San Miguel de Allende house rental - Courtyard entryway to Casa Christina
Courtyard entryway to Casa Christina
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

San Miguel de Allende House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8, Daily Maid Service, Breakfast Option

Casa Christina is an authentic experience of real Mexico, San Miguel de Allende style. Set in the quiet district of San Antonio, it is only 2 blocks from the world famous Instituto which offers a wide range of Spanish and art classes. The Jardin at the center of town, is an easy 15 minute walk. Stepping into Casa Christina’s walled-courtyard with its pre-Columbian sculptures in the fountain, immediately sets the relaxed pace of your visit. The spacious 3200 square foot house sits on a large lot and is furnished with antiques and the beautiful art collection of Robert Somerlot, a well known author who lived in San Miguel for 35 years. The living room is graced with 18th century carved chapel doors from a historical hacienda in the local area. Maid and gardening service are included three days a week. The fountain courtyard or lower garden are ideal for outdoor meals.

The second story terrace is shared by the 2 upstairs bedrooms and has a view of the countryside. The rooftop garden with its incredible close-up view of San Antonio Church, is a wonderful place to enjoy the sunset, practice yoga or relax in a lounge chair with a good book. Each of the 3 bedrooms has its own attached bath. The Master Suite and Lower Bedroom Suite have King-sized beds and a twin bed in their sitting rooms. The third Bedroom has a Queen-sized bed. The Lower Bedroom Suite has a separate entrance and kitchenette.

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 152793 in San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico / Colonial Circuit

Casa Christina - Spacious Home Filled with Art and Gardens
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Casa Christina - Spacious Home Filled with Art and Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152793
831 659-4445
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Huntsville, Alabama
5

Guestbook Comment

Casa Christina is a beautiful and spacious house and was an absolute delight for the month we stayed there. The décor is lovely with an extensive art...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2006
  • Stayed: Mar 2006
Casa Christina is a beautiful and spacious house and was an absolute delight for the month we stayed there. The décor is lovely with an extensive art collection. The many paintings, pieces of sculpture and Folk Art pieces all lend a wonderful ambiance of old Mexico. There is a beautiful garden and good-sized yard adjoining the loggia downstairs that was a favorite spot for us to enjoy afternoon Margaritas. Flowers are everywhere and well tended by Aurelio, the gardener, who also makes sure there is plenty of bottled water on all three levels. There are lovely vistas from both the roof garden and the second floor terrace. From the roof garden you can see San Antonio Church, the mountains to the west (beautiful sunsets!) and the colorful and varied views of Col. San Antonio everyday life. The roof garden is a great spot to get a suntan, read or just completely relax.

The kitchen is bright and cheerful with windows on two sides and well appointed with good cookware and a beautiful collection of Talavera dinnerware. We had fun shopping in the local markets on Ancha de San Antonio for food and the abundance of fresh fruits and vegetables is incredible. There are also little stores just a couple blocks away that sell roasted chickens and others that have home made ice cream. Other shops and markets that are a little further away have even better bargains, such as Tuesday Market where we bought a kilo (2.2 lbs.) of magnificent strawberries for $1.00! Also, Miriam is a wonderful cook and we really enjoyed her breakfasts.

There is a large and comfortable sofa in the living room where we spent several evenings enjoying movies from the owner’s extensive collection of DVDs. There is a surround sound system that really works, perhaps due to the large volume of space in the living room. Dominos Pizza also delivers if you want to become a true American couch potato and have a “Movie Night”.

The bedrooms are large and airy with beautiful Tibetan silks. The beds are extremely comfortable with good mattresses and those carved headboards are magnificent! There is good closet space to tuck away those big suitcases as well as hang your clothes. We set up the laptop in the sunroom off the Master bedroom on the second floor and the wireless DSL connection was seamless.

