Westport Island cottage rental - The boat dock just steps from the cottage
The boat dock just steps from the cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Westport Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

This Suisse chalet style cottage located on Westport Island was built on Clough's Point right on the Sheepscot River. With over 400 ft. of deep water frontage and it's own boat dock it also has spectacular views of the village of Wiscasset and historic Fort Edgecomb. The living/dining area has a vaulted ceiling with 40 ft. of glass affording a dramatic view of the river. It is also fully furnished with cottage and antique furniture. Just minutes up the road is the North End Lobster co-op where you can pick up the freshest catch from the local lobstermen. Enjoy the daily sights of working lobster boats, the osprey nesting in the buoy, wildlife, boating, and the sunset light on the Eddy Marina just by walking out on to the deck or down to the dock.

15 Reviews of Property 151248 in Westport Island, Maine

Waterfront Cottage with Panoramic Views, Deep Water Dock
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
business
Waterfront Cottage with Panoramic Views, Deep Water Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151248
508 367-8453
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
massachusetts
5

the best spot in Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2007
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
stock up on fresh corn, tomatoes, blueberries and lobsters on your way in and you won't want to leave the house for the entire vacation! Its like living on the bow a ship with the sheepscot river beneath you.
Brand new appliances, well stocked house with everything you need. Plus, towels and linens are provided.
Absolutely spectacular.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Waterfront Cottage with Panoramic Views, Deep Water Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151248
508 367-8453
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Can't Wait To Return!

Can't Wait To Return!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a fantastic cottage with a superb setting and a great view of the river and the nearby village. It is well equipped with the necessities and has nice extras. It is like entering another world for your vacation where the only thing you need to do is relax. Conveniently located to many of Maine's beautiful areas. We visited Mount Battie, Camden, Boothbay Harbor, The Bath Iron Works, Owls Head and Pemaquid lighthouses. We thoroughly enjoyed the fresh lobsters and great fresh seafood that we cooked in the cabin.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Waterfront Cottage with Panoramic Views, Deep Water Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151248
508 367-8453
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

peaceful, beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We loved our stay in this cottage, with views of water all around. Sunrises and sunsets were spectacular, the bird-life (ospreys, sea-ducks, blue herons, crazy gulls, dive-bombing cormorants) a great treat for us bird-lovers. The house has every amenity one could wish for--a great kitchen, living and dining room with a gorgeous view of the water, a washer and dryer, dishwasher, and even wi-fi. We found it easy to get to Damariscotta, Wiscasset, and other places nearby.
business
Waterfront Cottage with Panoramic Views, Deep Water Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151248
508 367-8453
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Wonderful place we loved it!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My family and I spent I lovely week at this home and we loved everything about the home. Mason and Madison my 7 years old twins love exploring around the property and fishing off the dock with their Uncle Michael. My sister-in-law and I enjoyed reading on the wood deck and just enjoying the absolutely wonderful view. We enjoyed breakfast at home with the fully stocked kitchen. We spent our afternoon seeing the little towns of Wiscasset, Boothbay, Edgecombe and Camden. When we were in Boothbay we stop at the Glidden oyster farm and got fresh oysters, clams, lobsters and cooked dinner at home.The weather was perfect and a big thanks to Richard for being our tour guide and telling us all the good spots. I would highly recommend this property to everyone. Richard and Laurie keep the property clean and well-maintained and they are very accommodating to all you needs. It was just like be at home a great homeaway from home!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront Cottage with Panoramic Views, Deep Water Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151248
508 367-8453
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Massachusetts
5

Wish I Could Give Six Stars

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
There is nothing about this house that doesn't relax you. Whether it's sitting on the deck and watching the lobster boats as they motor by while drinking a cup of coffee or eating a leisurely dinner (of lobster from the local co-op, of course) while watching the moon rise over the water or walking the miles of conservation trails that abut the property, it's tailor-made for relaxation. I can't say enough about what a truly amazing treasure this little house is, and we were so fortunate to have stumbled on it. We will most definitely be return visitors.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Waterfront Cottage with Panoramic Views, Deep Water Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151248
508 367-8453
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Beautiful, Natural, Tranquillity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
The cottage tucked away on the tip of the beautiful Westport Island. The home set atop a tranquil bluff overlooking the Sheepscot River, with so much wildlife around us sharing this beautiful and natural space. The cottage had all the modern comforts of home; we enjoyed every aspect of this most wonderful place. The peace and serenity of the quite outdoors, to movies at night in the loft. We kept our 20 ft Sea Hunt at the dock with plenty of water (8ft) at low tide. We boated from the dock all week long, to such beautiful places such as Wiscasset, Boothbay Harbor, Five Islands, and several other smaller islands that were inhabited with large seal populations. We enjoyed so much the sharing of this place with the many birds, seals, and other wildlife. Our Salty dog loved playing in the water, jumping of the dock, and sleeping by the blueberry bushes. My wife enjoyed very much visiting the North End Co-op purchasing lobster right on the dock at the incredibly low price of $4.25 per pound for soft-shell lobster. I wanted to personally thank Laurie for a wonderful stay and in sharing this wonderful property, so Thank You...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront Cottage with Panoramic Views, Deep Water Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151248
508 367-8453
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Massachusetts
5

