Cape San Blas house rental - Toes In The Sand Vacation Rental
Toes In The Sand Vacation Rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Cape San Blas House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 8

Spacious, bright and nicely furnished, this gulf view home is located in a quiet, little beachfront community. Great first tier location with a nice view of the gulf from the screened porch, sundeck and upstairs bedroom. Just steps from the deck are two neighborhood boardwalks to the beach. Take your pick since both are about 300 feet long and take you to the pristine, uncrowded and incredibly beautiful beach. You'll have no problem finding a special spot and you may be one of only a few people on the beach.

The home is located a short walking distance from Salina's Park; only 12 minutes driving time to Port St. Joe and less than 30 minutes to historical Apalachicola. The St. Joe Country Club is only six miles away if you want to play a round of golf.

This 1800 sq. ft. home offers plenty of open space for the entire family to spend time together or find a quiet spot for relaxing. The light filled main floor is very open, comfortable and tastefully furnished. This level features a large, well equipped kitchen with all the necessities and more. You'll enjoy meals in the spacious dining area with family size dining table and chairs and breakfast bar. Prefer outdoor dining? Catch a nice breeze and take in the view on the screened porch while you enjoy your meal. The living room offers lots of comfortable seating, fireplace, large, flat screen TV, and book library. You'll love the screened porch with a view of the gulf and also a private wooded view to the side. It's the ideal place for relaxing in the swing or enjoying meals or happy hour. If you want to work on your tan between trips to the beach, you'll find the deck perfect for soaking up the Florida sun.

Bedrooms are upstairs and include a queen size bedroom with TV and private bath, a king size bedroom with bath, and an adjoining bedroom with two twin beds with TV and DVD and lots of movies for the little ones.

There is plenty of covered parking under the house. An outdoor shower with direct access to the main floor bathroom is especially convenient. The neighborhood designated parking area for boats and trailers is in front of the house. Close and convenient.

Toes In The Sand is a wonderful place to kick back and enjoy a peaceful, private beach vacation with everything you need. Cape San Blas is the kind of place that almost doesn't exist anymore; safe, peaceful and tranquil. We want to make sure you enjoy your stay here.

More Details
Hide Details

We are from Atlanta, Ga. and have been visiting Cape San Blas since the mid 1990's. We purchased our home in 2001 and have spent many happy times here with friends, family and especially our two young grandsons who love the beach!

Joyce Hunt purchased this house in 2001

We discovered this area several years ago and when we heard that the house we had been renting for several years was for sale we couldn't resist the opportunity to purchase. We love this little neighborhood and the beautiful, wide beach in this location of Cape San Blas.

28 Reviews of Property 153619 in Cape San Blas, Florida

Toes in the Sand - Spacious, Well-Maintained, Gulf View Home
average rating of 4.740741 based on 28 reviews
business
Toes in the Sand - Spacious, Well-Maintained, Gulf View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153619
(770) 458-0649 (Georgia, USA)
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
-
4

Nice Get-a-way

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Enjoyed our stay in your "Toes in the sand" home over the Thanksgiving holiday. The home was well equipped and we found it well stocked. Since we did quite a bit of cooking, we found the kitchen very friendly and well equipped with all the proper cooking items, etc. It is located in a very nice section of the beach and is just a short walk to the sand and ocean. It is also located just a short drive out the Cape Road, which makes it handy to get back into town and to grocery shop. We thought the home fit the price range the owners were asking and we enjoyed our stay. Nothing to do with the unit itself, but the next door neighbor, (just steps away) worked on his home all week long and made noise that we found bothersome. Being a general contractor my self, I could have done without that as I'm around it everyday, and could have wished that our vacation might have been just a little less peaceful.......this was certainly not the owners fault!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Toes in the Sand - Spacious, Well-Maintained, Gulf View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153619
(770) 458-0649 (Georgia, USA)
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
Dothan, AL
4

