Oxnard house rental - Full view of house on two sides. Beach is 60 steps to the right of the photo.
Full view of house on two sides. Beach is 60 steps to the right of the photo.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Oxnard House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 3 bath, sleeps 6-12

Roomy, three-story Home... Ideal, unique location: thirty second walk to beach, across from the harbor, plenty of parking since it is a corner house and there is only one side with an adjacent home. Perfect for family reunions, 2 families who want to share a vacation or an ideal retreat location for your church, college organization, or business, or just a get-away weekend,.

The top floor is the master suite with panoramic views of the ocean, harbor, and mountains. There is a gas fireplace; king-sized bed; queen sized pull out sofa, double shower; oversized tub for two; deck; and walk-in closet. The second floor has the kitchen, living/dining room (with another fireplace), a bedroom with queen bed, and bathroom with large stall shower. There is a large deck next to the kitchen where you can barbecue, relax and eat your dinner (sheltered from the afternoon breeze) while watching the sail boats float by in the harbor.

There are beautiful views of the ocean from the dining area. There are also views of the harbor from the living area and the kitchen. While the house is not directly on the sand, this unique location has easy access to the beach just a few steps away. There are beach chairs, boogie boards, and sand toys for the kids.

The first floor has two bedrooms. One has bunkbeds and built in shelves and desk. There are toys such as puzzles, games, Legos and Lincoln Logs. The second bedroom has a daybed and trundle, full sized futon, a small refrigerator, sink, tv,and microwave. It has an additional direct entry.

There is an outdoor shower - great for rinsing off. There is a one car garage and room for another car in the driveway. There is ample parking on the street. Boat rentals and restaurants are easy walking distance.

Hollywood beach is one of the most beautiful, undisturbed, sandy beaches in all of California where you can walk the shoreline for miles and miles. This beautiful beach has it all whether you like to sunbathe, swim in the ocean, boogie board, surf, skin board, or walk and collect shells. While it is a public beach with lifeguards in summer, the area closest to the house is never crowded and has the feel of a private beach. Nearby is a quiet bay for those who prefer to swim with no waves. The house is across from Channel Islands Harbor where you will find shops, restaurants and all kinds of fun activities. There are bicycle and boat rentals, jet skis, kayaks, sport fishing and more. If you are looking for an experience of a lifetime take a day trip to one of the Channel Islands where you will find one of the top ten snorkeling and diving spots in the world.

The house rents in summer by the week with check in on a Monday or Friday only. Partial weeks in summer are only Monday to Friday or, Friday to Monday. In summer, partial weeks cannot be booked more than 6 weeks ahead.

Ask about all my holiday specials- Christmas, Passover/Easter, Father's day, Thanksgiving: you get 10 days for the price of a week.

Ask about discounts for non-profits and colleges having retreats in off season.

Be sure to see the link below for more photos.

Keywords: Beach Home

More Details
Hide Details

Hi. I am Suzanne and I want you to have a great vacation in my home. I picked this house because of its great location and wonderful views. I put a lot of myself in the house and hope everyone enjoys staying there, as that is my goal. I am constantly improving the property so my guests will want to come back over and over again. I am always there to meet my guests and help acquaint you with the house and answer all your questions. I live fairly nearby so am easily reachable. When I am not tending to the house, I work as a nurse and a busy mom.

Suzanne purchased this house in 2005

This location is unbeatable. It is steps to the sand, but has perfect views of the harbor for special events like the boat parade and July 4th. There are lots of great events very nearby, such as the Tall Ships, Strawberry Fesival, and Whale Festival. In summer there are free outdoor concerts and plays for kids. On clear days the view of the Channel Islands can't be beat. The beach is one of the deepest I have ever seen. There is a lifeguard station near-by, but it never feels crowded, even on the busiest of beach days.

The house is just steps to the sand or the harbor. The view is 270 degrees as it is a corner house across from the harbor. This means there is ample parking. There are restaurants near-by and boat rentals. You can take a relaxing walk around the harbor. The weekly farmers' market is great. There is a new Maritime Museum and sailing school right across the street.

18 Reviews of Property 90800 in Oxnard, California

Beautiful 4 BR Hollywood Beach Retreat, Oxnard, California
average rating of 4.785714 based on 18 reviews
business
Beautiful 4 BR Hollywood Beach Retreat, Oxnard, California
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90800vb
(805) 405-4563 (California, USA)
Oxnard Central Coast California
Chino, CA
5

Fantastic beach house!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This beach house is spectacular. Everything was exactly as advertised. Beautiful, well maintained home with the
beach on one side and the harbor and marina on the other side. Very quite neighborhood as well. We walked to bike rentals,
jet ski rentals, kayak rentals, restaurants and shops. There was even a farmers market across the street on Sunday.
The house is large, bright and open. Several balconies made watching sunsets a nightly event. The beach has the feel
of a private beach. No crowds at all. Suzanne is the owner and she will meet you on your first day to give you a brief
tour of the house. She is a very nice lady and for me, dealing with the owner and not some random management company
is a good thing. She was very friendly and helpful and quickly left us to enjoy her home.
We have rented a mountain home for the last 25 years and our family voted unanimously to return to this
beach house next year. 10 out of 10!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Beautiful 4 BR Hollywood Beach Retreat, Oxnard, California
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90800vb
(805) 405-4563 (California, USA)
Oxnard Central Coast California
3

