Chetek house rental - Gorgeous, private grounds with super-tall pines
Gorgeous, private grounds with super-tall pines
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Chetek House Rental Photos and Description
Beautiful property in Cameron, WI; 4 Bedrooms 2 full Bath; 3,000+ sq. ft.

SUNDAY-SUNDAY during summer months. Perfect for family reunions, this 3,000+ sq. ft, four-bedroom lake-home on 15-acres, includes 800+ feet of shorefront. A haven for fishermen, our property sits on the world-class fishing playground of the Chetek chain of lakes, home of the annual 'Fish-O-Rama'.

Our lake home has all the space and privacy needed for your family to completely unwind. High wood-box ceilings and tongue and groove knotty cedar punctuate the property throughout. The grand, wood-burning fireplace will encourage you to curl up with a good book, gather the family for Trivial Pursuit or have a sing-along around the piano.

Majestic north-woods pines frame a gorgeous, private lake-view with a private dock.

Come fish the legend, hike in the woods, rent a pontoon, jump on the trampoline, or simply swing in the hammock and breathe in the sweet nectar of the majestic pines!

Our property is conveniently located approximately 2 hrs. from Twin Cities, 4.5 hours from Chicagola

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 151800 in Chetek, Wisconsin

15 Acre, Private Lakefront Northwoods Home: 4 BR, Sleeps 10 Adults
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
15 Acre, Private Lakefront Northwoods Home: 4 BR, Sleeps 10 Adults
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151800
612 747-4402
Chetek Northern Wisconsin
Where do you live?
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is the perfect spot for a gals getaway. Spent a long weekend here with my sisters in October, 2013. This is such a comfy and spacious home with beautiful artwork and a wonderful kitchen stocked with all the necessities. It was fun to have a choice of gathering spots for visiting - lots of couches, big chairs, etc. The large coffee table in the upstairs family room was perfect for puzzle building. Rice Lake is close by and had some good thrift shops, Kohl's, and the Norske Nook (known for their yummy pies). We were inside most of the weekend so I'd love to come back when the weather is warmer to enjoy the outside.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
15 Acre, Private Lakefront Northwoods Home: 4 BR, Sleeps 10 Adults
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151800
612 747-4402
Chetek Northern Wisconsin
Chaska, MN
4

Pretty nice cabin out and away from city

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Overall the cabin was pretty nice. The cabin is a little eclectic but seemed to have everything that we needed. It is in need of some upgrades/updates. There are several things that are starting to or have fallen apart. The cabin was clean but could have been great with some TLC. Communication prior to arrival was a little difficult, but everything worked out. The cabin is tucked back away from neighbors, just out of town. The cabin has lots of spaces to hang out and relax. We had 5 kids with (ages 1-5) and they were occupied the whole time. They have a great kid’s nook with tons of toys and games where they played non-stop. Very kid friendly place. The yard space is great. Lots of space to hang out and run around, almost half soccer field in size! They have plenty of yard games and balls, etc. for the family to play with in the shed. Yard has apple trees and blackberry/raspberry bushes all over which was fun to eat. A down side was the trampoline and hammock were worn down and almost unusable, but had a swing and small zip line the kids loved. We rented a pontoon boat north of Chetek and was about 10 minutes get over to the house. We spent a time cruising the lake and a little fishing. All the lakes are "green" algae covered lakes. Although the cabin is on the lake, there isn't swimming from the dock at all due to the algae covering and muck bottom, which was a bummer. We did take advantage of the fantastic canoe to do some paddling around the slough both day and night. You can even canoe to the bar! There is a fire pit next to the house where we spent our nights enjoying the fire. They spray for mosquitoes and we never had to put on bug spray and never had a bite even though it seems like a mosquito haven. It was super nice. There are a couple local restaurants that are good for pizza or bar type foods. There is also a drive-in movie theater that plays movies every night in the summer 10 minutes away and we did some hiking at a state park 10 minutes away as well. Overall it was a pretty good time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback, Byron! That breaks up our string of perfect ratings ;)...I take the feedback seriously. Sometimes there is more wear and tear to the property than we'd like. We have made all the repairs on cabinets that were damaged over the summer and the place looks better than ever. Also, we will have a new hammock installed (we buy top of the line, but they don't last more than two years when exposed to the elements). Thanks again. And we hope to see you again next year!
Marc
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
15 Acre, Private Lakefront Northwoods Home: 4 BR, Sleeps 10 Adults
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151800
612 747-4402
Chetek Northern Wisconsin
Topsham, Maine
5

