco Cabana Jungle Cottage - secluded riverfront honeymoon retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153703vb
+1 808-821-9836
Hanalei Kauai
Cincinnati, Ohio
5

CoCo Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I don't even know where to begin .....the CoCo Cabana is pure paradise!! Down a private narrow road we knew as soon as we navigated down the road, we were going to love this place and we instantly feel in love. As we pulled up the lady that does the cleaning was just leaving, she was very pleasant and introduced us to Coco (the grounds keeper-an adorable small black cat--being the owner of 2 cats, I was very excited to see her!!) The cottage is fully equipped with anything you need (beach towels, snorkeling gear-my husband was extremely excited because there were XL snorkel flippers available, we even had sugar for our coffee in the morning!) We visited the local grocery store and utilized the kitchen for breakfast. And then we woke up the first morning ....to the ever so pleasant roosters. Not a deal breaker, but man, they're obnoxious. :) Overall, we had an excellent time at the Coco Cabana and on Kaua'i, we were a little disappointed the hammock was not on the property, it was on of the main reasons we chose the cabana.

We recommend staying on the north shore - the small Hanalei town is perfect for the "non-touristy" people. It's small, excellent restaurants - and if you are there on a Wednesday the Tahiti Nui Luau is a must!! If you are a sushi person, we recommend Hanalei Dolphin sushi. Drive to the end of the highway and snorkel at Tunnel's Beach, drive around to the south side and go to the canyon & the spouting horn, you will not be disappointed - the drive is gorgeous!!

We highly recommend the Coco Cabana - we will definitely come back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Coco Cabana Jungle Cottage - secluded riverfront honeymoon retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153703vb
+1 808-821-9836
Hanalei Kauai
Hope,AR
5

Loved it!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a great place!! So close to all the things my friend and I wanted to do - hiking, snorkeling, beach combing, etc., etc....The cottage was just as described. I loved getting up before daylight, sitting out on the deck with my cup of coffee and listening to the river and the birds. It was also so nice to have our own personal cat - such a sweetie! I also loved how secluded it was. So peaceful and relaxing. Thanks Carol for having many things there already that we did not have to worry about packing - towells, beach towells, snorkel equipment, even beach chairs and an ice chest. When I return to Kauai, I certainly hope this cottage is available.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Coco Cabana Jungle Cottage - secluded riverfront honeymoon retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153703vb
+1 808-821-9836
Hanalei Kauai
Holland, TX
5

Kauai Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed here for our 10 year anniversary and loved it. It really felt like our own home...with a cat to boot! The bed is so comfortable and felt great after our adventures on the island. Every night it rained. Between the river and the rain, I slept great. It felt so isolated, but was really close to the beaches and hiking. Loved this island and this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Coco Cabana Jungle Cottage - secluded riverfront honeymoon retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153703vb
+1 808-821-9836
Hanalei Kauai
Texas
5

Perfect place for a honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The Coco Cabana was the perfect place for us to come for our honeymoon. It was secluded and private, and the surrounding scenery was beautiful. Everything we needed was included - fully stocked kitchen, beach gear, and beach towels.

For us coming from Texas, we were expecting and used to having A/C units everywhere we go. This came as a bit of a surprise that there was not A/C in the place. But we soon learned that this was the norm on the island. Several fans were provided. Between that, and having windows opened, we were quite comfortable over night (the last couple nights we were there, the temperature in the house dropped to 65, to a point we needed blankets).

Another thing to note is that there is a cat who makes residence on the stairs of the cabana. This was a great surprise as we are both cat lovers, and enjoyed the small, furry comfort of home name Coco :)

Also, beware of the roosters/hens that make residence on the island!

Overall, we loved our experience. We can't wait to come back, and would recommend this to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Coco Cabana Jungle Cottage - secluded riverfront honeymoon retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153703vb
+1 808-821-9836
Hanalei Kauai
Minnesota
4

Idyllic setting for much needed R&R

Idyllic setting for much needed R&R
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I chose to stay at Coco Cabana Cottage because I was looking for some time to myself to recharge. I was not disappointed! The cottage is as described and pictured; the bathroom appears to be recently updated, which is always nice when you're traveling. The cottage has anything you could ever want for a stay on Kauai: numerous snorkel sets, styrofoam coolers (medium and small), water shoes, boogie boards, on-site laundry (with detergent provided), beach towels, and of course, an outdoor shower to allow you to rinse off after a day at the beach.

There are some signs of wear and tear but it didn't detract from the overall affect of the cottage: windows and screens weren't on their tracks which impacted ability to lock them at night. I got over it after the first night. When I was working to troubleshoot the wireless phone in the bedroom, I noticed a pile of dead insects (cockroaches and other bugs) - they were out of the way, and not alive so I was OK with that! There isn't a dishwasher, which always makes me nervous with rental property because you can't be fully assured at the thoroughness of the previous guests' cleaning ablity - or even the housekeeper. I ended up buying plastic silverware and left the extras behind.

Getting to the cottage can be tricky. If you arrive later in the day, as I did, it's important to note that the directions aren't 100% accurate; I wanted to provide a little more detail so I could help anyone who visited after me! Take the highway as the directions say - the cottage is past Hanalei about 10-15 minutes in the town of Waihina. The turn is just before the Last Chance store, and the street sign is covered up by trees. You will think you're in the wrong place, I did many times. The cottage is actually 1/2 mile off the main road (not 1/16 like the directions say). There are NO LIGHTS on this road. Only the first 1/4 mile of it is paved, then it's all dirt road. The driveway to the cottage will be on your right; and it comes up almost immediately after the house that has a yellow surboard with their address on it. There will also be sensor lights, which come on as you drive by so if you see those flick on, you're most likely there! Carole knew I was coming later, and left lights on for me, which was AWESOME since it was pitch black otherwise!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Coco Cabana Jungle Cottage - secluded riverfront honeymoon retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153703vb
+1 808-821-9836
Hanalei Kauai
Arizona
4

Coco Cabana Jungle Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The listing description and pictures for Coco Cabana accurately describes this location. It is very private which we enjoyed. Room enough for only 2. Good for the price. Enjoyable stay. The only drawback is the parking. Narrow entrance to maneuver through even for an experienced driver. To back in had to turn at least 5 times. I wasn't too fond of the roads leading to the area either. They are very narrow, twisting, turning, blind spots, over growth making it hard to see - very dangerous. Just the driving on the roads made us both tense and nervous. Never been so happy as to safely arrive and then not worry about driving anywhere. We thanked Jesus every time we made it home safe.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/6
business
Coco Cabana Jungle Cottage - secluded riverfront honeymoon retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153703vb
+1 808-821-9836
Hanalei Kauai
San Francisco Ca.
5

A little slice of jungle heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This property is located in a secluded part of Kauai and is certainly a little slice of jungle heaven. The property is very well maintained and in an absolutley wonderfully secluded location amoung the trees and vines of the garden island. It is 10 minutes to the "end of the road" and Caves beaches. There is wonderfull swiming, snorkeling and sun bathing seconds from your door. If you truly want to escape to paradise, this is the spot. We spent 7 days here and was the best 7 days of our lives. We de-stressed within moments of our arrival at the CoCo Cabana cottage. We found ourselves wishing that we had an extra seven days to spend there. We would recomend this place for anyone wishing to get away from it all. Thank you Cat for letting us stay at your wonderful cottage. We will definately be back.
Thank you
John & Lisa
Newlyweds
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Coco Cabana Jungle Cottage - secluded riverfront honeymoon retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153703vb
+1 808-821-9836
Hanalei Kauai
Winthrop, Wa.
5

My favorite place away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
I have stayed at "Coco" many times, 5 so far. This is truely the most beautiful place I have ever stayed at. It also has easy access to the beaches, all within minutes, Hawaian time. It is quiet, peaceful and includes everything you need to just relax and enjoy. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2