We just can’t say enough good about Casa Christina. We have been to San Miguel many times over the past 22 years and this was our best vacation ever! We would definitely stay here again and we thank the owners for providing such a beautiful and gracious home.
Helpful votes: 16/16
business
Casa Christina - Spacious Home Filled with Art and Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152793
831 659-4445
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
5

Casa Christina

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This very well appointed house is a pleasure to stay in. I and my visitors had a wonderful time last February. The place is so spacious that no one gets in each others way. The location is wonderful - near lots of restaurants and shops and not too far from el jardin, but without the noise of traffic. The kitchen is perfect for preparation of large meals and we loved the fact that the maid was willing to cook dinners now and then (for a reasonable fee.) She is also a wonderful housekeeper: the place was always spotless.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Beryl,
So glad you enjoyed staying at Casa Christina. It is always a treat for us when we go down to the house and we so enjoy sharing it with others.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Christina - Spacious Home Filled with Art and Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152793
831 659-4445
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Arlington, Tx
5

Lovely and Serene house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We had a wonderful two weeks in SMA and in Casa Christina last fall, during Halloween and Day of the Dead festivities. The house was immaculate and filled with interesting artwork. We were pleased with the location near the Instituto and good restaurants. We particularly liked the nearby restaurant Dilas - great food and wonderful hosts. While we were not new to SMA, one of the couples with us had never visited and we had a great time showing them around. The margueritas and tacos in Milagros restaurant were a big favorite, we returned there several times., There were three couples in our group, and the house accommodated us nicely. The housekeeper was friendly and efficient, and cooked several meals for us, all delicious. The garden in the back of the house was our favorite place to congregate for happy hour and conversation. The front garden lime tree provided us with all the limes we needed for margueritas and guacamole. While the weather was cool in the evenings, the fireplaces in the house were very pleasant to have, as well as the lovely woolen throws which were thoughtfully provided for our use. We parrticularly enjoyed the internet connection and direct phone to the US.
Craig and Christina were cheerful and helpful in answering all our questions, and we will gladly recommend the house to our friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Dear Sandy,
Thank you for the kind review. Christina and I take pleasure in providing a wonderful environment and great service to make our guests vacation experience and exceptional one.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Casa Christina - Spacious Home Filled with Art and Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152793
831 659-4445
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Mexico City
5

Great property and superb location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
I spent New year´s Holiday with my family at Casa Christina and it was one of the bests ever! The house is perfectly located, far enough from the city centre to allow you to discover the beautiful town of San Miguel de Allende.
We enjoyed our breakfasts prepared every morning by Maria, the garden and the terrace where you can enjoy the beautiful sunsets.
The house is very cozy and comfortable and welcomes you from the very start, you can detach from the busy world outside and at the same time enjoy a funny, entertaining and cosmopolitan mexican town full of cafes, restaurants, bars, art and culture.
Thanks for sharing your house!!! We can´t wait to go back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Ana,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review of Casa Christina. It took me awhile to see your review but I am posting it now. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you return for another stay sometime.

All the best,

Craig Lovell
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Christina - Spacious Home Filled with Art and Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152793
831 659-4445
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Alexandria, VA
5

Guestbook Comment

Casa Christina is a spacious, well-equipped home in a charming neighborhood. We went in the Fall when all the flowers and trees on the property were ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
Casa Christina is a spacious, well-equipped home in a charming neighborhood. We went in the Fall when all the flowers and trees on the property were in full bloom. It was a 10 minute walk to the center of town but there were many good places to eat and shop that were even closer.
Our laptop worked great with the WIFI which was a very nice amenity. The place was spotlessly clean and quiet. For the price, I don't think you could find a nicer accommodation in San Miguel.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Casa Christina - Spacious Home Filled with Art and Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152793
831 659-4445
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
5

Guestbook Comment

Dear Craig, We are slowly adjusting to the culture shock of being back in Penna. after San Miguel. Needless to say, we had a wonderful trip. The h...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
Dear Craig,
We are slowly adjusting to the culture shock of being back in Penna. after San Miguel. Needless to say, we had a wonderful trip. The house was simply perfect, especially as my husband I were in the casitas and our friends in the upstairs section of the house.....plenty of beautiful space for everyone.

San Miguel is so interesting and we took advantage of several cultural events planned for the expats...a premier of a PBS special, A Moment of Luxury, filmed in San Miguel and presented with a reception at the Institue, a jazz performance at the club on Stirling, a gypsy singer at the Biblioteca as well as two documentaries there and at the Market Bistro. Also. enjoyed all the restaurants from Rinconcita to La Capilla!

We did spend a day at La Gruta and also several hours at La Jardin Botanico, so as you see we were busy exploring San Miguel and all it has to offer. The guys liked the Mescal Bar and a native told me I must move to San Miguel. This was at La Cucaracha...almost as interesting as El Gato Negro!

Anyway, were so glad to have an opportunty to see San Miguel with such a wonderful home base. I could go on and on, but then you know all about the wonders of the town.

Would love to rent Casa Christina again sometime.

