Pepeekeo house rental - Back Yard Pool with adjoining open shelter
Back Yard Pool with adjoining open shelter
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Pepeekeo House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom, 3 acre private residence; Sleeps 6

Enjoy spectacular 180-degree ocean views from every room of this beautifully remodeled plantation-style home. Extensive use of beautiful Shoji screens and a traditional Furo tub in the master bath highlight this retreat-like home set on three lush acres. A traditional zendo (Buddhist meditation area) adds to the serenity of the atmosphere.

The house is surrounded by park-like landscaping with almost an acre of manicured lawns dotted with tropical fruit trees, coconut and banana palms in almost continuous production, and gorgeous orchids and plumeria. Help yourself to papayas, guavas, bananas, coconuts, pineapples and avocados and other delicious tropical fruits (there's almost always something ripe and ready to pick). The hillside location and surrounding acreage grant a high degree of privacy and the electric-gated entry assures security. The house is well-stocked with all necessary kitchen supplies, videos and a variety of books including several excellent local guidebooks.

Cable television and wireless, high-speed internet access are included for those who don't want to be too disconnected from the 'real world'.

The Hamakua coast offers unparalleled outdoor activities including nearby Akaka Falls, Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens, and beautiful hiking trails. Four-Mile Scenic drive is just a few blocks away, along with beautiful Onomea Bay. We are located minutes from Honoli'i, one of the Big Island's best surfing spots. The area is laced with streams, waterfalls and swimming holes, all against a backdrop of lush tropical vegetation. Located just one mile from the dramatic sea cliffs of Pepeekeo Point, the house is ideally located for exploration of the Big Island. Volcanoes National Park is only 45 minutes away, as is the Waipio Valley to the north. Kailua-Kona is a 90 minute drive. The windward side's best swimming beaches are a short drive.

Hilo offers its unique blend of Old-Hawaii charm and modern conveniences, shopping and restaurants. The Farmers Market on Wednesdays and Saturdays should not be missed! A tremendous variety of handicrafts from all over the islands are available at some of the best prices to be found. Local produce in all its wonderful variety abounds. The Lyman Museum and the Tsunami Museum are also well worth a visit.

PLEASE NOTE: the 'Quoteable Rate' feature shows only base rate for 2 guests.

More Details
Hide Details

35 Reviews of Property 151923 in Pepeekeo, Hawaii

Hamakua Coast **Oceanview** Home with Pool
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 35 reviews
business
Hamakua Coast **Oceanview** Home with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151923
+1 808 365 3969
Pepeekeo Hilo District
San Francisco, CA
5

Guestbook Comment

We had a lovely visit, the house was a comfortable base of operations for our explorations of the east side of the island. It was cooler than being i...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2006
  • Stayed: Sep 2006
We had a lovely visit, the house was a comfortable base of operations for our explorations of the east side of the island. It was cooler than being in the city or on the Kona side by far. Akaka falls is a wonderful nearby treat.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Hamakua Coast **Oceanview** Home with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151923
+1 808 365 3969
Pepeekeo Hilo District
5

Lovely 3 bedroom home north of HIlo. Love it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Tastefully decorated 3 bedroom home in a rural area. It looks exactly like the photos on HomeAway. We stayed with out adult children and it was wonderful to each have our own room and bathroom. The ocean views are lovely. Screened in lanai, dining area, bedrooms, all overlook the ocean. The coqui frogs and rain will lull you to sleep. I was concerned about having no air conditioning, but it cooled off nicely at night and each room had a fan. Windows opended for soothing trade winds breezes. Swam in the pool each morning before our east side outings. Location was great for Mauna Kea, Volcanoes, Waipio Valley and all that Hilo has to offer. Kitchen had all amenities we needed. It is a great kitchen in which to work. We appreciated the two coolers that we took on our outings. Laundry facilities also appreciated. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It felt like home. Peaceful retreat. Randall provided wonderful, responsive customer service as property manager. Thank you for sharing this abode with us.
business
Hamakua Coast **Oceanview** Home with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151923
+1 808 365 3969
Pepeekeo Hilo District
Wasilla, Alaska
5

Wonderful Rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a wonderful time on the Big Island. We stayed here with our 5 children ages 5-17. We celebrated two birthdays, Thanksgiving and our anniversary. The pool was awesome! The soaking tub was serene. We loved everything about this home and had a hard time leaving because it felt so much like "home".
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hamakua Coast **Oceanview** Home with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151923
+1 808 365 3969
Pepeekeo Hilo District
5

Most amazing and peaceful vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Everything was just the way it was described and so much more. This vacation home was the absolute best! Randall (property manager) was very informative and knowledgable. If you're looking for a tranquil, secluded retreat I highly suggest staying here. Every morning I was greeted with a beautiful sun rise and every evening the caqui frogs graced the night air with their song. Simply amazing to stay in this vacation rental; not only will I recommend this place to family and friends, I will be a repeat customer. This area is much more "at home" than the kona coast, the laid back atmosphere was just what we needed. If you're looking for a great place to attend a luau, the Marriott has a fabulous one or if you're looking for a tattoo to commemorate you're stay (I would highly recommend south seas tattoo), you'll find it all on the big island!!!
business
Hamakua Coast **Oceanview** Home with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151923
+1 808 365 3969
Pepeekeo Hilo District
Washington, DC
5

Pepeekeo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Great house--Loved the lanai, Japanese tub, shoji doors and windows, well equipped kitchen. Location is very close to Hilo but also an easy hub for Volcano, Waimea, and Mauna Kea. Hamakua Coast is beautiful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hamakua Coast **Oceanview** Home with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151923
+1 808 365 3969
Pepeekeo Hilo District
5

Nice property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Very comfortable house to visit. It had everything that you would need. It had a well stocked kitchen including spices.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Hamakua Coast **Oceanview** Home with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151923
+1 808 365 3969
Pepeekeo Hilo District
Kahului,Hawaii
5

Relaxation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My husband and I stayed at this wonderful property over Valentines Day (and our anniversary) this year. The home was perfect for us! It was well equipped, private,quiet (minus the coqui frogs, which we rather enjoyed) and was everything we were looking for. The rain every night was soothing and it was close enough to Hilo to run into town for supplies. Communication with the owner was quick and easy! We loved this place and hope to go back next year. Thank you for sharing your home with us!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Hamakua Coast **Oceanview** Home with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151923
+1 808 365 3969
Pepeekeo Hilo District
Los Angeles, CA
5

Hamakua Coast - Oceanview - Home with Pool |

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We totally enjoyed our stay here. We had best of both worlds....the sea in front, woods at back and a swimming pool ! House is totally comfortable with all cooking facilities and abundant utensile. We did our homework before arriving and spent valuable time at the farmers markets and got genuine free range eggs, home made jams, aromatic and sweet papayas, fresh organic vegetables etc etc, anything you need to cook your own meals.
I strongly suggest this property for families that like the freedom of doing anything at the time you like. Please research what to do and plan before you arrive, otherwise your days will fly and you wish your stay can be longer!
Their rental manager Randall is excellent and professional.
Overall We strongly recommend this property to anyone interested in a tranquil environment and do your own things at the time you want.

Some suggestions - Tidal pools in the morning, Volcano before dusk and stay until dark ( do not forget a winter jacket ) and observatory at night to star gaze. Also interesting are Kona beach and stalls at night, and UCC coffee that is grown locally in their own plantation up the hills.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Hamakua Coast **Oceanview** Home with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151923
+1 808 365 3969
Pepeekeo Hilo District
4

Comfortable subdivision house in Pepeekeo

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This house is not in Hilo (as the map shows) but about 10 miles north in Pepeekeo. Tidy and prettily done, the house is well appointed and very comfortable. The wide angle lens makes the rooms appear larger than they are. As it rains a lot in this area of the Big Island the house endures a lot of humiditiy and with neither fans nor heat in the house it was quite chilly and did smell a little dank when we first arrived. Luckily the weather changed for the better and after some airing out things improved quickly. The manager was very helpful and accommodating.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hamakua Coast **Oceanview** Home with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151923
+1 808 365 3969
Pepeekeo Hilo District
Elk Grove, CA
5

Elk Grove, CA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We loved our stay in your home!! It was perfect for our family and in a great location. The house felt very private, the yard was huge and had lots of room for the kids to play. We enjoyed the pool as well. The screened in lanai was our favorite spot to be. What beautiful ocean views. Everything about our stay in your home was absolutely perfect. We are thankful for our memorable time in Peepekeo and hope to return soon!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1