Honaunau house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
Minimum Stay nights
 

Honaunau House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 5)

Very private and clean house located on our gated 14+ acre mango and coffee farm.

We are only a few minutes from Pu'uhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park, the snorkeling paradise of "Two Steps", and the fantastic kayaking of Kealakekua Bay.

Spectacular sunsets and the Captain Cook monument can be seen from the large lanai. Enjoy our 100% Kona coffee and a variety of tropical fruits direct from the farm.

Our three bedrooms and fully equipped kitchen are perfect for a family vacation or secluded romantic get-away.

Keywords: House

12 Reviews of Property 151304 in Honaunau, Hawaii

Beautiful Ocean View of Kealakekua Bay
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Beautiful Ocean View of Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151304vbi
(808) 989-4791 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
United States
5

Tropical Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family of 4 and brother in law stayed here for a week. We absolutely loved this place! The house is located in a rural area on a wonderful road that makes you feel like your not a tourist and your living in a tropical retreat.

After first arriving, I was mesmerized by the symphony of bird song from the lanai. This gradually changed to frog calls in the evening. You can see a large expanse of hillside and a view of Kealakekua Bay from the lanai. Pu'uhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park is about 10 minutes away. Next to this park is the "two-step" snorkeling beach. We snorkeled about 5 places on the Big Island and this was the best. The reef is pristine, and as soon as you get into the water you are surrounded by tropical fish of many kinds.

Being a gardener and lover of tropical fruit, I was very happy for the mangoes and pineapple that were harvested for us by the owner. My family loves mangoes and we buy them all the time, but I never knew they could fill the room with such a wonderful fragrance when picked fresh! The taste of freshly harvested mango cannot be described in words.

The house and rooms were very clean. The farm is gated with a remote control opener that you get for your stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Ocean View of Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151304vbi
(808) 989-4791 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
St. Louis Park, MN
5

Peaceful solitude

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My best friend and I spent nine nights at the Mango farm and thoroughly enjoyed the seclusion and peacefulness of the guest house. We spent a lot of time watching the java sparrows and other birds congregate at the feeder during the day and the geckos hunt for moths at night. Tom provided fresh mangos when we arrived (even though they weren't in-season yet) and we found a few papayas and apple bananas that were ripe during our stay. This was our third trip to the Big Island and we loved not being in a resort setting. The house is just minutes from Honaunau for snorkeling. The kitchen is well-equipped and we were able prepare most of our meals after one trip to Kailua for supplies. Appreciated that fact that all the incidentals (salt, pepper, olive oil, foil, coffee filters, etc.) were already stocked.
I would highly recommend this rental if you truly want to get away from it all and relax.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
Beautiful Ocean View of Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151304vbi
(808) 989-4791 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Leavenworth, WA
5

Perfect Tropical Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Just got home from our stay at the Mango Farm. Oh my. What a spectacular tropical retreat. The cottage is very private and safe. The kitchen is exceptionally well equipped and we did most of our own cooking for our 6 day stay. We spent most of our time hanging out on the large covered lanai soaking up the wonderful view. For birders, the lanai provides a perch for looking down and out-- very easy to ID birds. It is about a 10 minute drive to great snorkeling locations. The mangos were just ripening and were the best I have ever tasted. We also enjoyed Tom's estate grown coffee and could smell it roasting one morning. We agree with all those other 5 star reviews below. Perhaps next year we will be back with family in tow.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Ocean View of Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151304vbi
(808) 989-4791 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Quebec, Canada
5

Wonderful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The house is located on a bucolic site in a fruit farm environment. Very quiet with a beautiful view of the bay and the ocean. Tom was bringing us fresh mangos nearly every day. Birds are everywhere. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Ocean View of Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151304vbi
(808) 989-4791 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Baltimore
5

Return visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We returned with our family to Kona Mango farm for 4 days in June 2012. Everything was just as perfect as we remembered it from last time, such a peaceful and relaxing place. Tom was such a gracious host, providing us with all the mangoes we could possibly eat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Ocean View of Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151304vbi
(808) 989-4791 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Phoenix, Arizona
5

Relaxation Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We came to The Kona Mango Farm to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary for 10 days in early October, and found this was a perfect place to relax. The garden of trees and tropical flowers greeted us with color and sweet fragrance daily - a setting and view that took our breath away and filled us with serenity and peace. We fell in love with this place.
This home truly felt like our home; we could put our feet up, get up early, take a nap, laugh and play here. It had everything we needed and everything was easy to find/use to make our stay complete. If you forget anything or need supplies/groceries, there is a wonderful full size grocery store in Captain Cook, less than 15 minutes away.
Loved the Kona Mango Farm and plan to return again. A couple of small but sincerely appreciated items where the full set of cooking knives that were razor sharp -- I love to cook and having the right knife and a sharp one for the task is a great joy! We did barbeque and Tom made sure we had plenty of briquets to make that wonderful too!. We cooked most of our meals at the house, but we did venture out for a couple of meals. Our best meals out in Captain Cook were the vegetarian pizza at Patz and a fabulous butterfish and pork chop dinner at the Manago.

