Kailua Kona house rental - Did Someone Say Fun in the Sun; where Sea Turtles Sun themselves on the Shore
Did Someone Say Fun in the Sun; where Sea Turtles Sun themselves on the Shore
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Wow! This one is VERY reasonably priced and in a GREAT location!

Exotic and refined. Breezy and sophisticated. This place is designed for people who want to hear the birds sing and feel the soft trade winds breathe on their sun-kissed skin. For those who want to smell the sweetness of the plumeria's and delight in the exotic colors of the Orchids.

From serene sunsets to exciting live volcanic eruptions, the Big Island has it all and the Great Kona Escape is ideally situated for all of your fun Kona adventures. Just 900 feet up from a quiet sandy cove beach where sea turtles are often seen sunning themselves on the shore and 15 minutes to the most pristine golf course you can imagine, where the wild Peacocks and Nene birds are free to roam.

You couldn’t ask for a better location or a more tranquil environment to go along with this uber comfortable, tropical spacious, yet cozy, ohana. This truly is a piece of paradise.

The Great Kona Escape is part of a beautiful luxury home situated in one of Kona's most desirable neighborhoods. Your ohana has it's own entrance and the only thing you share is the porte cochiére, with my new husband, Ken, and me, a quiet, Medical Massage Therapist, available (by appointment) to help restore your peace of mind.

Pick from the herb and vegetable garden, the fruit orchard, and enjoy the GREAT weather; beautiful flowers; singing birds and all the tranquility your heart desires.

This is a home you will want to return to year after year. Come and enjoy the lush, rich, peacefullness of The Great Kona Escape. You will be glad you did.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Aloha Pumehana, (warm welcome)

My name is Sandra, originally from California, I came to visit Kona in 1970 and liked it so much I made this my home and didn't look back. Living on different parts of this Island, Maui and Kauai, I can truly say that The Great Kona Escape is in the BEST location on the Islands for kicking back and enjoying the perfect climate or visiting the many activities Kona has to offer. Now that my boys (3 of them) are off and on their own, I have more time to devote to making sure that your stay in Kona is all you dreamed it would be. I'm a medically trained Massage Therapist and can help you relax into Island mode - give you directions to just about anywhere - good advice for dining and activities, and assure your comfort and privacy at all times. You'll love it here.

Sandra purchased this house in 1989

The Great Kona Escape is at 900 foot elevation where the trade winds offer a gentle breeze to keep the warm days at a perfect temperature. The song birds are plentiful, the rainbows are seen often and the location is central to many beaches, golf courses, water activities, hiking, dining and shopping. We are on one acre of beautiful flowers, herbs, a vegetable garden and fruit trees, all this and great ocean views as well.

At The Great Kona Escape you can help yourself to the fruit on the trees, the organic vegetables and herbs in the garden, roam the property delighting in the many beautiful orchids and other tropical treats; while waiting your turn for an amazing Massage therapy session. There is WiFi and cable TV for your entertainment. The beaches and shops are just 4 miles down the road and your comfort is my highest priority.

32 Reviews of Property 152193 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Fabulous Find. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and all in a Great Location.
average rating of 4.8125 based on 32 reviews
business
Fabulous Find. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and all in a Great Location.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152193vb
+1 (808) 325-6795 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

quiet and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This great unit exceeded our expectations. Very clean and well maintained and we had plenty of linens and cooking equipment. It was quiet and very comfortable. We felt it was easy to get to where ever we wanted to go... and we put 1200 miles on our rental car in 9 days.
business
Fabulous Find. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and all in a Great Location.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152193vb
+1 (808) 325-6795 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Wonderful, restful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This place was great! Located on a beautifully landscaped street and lot, above the busyness of Kona, it was a cool and peaceful retreat from a day of sightseeing. Sandra was very helpful, brought fresh fruit, and also gives terrific massages. Though up the hill from Kona, the location was central for travel north and south on the Kona side. This little house is best for couples, and I would definitely recommend this to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Find. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and all in a Great Location.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152193vb
+1 (808) 325-6795 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Mountlake Terrace
4

