Port Sanilac house rental - how to find my driveway!
how to find my driveway!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Port Sanilac House Rental Photos and Description
With fully furnished kitchen, fireplace, central air, Jacuzzi, wrap-around deck

My home is 1/4 off M25 on a bluff in a wooded area overlooking Lake Huron. The pristine shoreline offers opportunity to hike and explore nature. One could walk about a mile along the shore in either direction and not see another person. Deer abound, birds wake you in the morning, and the bald eagle keeps watch over the shore.

Activities and Recreation: Craft shows and water sports abound during the summer months. The Can-Am Watercraft Races and spectacular fireworks displays along the shore are early July activities. Watch the sailboats pop over the horizon and pass on their way to Mackinaw during the Port Huron/Mackinaw races. Like antiquing? The thumb will keep you busy. Boat launches, fishing, and sandy beaches are a few miles away. A variety of public golf courses are within a 30-mile radius. Experience a “blast from the past” at a drive-in theater or the newly refurbished theater in Harbor Beach or experience live music and plays in nearby towns. The pristine shoreline also offers opportunity to hike and explore nature.

11 Reviews of Property 152809 in Port Sanilac, Michigan

Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews
business
Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152809
+1 9897120777
Port Sanilac Eastern Michigan
5

Something for Everyone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This was the perfect spot for my husband and I to unwind with our 3 small kids. We loved going down to the beach, collecting rocks and shells. The water was beautiful. You could hear it lapping against the shore from the house. The yard was huge and the house itself was spacious and homey. We especially enjoyed the open kitchen (wished we had this at our house!). With the fire roaring at night, you really couldn't ask for more. We look forward to creating many more memories here.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152809
+1 9897120777
Port Sanilac Eastern Michigan
5

Family Weekend and Girls Scrapbook Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My girlfriends and I have been coming to Lois' beautiful home for many years now to enjoy a week away from our busy lives. We spend a week in the fall relaxing in our comfy clothes, talking, laughing, and working on our scrapbooks. The home has fabulous windows to enjoy a beautiful view no matter where you are inside. The area is peaceful and quiet. Walking in the area is fantastic. The layout is very open. The description and photos are accurate. Lois' place is very clean and well maintained. We cook most of our own meals but do enjoy a great dinner out at the Stone Lodge in Port Sanilac. Lois and Lil are the nicest people I've ever rented any home from (I've rented several). This year I took my family up for the weekend prior to scrapbook week. They loved it. The weather wasn't great but we enjoyed the view, the fireplace, the jetted tub and a long walk. This place feels like our own home away from home. We love it and will be heading back again next year. I absolutely recommend this property to anyone looking to get away.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152809
+1 9897120777
Port Sanilac Eastern Michigan
5

A home away from home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This is a wonderful home to stay in. It was very clean and decorated nicely. The kitchen was more than I expected. The king size bed was comfortable. Many things were furnished which we appreciated since we are from out of state. Air conditioning was a plus. We loved the peace and quiet. The wild roses were in bloom along with many flowers that surrounded the house. We loved sitting on the deck watching the hummingbirds, the lake and freighters. A beach to walk on was not important to us but if it is to you there is a public beach a short distance from the house in Forestville. Lois was so nice and helpful. She always answered my emails promptly. We had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to do it again.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152809
+1 9897120777
Port Sanilac Eastern Michigan
5

What A View / WOW

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We arrived and fell in love with this beautiful home. The view of Lake Huron along with the wildlife and freighters was fantastic. This was our first time renting and we already are going to book this Home again in 2013. Plenty of room for all and walking in the water was great. It was everything anyone wanting to spend Quality Time with Family or Friends could ask for. We cannot wait until vacation comes again so we can have another family vacation. If you have a chance to rent this home, DO NOT let it slip by. Well worth it!!!!!!!
business
Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152809
+1 9897120777
Port Sanilac Eastern Michigan
Farmington Hills, MI
5

Very clean, well maintained, quiet property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
7 of my extended family stayed at Lois's property the Memorial Day Weekend. We really liked it there. Very well maintained, clean, nice floor plan. Nice people to deal with. The only draw back might be, just for some, that one bedroom had privacy and its own bathroom. The rest of the sleeping arrangements lack privacy. On the other hand, the second floor is open and nicely arranged. I recommend this place wholeheartedly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152809
+1 9897120777
Port Sanilac Eastern Michigan
Clinton Township, MI
5

Fanatastic Fall Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My fiance' and I recently enjoyed a long getaway at this gorgeous new home. A mid-October weekend, with Indian Summer weather was the perfect combination to enjoy a quiet weekend prior to the holiday bustle. We spent the majority of our time taking in the colors and relaxing on the back deck, staring at the Lake and watching the freighters go by. The only sounds were the crash of the waves and the honk of the occasional group of geese. On two evenings we were greeted by guests, a pair of deer, came within 10 yards as dusk settled in. Complete with all the amenities this house was the ideal pick for a quiet weekend.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152809
+1 9897120777
Port Sanilac Eastern Michigan
Cincinnati, OH
4

A Month at the Lake

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
I spent a month in this lovely home with visits from assorted family members. The kitchen is equipped to fix large meals, the beds are comfortable and you'll love the rain shower in the master bath. There is a beautiful view of Lake Huron through the birch trees and the deck is ideal for boat watching. (A table for outdoor dining would have been appreciated.) The star gazing, when we had beach fires, was spectacular!

Growth of an invasive beach grass made shore walking almost impossible, but the early twenties had no trouble accessing the water to use their flotation toys (bring your own).There is a pocket beach close by for younger children. 6 round-trip laps of the drive made for a two mile daily walk and the steps to the beach are also great exercise. Near-by Harbor Beach has a wonderful bike path, breakwall and pier for walking/riding.

If you like casual gourmet dining, try The Farm, near Port Austin. The riverfront cafe at the Quay St. Brewery, in Port Huron, was also a hit.

Quilters, be sure to see the workroom at The Corner Store in Harbor Beach. Also, the Backstreet Quilt shop in Elkton is well worh the drive. Go a few more miles to Pigeon and have lunch at the Main St. Cafe.

Be advised! Verizon service extremely erratic. AT&T air card could not pick up a signal when we tried to use it on the few times the broadband was down.

If you like peace and quiet with the option to do some "fun" things, this ia a wonderful vacation spot. We all had a great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152809
+1 9897120777
Port Sanilac Eastern Michigan
Ferndale, MI
5

I have rented this property twice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
I have rented this property twice and intend to do so again.

My board gaming hobby group has held a retreat here two years in a row. We found the house and grounds to be well tended to and quiet. There was plenty of room for our group of eight adults to make themselves comfortable.

The house is situated on a high bluff overlooking Lake Huron, with a pleasant stand of birch trees framing the view. Freighters pass north and south.

I saw tons of hummingbirds and other interesting birds. One curious hummingbird hovered less than 12 inches from my face for a good ten seconds, chirping curiously while I smiled at the amazing close up look of the blurred wings of the tiny creature. There are wild raspberries all around the property, delicious to eat.

My group inadvertantly left behind an award plaque. Lois and her cleaning staff went to the house and got it for us, and mailed it to us nicely packaged and free of charge. I really appreciated their willingness to go the extra mile for their customers.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152809
+1 9897120777
Port Sanilac Eastern Michigan
Rochester Hills, MI
5

Great getaway with all the comforts of home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
I had an absolutely fabulous week and was so sad when it was time to leave! This immaculately maintained home and its amenities were even better than described. The property is peaceful and private with a beautiful view of the lake. While the stairway down to the beach may not be for oldsters, it was in excellent condition, was completely clear of debris and had a landing with a bench halfway down where you can relax and watch the water. The beach may not be the best for swimming however there are a lot of parks with swimming beaches nearby and they were never crowded. It's possible to hike along the shore from the property and there was a fire pit available for bonfires. The bird feeders at the house were an especially nice touch. I enjoyed watching the hummingbirds, yellow finches and many others during my stay. I would highly recommend this home to others, especially families with children since the upper loft is huge and can act as a combination rec room and bedroom.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Enjoy Sunrises and Wildlife in This Magnificent New Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152809
+1 9897120777
Port Sanilac Eastern Michigan
Dallas, Texas
5

Wonderful Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Three generations of our family just returned from a weeklong getaway at this delightful lakefront home. The home was tucked back in the woods, had a wrap around deck, was extremely well kept, and had a very well appointed kitchen. Hardwood floors, upscale fixtures, and fine linens provided the comforts of home. The large kitchen opened into the dining and living areas that featured a stone fireplace (note that firewood was provided). The living room furniture was comfy with two recliners, a large sofa, and antique rockers. The large second story had 3 single beds and a queen sized bed set up in such a way that privacy was assured for the parents. The master suite on the first floor had gorgeous antique furniture, a comfy king sized bed, a ceiling fan, and beautiful views of the lake. The large whirpool tub in the master suite had a large window so you could enjoy looking into the woods while relaxing. Although the beach on this property is a little rough, beautiful public beaches were close by and often we felt like we had our own private beach when the kids were swimming and playing in the sand. Make sure you bring binoculars to observe the wildlife and ships on the lake. We were able to see deer, rabbits, woodchucks, humming birds, loads of birds, deer, and bald eagles. Although this property had central air, we never had to turn it on as the cool breeze from the lake kept the house comfortable all day long. We had a great time and would recommend this property to anyone looking for a comfy "get away from it all" vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13