Beautiful house

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The house was great and close to the sand. Make sure that you clean every CRUMB or the owner will take your security deposit.
Owner's Response: It is somewhat true, and I don't think unusual, that I as an owner expect guests to mostly leave the house in the condition they found it. I don't expect guests to clean floors, kitchen or bathrooms, etc., but I do expect the house to be left mostly in the way they would want guests to treat their home. I am very open about the rules for guests who wish to stay at my property. I try very hard to keep the property in excellent condition and I do a great deal of the cleaning and most of the upkeep myself. I am a very hands on owner and don't use a management company. I always let people know my expectations and have them sign a document before renting and again at check in. I try to make sure that people understand and are comfortable with rules before they decide to rent the property. The vast majority of people have no problems leaving the house in good condition and it is rare for me to take security. I don't expect the house to be left spotless as I do understand it is a vacation. But I do want guests to treat my property with respect. I do ask that people not let children eat messy foods on the sofa. I have had guests let children eat strawberries on the sofa, which left red stains and also some who allowed marshmallows to eaten, which ended up ground into the sofa. I don't think any guest wants to come to a house and find a sofa in that condition. Because of a very few guests who did that I have had expenses related to professionally cleaning the sofa. I usually try to vacuum the sofa, scrub off stains, and even wash pillow cushion covers myself, but if stains remain the sofa needs to be professionally cleaned. So I now ask either don't let children eat messy foods on the sofa, put a sheet over it, or clean it up- or there will be extra cleaning costs subtracted from the security. That expectation is on several documents, including my check in document and was signed at check in. Despite that I found an ice cream wrapper shoved between the cushions and stains from the ice cream as well as a large amount of other food bits under the cushions. If it had been just a couple of crumbs it would not have been issue. They also brought a dog without letting me know they wanted to bring one. There is an extra form for someone who wants to bring a pet and an extra deposit. I think nearly all owners would not want a guest to bring a pet without letting the owner know and getting permission, and many would withhold the security just because of that.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Beautiful 4 BR Hollywood Beach Retreat, Oxnard, California
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90800vb
(805) 405-4563 (California, USA)
Oxnard Central Coast California
Nampa, Idaho
5

The Perfect Fit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This rental is one of the best kept secrets in this area. The property is very well maintained and clean. We found the accommodations as described on the web page and accommodated our family of 12 adults with adequate bathroom facilities. Having a laundry as part of the rental was very convenient and with a little bit of looking we found just about everything we needed to make our stay comfortable from bedding to kitchen needs.


The owner was there to greet us on arrival and was very helpful and easy to work with through our planning and actual experience. Being inside the Channel Island Marina was convenient and shopping was close by along with some very good restaurants.

A good time was had by all. We will be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beautiful 4 BR Hollywood Beach Retreat, Oxnard, California
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90800vb
(805) 405-4563 (California, USA)
Oxnard Central Coast California
West Hills, CA
5

A wonderful week in a wonderful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was our third year staying at Hollywood Beach but our first time at Suzanne's home and I have to say I was impressed. This is really a beautiful house with a wonderful floor plan. The photos are very accurate. All the homes we have stayed at in the past say they're well stocked but very few are. I now have a bag with extra dishes, cups and forks that always goes with us but wasn't needed this trip. The kitchen actually is well stocked with dishes, flatware and cookware. I needed nothing! The house has plenty of room, it's comfortable and clean with extra towels, sheets and blankets. It was nice meeting Suzanne at the beginning of our week and seeing her again upon our departure. We had a week of perfect weather and a wonderful view of the ocean. Everyone had a great time. I would definately recomend this property to friends and relatives and if we go back for a forth year you can find us here. Thank you Suzanne, it was a wonderful week.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! I try my best to make sure this will feel like your home away from home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 4 BR Hollywood Beach Retreat, Oxnard, California
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90800vb
(805) 405-4563 (California, USA)
Oxnard Central Coast California
Santa Paula, Ca
5

