Marsciano villa rental - Villa Pian del Rocchio
Villa Pian del Rocchio
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Marsciano Villa Rental Photos and Description
5 BR, 5 BA, Sleeps 10

In Umbria, the green heart of Italy, there is a place that speaks to you with tranquility and peace. A place where you are embraced by nature and history. Where you realize that above else, being on vacation means getting closer to yourself.

Villa Pian del Rocchio is a place designed to accommodate the interest of the people staying there, to respect their inclinations and their wish to stay where they feel truly at ease.

- Completely renovated, Villa Pian del Rocchio has a geometry architecturally defined as 'spontaneous' - typical of the old country homes shaped over the years by adding on new living spaces to satisfy the changing needs of the large farming households that lived there.

- The Villa is in five blocks: three central ones (the Tower, the Hearth, the Kitchen) and two side ones (the Dining Room and the Veranda). The entire 'daytime' is on the ground floor, and the upper floors, with 5 bedrooms, house the 'night-time area'.

THE GROUND FLOOR: The ground levels have floors in 'cotto fiorentino' - Florentine-style fired brick. The doors and windows are in solid chestnut, with roll-up screens.

- The Villa is furnished with beautiful pieces all restored to perfect condition. Combined with the charming colors of the upholstery and wallpaper, they create a warm, family atmosphere.

- The Sitting room is furnished with comfortable sofas and armchairs, plus a spacious built-in bookshelf that also contains a stereo system and satellite television. The large fireplace gives ambiance character and warmth.

- The Dining room has two large windows, one looking out on the garden and the other on the flowerbed with its specimens of 'antiques roses'. The walnut table seats 10-12 guests. A comfortable, colourful 'Dormeuse' for a relaxing afternoon siesta in the cool shade of the house complete the furnishing.

The Game room has two game tables (backgammon, cards, bridge board games and bidding box are available) as well as a harmoniously old-fashioned regular billiards table.

- The spacious yet cosy hi-tech Kitchen is completely furnished and equipped with a large oven and range, a refrigerator/freezer with ice dispenser, a built-in microwave and dishwasher.

- The large cool and sheltered Veranda, adjacent to the house, has a large, rectangular wrought-iron table easily capable of accommodating 12-14 guests for all outdoor occasions.

- The Parlour area has a 'guest bath' and the ground floor Laundry room is equipped with washer and ironing supplies.

THE FIRST & SECOND FLOOR (Mansarda): The bedrooms all have warm, light oaken parquet floors and beds may be quickly rearranged to suit the Guests' needs.

- Of the four first-floor bedrooms with en suite bathroom, one has a double bed and the other three have twin beds.

- The fifth bedroom with en suite bathroom, on the mansard level, is particularly large with a double bed.

- The bathrooms are all delightfully decorated with precious matching tiles, with large showers and ceramic sinks. The marble-lined bathroom has a whirlpool bath.

- All the bedrooms have private terraces that look out on two small lakes, one to the north and one to the south of the Villa, and offer a splendid view of the surroundings.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 150992 in Marsciano, Italy

Villa ' Pian del Rocchio ' - Beautiful Country House in a lush Umbria up land
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
business
Villa ' Pian del Rocchio ' - Beautiful Country House in a lush Umbria up land
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150992
+0011 39 06 50912389
Marsciano Todi area
Columbia, South Carolina USA
5