Better than advertised!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I spent most of early spring looking for a perfect place on a lake in Wisconsin, and finally decided to pick this one. The only drawback I could see was that you could not swim directly off the dock due to the algae in the water ( which ends up being common to all of the lakes in this area) In the end I am glad that I didn't let that one fact stop me from renting what turned out to be the best summer house we have ever rented. Marc, the Owner, had everything prepared for us when we arrived, and the house exceeded expectations. As indicated in the picture ( taken from the dock looking towards the house) there is plenty of open space for visitors to roam around in, but yet it is a short walk down to the dock. We had a mini family reunion and my father in law ( 87) was with us, and the master bedroom on the ground floor was perfect for he and his wife. We had a total of 5 families in the house and there was plenty of bedrooms to go around. The kitchen is a great size, and being adjacent to the family area nook made for lots of easy conversation. The house has several " living room spaces" so that if one wanted to sit and read in solitude there were plenty of options. We rented a pontoon boat in Chetek and it was an easy motor up to the house. We spent a lot of time exploring the lakes ( several are connected), fishing, swimming, and just enjoying ourselves. We also took advantage of the canoe to due some paddling. There is a fire pit next to the house where we spent several evenings relaxing and enjoying the fire. When you don't want to cook but go out for a meal, there are several local restaurants that are good ( especially for breakfast) in either Rice Lake (North) and Chetek (South), both towns just 15 minutes away. I would highly recommend this house and I would say the rental fee to value is excellent.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
15 Acre, Private Lakefront Northwoods Home: 4 BR, Sleeps 10 Adults
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151800
612 747-4402
Chetek Northern Wisconsin
Washington, Illinois
5

2 Families - totaling 9

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our vacation ended up being one of the most enjoyable in years!

The house was exactly as described. We were a little leery due to always finding pictures are always a bit misleading. Not in this case. The house was phenomenal to say the least.

We were also nervous concerning the fact there was not any air conditioning, especially during a year with record breaking heat. That concern was quashed upon our 1st night. There is no need for air conditioning. The cool night and fans actually made it a little cooler than we anticipated.

The cove was beautiful. Eagles flew in and out of the cove our entire stay. Canoeing was fabulous, especially in the evening and night.

The dock was perfect. We have a 26 foot Pontoon and at first I did not think it would fit at the dock but, again, was proven wrong.

The owner, Marc, was extremely personable and always available with a phone call. Thanks Marc!

We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
15 Acre, Private Lakefront Northwoods Home: 4 BR, Sleeps 10 Adults
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151800
612 747-4402
Chetek Northern Wisconsin
Northwest Arkansas
5

The "perfect" retreat location !!

The "perfect" retreat location !!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Perfect.....that is all we can say. This place has it all.
We will be back time & time again. It is beautiful, peaceful, spacious, well equipped and we look forward to our next trip/s :)
The owners love this place....and it shows...we are very fortunate that they share it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
15 Acre, Private Lakefront Northwoods Home: 4 BR, Sleeps 10 Adults
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151800
612 747-4402
Chetek Northern Wisconsin
Appleton, WI
5

Great Northwoods Lake Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
The accomodations were perfect, especially the kitchen. We entertained some other family members who were in the area and the double-oven sure came in handy when preparing the dinner! Some of our children and grandchildren also stayed with us. There is an upper and lower level with there own living rooms and TV viewing areas, so everyone can have their own space. There is also a little childrens nook with toys and books that kept our granddaughters occupied (at least for a little while!).

The property is huge, well maintained, very private and quiet. Rice Lake was only 15 minutes away and has everything you might need including a new SuperWalmart and huge Farm and Fleet. Marc was available to answer any questions. We would surely recommend his lake home to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
15 Acre, Private Lakefront Northwoods Home: 4 BR, Sleeps 10 Adults
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151800
612 747-4402
Chetek Northern Wisconsin
Brimfield Illinois
5

THIS HOME IS AWESOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We just got home yesterday, July 4th, 2010 and had a wondeful time.

Grandma, grandpa our sons and their families had a great vacation and celebration of our 50th wedding anniversary.

We used to go to Chetek when our sons were little and catch lots of fish but this time I think we even out did those years. Had two fish fries and brought some home.

The grandchildren had lots of fun playing the the huge yard, the zip line and the trampoline and playing hide and seek.

Thanks Mark we loved your home.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
15 Acre, Private Lakefront Northwoods Home: 4 BR, Sleeps 10 Adults
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151800
612 747-4402
Chetek Northern Wisconsin
Western Wisconsin
5

Definitely coming back, love this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
This property gave us a private and peaceful honeymoon!! We loved the unique setting of this beautiful home and all the special extras it had to offer. My husband and I spent the evenings by the fire pit, the days in the yard, and used the wireless internet when it rained. We used the grill and the kitchen, which was stocked with anything you might need to cook with and/or entertain. After discovering the great taste of fresh coffee we are now going to purchase a coffee bean grinder as we fell in love with the one provided by the owners! That’s just an example of the little extras that made our stay special.

It was close to Fall when we visited and the scenery was beautiful! The leaves were turning and the seclusion of the property really relaxed us from the chaos of the wedding. The property is at pretty much the end of a cul-de-sac, offering a feeling of being secluded from every day stress and potential tourists. Keeping that in mind, however, the house is probably 10 minutes from Rice Lake, where anything you might need is at hand. We went out to dinner at Drag’s Restaurant in Rice Lake, among others, which offered a little ambiance with great service and phenomenal pizza! We also went shopping at the mall and visited the quaint down town area where there are cute shops, restaurants and taverns the locals hang at.