Fun in the Sand and Sun

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family and I really enjoyed ourselves at Cape San Blas, our first time staying there. "Toes in the Sand" was a great, spacious home with plenty of room to spread out with 6 adults and well appointed. My favorite place was the screened-in porch sitting on the swing! Every morning was spent on the porch drinking coffee, reading and talking. There is a small view of the beach water from the porch and upstairs twin bedroom that connects to the master. I would say there are about 250 walking steps from the bottom of the home's steps till you step onto the wide open beaches. Two boardwalks lead out to the beaches. Beaches were never crowded, enjoyed seeing the horses come by, usually twice a day...early morn and late afternoon. Vehicles are allowed on the beach with a permit. Our biggest disappointment was during our last few minutes at the beach with our dogs on Friday, before we came home on Saturday, we were FINED for not having our two dogs on a leash at the beach. We had taken them to the beach off and on all week, walking them to and from the beach on a leash and then letting them run in the waves with us always with them. We saw other families with their dogs...none on leashes either. We made sure we set up on the beach away from other families, so our dogs could enjoy the sand and water and not disturb anyone. There are no signs anywhere saying there is a leash law and fines would be imposed if caught. We were never informed of that law and failed to find it written anywhere in our rental agreement, local magazines or at the poop station set up on the beach. We were quite disappointed and upset that this happened, as we are law abiding people and want to do the right thing.
We were surely pleased with the poured concrete parking underneath the house as the last 24 hours the rain never stopped and there could have been some serious flooding under there, making packing up your cars a mess, walking, etc. Also bring along mosquito spray, as with all the rain this summer, the insects were out and biting!
The king bed was quite comfortable, as was one twin bed, but the queen mattress was a bit lumpy and old and needs replacing. The other twin bed was fairly comfortable.
We loved eating at Toucans in Mexico Beach....right on the beach and also, Indian Pass Raw Bar, about 5 minutes from our place...everyone needs to try that one, but go early as we had an hour and a half wait, even on a Thursday night! It was worth it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Toes in the Sand - Spacious, Well-Maintained, Gulf View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153619
(770) 458-0649 (Georgia, USA)
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
Jennings, La
5

Great Place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We really enjoyed our week at "Toes in the Sand". The house was well kept and very spacious. We had a party of 9 people, made up of adults, teenagers and very young children. There were plenty of things to do for all ages. I would highly recommend BUG SPRAY, for the sand flies, and the only other complaint would be about the Queen size bed being VERY hard. I would recommend the Seahorse Safaris place in Port St. Joe, we rented a pontoon boat for the day from them and took a deep sea charter fishing trip. Very affordable, and friendly staff. All in all, it was a great vacation and we made some amazing family memories! :)
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Toes in the Sand - Spacious, Well-Maintained, Gulf View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153619
(770) 458-0649 (Georgia, USA)
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
5

Amazing vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We LOVED our stay at Toes in the Sand! The house was beautiful and clean. We had three small children with us we were very happy with the layout of the house. The fact that 2 of the bedrooms are connected was very helpful to us. I think we have decided to make coming to Toes in the Sand an annual trip. Thank you so much for helping us to have an amazing vacation!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Toes in the Sand - Spacious, Well-Maintained, Gulf View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153619
(770) 458-0649 (Georgia, USA)
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
4

Great house, beach and area.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This place was great and close to the beach. The house was clean and well furnished and the beds were comfortable. It was close to the paved bike path and there was a park very close. We loved the screened in porch behind the deck. The large bedroom with the twin beds is off of another bedroom and seperated by french doors. It doesn't have its own entry. It worked for us, because we have small children, but I can see where it would be a disappointment if you have older kids that you don't want running in and out of your room all night.
The beach close and wonderful. We had fires at night and found crabs. In the day, it wasn't overrun with people. It was lovely. However, be warned, it is used by many horses that come in packs every thirty minutes and it is driven on by many vehicals all throughout the day and they are not slow. Again, I have small children, so this was irritating sometimes. Other times it was just quiet and nice and at night the stars are amazing.
The owners called and checked on us to make sure everything was fine. That was nice.
I would stay in the area and in the house again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Toes in the Sand - Spacious, Well-Maintained, Gulf View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153619
(770) 458-0649 (Georgia, USA)
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
Northern Michigan
5

Excellent Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This home is exactly how is was described in the information. I was not let down. There was 4 adults and 2 children during our stay... plenty of room. Even though is was a little cold during our stay, we were totally comfortable and found plenty to do. We love the Cape because of the "not so crowded" feel. We felt that we had the whole beach to ourselves at times. The home is not directly on the beach..only 2 houses in front of your, but the whole neighborhood is a "beach front neighborhood" so we didn't feel like we were "in the back row". Since mornings were cooler, we sat on the back deck and read books and enjoyed the morning sun. The house was clean and well appointed. Beds were comfortable. If you are looking for quiet, charming, and willing to explore, I would certainly recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Toes in the Sand - Spacious, Well-Maintained, Gulf View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153619
(770) 458-0649 (Georgia, USA)
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee
5

Spring Break 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I have rented in this community several times, twice at this house and both times have been absolutely wonderful. This house has everything you need to enjoy your stay. It is very clean and well kept. This is the best little community for a quiet, somewhat secluded vacation. If you are looking for a party beach vacation, this isn't the place for you, but if you want a quiet, low-key vacation - this is the place! The neighboring renters have always been just as pleasant. Port St Joe is very near, for all your grocery and shopping needs - the restaurants are great as well! I cant imagine going anywhere else, I have fallen in love with this little community and hope to visit with my daughter every year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Toes in the Sand - Spacious, Well-Maintained, Gulf View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153619
(770) 458-0649 (Georgia, USA)
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
Alabama
5

A Wonderful Beach House!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had the BEST time!!!! Your house is fabulous! So comfortable and homey. Everything we could possibly need was there and then some! Access to the beach is very easy, just 100 ft at the most to the board walk. The 2 bedrooms are bright and spacious with en suite bathrooms. The largest bedroom has the 3rd bedroom attached with 2 twins, only accessible through the bedroom. Great for parents traveling with kids, not so much with all adults. We had 2 couples so it was perfect! Joyce was also flexible with an early check-in as well, that does not happen very often with beach house rentals!! Awesome owner! My only want is that we had spent more time in the house! We were gone a lot with so much to do during the Songwriters Festival. We will definitely stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Toes in the Sand - Spacious, Well-Maintained, Gulf View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153619
(770) 458-0649 (Georgia, USA)
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
Atlanta, GA
5

Highly recommend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We spent four lovely days at Toes in the Sand in October. The house is well maintained, beautifully decorated and well appointed with everything that you need for your stay. We enjoyed breakfast, lunch, and dinners on the screened porch and happy hours on the beach just a short walk from the house. The beach is just beautiful and we spent many relaxing hours there. The local restaurants were very good and Apalachicola is a short drive away with many interesting shops and restaurants. We had a great time at the house and my husband was especially thrilled that he caught a 27" redfish ! That made his trip ! I would highly recommend this house as it is very pleasant and the owners were extremely kind and helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Toes in the Sand - Spacious, Well-Maintained, Gulf View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p153619
(770) 458-0649 (Georgia, USA)
Cape San Blas Florida Panhandle
IA
4

Great Pet Friendly Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This property is great for a pet friendly vacation. We really loved being able to take our dog along. She loved playing in the water and with other dogs on the beach. The house was clean and well-maintained. You always have to remember this is a vacation rental, and other renters don't always take good care of the property. It might not be the same way you keep your home. The bathrooms were clean and the bedding and towels were exceptionally nice for a rental. The screened in porch area was wonderful. Bugs were not a problem at all during the day, but could be in the evening hours. So you can enjoy the sun on the deck during the day, but when you get too warm or the bugs come out, you can just move to the screened area. The location is great. We liked being closer to Port St Joe. The homes further down the cape have a longer trek into town. Also the beach is very wide and nice in this area. There weren't a lot of people there. We took the dog out in the morning, and often there were no other people on the beach at all. Evenings were the same way.
If you are looking for action, shopping and places to eat--this is not the place for you. If you want a quiet beach vacation where you can enjoy taking your pet, this is a good pick. If you are looking for manicured lawns and fancy landscaping--this is not it. This location is a group of homes tucked in a natural setting that is how Florida used to be. If you like to fish--it looks like there is lots of opportunity. One guy was fishing with a net and pulling lots of fish in off the gulf.
We took a drive to Apalachicola. Don't miss it---lots of great eating places. We ate at Up the Creek Raw Bar on the deck. They went right in to get Maggie a bowl of water. This is a large home and a good buy for a nice quiet vacation.
We took flashlights and went to the beach one night---I grew up in city lights and I have never seen so many stars in my life---beautiful. GO and ENJOY/
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1