We loved feeding the tropical birds every day, as their colors and sweet songs added so much to our relaxation. I have never enjoyed my time doing dishes as much as I did at the Mango Farm -- the view toward the Captain Cook monument and the Pacific and the garden was magical. The bedroom was well appointed and had everything we needed without being overdone! The place was clean and comfy, towels fresh and fluffy, and loved the solar-wind clothes dryer stretching along the back of the carport -- which we put to good use drying our swimsuits from our daily snorkeling treks to 'Two-Step' which was amazing! We had the good fortune to see and swim with spinner dolphins, sea turtles, spotted a manta ray and moray eel plus tons of brightly colored fish of all colors and and shapes. It was tropical feast for our eyes! Our best memories are the gorgeous sunsets over the farm, waking to bird songs and sipping Tom's lovely coffee on the lanai. It was a wonderful time. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Ocean View of Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151304vbi
(808) 989-4791 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Duluth, MN
5

Excellent Vacation Home in a Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My wife, daughter and I rented this home for 8 days in mid-September 2011. This home is well kept, in excellent repair, has all necessary amenities and the most beautiful view of the ocean one could imagine. Every morning we awoke early, made fresh ground Tsunami coffee from beans grown at the farm and spent an hour or so taking in the view from the large well furnished lanai. Not only is the view spectacular but the home is surrounded by beautiful flowers, coffee trees, palms and fruit trees. The home is located well away from other building and is very private. It is located within minutes of restaurants, groceries store, and other shopping. We found several small family owned restaurants located in the area that provided an excellent variety of foods at reasonable prices.
The water is located a short drive away and has great swimming, kayaking and snorkeling. We saw and swam with dolphins everyday. The reefs are plentiful and have large tropical fish populations. Walking around the property is also an added treat.

Upon our arrival Tom met us, gave us the quick tour and told us about the attractions around the area. We would rent this home again and actually look forward to doing so.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Ocean View of Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151304vbi
(808) 989-4791 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Florida
5

Loved this place! What a View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My family would like to thank Tom for such a great stay at his guest house on this beautiful mango coffee farm. We were treated to fresh,tasty pineapple and mango more than once as well as fresh ground coffee. The house is very cute and clean. It had everything we needed. My husband and two children, as well as my mother-in-law, throughly enjoyed our stay. The photos cannot due justice to the amazing scene that mother nature has here.We had breakfast and coffee every morning on the lanai and dinner every evening. We just couldn't get enough of the view. We now have a lot of pictures of amazing sunsets! It was great to spend the day at the beach or snorkeling at "Two Steps" or sightseeing and return to the peaceful mountain retreat. It was only a short drive into Kona for shopping and more beaches. We easily took a day trip to the Volcanos National Park. We just fell in love with the whole area and the happy birds that entertained us at the feeder every day. I can't say enough about this property. We highly recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet get-away in a beautiful part of the world.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Ocean View of Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151304vbi
(808) 989-4791 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Baltimore
5

Wonderfully relaxing location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We stayed at Kona Mango Farm for 4 days in May. We couldn't have picked a better location close to Kona for a vacation rental - wonderful views, peaceful, cool breezes and close to all the sights and attractions you would like to visit. We felt so relaxed that one day we did nothing but chill out on the wonderful lanai and watch the local colorful birdlife visit the feeder - and also the chicken with her young brood in tow. The house was very clean and the kitchen was well equipped not only with utensils but with condiments, coffee, sugar etc which saved extra trips to the grocery store. Upon our arrival Tom brought us mangos and figs and told us we were free to pick any fruit from the trees that was ripe and ready to eat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Ocean View of Kealakekua Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151304vbi
(808) 989-4791 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Summerland
5

Pure Bliss

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Tom's place is one of the most fabulous places I have every stayed. We were looking for seclusion, beauty and a spot close to great snorkelling. Two-step, one of the best snorkelling places on the island is only a two minute drive. We were lucky to swim with the dolphins, a magical experience, and experience some of the most interesting snorkelling with sea turtles, beautiful coral and fish. After a day out, it was heavenly to return to the the cottage to cook a great meal in a kitchen with the best view. Relaxing on the deck and watching the tropical birds while reclining on a very comfortable deck chair was wonderful. We were also surprised with fresh mangos, bananas, and limes arriving on our deck one day. I would highly recommend this accomodation both for its excellent location and its beauty. Tom was an excellent host!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2