Lancaster cottage rental - Little Stone Cottage
Little Stone Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lancaster Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2)

Our vision is that this would be place of blessing for truly married couples only. Our desire is to honor God's definition of marriage 'One man and one women for life.' Therefore we ask that unmarried and divorced and remarried couples with a living spouse do not apply please!

Located just off the beaten path near the village of Gap, you'll find this cute getaway nestled in the quiet, among mostly Amish farms and businesses. This is a fully remodeled and tastefully decorated escape. It whispers romance, relaxation, and renewal.

You can eat on the back deck, relax in the hot tub and count the stars, or sit on the patio and enjoy the view of the tastefully landscaped backyard with a small pond and or watch the neighoring Amish children play.

In the stone basement an old original fireplace and comfy sofa beckons you to sit by the fire. The romantic bedroom suite features a comfortable king-size bed with a partial canopy. The fully equipped kitchen makes in house meal preparation easy. This is an ideal place for honeymoons and anniversaries, and truly a place you'll want to come back to. The vaulted bedroom ceiling with exposed beams and skylight is very distinctive.

This historic cottage is part of Spring Wood Organic Farm which is a 220 acre third generation Mennonite family farm operated by Roman and Lucy Stoltzfoos with the help of their eleven children. Most days you will see cattle and other animals peacefully grazing on well kept pastures nearby. All this is within 20 minutes of Lancaster's main tourist area, many good shopping malls, and excellent restaurants.

Keywords: Honeymoon Cottage Romantic Getaway

Married Couples Cabin Retreat

More Details
Hide Details

Roman and Lucy Stoltzfoos are operating Spring Wood farm for over 32 years which is a 3rd generation Mennonite family farm where Roman was born and raised. They were married on a bright sunny day in July 1978, near Iowa city, Iowa where most of Lucy's family still lives. After more than three years on a church mission near Charlottesville Va we were needed on the Home farm in Lancaster County Pa. So after working for dad one year we took over the dairy and were kept busy since raising our family in the Garden Spot. Eleven children and eight grandchildren later we are still kept busy on this 220 acre organic dairy and turkey farm. We also run 2500 layers that are free range grass fed happy hens. We enjoy sharing our slice of the country and some choice farm raised foods with cottage guests. Healthy children, Healthy food and Healthy marriages are the missions of Spring Wood Organic Farm. We want married couples to be renewed as they pullback from busy schedules and take time to love up on each other and bask in the blessing and fulfillment of the true marriage covenant. It is a gift from God and one of His choice creations.

Roman or Lucy purchased this cottage in 2002

We enjoyed over the years of our marriage getting away as a couple to romantic little retreats and when we acquired this property with a small run down little house on it we thought of perhaps turning into a romantic getaway which would be a retreat for married couples. It is refreshing to see the many that could benefit from their time here. We have enjoyed making romantic dreams come true for married couples and love to host those interested in the blessing of romance inside of marriage.

You will be able to relax and really spend quality time together. There are marriage books, tapes, romantic games, CDs, and DVDs here for your learning and enjoyment. There is something for everyone and you could spend several days or more here without becoming bored. Our desire is to honor the purpose for which God created marriage! Our goal is that you would be bonded in a new and refreshing way as you rest and relax at the cottage. Our great God broods over and protects the marriage covenant and so very much desires and wants us to experience it fully! The definition for marriage according to His eternal word is one man and one women for life. As such we cannot endorse couples using the cottage that are not married. May all the married couples that come here be blessed and encouraged to honor the designer of marriage and the creator of love and romance.

64 Reviews of Property 73588 in Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 64 reviews
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Perfect Romantic Get-Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
First of all, the views of this site's photographs is exactly what you will get. This place is beautiful inside and out!

My husband and I were looking for a romantic get-away and we couldn't have picked a more perfect rental. Roman and Lucy go out of their way to pay attention to every detail and it shows the moment you walk in the door. As soon as you step inside, the busyness of your life melts away and you have found a place of rest, relaxation, renewal, and romance.

We had a wonderful time and can't wait to have the chance to go back again.

Thank you Roman and Lucy for everything! God Bless You!
Owner's Response: John and Eileen
It is always a pleasure to wow our guests and thanks for the kind words of affirmation. We feel privileged to provide vision from the creator of marriage to couples who need a break from the busy routines of life. We desire for them to really think about the reasons they chose to commit and be filled with thankfulness that the God that created marriage will see them through the most difficult times if they only seek him and His divine help. As the designer of a one woman and one man relationship he knows just what we need. We pray that as couples love up on each other here they will renew there vision for long term commitment, rekindle their desire to be together and rewind their emotional clocks. God's design is never flawed and we need reminders to seek wisdom from him on relationships. May you and all future guests find His blessings powerful and real.
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Waymart, Pa.
5

Absolutely Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our stay at the Little Stone Cottage really could not of been any better. The attention to detail and all that is offered to be able to experience a wonderful, romantic time of renewal with my husband was such a blessing. We have never stayed at a place that was so completely focused on the importance of romance in a marriage. Sometimes we get so caught up in just living life that we forget to take time to slow down and give our marriages the attention that they deserve. Our stay at the cottage helped to remind us of how important it is to nourish our relationship and just how precious the gift of marriage is. After 36 years of marriage the flame is still burning bright! The Little Stone Cottage is truly an extraordinary place. We are already looking forward to our next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Rest relaxation romance and renewal the four Rs are the mantra for the cottage. Thank you celebrating 36 years here. God is good for giving us this wonderful creation of covenant marriage! We feel privileged to be part of his plan for renewal.

Thank you for choosing this place to plan for your future and savor each other and Gods gift!
Roman and Lucy
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Dalbo, MN
5

Amazing romantic weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I found this cottage almost 4 years ago and have been anxiously waiting to be able to come and enjoy. It was definitely worth the wait. We had an absolutely incredible time. Everything was so romantic and the attention to all the details (big and small) was really appreciated and made for a wonderful vacation. The cottage and yard were beautiful and exactly as described. We were able to have a nice mix of sightseeing (including the walking trails on the property and a farm tour - thank you!) and relaxing in the hammock and hot tub. The kitchen had everything that was needed to make nice meals to enjoy and yet I could make quick, convenient food if I chose to do other things with my time. We were fortunate enough to be able to take in the Amish Farm and Field Day and hear Roman speak on a panel. It was very interesting and neat to see the local people and culture. We were so blessed to be able to come to this cottage and just focus on God, our marriage and each other. I would highly recommend this for every married couple! We definitely hope to come back again.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing this place and enjoying it at long last!
We pray the memories that you made would give you joy as think of your time here. Our sincere wish is that every couple would gain a deeper respect for God's perfect design for marriage.
Roman and Lucy
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Absolutely Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Roman and Lucy went out of their way to make every aspect absolutely special! The bike ride through the farm areas was beautiful! The peaceful and quiet settings were perfect for us to reconnect! We will DEFINITELY be coming back!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Newton, N.C.
5

Wonderful Anniversary Trip!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The Little Stone Cottage is all it claims to be and more! My husband and I spent a week here celebrating our 24th Wedding Anniversary. We enjoyed the hot tub, massage table, hiking trails, and the fresh eggs, milk, bread, yogurt and granola. Roman and Lucy could not be more hospitable. We toured Gettysburg, Philadelphia, all the small towns in the area and took a driving tour of the many covered bridges. We enjoyed all of them, but it was nice to come back to such as relaxing and romantic place at night. If you are looking for a romantic get-a-way to enjoy God's nature and your spouse then look no further. In our 24 years of marriage we have traveled many places, but can honestly say this is at the top of our list. Roman and Lucy make sure every detail is centered around bringing a married couple closer together. This is a ministry and a place you do not want to miss!!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a joy serving you and we especially enjoy when guests make the celebration of true marriage top priority. You folks planned ahead and we enjoyed how important this was to you. We enjoy helping surprise spouses. You pulled that off real well. Thanks for the kind Words.
Roman
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Ebensburg, PA
5

fifteenth anniversary celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I booked this trip to surprise my husband for our 15th wedding anniversary on Valentine's Day. Not only was he pleasantly surprised so was I. The place is beautiful and full of special things the owners do before you arrive. It is a relaxing and elegant vacation home. We really enjoyed our stay and feel sure anyone thinking about going will be pleased with all it has to offer!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Palmyra, PA
5

Wonderful get-away!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The moment we walked in the door of the Little Stone Cottage we felt welcome and knew we were at a wonderful place where we could get away from the "busyness" of our lives. We were here for a long weekend to celebrate one of our birthdays. Roman and Lucy go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to provide a place where you can concentrate on one another without all the distractions of home. We arrived while a light snow was falling creating a beautiful country scene of pure white on the ground. It was fun to see the neighborhood children enjoying an afternoon of ice skating on the big pond. We were taken back in time to a simpler form of life by watching all of the Amish people drive by with their horse and buggy several times throughout the days we were here. We took advantage of the many amenities that make this a special place for couples. We had brought along some of our food to prepare for our dinners and also enjoyed the food provided by Roman and Lucy for use at the Cottage. We appreciated meeting Roman and Lucy and enjoyed attending worship at their church. We have already recommended the Little Stone Cottage to several other couples and hope that at some point in time we can return. Thank you for providing such a special place!!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Robert and LeAnne
Thank you so much for the kind words. We loved serving you and pray that all couples coming here to celebrate would return to reality more thankful for each other. You inspired us as all do who truly believe lifetime covenant marriage is a gift from a wise creator and not meant to be taken lightly. God Bless you.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Annapolis, MD
5

An Amazing Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife and I have done some very romantic things in our marriage. We've had romance stays at five star hotels, we once took a romantic Christmas eve carriage ride through mid town Manhattan; while visiting France we took a river boat cruise through the beautiful city of Paris, even getting married on a beach in the Virgin Islands was very romantic…..but nothing, and I mean nothing out topped our romantic stay at the Little Stone Cottage.