Pian del Rocchio - A Place To Visit Again And Again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Differences of opinion create healthy discourse. However, in this day of social media we all need to avoid frivolous conversations that can do damage to another's reputation. With this being said, I rarely write a second or third review about an accommodation. But, I was so shocked to read the review indicating that the host of Pian del Rocchio was less than excellent in his hospitality towards his guests that I felt compelled to do so. I have not been requested to do this by the owner. In fact, he is able to defend himself without my aid. But, as a person who retired out of the hospitality industry, I know how much damage one poor review can create.
Here is what I have to say. We have visited Pian del Rocchio in 2005, 2006, 2008, 2010 and just recently September 2012. Our first visit in 2005 was the most complicated as it included a large group of people coming from various directions. Everyone needed assistance of some sort.....limos, buses, car rentals, train schedules....all arriving at different times and on different days. On top of that I requested that the host find a suitable restaurant to celebrate a 60th birthday party with musical entertainment. No task that I asked was too difficult for the owner. During our month long stay a multitude of requests were made of the host and never once did he hesitate to fulfill our requests or attend to our needs with the upmost grace and charm. He went out of his way to ensure that we were familiar with everything in the house as well as taking us on a tour of all the local points of interest including cantina, grocery stores, post office, restaurants, etc. On all future visits we have experienced this same high level of hospitality. When I make recommendations to my friends (2 groups have since stayed at Pian del Rocchio based on my recommendations), the accommodations have to meet 2 criteria: the host/hostess have to make the stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible; and the accommodation has to be one that I would stay in again and again. The owner on each on the 5 years we have visited Pian del Rocchio has exceeded all my expectations. It is only natural that there are regulations regarding a stay in a vacation rental. It is the responsibility of the guest to comply. I can see from reading other reviews that the host has consistently received 5 star reviews. I trust that those reviewing Pian del Rochhio will recognize the 5 star reviews are reliable reviews.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Donna, you have been capable to touch my feelings with your nice words of appreciation and friendship towards me.
I’m really honoured and proud for the fond memories you have widely lavished in regard to the Villa Pian del Rocchio’s hospitality.
Please accept my best thanks and please be sure that you and your family will be always most welcome in your Umbrian holiday house in Pian del Rocchio with us.
Ciao e Arrivederci
Gaetano
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa ' Pian del Rocchio ' - Beautiful Country House in a lush Umbria up land
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150992
+0011 39 06 50912389
Marsciano Todi area
Midlands, UK
1

Extremely disappointing, beautiful villa but only go if you can guarantee you will be there on time!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Have read the other reviews on a number of websites and feel that we have to put our experience to give a fair appraisal of this villa. Firstly the positives, it is quite simply a beautiful location and the villa itself was beautiful and clean with the most outstanding views of the countryside. You can literally see for miles.

HOWEVER we were late arriving in Italy due to plane delays. When we phoned to let the owner know we were running later than anticipated, we were greeted by a torrent of abuse. Not what you expect when you have paid a considerable amount, are tired from delays, have two babies with you and are on HOLIDAY. Granted he came out to meet us (shouted down the phone to tell us to stay where we were) but when he got out of his car, immediately started shouting again, he called us "stupido people", asked us how old we were saying "you should know better" and told us that we were very rude for interrupting his family dinner and that the least we could of done was called (he said he had been trying to call us repeatedly - turned out he had been calling the UK landline). He threatened to not let us have the villa and then said that he would, but only because of the bambino's got in his car shouted at us to follow and drove off at speed around the twisting hills.

I am a psychologist and so would like to think that I am quite calm in my approach, therefore knowing that the only way we were likely to have a roof above our heads, would be if we managed to calm him down. Therefore when we arrived he got out of the car and stood there not saying anything, so I thanked him and continued to apologise as we had been doing. He responded by getting up close to my face & shouting "you think you say sorry and it all be ok, it's not ok I am very angry..." After much apologising for our 'rudeness' he finally let us in. He then showed us around the villa.

I would like to say this was as the other reviewers have described, but to say he was pedantic would be an understatement. He clearly thought they've wasted my time, I'll waste theirs. He showed us how to turn on & off every light switch, every hob on the cooker, showed us the contents of every cupboard ("in here pans, in here nothing, in here nothing, in here glasses" etc you get the idea!).

The owners live on site & throughout the stay he kept walking in (let a sky man in to do the sky - it wasn't broken) and kept telling us we were using too much electricity!

