Dominical villa rental - The main lodge - pool view
The main lodge - pool view
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps22
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Dominical Villa Rental Photos and Description
8 BR, 8 bath, 5 in the main house and 3 in the garden complex, max 22-28 guests.

Upscale property in a beautiful, secluded mountain setting with panoramic vistas toward the ocean at Dominical. 8 BR total, 5 in the main house and 3 optional guest rooms in the garden complex. 2-26 guests. In ground pool, Spa and workout center in adjacent gardens. Fully staffed with daily concierge, housekeeping, maintenance, evening cooks and security. The very well equipped main house (6000 sf/ on 3 levels) sits on a private jungle reserve of 66 acres which has 5 large waterfalls, jungle swimming holes, two rivers, spring fed creeks. There are tended hiking trails and quiet country roads. Los Aires is a bird watchers paradise. Monkeys and toucans frequent the property daily. Cool evening temperatures and warm days. Lots of jungle adventures and hiking/horseback riding. Close to Nauyaca Waterfalls, Dominical Beach and Guabo River rafting.

The villa was originally built as a jungle guest house by my uncle. We have enlarged the hiking trail network and gardens and converted the property to a vacation rental. I still have full time work in Florida but enjoy as much time off as I can get in the jungles of Costa Rica.

Cindy Peck / Stephen Saletta purchased this villa in 2007

Our location is key - a secluded tropical mountain setting yet close to the ocean and town. The area is secure and access is easy. In addition, the temperature is moderate here at the higher altitude and the variety of wildlife is amazing.

Set on 60 acres of private tropical forest with jungle swimming pools and waterfalls make this property unique. We have hiking trails to access the natural wonders around us. There is a full staff to insure your comfort. Our concierge comes each morning to cook breakfast and is available to help arrange the days activities. Housekeepers tidy up each day and there is 24 hours per day security. The cooks will come each evening on request and charge just a very modes fee,

We have a 12 passenger van on site to shuttle guests to the airport, beach or activities. The driver charges the same as local taxi rates.

16 Reviews of Property 150041 in Dominical, Costa Rica

Jungle Villa with full staff. Toucans, Mountains & Waterfalls!
average rating of 4.866667 based on 16 reviews
business
Jungle Villa with full staff. Toucans, Mountains & Waterfalls!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150041
Dominical Puntarenas
Charlotte, nc
3

Good trip

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed at Villa Los Aires in February 2014 for 6 nights. We had a great time. The use is beautiful and the views are breathtaking. Viviana and her husband did a great job accommodating us. They were extremely helpful and flexible with out big group of people. They did a great job cooking meals for us, and accommodating members of our group with food allergies. Viviana set up snorkeling and white water rafting trips for us, both of which we're amazing. She also recommending a certain company for zip lining which we ended up doing on our own. Again, it was an amazing time. We couldn't have asked for better caretakers.

Here are a few things people may want to consider before renting:

1. One of the rooms in the main house does not have AC.

2. The weather was beautiful. No rain, no wind, sunny days, yet the house is in the mountains of Central America which is why I think we lost power almost everyday we were there. Once we lost power for about 12 hours, but according to Viviana the whole area did. It was from approximately 10pm to 10am. It must happen pretty often since all the rooms are equip with battery powered LED light strips which was helpful. The unhelpful thing is about half of them didn't work, and none of them worked in our room. To use the bathrooms we took pool water in a 5 gallon jug and hauled it up to our rooms to fill the toilet tank. We were okay with all of this because it's all part of the adventure. But I think it would be helpful for others to know.

2. The hot water didn't work in our bedroom for the first 2 days we're were there and the cold water didn't work in the upstairs bedroom the entire time we were there.

3. The hottub didn't work while we were there which out of everything was probably the one thing we were disappointed about. The nights were cool and it was perfect hottub weather.

4. One screen in our bedroom windows was old and had tears in it. One tear was quite large.

5. The chess set was ill maintained with spider webs all over it and debris on the board.

6. Their website says the hiking trails are maintained, but they are not. There is a large waterfall pictured on their website, but the trail is no longer there. We never found it after a day of hiking.