We arrived to a very clean well decorated place. The mood was immediately set with soft music filling the air in the house, along with rose peddles leading up to the bedroom. A beautiful fireplace setting awaited us downstairs and a ready to use hot tub was situated on a private deck outdoors. No television, no problem. We entertain ourselves by playing games, reading good books on relationships, cuddling on the couch and having good….well let me leave it at that (lol).

My wife and I have very busy schedules; between work, ministry involvements and social activities we have very little time for each other. Our stay at the Little Stone Cottage allowed us to relax, reconnect and rejuvenate our marriage. This place is special, and it has a special place in our hearts. Thank you for making our first wedding anniversary a memorable one.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Nate
Thank You for giving the honor of "being tops in the romantic things you have done department." Wow who would have guessed that we could top Paris, Manhattan or the romance of a Virgin Island beach but this is Gods work and he can do anything. We so enjoy being part of it? God bless as you continue to romance your wife and bless your marriage by doing so. God is smiling on you.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Hampstead, Maryland
5

This is truly a Couple's retreat (Do not miss this opportunity)

This is truly a Couple's retreat (Do not miss this opportunity)
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
If you are looking for something wonderful and exciting for you and your husband THIS IS IT
We were treated as though we were the only special couple in the whole world. God is truly present and the time together was every bit a couples dream. Roman and Lucy make even effort to make this time a cerished moments that will help us grow daily in our relationship as a married couple (HUSBAND
and WIFE) We already are planning to go back next year.
Do not pass this opportunity to be truly fullfiled with your solemate. Thank you
Roman and Lucy for bringing such happiness to Married couples. It is truly a Blessed Ministry.
Kathy and Ed Ogle
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Our goal here at this "romantic getaway" for marriage covenant lovers is to bring back the "wonder and excitement" of an intimate, ravishing marriage. We believe intimacy in marriage can and should be a "mutually stimulating and beautiful experience". It is God's creation and one of His special gifts to mankind. We know that too much busyness, can drive wedges and cause some misunderstandings in even the best marriages and want to provide an atmosphere of rest where you can let your cares behind and pamper your spouse and celebrate this gift. Every amenity here, is chosen with this goal in mind. We believe that to the extent that you bless your spouse, you will be blessed by being here. Ed and Kathy thanks for the kind words and for allowing us to serve you. We so enjoyed meeting you!
Roman and Lucy
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Little Stone Cottage - Romantic Honeymoon Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
It is hard to put into words our feelings after staying at the Little Stone Cottage. We found ourselves thanking God over and over for the wonderful experience while there last weekend. The peace, the quiet, the soothing music, the view of the pond from the deck, the relaxing hot tub, the massage table, the candles, the surprises left here and there, the refreshing renewal of ‘just us’ alone and free from any set schedule allowed much laughter, tears of joy and memories we will cherish forever.

Thank you for creating such a beautiful and intimate setting for married couples to retreat to. Every review about the Little Stone Cottage seems to share our thoughts and feelings about our stay. You have prayerfully provided a setting which will enrich the lives of all types of married couples, no matter if they are strong, vibrant and happily married or one which was struggling.

We know many married couples have been blessed by staying at the Little Stone Cottage over the past several years and many will stay there in the future. The unique thing is that the moment my wife and I stepped through the door, we felt like the cottage had been built just for us to enjoy. There was very little evidence anyone had been there prior to our arrival and was hard to imagine anyone else was on their way to check-in after we left. It simply felt like 'our' cottage.

When we packed our bags in preparation to leave, tears filled our eyes again with thankfulness for having the opportunity to stay there. We have already told many of our friends about our experience and will continue to do so.

Roman and Lucy, we pray God’s richness and blessings upon your lives.

We are already looking forward to coming back again someday.

Mark & Melody Ginn
Red Oak, Texas
Owner's Response: Mark and Melody
Thanks so much for the many kind words. It's couples like you that makes this such a joy. We feel so privileged to host couples that need a break, couples that want to celebrate, couples that what to explore our slice of this beautiful country, or couples that want to experience special togetherness, or even those in crisis.

Whatever the reason for coming we do look forward to hosting married couples and having them experience the richness of Gods grace, and the quiet but powerful, romantic ambience, that we feel certain, they will find here.

We encourage couples to ponder thoughtfully and thankfully how God sovereignly put them together and uses them as a team. What a blessed creative God we serve! A God that designed marriage to be one man and one women on a life time quest to understand more fully the wonderful mystery and pleasure of a covenant marriage relationship. Love may not be what makes the world go around but its what makes the ride worthwhile!

Roman and Lucy
Helpful votes: 6/6