Nice accomodations

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at the great Kona escape. It was our one year anniversary/belated honeymoon and the location was perfect for where we wanted to explore. Also, we enjoyed the sweet kitty cat that hung around the property. We have cats so we totally enjoyed his greetings when we came home from our explorations of the island each day. The location is very close to the bay & airport and only 30 minutes from the Kona coffee farms. And the drive to the volcano national park wasn't too bad either. The only thing was we were surprised by the vacationers staying in the lower part of the house/property but we got along fine. We was under the impression that we were alone on the property upon arrival (and apparently so were they). After the first day though we really didn't see much of them and didn't even meet the second family that stayed down there while we were there so it was rather private. Thanks for everything.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fabulous Find. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and all in a Great Location.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152193vb
+1 (808) 325-6795 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Great Kona Escape:

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I went to Hawaii-Jun 22-July 4- The place we stayed at was like, it is for us at home, Sandra is a great person-We want to go back-Hawaii is beautiful-Sandra's place is wonderful-What good memories-So peaceful-The views where wonderful-cooler at her place also...Everything is so beautiful----We do hope to go back.....
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Find. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and all in a Great Location.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152193vb
+1 (808) 325-6795 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Indiana
5

Feels like home!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is the ideal location if you want to feel at home on the island rather than crowded into a hotel. Everything is just as portrayed in photos, etc. very clean and comfortable. Sandra has included everything you may need while there including beach chairs, towels, coolers, etc. It is centrally located yet private, and the neighbourhood is lovely for a morning run or walk. Sandra was warm, friendly and available for information or assistance. We loved our time on the Big Island and cannot wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous Find. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and all in a Great Location.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152193vb
+1 (808) 325-6795 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Calgary, Ab/ canada
5

The Great Kona Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This is a wonderful place to relax and Sandra is more than accommodating with great suggestions as to beachs and where to dine.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous Find. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and all in a Great Location.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152193vb
+1 (808) 325-6795 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Stayed at this property last week. Everything and more than we anticipated. A lovely place to reside in Kona. Facilities are well appointed featuring original art, a large futon couch, and a reclining chair in the living room that catches the morning sun. Perfect for reading. Kitchen area with all you need for breakfast or a quiet dinner at home. Bedroom with an excellent king bed that is incredibly comfortable. Bathroom with a double sink.

Very well located between Kailua, the airport and the northern beaches. Sandra (owner) is kind, gracious and accommodating. Seems to have the uncanny ability to be around when you have a question and not when you don't. Don't hesitate on this one. It's a winner.

The listing accurately depicts the facility and setting. Clean and inviting. Highly recommended. Our return visit is already in the calendar.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Fabulous Find. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and all in a Great Location.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152193vb
+1 (808) 325-6795 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
-
5

Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed here over the holiday and had a great time on the island. This is a perfect little home base, and a very convenient location for navigating all the sites on the island. Clean, well decorated and exactly as described. We'll definitely be back!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Fabulous Find. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and all in a Great Location.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152193vb
+1 (808) 325-6795 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
4

Great location close to it all but far enough

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The house is a great base for enjoying all that the island has to offer. The location is up on the hill keeping things a little cooler and in a nice quiet area. Access to Kona and the Kailua coasts town is easy.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Fabulous Find. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and all in a Great Location.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p152193vb
+1 (808) 325-6795 (Hawaii, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Los Angeles
5

Perfect vacation!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My boyfriend and I came to Kona for the first time and we are so glad we stayed at the Great Kona Escape! Sandra was available to give great suggestions on the best ways to enjoy the island, but we had total privacy at the same time. I really enjoyed the location, the weather was beautiful and it felt ten degrees cooler than down at the beach. The sounds of nature and the green landscape were really soothing and gave us a nice break from busy streets and beach activity. The massages were a real plus (at non-hotel prices at that!).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3