The yard is quite large and would be great for keeping the kids busy. We took some really neat pictures by the tree house! The house is equipped to hold many more as there are multiple bedrooms, probably really nice for a family with kids or a girls’ weekend. Bedrooms and bathrooms included everything you need on your vacation, plus those little extras you may have forgotten about. I like to exercise when vacationing and was even able to record a fitness show on their TiVo! We took scenic walks as well and walked along the Red Cedar River Trail, which was beautiful and romantic, less than 15 minutes from the house. The lake view was beautiful and the acreage was a perfect backdrop for vacation photos. Home owners were easy to work with and very helpful. The home itself is beautiful with eclectic décor that is quite welcoming and comfortable. We hope to visit again for anniversary weekends. Would highly recommend to anyone hoping for a Northern retreat away from the noise and hassle of everyday life. This property is equipped with all the amenities of staying with friends or family plus geese, crickets and no uninvited guests!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
15 Acre, Private Lakefront Northwoods Home: 4 BR, Sleeps 10 Adults
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151800
612 747-4402
Chetek Northern Wisconsin
Rock Valley, IA
5

Relaxation Supreme!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My husband and I were looking for a vacation place for our family to “grow into” in future years and finally found it! We stayed with our adult children, and at the end of the trip there was a unanimous vote to come back next year! It was so calm, private, and relaxing!
This house was big enough to comfortably accommodate a large group. The décor and comfy furniture made us feel right at home, and the kitchen had everything! There was no “roughing it” when it came time for meal prep! The large island made meal prep a breeze; 4 or 5 people could be prepping food at once without getting in each other's way. We all fit around the large dining room table at mealtimes. There were plenty of areas to “hang out”, play games, watch TV, etc. There were also many beds, but the rooms were not at all cramped, allowing us to still have plenty of personal space.
What the outdoors had to offer was the most amazing part! There was plenty of shade, but also some wide open spaces in full sun. The large grassy areas were perfect for extreme bocce ball and bean bag games. When we got a little hungry from all that play, we didn't need to go inside; we simply snacked on the ripe raspberries growing all around the property--delicious! The wildlife and plants around the lake were absolutely breathtaking. We marveled at the sight of eagles flying overhead daily. There was a nest around the bend, so we even saw young ones. It was entertaining to watch otters playing follow-the-leader along the bank. The lake was quite green, but the beauty of the lily pads made up for that! It took a few days to figure out where to catch fish, but we finally reeled in some nice catches--enough for a sizeable fish fry, with leftovers. The patio was furnished with plenty of outdoor chairs and a picnic table. A grill and firepit nicely completed the space and made outdoor cooking and fish cleaning a cinch. The zip line just down the hill from the patio and the tree house in the woods were geared more for kids, but of course the adults had to try them! The hammock was a favorite resting place for many in our family.
Civilization was not far away, and we had no problem finding grocery stores and other essentials, as well as some quaint shops, in nearby towns. The golfers in the group tried a few of the area links and were not disappointed. At various times of the day, we went for long walks and always felt safe.
Without a doubt, we can’t wait to come back next year!
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
15 Acre, Private Lakefront Northwoods Home: 4 BR, Sleeps 10 Adults
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151800
612 747-4402
Chetek Northern Wisconsin
Minneapolis, MN, USA
5

What a great week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
The property is spacious, beautiful, secluded and most important to me, clean! I will admit that I was just a tad nervous prior to arriving because I had the responsibility of selecting a spot for 12-member family reunion, with ages ranging from 1-88 years. However, I ended up on the receiving end of kudos all week long from my “happy campers” for selecting such a great place. Inside, it’s really charming. Plenty of comfortable space to lounge, and because of the way the house is laid out, you never get the claustrophobic sense of being on top of one another. There are three living-room areas on two levels. The beds were all comfy. The kitchen was spacious. The views were stunning. The furniture was nice. All the appliances worked. The house was tastefully decorated. The lake is really pretty and peaceful as we were out on it every day, either tubing with the kids on the pontoon or exploring/searching for turtles in the canoe. While it’s not ideal for swimming right off the dock due to shallow water, when you paddle a hundred yards or so, you come around the bend and it opens up to a huge lake. That makes it ideal, because it gives you a real sense of peaceful seclusion when you’re back on the “the grounds”. We called it “the grounds” because the property is so vast, there is literally a windmill in the back yard. We saw bald eagles fly above the tall pines and watched deer and wild turkeys walk across the yard in the morning. Awesome. The little ones loved the tree-fort, zipline and trampoline. Mosquitoes and ticks were surprisingly absent, considering the property is surrounded by water and forest. I enjoyed reading my books on the hammock. But without fail, our crew played softball, wiffle-ball and kickball games every afternoon before dinner (is it just me or is there nothing better than the sound of laughter between your dad and child while one of them is rounding second base?). Then we’d grill up food on either the gas or charcoal grills, then spark up a fire and sit around the firepit and make S’mores for the kids. Owls “hoo-ing” in the forest behind us only added to the ambiance. There is a good grocery store in Rice Lake, but twice we took the pontoon across the lake-about a 20 minute ride-to eat dinner at Pokegama, which I’d recommend. We really enjoyed our stay and can’t say enough good things about this place-we will certainly come back here. Good vibes, great time!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9