We had a great time at Villa Los Aires. Thank you very much
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Jungle Villa with full staff. Toucans, Mountains & Waterfalls!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150041
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Excellent choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We truly enjoyed our vacation at this villa. The description and amenities of it were accurate, the property is meticulously clean and well maintained. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We surely recommend it.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Jungle Villa with full staff. Toucans, Mountains & Waterfalls!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150041
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Beautiful Private Estate

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The home was more beautiful than the pictures shown on the website. One of our favorite days spent in Costa Rica was the day we hiked down to the waterfalls and river on your property. Viviana was very helpful and made reservations and maps to guide us to the waterfalls, a zip line tour and horseback riding day. Christian attended to all our requests around the home. The toucans came every morning to entertain us during breakfast! With eight family members the chess set on the lawn, gym, jacuzzi, pool and gardens were all enjoyed! Please thank all your staff for their services we had a wonderful stay at your home.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Jungle Villa with full staff. Toucans, Mountains & Waterfalls!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150041
Dominical Puntarenas
Huntington Beach, CA
5

Spring Break in Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Villa Los Aires delivers on every promise! The villa, the staff, the food, the amenities, the wildlife - BEST vacation ever. Many, many thanks to Henry and Viviana for making this stay a memory our family will never forget!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Jungle Villa with full staff. Toucans, Mountains & Waterfalls!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150041
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Secluded paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I stayed there with 11 friends for my 50th birthday party, there was nothing we weren't pleased with. The estate is a beautiful open-air property, with plenty of room for all of us. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the building, grounds and pool were kept clean and maintained during our entire stay there. One vehicle was late in arriving (3am) due to a late flight, but one of the staff was still awake and waiting for them to arrive safely when they finally arrived. It's a bit of a drive to get there from San Jose airport (around 4.5 hours), but it's worth it for the seclusion and beauty. It's secluded, you can be as loud as you want to be, and enjoy nature from the pool (toucans land in the trees every day by the pool, and monkeys howl in the morning). We had several lunches and dinners cooked and were happy with the meals. We took several day trips to scuba dive, zipline, ATV ride and hang out at the beach, so it's a great home base for adventures. I recommend a 4 wheel drive vehicle, the dirt road leading there is pretty rough for a sedan-type vehicle and would be tough to navigate if it was muddy. Very happy with our stay there, and thanks to Stephan for his help in answering our questions and booking our trip. You won't be disappointed!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Jungle Villa with full staff. Toucans, Mountains & Waterfalls!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150041
Dominical Puntarenas
Carmel, IN
5

Beautiful Villa with Stunning Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Los Aires is a beautiful place for a large family or group of dear friends to stay who are adventure seekers. We had a family reunion with 13 members aging from 17 to 77 and it was the most memorable experience that we have all shared together. Because of its isolated location and logistical challenges, we relied heavily on the staff which were very accommodating. I arranged in advance and prepaid with Stephen, the owner, to have meals prepared for all of us each day of our visit. In addition to the fruit and cereal already included, Viviana prepared eggs and bacon or pancakes for breakfast. Patricia prepared delicious dinners for us every evening and Henry drove us to most destinations. It was expensive to have these services but well worth it because it allowed us to completely relax and enjoy our stay. No shopping, cooking and cleaning! Viviana, the concierge, did an excellent job arranging daily excursions. As someone who is neurotic about safety, we had complete confidence in the guides she recommended for Cano Island/Corcovado National Park; white water rafting on the Savegre River (even our experienced kayakers enjoyed the 2-3 rapids) with Dominical Surf Adventures; surfing; zip lining at Mid World (double cables and the guides brake for the zip liners--no frayed zip lines); and a tour of Manuel Antonio National Park with Miguel (very knowledgeable and has a monocular for viewing wildlife). Extra information--The property is down a long, very steep, unpaved road and requires a 4 wheel drive vehicle with a powerful engine to access it...12-16 minute drive to a paved road. We rented from Solid Car Rental, in Dominical, a Mitsubishi Nativa automatic and it handled beautifully. Have the car delivered to Los Aires. My 24 year old nephew sliced his chin and needed stitches. Viviana recommended a clean, well equipped clinic in San Isidro and it was an excellent experience. Late July and early August is a wonderful time to be at the Villa. We did all of our activities in the morning and early afternoon and were home by about 3-4 pm when it started to rain. If you hike to Nauyaca Falls on your own and want to jump off the falls, you might want to make sure guides are at the sight and available to help you climb the rocks with their ropes and show you the safe spots to jump and swim. Knowledge of Spanish is also very helpful! Finally and most importantly, Los Aires is all that it promises in its photographs and description!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Jungle Villa with full staff. Toucans, Mountains & Waterfalls!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150041
Dominical Puntarenas
United States
5

Amazing Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed for almost two weeks at this home and absolutely loved it! There are monkeys and all kinds of wildlife on the property, you have the most amazing views in the world, and you are in a part of the country that is still relatively free from tourists!