A must See

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
We needed a week away. Where to go? Downeast. To be alone..get away from everything. Watch the lobstermen from the porch..Watch the birds..The bald eagle was beautiful. The lobster co-op within walking distance. Why walk? just went down on the dock and bought Looey's right off the boat. It doesn't get any better than this. The moon shines on the river at night..the stars ..so many...so bright. The home ...the real deal. Jaw dropping.... When walking in ..the loft..the fireplace..state of the art appliances. The decor...Downeast....Gorgeous.. Just bring your loved one and a toothbrush and go. You will realize you have made one of the best decisions of your life. We will be back...Thank you so much Laurie and Dick for the time of our life.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront Cottage with Panoramic Views, Deep Water Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151248
508 367-8453
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
USA
4

Nice!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Nice comfortable little house! The view is fantastic. We even got to see the seals a few times--once while kayaking. Very quiet and relaxing. Saw a bald eagle early one morning. Loved the fireplace on those chilly mornings.

One thing the house definitely needs is internet access. We had many brochures about the area---but quite a few of them only gave a short description of something and then had "see our website for more details". The local library is not convenient at 11pm when you are looking for your next day's adventures.

Also, a nice size flat screen tv would have been a great asset for those movie nights.

Cooked all our meals in--lobster 3 nights!!! Lobster Co-Op is great. Drove all over the place discovering the area.

Owners are very nice to deal with. Very accommodating.

Would stay here again and I have recommended it to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: When a guest makes a suggestion we do our best to make sure that future guests will have what they need at the cottage for their vacation. There is now high speed wireless and a new flat screen TV.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Waterfront Cottage with Panoramic Views, Deep Water Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151248
508 367-8453
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Newington,CT
5

It doesn

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
My wife and I were looking to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary at a secluded, quiet retreat, where we could relax, read, enjoy the views and be comfortable ... BOY I thank GOD I found Laurie and her husband's place!
The location was perfect, and as I opened the door,I was floored! The only words I could muster was O.M.G.!!!
The Donovan's thought of everything, from the pots and pans, to the wine glasses, to the binoculars, anything we needed was there. I was amazed not only of the VIEW, but how clean and modern everything was! As my wife kept saying It is so tastefully decorated! Agreed! The shutters blew me away!! and so did the oar! Again, I can not say enough!
If you want to shop, FREEPORT, and BOOTH BAY, are a short drive away, not to mention WISSCASET. A little further if you are adventurous, is CAMDEN & ROCKPORT , not to be missed, and places to eat are everywhere in the towns I mentioned, There is Reds Eats ( Really Wicked Lobstah Roll) or for breakfast you can go to Marketplace Cafe across from Shaw's on RT 1. Best sausage links ever and the biscuits and gravy... Incredible. The majority of the time we did dine in, again everything you need is there. I was so inspired by the place, I did not screw up one meal, it all turned out perfect.
I do want to THANK Laurie and her husband again, for the 1000th time, they were gracious attentive and very caring hosts to our perfect week!! You guys are responsible for the beginning of another 30 years of wonderful memories!
To the cottage, We'll see you next year, Laurie keep in touch and YES, I would recommend it to all!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront Cottage with Panoramic Views, Deep Water Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151248
508 367-8453
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
wellesley, ma
5

The most perfect place on earth!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
I wish there were 10 suitcases for the quality of the experience. We've come to think of it as our home away from home. Its that kind of place that you cherish the moments of quiet and beauty while you are there, think of them the rest of the year and then can't wait to return!
This year, we brought an inflatable boat and electric motor with us so we could explore the river. Incredible. Seals dancing around the boat, playing with us, scooting around the lobster pots, and us wondering at the tranquility of it all.

Laurie is truly a wonderful person, and a generous, kind, thoughtful host, as is her husband.
Once you arrive there, you won't want to leave, even our dogs were sad to go home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5