Akumal villa rental - Welcome to Casa de Colores.
Welcome to Casa de Colores.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Akumal Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 5 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Tired of the cold????? Dig out your flip flops and shorts! We've got 3 weeks still available this Spring 2014: one in Feb, one in March and one in April. Check our calendar. Whatever week strikes your fancy, Akumal will welcome you.

FABULOUS NEW VIDEOS! -- We had four 360-degree videos of Casa de Colores taken last summer. You can see a master bedroom, the kitchen/living/dining rooms, and the outside area. Scroll down to the Links section, and click on the Video link. You'll love what you see!

Have more than 10 in your party? Please give us a call or email-- we can provide more information on our house, and help you arrange additional housing very close to Casa de Colores.

Whether you seek an intimate getaway for two, or a family vacation for 10, this owner-built, 3,200-square foot Casa de Colores and its 600-square foot, two-story casita (Casita de Colores) are perfect for you. Situated on the North end of Half Moon Bay with magnificent, unobstructed views of the Caribbean, Casa de Colores sleeps up to 10 in the main house (if some are children)and two in the casita. Mexico is about color, and Casa de Colores does not disappoint – its vibrant, contemporary design is accented with the exciting colors of the Yucatan Peninsula – from décor to lovely linens.

In the main house, two top floor master bedrooms with king-sized beds and en-suite baths offer complete privacy, as well as sleek, double glass bowl countertop sinks and terraces overlooking the Caribbean. A family room between the master suites also has stunning views and can be a cozy getaway, complete with flat screen TV/DVD and wireless internet. It is beautifully furnished with a comfortable sofa/chaise lounge.

Two additional bedrooms on the first floor have identical private bathrooms with exquisitely tiled showers and above-counter sinks and fixtures. The Caribbean-facing bedroom offers a king-sized bed and terrace; the second bedroom offers an ocean view, but faces the aqua- and cobalt-tiled 10’ x 30’ swimming pool and cool consuela-tiled surrounding terrace. It has both a Mexican queen-sized bed and extra futon sofa that sleeps two. While the incredible breezes off the ocean naturally cool the interior, all bedrooms are air-conditioned, and all rooms in Casa de Colores and its casita have ceiling fans.

The spectacular living and dining rooms also offer Caribbean views along with contemporary, ultra-comfortable furnishings. You’ll enjoy sinking into the hot red sofas after a day of snorkeling in Yal Ku Lagoon, a short walk away, or swimming in Half Moon Bay, about 100 yards from Casa de Colores. Both have spectacular tropical fish, coral and turtles.

The stainless steel and granite kitchen, complete with dishwasher, features a breakfast counter with four bar stools as well as a center island. The sleek dining room table seats up to 10.

The Casa de Colores casita in included in the rental of the main house -- and gives parties a 5th bedroom. It overlooks the pool, but both the first floor living room and second floor bedroom have Caribbean views. The casita is comfortably furnished with a beautiful blue sofa and upholstered striped chair. It has a flat screen TV. The kitchen is also stainless and granite and the dining area seats two. The bedroom is upstairs and offers a king-sized bed and beautiful bathroom with aqua-tiled shower and above-counter, contemporary sink and fixtures. The only access to the bath is through the bedroom, so it does not lend itself to someone sleeping downstairs on an air bed.

Casa de Colores is ready for your next vacation!

Keywords: House and Casita

More Details
Hide Details

Shelly and Eddie, and Susan and Nancy, built Casa de Colores from the ground up. We opened the doors during the 2007-08 holidays and have not been disappointed in any aspect. It was an incredible adventure. We all live and work in San Francisco -- real estate, law, and association management. We've been friends forever, and love time spent together here, there and traveling in Europe.

Nancy Mazza purchased this villa in 2008

We've been coming to Akumal for more than 20 years -- we love the quiet pace, warm people, and wonderful water. We've traveled throughout Mexico, and have always come back to Akumal as home. Someday we plan to retire at least 1/2 time to our Casa.