Advice for anyone considering this property:
You have the option of using the services of Viviana - who is something of a guide / translator / consierge. She was AMAZING - definitely use her recommendations for the best trips and where to go.
The roads are all paved except the final part of the road to the house. It is a muddy hill that takes about 15 minutes so be prepared for that. I would recommend, depending on your group size, renting a 4x4 car or using Henry as a driver. We tried using a second driver who couldnt make it up the hill. Henry knows the area excellently and people here seem to know him as well.
Finally, the experience was made complete because we enjoyed fresh cooked dinners every night. I would say this is a necessity. You may be tempted to eat out or cook for yourself but you wont beat the price and quality of the cooking but Hernan and his wife. They cooked excellent meals every night and left us 100% satisfied.
The house is very secluded which is amazing but is something you need to consider. It takes half an hour to get to the beach at Dominical (I recommend Playa Hermosa for swimming / sunbathing) and an hour+ to the touristy area of Quepos. This was fine for us but it means that, among other things, eating logistics can get difficult and stressful. That is just another reason to use the food services offered at the house.

We loved our stay and are already planning a return trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Jungle Villa with full staff. Toucans, Mountains & Waterfalls!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150041
Dominical Puntarenas
Chardon, Oh, USA
5

Los Aires Jungle Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Los Aires comfortably suited our family of thirteen. The area is remote and quiet, with beautiful waterfall excursions nearby. I recommend always using the cook for dinner as there are no nearby restaurants, and the drive from 243 is a steep, curvy dirtroad. We ordered in lunch and it was both reasonable and good. The included breakfast was the same everyday, cereal and fresh fruit juice and coffee.

Avoid arriving on Sunday as the drive from San Jose was very long since the new toll road wasn't open. The return trip was much better, making use of the toll road. Bring plenty of cash, since all groceries(add 18% service charge), meals, taxiing, tipping must be in cash...Even the fishing excursion ($800) had to be cash...The nearest ATM is over 1/2 hour away...

The concierge and property manager/taxi were accomodating in every way.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Jungle Villa with full staff. Toucans, Mountains & Waterfalls!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150041
Dominical Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Guests from Germany at Villa Los Aires

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Hi Stephen,

our trip was absolutly great. Everyone was happy and we had a lot of fun. Special thanks to viviana, patricia, henry, rolando and jorge it was a really good time for us with you.

best regards
KS
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Jungle Villa with full staff. Toucans, Mountains & Waterfalls!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p150041
Dominical Puntarenas
Colorado
5

A Family Paradise Like No Other

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We stayed at Los Aires in January 2011 and it was one of the most amazing experiences ever. Our group had 2 families, including 5 children, ages 3 - 9. The lay out of the house was perfect for our group and the pool was great for the kids. It was warm, had a shallow area for the youngest member, and was just outside the living area, so supervision was easy. As all the bedrooms are upstairs, we felt we could put the children to bed and continue our evening. The theater room was KEY for giving the kids a little "down time" every day. The view is UNBELIEVABLE and it was so refreshing to look out and only see jungle and no neighbors. We hiked to all the waterfalls on the property, most of which the children made it too. The nice thing about Los Aires is that you will never run out of things to do.

The house was very clean and well-decorated, with comfortable beds. The staff, especially Viviana and Henry, were so accommodating, and the meals by Patricia were amazing. We had her cook 5 out of 7 nights and had no regrets. The food was varied and delicious. Having staff on site was so nice and made you feel very secure...but they gladly gave us privacy whenever we asked for it.

We LOVED our stay here. We were close to so many activities and the beach, without the hustle and bustle of tourists. We cannot recommend Los Aires enough. We hope to return next year! Do not hesitate to rent this home...you will not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 10/10