Peaks Island house rental - Pondsea Place is a beautiful red cedar home overlooking the Great Trout Pond.
Pondsea Place is a beautiful red cedar home overlooking the Great Trout Pond.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps15
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Peaks Island House Rental Photos and Description
4 BR + Loft, 2 BA, Sleeps 15

Imagine views of a natural wooded pond and the ocean from the same marvelous place... this is a nature lover's dream! Pondsea Place is located in the back shore area of Peaks Island with 150 feet waterfront on Great Trout Pond and 100 yards from the seashore.

You can hear the ocean and smell the salt air from this beautiful cedar shingle home. There is a large 16 by 30 foot deck that overlooks the pond and a smaller deck that looks toward the ocean. The house is 2400 square feet with four bedrooms and two large bathrooms each with a jacuzzi tub/shower. There are two large indoor living areas with cathedral ceilings. The kitchen has many gourmet kitchen items and a large outdoor grill. The kitchen counters are a lovely green marble and the floors are maple hardwood and terra cotta tiles through out. The rooms are spacious and airy with large windows. It is located on two and half acres so there is plenty of room for all to have a great time. Near the ocean so bugs are no problem.

Peaks Island is the best place for relaxing!: Peaks Island is absolutely the best place in the world to come for a relaxing vacation. There is plenty to do for those who enjoy sailing, tennis, bike riding, roller blading, fishing, you name it. And for those who just want to relax ... you can do that here, too! Sun, ocean breeze, friendly people, walking by or on the beach... Peaks has it all!

Pondsea Place is the perfect place for relaxing!: Pondsea Place is 300 feet from the Atlantic seashore! Hear the ocean waves and smell the salt sea air. Pondsea Place comes with 2.5 acres of land to roam or sit quietly to watch the The Great Blue Herons, Sea Gulls, chickadees, gold finches, cardinals, or ducks! Or get out and pound the pavement as you run the 4.5 miles around the island. This is a gracious and beautifully appointed home with 'Our best vacation ever!' written all over it. Vacation amenities supplied with beach chairs, picnic basket, thermal igloo cooler, and the works! Perfect locale for wedding party or small family reunion.

Come and enjoy the sun and sea!: Don't miss out on this opportunity to enjoy the sun and sea in beautiful Maine on Casco Bay's favorite island. You will be glad you came to Peaks!

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 150051 in Peaks Island, Maine

Pondsea Place - Maine Island Vacation with Views of Water!
average rating of 4.8 based on 7 reviews
business
Pondsea Place - Maine Island Vacation with Views of Water!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150051
+1 9788076207
Peaks Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
4

A cozy spot on an amazing island

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our experience at Peaks was perfect - we never left the island and rarely used our car (mostly strollers for children or bikes). We had a total of 5 small children and 8 adults in our group and there was plenty of room for all in the cabin. The kitchen was well stocked with supplies and we mostly ate in. The house itself was very nice - plenty of space for children to spread out and play games etc. It would be even better if the downstairs could get more of a breeze w/ screen doors. the location was pretty good - near the fun indian trails which were perfect for children to hike and also close to town and our favorite beach on Greenwood St. Next time I may choose a house a bit closer to the ocean to be able to hear the water and also being near a pond there were definitely a good number of mosquitos to deal with, but nothing extreme. I would definitely recommend this house if you want something affordable and not super luxurious to use as a home base for a fun week on peak's.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your informative review. Our landscaper has applied an all natural solution for the mosquitos and our most recent guests told us that it is definitely working! Again thanks for the feedback. It was most helpful!
business
Pondsea Place - Maine Island Vacation with Views of Water!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150051
+1 9788076207
Peaks Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Spacious, clean, beautiful views. Well worth it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I stayed here with a few friends for a long weekend and we were very impressed. There rooms were great, all had comfortable beds and most had bureaus for clothing and whatnot. The kitchen appliances (fridge, stove, oven, dishwasher...) were all nice and clean and working great. The deck out back had a great view of the ocean and a smaller pond directly behind the house. I would definitely stay at Pondsea Place again!
business
Pondsea Place - Maine Island Vacation with Views of Water!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150051
+1 9788076207
Peaks Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Falmouth
5

Pondsea Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Description was accurate. Property was clean and welcoming. Owner provided lots of helpful information - where to swim, restaurants, bike rental. We had a big group of teenagers who loved exploring the island on their bikes and trying the different beaches. The house is beautifully equipped for cooking and eating. Some beds are less comfortable than others and some of the pillows were hard but there were enough to allow choices for everyone. The deck is private and spacious. We played games and ate out there a lot. The overlook is always alive with herons, gulls and just below us were a pair of black ducks always upending themselves for food. Very peaceful. We came away feeling that Peaks, especially on the Ram Island side, is extraordinarily beautiful.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Pondsea Place - Maine Island Vacation with Views of Water!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150051
+1 9788076207
Peaks Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Rhode Island
5

Worth The Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My five friends and I spent a long weekend celebrating our fiftieth year at Pondsea. Everything we could have wanted and more was available to us. We'd all go back and plan on doing so in the near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your appreciative words! It is a genuine pleasure to host bithdays, family reunions, small weddings and other occasions for celebration at Pondsea Place. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Pondsea Place - Maine Island Vacation with Views of Water!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150051
+1 9788076207
Peaks Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

A Wonderful Vacation House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We have just returned from a great week staying at Pondsea Place.

The kids (12 and 14 year olds) had lots of room to roam and to just chill out. The adults had a great kitchen to work in, lots of room for relaxing on the deck, and the peace of Peaks Island.

Pondsea Place is close enough to the ferry landing area so that biking over for ice cream or an ocassional item from the store is easy, but far enough away that the day-trip crowd never comes by. We rented bikes for the week and did not miss having a car at all.

This house is well-cared for, clean, and spacious. We'll be back.

(one note: the oven wasn't working at full strength while we were there, so we could not bake, but I'm sure it has been fixed)
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you Tamara for your great review! Today we bought a brand new gas range. We love keeping things in great condition for our guests. We look forward to having you and your family back again!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Pondsea Place - Maine Island Vacation with Views of Water!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150051
+1 9788076207
Peaks Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

The layout of the house is ideal, plenty of space

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My family has been going to Peaks Island for generations and we have so many wonderful memories. This year I wanted all of my family to be together in one house so I rented Pondsea Place mostly because of the size. It was beyond my expectations. My kids and I stayed the whole week and were able to accommodate all the other family and friends that came to visit us quite comfortably. The layout of the house is ideal, allowing plenty of space to all be together or find a little peace and quiet for yourself. The setting is beautiful and the location is perfect. From the deck we could see the pond below and the ocean beyond, I don’t know another spot on the island that offers this view. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a large, clean beautiful home for their vacation.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Pondsea Place - Maine Island Vacation with Views of Water!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150051
+1 9788076207
Peaks Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

We had an absolutely wonderful time!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Hi Carolyn,


We had an absolutely wonderful time up on the island, your home is beautiful. If you ever need anyone to supply a recommendation for your property please let me know.

All the best,

Shelley
Helpful votes: 1/2