San Jose apartment rental - Solar-heated pool
Solar-heated pool
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

San Jose Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + twin bed, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

Newly remodeled, large two bedroom guest house, one mile up Mt. Hamilton Road, fifteen minutes from downtown San Jose. Sleeps 5 (Rate quoted is for double occupancy). Bathroom features Italian glass sink. Laundry. View. Heated pool. Fruit in season. Compact kitchen with cooktop, microwave, toaster oven, refrigerator, utensils. TV/DVD/VCR.

This unique suite includes a living room, separate bedroom, bathroom with shower, and a mini-kitchen with cooktop, microwave, toaster/oven, sink, and refrigerator. The living room includes a dining area, a TV with VCR/DVD, high speed Internet connection, a queen size futon and a twin size captain's bed. The spacious bedroom has a queen sized bed, vanity, bookcase, two dressers, and large closet space. The separate entrance through the swimming pool courtyard is bordered by wisteria and grape vines. Property includes pool, garden railroad, organic garden, and a labyrinth with a 180° view of Silicon Valley. Walk the labyrinth for peaceful meditation. The location is at the end of a country lane, peaceful and quiet, a great place to relax and unwind after a day of business or touring.

More Details
Hide Details

Ray and Ellen are retired from Silicon Valley Hi-Tech companies and enjoy the quiet life. Ray is very active in the Bay Area Garden Railway Society and enjoys sharing his large garden railroad with guests. Ellen is always working on one art project or another (or several at once) including basketweaving, mosaic, knitting, painting furniture, fabric dolls, and making jam. Ask for a sample of jam!

Ellen Turner purchased this apartment in 1998

Mystic Mountain Hideaway is a 'mother-in-law' unit across the courtyard from our home. The swimming pool separates the two residences. We very much enjoy hosting people from out of town and sharing our wonderful space. The West yard has a 180 degree view of Silicon Valley.

We are very close to Silicon Valley life, just 15 minutes drive to San Jose City Hall, but it feels like we are in a different world. We have deer and birds, peace and quiet, with an incredible view of San Francisco Bay and the entire Silicon Valley. It's a great place to unwind after a hectic day in the real world.

5 Reviews of Property 78773 in San Jose, California

Peace & Quiet Above Silicon Valley
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Peace & Quiet Above Silicon Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78773vb
+001 (408) 929-3097 (California, USA)
San Jose The Bay Area
Houston
5

Stayed a month.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My family and I stayed here for a whole month and were very comfortable. Hosts were as welcoming as family. We all appreciated the remote location above San Jose with wildlife, elbow room, and beautiful views of the valley. Only knock is that TV choices were limited for such a long stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Jeff, we enjoyed hosting you and your family. Glad to hear that it worked out well for you. One of the best things about hosting through VRBO is the wonderful people we meet. After you left, we had two lovely ladies from Florida here to visit a new baby and family, and last night we welcomed four visitors from the Netherlands. So fun! Thanks!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peace & Quiet Above Silicon Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78773vb
+001 (408) 929-3097 (California, USA)
San Jose The Bay Area
Puyallup, WA
5

A pleasant retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was such a relaxing experience. I was in a quiet, peaceful place. This property was further from my grandkids that I would have hoped for, but the drive was worth it. I never used the air conditioner, the cool breeze provided a pleasant sleeping experience. The pool was 92 degrees! Every night I would walk out on the patio and say good-night to the valley. Beds were comfy, linens clean and abundant. Kitchen is adequate for a quick breakfast or a warm-up dinner. Ray and Ellen were welcoming, and left me to my own devices. Thank you for a great 2 weeks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks, Donna. We enjoyed having you and sharing the Fourth of July with your grandkids. Come again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peace & Quiet Above Silicon Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78773vb
+001 (408) 929-3097 (California, USA)
San Jose The Bay Area
Richardson, Texas
5

Perfect getaway and wonderful owners by San Jose!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Mystic mountain is found about half-way a mountain that overlooks the Santa Clara valley.
The views are amazing and the accommodations are better than what you'll find in most hotels. Kitchenette with stove top, living and dining area with books and movies, high speed Internet access, lots of closet space, and a beautifully modeled bathroom are what you'll find. The guest house is surrounded by a garden with grapevines on the windows providing natural shade.
The property is fairly close to downtown with quick access to highways. The surrounding area has many excellent restaurants as well as a grocery store, laundromat, bakeries, and banks all within a five minute drive.
The garden railway that was built by Mr. Turner is an amazing sight to see even if the trains are not running. Exploring the detail and creative engineering that was put into the layout and the beauty of the surrounding area in terms of flowers and trees is a fun way to spend an evening watching the sun set behind the mountains.
The Turners are wonderful and accommodating hosts and are a joy to talk to. This was the best vacation and accommodations I've ever had and intend to stay here again when I get out that way in the future!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Peace & Quiet Above Silicon Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78773vb
+001 (408) 929-3097 (California, USA)
San Jose The Bay Area
Richardson, Texas
5

Perfect getaway and wonderful owners by San Jose!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Mystic mountain is found about half-way a mountain that overlooks the Santa Clara valley.
The views are amazing and the accommodations are better than what you'll find in most hotels. Kitchenette with stove top, living and dining area with books and movies, high speed Internet access, lots of closet space, and a beautifully modeled bathroom are what you'll find. The guest house is surrounded by a garden with grapevines on the windows providing natural shade.
The property is fairly close to downtown with quick access to highways. The surrounding area has many excellent restaurants as well as a grocery store, laundromat, bakeries, and banks all within a five minute drive.
The garden railway that was built by Mr. Turner is an amazing sight to see even if the trains are not running. Exploring the detail and creative engineering that was put into the layout and the beauty of the surrounding area in terms of flowers and trees is a fun way to spend an evening watching the sun set behind the mountains.
The Turners are wonderful and accommodating hosts and are a joy to talk to. This was the best vacation and accommodations I've ever had and intend to stay here again when I get out that way in the future!
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review! We hope to see you again.
business
Peace & Quiet Above Silicon Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p78773vb
+001 (408) 929-3097 (California, USA)
San Jose The Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Thanks for everything! It was great. Perfect for what we needed.
Helpful votes: 2/5