Casa de Colores has incredible views, breezes from huge sliding glass doors, the colors of the Caribbean, and so much more. The showers are tiled with turquoise pool tile, the bedrooms are each a different color. Art is a combination of local artists and our own photography (4 photo buffs) stretched on canvas. The pool is a great rectangle lap pool and the kitchen's a delight to cook in -- or not. Our end of Half Moon Bay is private and quiet, but an easy 25 minute walk (or 5 minute drive or bike ride) to the 'action.'

27 Reviews of Property 150207 in Akumal, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Architecturally Distinguished Casa on Water's Edge
average rating of 5.0 based on 27 reviews
business
Architecturally Distinguished Casa on Water's Edge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150207vbi
(415) 269-2080 (California , USA)
Akumal Quintana Roo
Los Angeles
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Casa de Colores is hands down an excellent place to vacation! Akumal is a small village with several wonderful little restaurants preparing excellent food. We took a few day trips but would ave been perfectly happy hanging around the pool and enjoying the little village and all it has to offer.

Casa de Colores is well known for its great location, at the end of the road in Akumal, very private, and for its funky eclectic decor. This house is perfect for large groups or families. I can't think of ANYTHING this house was missing and it even came with recipes for the owner's award winning guacamole!

The large kitchen and living area are great for entertaining and family get togethers. Access to the Yal-Ku Lagoons is very easy, just down the road and into the cool clear water of Yal-Ku where you can snorkel with the fish all day long.

This house is truly one-of-a-kind and lends itself very well to people just 'hanging out' together and having a great time! The caretakers, do an excellent job. They are very charming and will take excellent care of you. They are also available to prepare meals for an additional fee, which we highly recommend you try. They do a great job!

Casa de Colores offers many amenities including gorgeous and unique swimming pool with plenty of seating and towels. There is an outdoor shower for rinsing off after snorkeling in the lagoon and rinsing your gear.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architecturally Distinguished Casa on Water's Edge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150207vbi
(415) 269-2080 (California , USA)
Akumal Quintana Roo
San Francisco, CA
5

Awesome Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house was incredible, the caretakers made sure we were comfortable, the location was awesome - the perfect vacation home. We loved the furnishings, the ac in all the rooms, the spacious kitchen and living area, the pool, the lanai overlooking the beach and sharing a big cup of coffee. It was incredibly relaxing and the guides provided by the owners gave us everything we needed to plan our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Architecturally Distinguished Casa on Water's Edge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150207vbi
(415) 269-2080 (California , USA)
Akumal Quintana Roo
San Francisco, CA
5

LOVED staying at the beautiful Casa de Colores!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My friends and I had a wonderful time soaking in the sun at Casa de Colores. I would highly recommend this beautiful home with its fabulous location to everyone. All rooms in the house are open & spacious. A great location on the water with beautiful snorkeling just down the lane. I can't wait to return next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architecturally Distinguished Casa on Water's Edge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150207vbi
(415) 269-2080 (California , USA)
Akumal Quintana Roo
Millburn, NJ
5

it doesnt get better than this!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
What an amazing way to spend the holidays with family! The house is spectacular and the 9 of us had plenty of space to be together or be apart! The kitchen has everything you need and the view from the front of the house took our breath away every day we were there.
We rented golf carts to get around which the teenagers loved! They went snorkeling and to grab ice cream at the local shops.
We enjoyed the restaurants in Akumal and even explored the pueblo which was fantastic too. Gotta get some of that chicken they make in the steel drum grills. The taste is sooo yummy!
I hope we can get back to this amazing house again some day!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architecturally Distinguished Casa on Water's Edge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150207vbi
(415) 269-2080 (California , USA)
Akumal Quintana Roo
Toronto, Ontario, Cananda
5

