Austin studio rental - Entrance to Rental, along Parkside Rd; Right side of main house
Entrance to Rental, along Parkside Rd; Right side of main house
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Austin Studio Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, full kitchen, sleeps 2

This charming property is centrally located, just north of downtown & UT campus and right next door to the new Dell Children's Hospital. Two parks (with playgrounds, tennis courts, and pool) within walking distance. Bus stop one block from rental - on the bus route to UT. Distance to local attractions: 2.7 miles to University of Texas, 3.6 miles to 6th Street (downtown music district), 3.9 miles to Austin Convention Center, 5.9 miles to Zilker park (location of ACL). Butler cottage comes with a fully equipped kitchen, high speed wireless, fenced in yard, and tons of personality. It is ideal for corporate rentals, visiting family/friends, UT fans (great access to the stadium), music festivals (SXSW & ACL), or just getting to know Austin.

City Wildlife!: Our neighborhood boasts a family of Peacocks. They roam freely and are usually wandering through our and our neighbor's yards in the morning and early afternoon. Their distinct calls can be heard from the trees where they perch in the evenings.

More Details
Hide Details

We are Rob and Reyna. We are an Austin couple with 2 kids, a dog, and a cat. Before the kids came, we traveled a lot and used VRBO almost exclusively. So, when we found a house with an attached studio, it seemed natural to rent it out as a vacation rental.

Reyna Bishop purchased this studio in 2005

We live in the house connected to the studio. This is an advantage in many ways. Not only are we more accessible to our guests, but we have a closer connection to the house. It is an old house (1940s) with all the charms and problems that come with that. The neighborhood is friendly and walkable and we love the proximity to downtown Austin.

28 Reviews of Property 152863 in Austin, Texas

Charming Studio Apartment in East Austin - Close to Downtown and UT
average rating of 4.535714 based on 28 reviews
business
Charming Studio Apartment in East Austin - Close to Downtown and UT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152863
512 363-8755
Austin Austin area
McAllen, TX
5

Pefect locale for Austin stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
You cannot find a better place for the price and location. This cottage is located on Airport Blvd and I-35, which only puts you within minutes from downtown Austin or North Austin. I've stayed at this place a few times and always happy with my accomodations. Love the privacy and the "austin vibe" to this little cottage. As a frequent business traveler, having homey feel to my lodging such as Butler cottage is a fresh alternative to bland hotel rooms with fluroscent lightings and stained sheets. I love doing Austin weekends and this cottage always assures me a cool stay for my budget
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Charming Studio Apartment in East Austin - Close to Downtown and UT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152863
512 363-8755
Austin Austin area
Plano, TX
5

Cutest Studio!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
From the moment my husband and I arrived we felt at home. It was such an adorable studio! It reminded me of living back home in Atlanta and Decatur, GA. Very quaint and relaxing. We brought our bikes with us, so it was super easy to get to 6th street and South Congress. We ate brunch and shopped then rode our bikes back. It felt like we lived there and felt really natural. No pressure of seeing a front desk clerk and having to be around other people in lobby when arriving at a hotel. The entry is very private and feels like a standalone home. When we didn't bike we took a cab to downtown area which only costs around $15 each way. I loved the windows in the bedroom!! So beautiful. The best part about the neighborhood is the roaming peacocks! We went for an early walk and saw a couple of them :) Very COOL! I'm super jealous and now want to live here, but we've decided this our new home away from home. Thank you for keeping it so nice and letting us stay here!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Studio Apartment in East Austin - Close to Downtown and UT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152863
512 363-8755
Austin Austin area
5

Peaceful, great yard for pups!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Quiet, private, peaceful property. Very comfortable bed. Super internet and cable service. Excellent, flexible host and nice spot for our dogs!
business
Charming Studio Apartment in East Austin - Close to Downtown and UT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152863
512 363-8755
Austin Austin area
5

relocation scouting from Phoenix

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I suck at making my mind up about things, so as per usual I found this rental that fit our needs and then spent like 3 days looking at others, only to end up coming back to my first choice ! Glad I did because it was exactly what I was looking for in a rental, cozy, convenient, full kitchen, enclosed yard for our dog etc.
It's in a really nice neighborhood that's not far from the freeway, supermarket, other shopping if that's your thing. There are these cool peacocks that roam around which I love ! Reyna had told me that they roost in the trees, so I was thinking oh, like an apple tree ? No ! about 150/200 yards up in the tallest tree in the street ! Crazy :) My dog just stood there stunned, she hadn't seen a bird that big before :) I met Reyna on the Saturday morning over the garden fence while I was on the deck drinking coffee and she was gardening on the other side with her girls. She's really nice, down to earth and is ready to help out with anything you might need. I actually brought some knives and spatulas and a chopping board from my kitchen that I thought maybe the rental wouldn't have, but actually it had everything. And also there is coffee and a selection of tea. There's also plenty of sheets, towels, toilet paper etc.
It's a convenient size for two with a small dog. I loved throwing the curtains back in the morning to get all that lovely sunlight in, and there are squirrels :D I got an awesome photo of one in the tree outside the bedroom window, just posing for the camera.
I wouldn't hesitate to come back here again, especially since I totally messed up and got our checkout date wrong ! Don't be that guy ! :/ Fortunately, she wasn't expecting anyone that day, and after my profuse apologies to Reyna and her cleaning crew, we we able to pay to stay that extra night with no problem :) I feel bad I didn't pop in to say goodbye in person, but it was back to school week for the family and I didn't want to take up their time. All in all, really pleasant stay and I felt safe leaving our dog in there while were out househunting :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Studio Apartment in East Austin - Close to Downtown and UT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152863
512 363-8755
Austin Austin area
Temple, TX
3

A few hiccups, but great hosts

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My wife and I were staying at the Butler Studios for a month while she was doing some work at the nearby hospital. We had quite a few unexpected things happen that made the stay a little less than pleasant, but the owners responded to all of them very quickly and courteously.

We didn't expect was the 'liveliness' of the peacocks roaming the neighborhood. They caw out around 5:30AM and again in the evenings around dusk. One of them was seen walking up and down my car and scratched the door with his beak :( There was some peacock eggs right near the entrance of the studio and a few of them got smashed and started to stink. The owners cleaned that up for us promptly.

Another thing I ran into was an abundance of small critters in the apartment. I smashed a few large roaches while I was there. I think the owners were experiencing the same thing though because I saw an exterminator spraying the perimeter of the studio and their house.

The AC went out for a couple of nights while we were there. The owners had a repair man come out very quickly and we realized it was because we were putting the temperature too low at night. As long as we kept it above 72 deg, it worked just fine. We appreciated the owners swift response b/c no AC during the summer nights is rough.

When my wife was working nights, there was some heavy construction going on right outside the studio. They would begin construction around 7AM, which was only an hour after she got home and got to sleep. We ended up having to go stay with a friend so she could get some sleep. That was more of a case of wrong place, wrong time and there wasn't anything the owners could really do about that.

Lastly, on the final night we were there, someone had stolen the spare tire from the back of my wife's vehicle. The owners didn't have to but they helped pay for the loss.

We did love the location of the studio. It was very close to my wife's work and I liked how close it was to the main part of town. The bed was very comfortable and having TIVO was pretty nice. There was a lot of natural light and the kitchen has just about everything you need to cook a meal. We felt the price was very reasonable and the owners really do everything they can to make your stay a comfortable one.

I think we had a case of just being pretty unlucky during our time there. I believe the owners when they say that most of those things have never happened. Give Butler Studios a shot, just watch out for the peacocks.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Though incidents like these are unfortunate, we take them as opportunities to improve our rental and to learn how to make our property better and safer.

We take personal and property safety very seriously and are doing everything we can (i.e. adding motion lights facing the street and installing a security camera) to deter these kinds of events from happening to our guests again. We have lived with our children in this neighborhood for almost a decade and our experience of the neighborhood is that it is both safe and friendly. We choose to live close to downtown and love the convenience of being so close to all the things the Austin has to offer (and believe this is why our guests choose our property as well). The flip side to the charm and convenience of any central location is that occasional, petty theft is a fact of life.

We have had our A/C motor replaced and have had no difficulties with the A/C since these guests stayed with us.

We have a contract with a local pest control company and doing ongoing pest control every other month. We are very quick to respond to any reports of pets.

The city has been replacing the gas and water lines in our neighborhood, resulting in a few days of loud street work. The city has completed all work and will have the roads repaved and be completely gone this month (Oct 2013). We don't anticipate any other disruptive road word in this neighborhood aside from random water or gas line repair.

Given that the majority of our reviews over 5 years of renting are almost all positive, we hope that you will take this review in perspective. We strive to offer a clean, comfortable, friendly rental for folks looking for an alternative to a hotel. Give us a shot! Feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Studio Apartment in East Austin - Close to Downtown and UT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152863
512 363-8755
Austin Austin area
4

5 nights...very comfortable

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed in the studio for 5 nights and were very comfortable. The studio is in a very convenient location and has very easy access.
business
Charming Studio Apartment in East Austin - Close to Downtown and UT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152863
512 363-8755
Austin Austin area
5

Perfect for a long stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was a cozy, comfortable affordable place to keep a traveling editor.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Studio Apartment in East Austin - Close to Downtown and UT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152863
512 363-8755
Austin Austin area
San Antonio TX
5

Great neighborhood, clean, well-equipped studio..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed here a couple of nights while we checked out Austin. Great place to stay! Clean, well-cared for and well-equipped. Made our stay in Austin so much nicer than a dumb motel! We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Studio Apartment in East Austin - Close to Downtown and UT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152863
512 363-8755
Austin Austin area
5

Super Nice & Private

Super Nice & Private
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Great little spot--clean, quiet and comfy. Easy access to Austin but off the road enough for a good night sleep. Parking no prob Has a nice 'homey' feel to it. Neighborhood is safe and quiet, good for walks. Very clean and tidy inside, has a nice little kitchen with plenty of utensils, pots, pans, etc. If privacy is a priority for you, as it is for me, the entrance to this place is out of the way, and plenty well removed from the goings on of the hosts (very nice people, btw). I'd recommend it over a hotel any day. No complaints here.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Studio Apartment in East Austin - Close to Downtown and UT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152863
512 363-8755
Austin Austin area
Lynchburg, VA
5

Excellent place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The Butler studio apt was a nice place to stay. Only two rooms and a bath but nice for a couple with perhaps one small child. Centrally located to the Interstate, shopping, airport, etc. The owner lives on site which is nice should you have questions or need suggestions for restaurants, tourist attractions, etc. It is located within walking distance of the Mueller development. We will definitely return there on our trips to Austin. Very clean, nice neighborhood, good place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children