Sincerely,
Georgiana Ely
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Christina - Spacious Home Filled with Art and Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152793
831 659-4445
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Huntsville, AL USA
5

Guestbook Comment

This property made my wildest dreams come true!! I stayed for almost a month, February 2005, with another couple, John and Carolyn Rhodes, and we d...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
This property made my wildest dreams come true!!

I stayed for almost a month, February 2005, with another couple, John and Carolyn Rhodes, and we didn't want to come home.

Miriam was wonderful to cook for us and serve fabulous food. She took good care of us as well as the gardener.

We enjoy the large kitchen to cook meals in..not too many. But a great place to cook up some maragaritas and sit out on the verenda with great friends.

The art in the home was most magnificent! As a lover of color, the decor was very nice.

The location was convient to shopping and restaurants. If you need to go further then a taxi can take you for just $2.00.

I appreciate Carig and his lovely wife for letting us enjoy their treasured home.
business
Casa Christina - Spacious Home Filled with Art and Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152793
831 659-4445
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Scarsdale, NY
5

Guestbook Comment

We had a wonderful 6 weeks in Casa Christina. Everything was perfect (except it got a bit cold in January) - but mostly the sunny days and cools ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2007
  • Stayed: Oct 2007
We had a wonderful 6 weeks in Casa Christina.
Everything was perfect (except it got a bit cold in
January) - but mostly the sunny days and cools
nights were a welcome break from New York.

We loved the house - lots of room and fully
stocked. And we especially loved the
neighborhood. A wonderful area to walk around
and explore. We had a number of guests join us for
a week - and they found themselves instantly at
home.

Casa Christina is a wonderful place to stay - so
much better that the hotels and B&B's in San
Miguel.
business
Casa Christina - Spacious Home Filled with Art and Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152793
831 659-4445
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Huntsville, Alabama
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2006
  • Stayed: Mar 2006
Casa Christina is a beautiful and spacious house and was an absolute delight for the month we stayed there. The décor is lovely with an extensive art collection. The many paintings, pieces of sculpture and Folk Art pieces all lend a wonderful ambiance of old Mexico. There is a beautiful garden and good-sized yard adjoining the loggia downstairs that was a favorite spot for us to enjoy afternoon Margaritas. Flowers are everywhere and well tended by Aurelio, the gardener, who also makes sure there is plenty of bottled water on all three levels. There are lovely vistas from both the roof garden and the second floor terrace. From the roof garden you can see San Antonio Church, the mountains to the west (beautiful sunsets!) and the colorful and varied views of Col. San Antonio everyday life. The roof garden is a great spot to get a suntan, read or just completely relax.The kitchen is bright and cheerful with windows on two sides and well appointed with good cookware and a beautiful collection of Talavera dinnerware. We had fun shopping in the local markets on Ancha de San Antonio for food and the abundance of fresh fruits and vegetables is incredible. There are also little stores just a couple blocks away that sell roasted chickens and others that have home made ice cream. Other shops and markets that are a little further away have even better bargains, such as Tuesday Market where we bought a kilo (2.2 lbs.) of magnificent strawberries for $1.00! Also, Miriam is a wonderful cook and we really enjoyed her breakfasts.There is a large and comfortable sofa in the living room where we spent several evenings enjoying movies from the owner’s extensive collection of DVDs. There is a surround sound system that really works, perhaps due to the large volume of space in the living room. Dominos Pizza also delivers if you want to become a true American couch potato and have a “Movie Night”.The bedrooms are large and airy with beautiful Tibetan silks. The beds are extremely comfortable with good mattresses and those carved headboards are magnificent! There is good closet space to tuck away those big suitcases as well as hang your clothes. We set up the laptop in the sunroom off the Master bedroom on the second floor and the wireless DSL connection was seamless.We just can’t say enough good about Casa Christina. We have been to San Miguel many times over the past 22 years and this was our best vacation ever! We would definitely stay here again
business
Casa Christina - Spacious Home Filled with Art and Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152793
831 659-4445
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato State
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2005
  • Stayed: Sep 2005
Welcome to our new home. We are the excited new owners of this beautiful
home which once belonged to long time San Miguel resident Robert Somerlot.
He was a prolific author, director of plays and collector of art. His collection
still resides within the house including an 18th Century Chapel door and
paintings by Pinto and others.

We have just completed remodeling this beautiful property while maintaining
the integrity of Robert Somerlot's vision. Welcome to Casa Christina which
has been nicknamed Casa des Artes.