So a beautiful place thoroughly spoilt!
Owner's Response: I wish to thank you for your kind appreciation in your review of the “beautiful location, the Villa and the outstanding views of the countryside”. However, it does appear that we have two different views of the events that occurred. I have outlined below the evening of your arrival and your very cordial departure. First two remarks: A) Guests receive, with the booking confirmation, a MAP with detailed “Driving Directions”. The email recommends that the Guests phone the Owner upon arrival at the Airport in order to jointly agree on the most convenient time to meet each other at the fixed “Gas Station Meeting Point” near the Villa. This meeting point is reached in about 2 hours car drive from the Airport. B) The Owner requests that the Guest’s arrival time at the Villa be between 3 - 7:30 pm unless a different time has been agreed upon, by Parties involved.
You say … “When we phoned to let the owner know we were running later than anticipated …” the truth is that you didn’t phone the Owner until 8:30 pm saying that you had already arrived in Marsciano (a small town 4 km from the Villa) and you were not at the agreed upon Gas Station Meeting Point.
1) Upon the arrival in Rome you did not place a phone call to the Owner. Instead, you drove directly to an unidentified location in Marsciano and 2 hours later, at 8:30 pm, you phoned the Owner. 2) The Owner, left his family at the restaurant and in about 15 minutes arrived in the place as earlier identified by you on the phone. The Owner asked you to follow him to the Villa where he provided necessities to the 3 ladies and 2 babies in order for them to be comfortable. 4) At 10:30 pm the Owner willing took you and the 2 other young men to a Restaurant and asked for emergency assistance in providing “pizza” for 6 persons and milk for 2 babies to take away to the Villa. 5) At 11:30 pm, back at the Villa, the Owner checked if the overall situation was fully under control and was assured by you that it was. 6) At midnight, the Owner wished “goodnight” to everybody.

One week later, you left the Villa and the Owner still remembers the warm thanks you gave for the “extraordinary” reception you received particularly for the 3 ladies and 2 babies.

On 04/02/2013, exactly 6 months later, the Owner receives your surprising review.

A vacation, particularly, in a foreign country is meant to be a pleasant experience. Clearly you do not think that you had such an experience. The Owner regrets that very much.
business
Villa ' Pian del Rocchio ' - Beautiful Country House in a lush Umbria up land
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150992
+0011 39 06 50912389
Marsciano Todi area
East Sussex, UK
5

Our little piece of heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Pian Del Rocchio is our home away from home and our little piece of heaven. We have been going to Pian Del Rocchio for the last five consecutive years with our family ranging from age 67 to 3 so this really is a place for all ages and dare I add that on the first day of my first year I broke my foot and coped well with a leg in plaster and on crutches too! Do I want to share this dream? No but that's just being selfish so here goes.
Our hosts Gaetano and Clara are without doubt the most gracious, hostpitable and helpfull, people you could wish for, nothing is to much trouble. You can always be assured of a warm friendly welcome.
The villa's location overlooks the magnificent rolling hills of Umbria with such peace and tranquility that you feel as if the world has stopped for a moment. It's excellent position is great for sightseeing and the local town of Marsciano has everthing you need from good supermarkets, a weekly market, an amazing wine cooperative, great restaurants, and of course the obligatory gelateria which is fantastic.
The villa is as I said is a real home from home. Beautifully furnished and equiped with everything you could ever need. It's cleanliness is second to none. The gardens are safe and the large beautiful pool is delighfully refreshing and child friendly, with numerous sunbeds, chairs and umbrellas. So whether you want to bake in the sun or find a quiet shady spot it's all there.
We love Pian Del Rocchio and in the five years we have been going our daughter got engaged there and this year she found out she's expecting her first child so this is a truly magical place for us and we will be back for our sixth year in 2012!
Don't hesitate just book a little piece of paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa ' Pian del Rocchio ' - Beautiful Country House in a lush Umbria up land
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150992
+0011 39 06 50912389
Marsciano Todi area
San Diego, California
5

Magnificent Umbria Villa ~ Unforgettable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Wow! This villa was even more amazing than we expected and even better than the pictures. The villa was immaculately clean (floors, bedding, linens, kitchen and baths) and prepped for our arrival. Gaetano helped us feel at home and was the most amazing host ever. He and Clara were kind, generous, hospitable and very knowledgable about the area. They were available for any questions yet respected our privacy. There were plenty of linens and bedding and the layout of the rooms allows for complete privacy for 3 to 4 different parties. We were there in August when Umbria was hot, yet the nights were cool and we had no problem sleeping, The kitchen was well organized and stocked with plenty of dishes. We ate every meal on the terrace and lingered to enjoy the cool breezes and beautiful views. The pool was a big hit with our children (ages 4 to 16) between 2 families. They never tired of jumping in, playing pool games or games on the grass. We swam during the hot parts of the day and then went exploring nearby Umrian towns in the late afternoon and evenings. I told my husband that if I had one day to live, I would live it here with my family and friends. Thank you so much Gaetano and Clara!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Villa ' Pian del Rocchio ' - Beautiful Country House in a lush Umbria up land
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150992
+0011 39 06 50912389
Marsciano Todi area
Quebec City, Canada
5