Great home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This home is an excellent way to enjoy beach living without the crowds. We have stayed at this home the past two years for 6 or 7 weeks at a time. We loved it so much when we first stayed there for a scheduled month that we lengthened our stay both years.
We live about 16 miles from the ocean and we decided to see about staying at the beach instead of going on a cruise. I spent 2 months looking at other places, and using the internet to do a lot of research for a beach house. Suzanne’s home had everything we were looking for and lots of room in the kitchen and dining area to entertain. The use of the garage was a deal maker.
Suzanne met with us the first time we stayed there and showed us how to use everything. The home was so clean and everything you might need was available in the kitchen. Suzanne is such a friendly person and very easy to deal with.
Most of our family and friends live out of the area and this home was a perfect place to have them all visit. We enjoyed a family reunion and did not have to worry about where people were going to sleep and or whether a bathroom was available. Our out of town guests are asking when we are going to stay at this beautiful home again
We even saw dolphins from the living room window. The home has very easy access to the beach with spectacular sunset views from top deck.
Just a block away is a Sunday farmer’s market, an excellent restaurant for happy hour starting at 2pm during the week with a sushi and oyster bar, and boat/fishing trips. We could see the Christmas Boat Parade from the patio off the kitchen and kitchen window. Also saw the Tall Ships leave from their dock on the harbor side and then again when they opened their sails on the ocean side.
This location has so much to offer, from all the great eating places and close shopping.
Suzanne replied very promptly to my inquires and trivial questions so that when we got there everything was taken care of and we enjoyed a very relaxing time.
We plan to return later this year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful 4 BR Hollywood Beach Retreat, Oxnard, California
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90800vb
(805) 405-4563 (California, USA)
Oxnard Central Coast California
5

Rental is everything it states and more!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We always rent homes rather than hotels when on vacation and use the HomeAway site for bookings.

We were met at the property by Suzanne (the owner) who took us on a tour. This was a very nice surprise as this has been the first time we were met by the owner when renting a home.

The home is very spacious and extremely well kept. It is in a prime location with ocean views and is surrounded by some very posh properties! Everything in the home was in very good working order.
This home is situated in a quiet neighborhood with stores and services only a short drive away.

There were 11 people in our group (including 4 children) and this home was large enough to easily accomodate everyone comfortably with room to spare. There were puzzles and games for our use. The laundry facilities were one of the amenities that we took advantage of and really appreciated.

Unfortunately, the weather did not co-operate so were were only on the beach for a very limited time. The beach area was very clean and would have been very enjoyable in an approriate climate.

I would definitely recommend this property to my family and friends. We have all intentions of renting this home again in the future.

Brenda D.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
business
Beautiful 4 BR Hollywood Beach Retreat, Oxnard, California
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90800vb
(805) 405-4563 (California, USA)
Oxnard Central Coast California
Rib Lake, Wisconsin
5

Wonderful space for family of 8

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a great time staying at this rental with 8 total family members to attend my brother's wedding. lots of space for everyone, they loved the beach nearby, and walking distance to some places to eat. Kitchen was fully stocked with the necessary equipment and dishes for cooking meals. Overall the rental was immaculate and very comfortable. We all had a great stay. Wish we had more time to take some boat cruises! I would highly recommend this rental.
susanne
business
Beautiful 4 BR Hollywood Beach Retreat, Oxnard, California
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90800vb
(805) 405-4563 (California, USA)
Oxnard Central Coast California
Tulare, CA, USA
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We had such a great time staying at this beach house. Everything we needed was in the house. There were beach chairs and sand toys that we could take to the beach. The beach was a very short walk away and so quiet and relaxing. The owner met up with us and showed us the house. The house is big and spacious and very comfortable. We hated to leave. Some of our group went to the Farmers Market on Sunday and enjoyed looking around and spending time there. Others from our group took a drive into LA to go to the Museum of Tolerance and Venice Beach, which is a little over an hour away. The area this beach house is located at, is a very quiet and nice area. We felt comfortable and safe staying at this house. I would recommend this Beach house for anyone wanting to avoid the big crowds of the more popular beaches. This is a great place to relax and spend quality time with family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! I do want all my guests to enjoy their stay and try very hard to make sure my guests are happy.
business
Beautiful 4 BR Hollywood Beach Retreat, Oxnard, California
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90800vb
(805) 405-4563 (California, USA)
Oxnard Central Coast California
San Jose, Ca
5

The Best House we have rented for our family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our family is spread out between San Francisco and Orange County. Every summer we try to rent a beach property in the middle to spend time together. This was the best place by far ! - Family members between six weeks and " retired" spent a fabulous week at this wonderful home. Everyone loved the fact that we could easily assess the beach( which was great for sand castles and little hands to play in ) with a very short walk - and the harbor provided a special place to walk and watch the boats for all of the age groups. Everything is close by- restaurants and grocery stores.
This is the first place that the family has voted to return to..... we look forward to another visit. I would give this house and the owner 5 stars out of 5.

Beachloving family
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the vote of confidence. My guests experience is always my foremost priority.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful 4 BR Hollywood Beach Retreat, Oxnard, California
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90800vb
(805) 405-4563 (California, USA)
Oxnard Central Coast California
Bakersfield, CA
5

4 day get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My family and I had the best time at your house. The views were wonderful and the air was clean and cool. It was great to get away from the desert heat. Like the other reviews I read it was hard to leave. We felt so at home. The beach is right there and a wonderful place to fly kites as my grandkids found out. Oxnard is a really neat place to visit with lots to do.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
Helpful votes: 1/1