Southwest Harbor condo rental - View of Southwest Harbor from Midships deck
View of Southwest Harbor from Midships deck
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Southwest Harbor Condo Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 6

New for 2013 - Hot Tub!!

Come and enjoy the luxury accommodations and spectacular, unparalleled views of Southwest Harbor at 'Midships' at Windward Shores. Windward Shores is an exclusive 3 unit condominium enviably situated at the head of the harbor on the shores of Southwest Harbor. But don't shy away because of the word 'condo', this is no cookie-cutter condo! Windward Shores is not part of a larger complex. It is just one custom built waterfront property in a quiet residential neighborhood, with a homey, cottage feel. 'Midships' is the largest of the 3 condos boasting 3 levels, floor to ceiling windows, private patio, deck, sloping lawns, and private dock.

From the gleaming hardwood floors and spiral wooden staircase to the granite countertops and tiled doubled-headed master shower, it's the attention to detail that make 'Midships' a cut above the rest.

With truly breathtaking views from any of the three levels at 'Midships' as well as from the deck and private master patio with hot tub, you're ever close the the ocean. Closer still, step out to the sloping lawn, where you'll find seating and a Chiminea (outdoor fireplace or 'firepot') just above the shoreline and access to Windward Shores own private dock, all right in front of you!

Attention to Detail: As you walk into 'Midships' main level, you are consumed by panoramic views of the harbor. The open floor plan of this level allows you to soak in the views whether you're cooking in the kitchen, relaxing in the sitting area or dining at the table with family and friends. The fully appointed kitchen has gorgeous granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, including a double oven, cook top stove, refrigerator with water/ice dispenser and a built in microwave. Take the spiral staircase to the upper level and find a great spot for watching the activity of the harbor, enjoying cable on the flat screen HDTV, or curling up with a good book. This level also offers a bedroom with double bed.

In the lower level you'll find the master bedroom with hot tub on private patio overlooking the harbor, tiled master bath with double-headed shower, a second bedroom with twin bunk beds, and another bathroom with tub and shower. Plenty of room to spread out!

Away from the Crowds, Close to Everything!: Situated on the 'quiet side' of the island, you can enjoy the real Downeast Maine away from the crowds, but still be within minutes of world-famous Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. You can explore all that the park has to offer by yourself, take a guided tour or take Mount Desert Island's bus, the 'Island Explorer', available to the public free of charge! Destinations include just about anywhere you want to go on the island. There are a number of outfitters located on Mount Desert Island that rent bicycles and kayaks, several with walking distance of 'Midships'. A stroll into Southwest Harbor or a short drive to Bar Harbor and you can enjoy a wide variety of activities from the most relaxed to the most rigorous, dining for all tastes and budgets, and shopping in many unique shops and galleries. Regardless of your interests, 'Midships' and the surrounding attractions are sure to make for a fulfilling vacation!

Come in the Fall-Beautiful Foliage, lower rates! : The months of September and October are a fabulous time to come to 'Midships'. The rates are lower, the crowds have left, the weather is comfortable and the foliage is spectacular!!!

Have school-age kids but still want to avoid the crowds, why not come to 'Midships' in June!

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 152225 in Southwest Harbor, Maine

New Hot Tub! Luxury Oceanfront Setting on Harbor, Private Dock
average rating of 4.9 based on 14 reviews
business
New Hot Tub! Luxury Oceanfront Setting on Harbor, Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152225
(207) 299-8055
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great Fall Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great property. Very well maintained and clean. Liked being on the quieter side of the island but still close enough to get to the park and Bar Harbor. The hot tub was a nice feature. Eat 2 Pita is a must for eating in town! would definitely rent this place again and recommend it to friends.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Hot Tub! Luxury Oceanfront Setting on Harbor, Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152225
(207) 299-8055
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
4

Wonderful vacation condo!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family spent a terrific week at this condo in Southwest Harbor. The listing was very accurate and we loved the location so close to town and the beautiful view of the harbor. The condo was nicely furnished, comfortable and well supplied. This area of Maine has so much to offer - hiking, biking, golfing along with great restaurants and shops. The condo was a peaceful and relaxing place to come back to after a busy day. I would highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Hot Tub! Luxury Oceanfront Setting on Harbor, Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152225
(207) 299-8055
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Can't Beat the View

Can't Beat the View
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Taken from Guest Feedback Sheet - We had a great time - can't beat the view! The condo had everything we needed.
business
New Hot Tub! Luxury Oceanfront Setting on Harbor, Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152225
(207) 299-8055
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Tampa Bay, Florida
5

