Seal Cove cottage rental - Cottage - front view
Cottage - front view
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Seal Cove Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1.25 Baths, (Sleeps 7-8)

This outstanding property offers peacefulness and beautiful views as well as gorgeous sunsets overlooking Blue Hill Bay. This property is located right on the ocean minutes away from Acadia National Park.

In addition to all the amenities, there is an accessible dock, with kayaking, rowing, canoeing and use of a small motor boat.

This cottage built in 1989, will make you feel right at home. It has 2 bedrooms, each bedroom comes with two extra long twin beds that can be combined to form king beds. There is a loft with two twin beds a single, and a day bed. There is also a queen sleeper sofa in the living room.

There is a fully stocked kitchen, a deck with an outdoor shower. A full bath and a water closet, as well as games and books for use by renters.

Keywords: Cottage

7 Reviews of Property 214096 in Seal Cove, Maine

Seal Cove Cottage by the Shore
average rating of 4.714286 based on 7 reviews
business
Seal Cove Cottage by the Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214096vb
(678) 978-5551
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great Family Time in the Off-Season

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
What an awesome place! Our family of 5 spent the week in this wonderful cottage and were SO glad that we stayed on the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island away from the tourism mecca, Bar Harbor. We witnessed beautiful sunsets, enjoyed kayaking and canoing the cove, played board games, drove over and ate great lobster in Bernard, and were still close enough to visit Bar Harbor, take the park loop road, drive up Cadillac Mountain twice, visit the Bass Harbor Light, bike the park carriage roads (renting from a small operation in SW Harbor), and taking some nice hikes. We enjoyed just relaxing during a couple of nasty rainy days, but had a blast during our late May, early June week. The cabin has all that you need in the way of pots, pans, dishes, spices, W/Dryer, watercraft, and best of all, views and seclusion. Thanks to the owners for a great experience.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Seal Cove Cottage by the Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214096vb
(678) 978-5551
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

ideal vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
my husband and i rented this idyllic cottage for a week in july. situated at the end of a dirt road and within a short walk to the water, this place was heaven on earth for us - and our dog quite enjoyed it as well. we read books on the back deck, which points west and affords you some incredible sunsets..we have pictures of sunsets from every single evening we were there that my husband is now painting. the interior is comfortable with every amenity thought out for maximum enjoyment. beds and couches are comfy too. a path leads out to a clay tennis court, another leads down to a dock with access to boats of all kinds, both of which are shared with the two other houses on the road. the kayaking was excellent! nearby there is every conceivable hiking adventure - from short flat trails to arduous long climbs - all with stunning views of course. we really loved our hike on flying mountain, one of the lower and shorter hikes. and at the end of a day of adventure, there is great dinner to be had in southwest harbor, just 10 minutes away. we really enjoyed the food and service at 'fiddler's green.' 'breakfast at grumpy's' was perfect for - you guessed it -breakfast. bar harbor not too far for touristy stuff. the owner provided good communication about what to expect and what is expected, and our only regret is that we didn't share this amazing spot with our friends and family. we fully intend to return with more folks. thanks seal cove! for the much needed vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Seal Cove Cottage by the Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214096vb
(678) 978-5551
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Beautiful secluded spot, paddling on calm waters

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
The spot was every bit as wonderful as described and we had a wonderful week in the cottage. We thrilled to hear loons calling each other every evening and could watch them from the deck. We hadn't seen so many stars since camping at the Grand Canyon.
Enjoyed beautiful sunsets from the deck and made good use of the kayak and canoe for exploring the cove and further. The water was so calm we had no fear of venturing up and down the coast for short distances. Our last morning 3 of us were accompanied by porpoises and a seal while canoeing!
One evening a huge sailing ship floated in and anchored for the night at the edge of the cove. We watched them sail away into the morning fog the next day.
Found lots of local hikes to do and didn't feel too far from the 'action' of the busier side of the island- especially since Southwest Harbor is close and you can also rent bikes/catch ferries there. We visited before the busiest part of the season, so had no trouble finding (free) parking in the park and Bar Harbor. Enjoyed the popovers at Jordan pond twice- never knew how good they are!! Rented bikes in BH, put them on the bicycle express and the Island Explorer, and were able to ride lots of carriage roads in one day.
We loved the spot and hated to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Seal Cove Cottage by the Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214096vb
(678) 978-5551
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Concord, MA
5

A bit of Northern paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
What a serene and rejuvenating place! We have been going to the 'Cottage' for years and look forward to our time this coming summer. Kayaking, long walks, tennis, picture puzzles, card games, books and grilling...what a life:-) Restaurants galore, if you so choose. Morning showers outdoors watching the lobster boats going by and towards the end of the day cocktails watching the incredible sunsets! Some of us go for 'popovers and lemonade' at Jordon Pond, more than once. You can stay busy with all the island offers or relax enjoying the peace and quiet of the cottage. Life would not be complete without our yearly visit. Don't forget the lobsters, clams and mussels all to be found at Thurstons (we bring everything back to the cottage's well appointed kitchen for cooking)! There have been years when we have utilized seven of the beds and other years just three with the cottage being comfortable either way. Don't forget your camera!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Seal Cove Cottage by the Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214096vb
(678) 978-5551
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Concord, MA
5

A bit of Northern paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
What a serene and rejuvenating place! We have been going to the 'Cottage' for years and look forward to our time this coming summer. Kayaking, long walks, tennis, picture puzzles, card games and grilling...what a life:-) Restaurants galore if you so choose. Morning showers outdoors watching the lobster boats going by and towards the end of the day cocktails watching the incredible sunsets! Some of us have to go for 'popovers' at Jordon Pond a couple of times. You can stay busy with things to do on the island or relax at the cottage enjoying the peace and quiet. Life would not be complete without our yearly visit. Don't forget the lobsters, clams and mussels all to be found at Thurstons (we always bring everything back to the cottage to cook)!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Seal Cove Cottage by the Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214096vb
(678) 978-5551
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Concord, MA
4

A beautiful cove

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My family has rented this house for 3 summers now and is going back again. We like sitting on the deck and just watching this beautiful cove, walking down the long entrance drive through open fields to the shingle beach right on the property, and playing tennis after a morning of hiking the trails on Mt. Desert, many of which are quite convenient to this location. The house is clean, inviting and comfortable, the kitchen is well-appointed, and the owners are very accommodating.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Seal Cove Cottage by the Shore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p214096vb
(678) 978-5551
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Indianapolis, IN
4

Nice waterfront property

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We had a nice stay at the Seal Cove Cottage. It is in a great waterfront location on the quiet side of the island and is back in a secluded quiet spot. It was fun to watch the tides come in and out. It is very spacious and can hold quite a few people. It was pretty much the end of the season and a little chilly, but we made use of the kayaks one afternoon. Having boats available is a great perk. The owners were great to work with and very responsive to any of our needs. The only small negative is was the cottage was missing a few extra essential supplies and was a little dusty. Otherwise, it was a good choice. It is about 20-25 minutes to downtown Bar Harbor, but we found besides the initial afternoon of shopping in Bar Harbor, it was much more interesting to explore the other small towns on our side of the island: SW Harbor, Bernard, etc.

We would return to Seal Cove Cottage to stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway