Accokeek house rental - Beautiful, private settiing surrounded by nature
Beautiful, private settiing surrounded by nature
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Accokeek House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms plus, 1 bath, sleeps 6

Retreat from the hectic world in this immaculate, vintage log home located in a woodsy waterfront community, just 1/2 hour from Washington, DC. Piscataway Bay is a few minute walk from the home. Enjoy a glass of wine or coffee as you enjoy gorgeous views and local wildlife, including white-tailed deer, eagles, osprey,beaver, overwintering tundra swans, and lots more! The home is beautifully furnished, has central air conditioning, a wood-burning fireplace, and high speed internet. The kitchen is fully furnished, and a washer and dryer are in the home. This is a unique home that you'll surely enjoy. Includes discounted kayak rentals guided kayak tours through Atlantic Kayak Company. No worries -- it's flatwater, ideal for birdwatching and nature photography. Also Includes a tour of our nearby farm and a dozen farm fresh eggs when available.

7 Reviews of Property 151005 in Accokeek, Maryland

Cozy Log Home in waterfront community, 1/2 hr from Washington DC, sleeps 6
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Cozy Log Home in waterfront community, 1/2 hr from Washington DC, sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151005
301 509-3499
Accokeek Maryland - Washington DC
5

we'll be back!!

we'll be back!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We came in from midwest to join our family for Thanksgiving. This home was easy to find on the outskirts of DC yet nicely secluded from all the urban hub-bub. Heavily treed neighborhood provided wonderful birds ( red headed woodpeckers, cardinals, blue jays chickadees right outside our picture window. And bald headed eagles eyeing the numerous waterfowl right down the street at the waterfront each morning!!
Much more spacious than the pictures indicate. Clean, homey and a wonderfully stocked kitchen with all the tools we needed for much cooking. The large fireplace is a PLUS!
The owner was very accessible and helpful with our questions. Hiking, colonial village and fort washington are all within minutes. The large fenced yard was nice to explore and welcomed by our dog.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cozy Log Home in waterfront community, 1/2 hr from Washington DC, sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151005
301 509-3499
Accokeek Maryland - Washington DC
Palm Harbor, Florida
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We rented this home for 6 nights. There were 4 adults and 2 teenagers and plenty of room. We wanted something close to Washington DC, that was comfortable for 6 of us, that was reasonably priced, where we could cook and relax after touring DC and this was perfect!! The owner has thought of everything that you could possibly need...from a fully stocked kitchen, board games, brochures from the area - even a blow dryer. It was so nice to be able to spend the day in DC and then come back to all of the comforts of home. We even saw deer a few times. I will be recommending this to all of my family and friends that plan on visiting this area.
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our home and for the wonderful review, Shelly and family. We're so glad you enjoyed our cabin and took the time to post a review!
Judy and Roy Lathrop
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Log Home in waterfront community, 1/2 hr from Washington DC, sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151005
301 509-3499
Accokeek Maryland - Washington DC
Wichita, Kansas
5

Time for Us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This location was a perfect respite after a week of hotels and hotel breakfasts. We were close enough to the Metro to use it for 3 days of our visit to see the sights of Washington, yet rural enough to sleep late on mornings if we wanted and have family time. We walked to the river and played games, yet still had internet access and could have family movie night while eating popcorn and ice cream from the neighborhood grocery storis (3 within 2 miles). I love staying in a place that has laundry facilites so our family of 5 doesn't have to camp out at a laundromat while traveling. Owner was friendly, helpful and reliable when it came to the deposit and payment.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Cozy Log Home in waterfront community, 1/2 hr from Washington DC, sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151005
301 509-3499
Accokeek Maryland - Washington DC
Aurora, NY, USA
5

Special sanctuary.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This log home offers a top getaway. Although part of a neighborhood, the site feels private and excluded. Being adjacent to the Piascataway Park preserve lends an added air of specialness. The cabin is surrounded by Azalea and Dogwood, Maple and Sweetgum. A variety of birds are frequent visitors. Access to the Potomac shore is about a block away. The home itself is spiffy clean, attractive, and spacious. The two of us used it as headquarters for meals with our nearby family of five and it was perfect for each occasion. The kitchen is very well equipped and we could gather at a sizeable indoor table or move the yard furniture to the lawn for dining in the garden. The owners are fun and engaging and they responded quickly to all of our inquiries and requests. They very kindly offered our whole gang a tour of their nearby farm. There are supermarkets and services within an easy drive. Our activities were focussed at the cabin, so we didn't visit local restaurants. Local attractions of note are Fort Washington, as well as the National Colonial Farm, which is best visited on the weekend. All of this resides just 3o minutes from Washington DC. We'd be delighted to visit this cabin again.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Cozy Log Home in waterfront community, 1/2 hr from Washington DC, sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151005
301 509-3499
Accokeek Maryland - Washington DC
Michigan
4

Great place near Washington DC

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
The log home was just as described and in a very peaceful area away from traffic. The location was great for seeing all the areas attractions (DC about 20mins. away) and relaxing when you got back every night. WiFi came in handy for planning the next days activities. I would definitely recommend this property to friends and we will likely visit it again sometime in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Cozy Log Home in waterfront community, 1/2 hr from Washington DC, sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151005
301 509-3499
Accokeek Maryland - Washington DC
Alabama
5

Spring Breakers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
We went there, as a party of 6. Two families, each with a fifth-grade daughter. It was an amazing place! Nice to get up in the morning and take a short walk, sit outside and read a book, etc. Very nice to come to a relaxing, quite environment in the afternoon, after the hustle and bustle of downtown DC.

The owner thought of everything, and supplied all our needs. Right down to our forgotten hair dryer! It was perfect. Plenty of storage space, lots of outdoor seating, quiet cul-de-sac. LOVELY.

This was an easy 30 minute drive, straight into downtown DC. We couldn't recommend it any higher. I have already provided the information to friends who are planning trips.

LOVED this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Cozy Log Home in waterfront community, 1/2 hr from Washington DC, sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p151005
301 509-3499
Accokeek Maryland - Washington DC
West Long Branch NJ USA
5

Peace and quiet and cleanliness

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
The house was extremely clean when we arrived. It had everything a family with kids would need. The property was beautiful and located a 2 minute walk from a park and creek. It was almost hard to leave the house and yard to go to DC. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to visit DC buts like to return to nature and a warm fireplace at the end of the day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7