Wonderful in Southwest Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Beautifully maintained and situated property with a gorgeous view of the working harbor. All necessities provided. You have to have breakfast or lunch at Grumpys right around the corner
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We love to hear when our guests enjoy Midships as much as we do! And we agree, Grumpy's is a must...great food created by a fantastic chef and his wife!
business
New Hot Tub! Luxury Oceanfront Setting on Harbor, Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152225
(207) 299-8055
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

One of the Best Views on the Island

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Taken from Guest Feedback Sheet: I think the view was one of the best on the island. So beautiful. Would stay here again. Thank you for sharing your cottage.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Hot Tub! Luxury Oceanfront Setting on Harbor, Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152225
(207) 299-8055
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We loved Southwest Harbor on MDI. It was beyond relaxing and very non commercial. Southwest Harbor is one of the most quaint and charming fishing villages we have every encountered. The condo was lovely with plenty of room, wonderful kitchen, deck, dock and yard. The kitchen was fully equipped. The huge BBQ grill on the deck was our favorite spot to cook. We ate most of our meals in or out on the deck, as the view could not compare at any resturaunt. Lobster were almost free as compared to our pricing at home, and we were right by the dock with easy and fast access to the fishermen. There were lovely organic and local pastery stores in town, locally home made pies huge and thick stuffed with blueberries, fresh ripe Maine wild blueberries in the back yard, and good fishing from the dock. We found the condo quite comfortable and inviting, three levels. Our teenager favored the upstairs which I could not navigate due to the stairs, my husband and I favored the lower level with a full master bedroom and 2 bathrooms. We met on the main level with the kitchen, living area and deck. I would not recommend this for a handi capped person, due to the levels and stairs, and also walkways from driveway into condo and out the backyard to dock. It seemed in general, MDI in general was not handicap friendly (I have a bad right knee, and encountered many many stairs everywhere we went). MDI in all was a fantastic place to visit, and South Harbor was an unexpected delight. We know and had been to Bar Harbor in the past, which has grown yet still remains rather non commercial (not a McDonalds on the entire Island). After 2 1/2 weeks or so, it was time to leave MDI and move onto the Boston area to finish out our almost month of vacation. We were sad to leave, but very happy to have had the opportunity to kick back and feel like a local on MDI, with a gorgeous homey condo to fully relax in and pretend was ours.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
New Hot Tub! Luxury Oceanfront Setting on Harbor, Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152225
(207) 299-8055
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Beautiful Place!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Taken from How Was Your Vacation feedback sheet:
Beautiful place! Excellent view and so much to do in the area. Sips is a great breakfast place and very reasonable prices. Folks in the area are super friendly!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Hot Tub! Luxury Oceanfront Setting on Harbor, Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152225
(207) 299-8055
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Wonderful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was a wonderful place to stay. The view when we walked in was breathtaking. The property was clean and exactly what the pitures showed. We thoroughly enjoyed the Midship condo. A quiet location with easy access to many activities. This was great for our family. Easy stroll to Southwest Habour. Some excellent restraunts, (we enjoyed Sips) but we also made some meals and picnics at the condo.
Close to Deep sea fishing and also close to the Cranberry Island ferry. Easy access to Acadia Natl Park and not far from Bar Habour. Sea Kayaking and Whale watching (no whales) but beautiful day on the water from Bar Harbour.
We also had a campfire under the stars one night at the condo. I would recommend this property to friends and relatives.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
New Hot Tub! Luxury Oceanfront Setting on Harbor, Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152225
(207) 299-8055
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Just spent a few days in heaven…

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Just spent a few days in heaven…We technically stayed next door at "Port", but we were blessed to have our son and family right next door at "Midships"....so we truly got to enjoy both. If you are looking to experience a true Coastal vacation, this is the place. As a retired couple, we travel the eastern US extensively from Maine... to New York and Pennsylvania... to Florida, staying in vacation homes. The accommodations at "Port" and "Midships", including the quality of appliances and comfort of the beds and furniture, exceeded our expectations. The view of the Harbor...nothing short of INCREDIBLE! If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation or a large family vacation, you will love this place!! So much to do in this area or sit out on your private deck and do nothing…You will not want to leave, we didn't! Truly...a slice of heaven...
P.S. Don't be afraid to book an early week...the weather was incredible for hiking and sightseeing, and we pretty much had Acadia National Park to ourselves!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Hot Tub! Luxury Oceanfront Setting on Harbor, Private Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152225
(207) 299-8055
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

The View is Unbelievable!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We really appreciated the first rate appliances and the abundance of dishes, glasses, silverware and storage containers. Dishwasher is wonderfully quiet! The bathroom in the master bedroom is gorgeous. We really appreciated the binder with all its valuable information. The view is unbelievable! We enjoyed sitting on the deck so much. Overall - a beautiful home in a beautiful setting!