Perfect.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The house was spacious, full of color, had every amenity one could ask for (especially in the kitchen), and was in a great location. The pool was great for the kids. We had 12 people (8 adults and 4 children) staying there for 1 week and I could always find privacy when needed or enough lounge space for everyone to sit together comfortably. It was ideal.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Architecturally Distinguished Casa on Water's Edge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150207vbi
(415) 269-2080 (California , USA)
Akumal Quintana Roo
Wisconsin, USA
5

Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My family and friends stayed at Casa De Colores in January of 2013. Every detail was perfect from the great house amenities to the staff to the ocean view from the house. We had 11 people which was no problem for the house and casita. The town of Akumal was a decent jog, but with the availability of bikes, golf carts and cars anyone can find a way into town and beyond. I will be back. Thank you for the perfect house in the perfect location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architecturally Distinguished Casa on Water's Edge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150207vbi
(415) 269-2080 (California , USA)
Akumal Quintana Roo
San Francisco CA
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Staying at Casa de Colores is an unimaginable delight! The location is perfect -
close enough to the central town area to enjoy shops and the restaurants but
sufficiently away to have privacy and tranquility.

Situated right on the point, the view of the beautiful turquoise sea couldn't be
better. When the sun got too hot on the front of the house, it was so easy to
move to the back of the house for a dip in the pool or to sit beneath a
thatched umbrella. Or stroll to the lagoon minutes away (like swimming in a
fabulous tropical aquarium).

The house is well designed for groups. I was traveling with four others and we
found it easy to be together or to individually find a quiet spot to read, take
a siesta or just gaze at all the pleasing visuals. Really nice flow to the
property, inside and out.

For pure R&R or for a super comfortable base to explore Akumal and the
surrounding areas, I don't think I could have chosen a better spot. Bottom line
- two thumbs up!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architecturally Distinguished Casa on Water's Edge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150207vbi
(415) 269-2080 (California , USA)
Akumal Quintana Roo
Orlando,Fl
5

Clean, New, Well Equipped, Luxurious accommodations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We have visited Akumal 8 times now and this is our first stay at Casa De Colores. We were thrilled with the house. A beautiful decor, comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, and refreshing pool made our stay really enjoyable. Zuma and Gabriel, the caretakers, were lovely and worked very hard to keep the house and grounds in top condition. We normally rent a condo in a small complex nearby, but we are now spoiled by the privacy afforded by a home. Thank you for making your home available for others to enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thanks, Christine. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our home so much. Please come visit us again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architecturally Distinguished Casa on Water's Edge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150207vbi
(415) 269-2080 (California , USA)
Akumal Quintana Roo
Madison, WI
5

Magical vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We had such a magical time in Akumal and a big part of that was staying in Casa de Colores -- such a wonderful place. Monica was very helpful. Gaby (gardener and more!) and Zulma (maid and cook!!) made the whole experience even better. We had them cook on Thursday and it is my favorite moment of our trip. I would highly recommend to other guests having them cook a meal earlier in the week -- the leftovers are just as good as the meal.

The snorkeling was great (barracuda, skate, eel, tons of fish, squid, sea turtles). La Buena Vida was our favorite bar and lobster at LaLunita was excellent. Having the golf cart was fun.
Casa de Colores exceeded our expectations and every couple felt that they had the best room.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Sharon. We're glad you had such a good time.
~Shelly, Eddie, Nancy and Susan.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Architecturally Distinguished Casa on Water's Edge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150207vbi
(415) 269-2080 (California , USA)
Akumal Quintana Roo
Winnetka, IL
5

The perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our small party of five (two adults, three kids aged 8, 6 and 4) totally enjoyed our stay at Casa de Colores! Every detail was perfect - the rooms so comfortable, more than enough space to spread out (even for a much larger party), wonderful views, the staff were lovely, the house was well stocked and Akumal, especially the quiet north end of the road, is a gem. We hated to head home!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3