Paradis sur terre

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We had a wonderful two weeks of vacation at Villa Pian del Rocchio. Un coin de paradis, idéal pour la détente, la lecture, le soleil, la piscine et les activités familiales dans une villa située sur une colline donnant une vue à couper le souffle sur la vallée et les collines environnantes. The people in this part of Italy were particularly welcoming and friendly as they are usually less exposed to a high volume of tourism. La villa est spacieuse et bien conçue pour préserver l'intimité de plusieurs familles dans les multiples chambres à coucher. The ground floor is spacious, allowing guests to interact and have fun without disturbing others who want to take on more quiet activities. But most of all, it is Gaetano and Clara who with their warmth and kind attention added the secret ingredient for a wonderful stay at Pian del Rocchio.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Villa ' Pian del Rocchio ' - Beautiful Country House in a lush Umbria up land
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150992
+0011 39 06 50912389
Marsciano Todi area
Washington, USA
5

Dream Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2008
Gaetano, the owner was extremely helpful before our arrival, making sure the beds were arranged properly for us, and upon arrival, met some of our party to show them around town. The villa is very well kept. We had 4 couples with a total of 3 small children. We had a wonderful time. The location is near all the hill towns of central Italy. I can't wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa ' Pian del Rocchio ' - Beautiful Country House in a lush Umbria up land
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150992
+0011 39 06 50912389
Marsciano Todi area
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
5

The ultimate Umbrian experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Our ten day stay at Villa "Pian Del Rocchio" was a very pleasant experience. The accommodations were excellent which included a very nice and well appointed kitchen that allowed us to prepare dinners for a dozen people. The layout of the house with its five bedrooms was ideal. The grounds were well maintained and beautiful. The location was perfect being just outside Marciano which made it easy to shop for essentials and a short drive from wonderful towns. Having easy access to highways made it easy to tour the surrounding area. The listing photos accurately reflected the the true appearance of the property and its amenities. The owner was very helpful in answering questions and informing us of local bakeries, butcher shops and restaurants.
The central location made for an easy drive from Rome and the surrounding towns of Todi, Spoleto,
Assisi, Cortona and others were easy to reach for a days adventure. I would highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa ' Pian del Rocchio ' - Beautiful Country House in a lush Umbria up land
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150992
+0011 39 06 50912389
Marsciano Todi area
Easton, MD USA
5

Outstanding Villa!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We spent two weeks at Villa Pian Del Rocchio, and enjoyed each and every day. Gaetano, the owner, was extremely helpful in introducing us to all the facilities and extra recreational provisions as well as the features of Marsciano, the nearest town. He was so generous with his time and energy! His support both before our arrival and during our stay was terrific! The Villa was as comfortable and elegant as one would desire. As a group of four couples, we all had both space and privacy to enjoy each other and to have 'down' time. We enjoyed a cooking class at the villa with www.umbriacooks4u.com which was fabulous: even the husbands who were reluctant to participate were capitivated within minutes! Our trip was enhanced by the van service and cars provided by Stefano Agostini of Todi. The villa's location was excellent as a central point for touring Umbria. We highly recommend Pian Del Rocchio to those looking for the highest level of accommodation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Villa ' Pian del Rocchio ' - Beautiful Country House in a lush Umbria up land
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150992
+0011 39 06 50912389
Marsciano Todi area
Brisbane, Australia
5

Lived up to expectations - AND MORE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Villa Pian Del Rocchio accomodated a group of 9 people for a week in Sept 2010. It exceded expectations and the photos do not do it justice. The Villa is top spec, sits on top of a hill with unmatched views encompassing the whole of Umbria. The owner made it very easy to direct us to the Villa and show us around. The Area is beautiful. The views amazing and the villa is classy. Definate Value for money. Would recommend it again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa ' Pian del Rocchio ' - Beautiful Country House in a lush Umbria up land
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150992
+0011 39 06 50912389
Marsciano Todi area
Oulu, Finland
5

Summer remembering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
It's September and it's raining in Finland. I'm still remembering our summer holiday at Pian del Rocchio. Yesterday our kids said that could we go to visit at the Villa next week. I wish!! It was the best holiday ever. Thank's to family Zappulla from the excellent place.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1