Center Harbor house rental - Picturesque view from the house
Picturesque view from the house
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Center Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 6

Get away from it all. 1 1/2 acres with 250' waterfront single level property on pristine Lake Winona. Great for fishing/kayaking. A relaxed wooded setting with a gorgeous view of the lake from the deck and from sliders off of the master bedroom. Arrive and relax, because all the beds are made for you prior to your arrival. Away from home, but only a short 10 min. drive from Weirs beach / Winnipesaukee area, with many shops and restaurants. Property features: WiFi, cozy living area with hardwood floors, wood stove, knotty pine, washer/dryer, gas stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, toaster oven, microwave. 3 Br (full, queen, 2 twins), 1 full remodeled bathroom. All linens and towels are provided. 10 x 24' deck facing waterfront, 4 x 16' floating dock. New 10 x 10 patio near the shoreline with firepit and seating for campfires.

Waterfront - great fishing right on the lake!, 4 miles from golf course, 10 minutes from Winnipesaukee/Weirs Beach/shopping, 40 minutes from White Mountain National Forest, 20 minutes from Gunstock Resort

Motorized boats are allowed on the lake; however, you will see mostly small motorized fishing vessels and kayakers, with occasional swimmers across the lake. The property includes 3 kayaks and an array of water toys to use and enjoy during your stay.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of six who have lived in New England all of our lives. We have 4 boys, Erik and Liam, our ' human' boys, in addition to Angus and Brady, who are our 'canine' boys. We enjoy all outdoor activities, which is why this vacation home has so much to offer. By way of example, the property offers 2 docks, an outdoor firepit, outdoor seating areas, a variety of floats, toys and 3 kayaks for your enjoyment.

Paige Sweeney & Jim McMahon purchased this house in 2005

This property has been slowly updated and carefully maintained. This is our only rental and we manage it ourselves. When you call the phone number, you call the owners direct, not a management corporation. We use this property during the off-season, so it is our second home and we care about it very much.

A rural feel and setting, while only a 10 minute drive to Laconia (The Weirs), as well as many shops and restaurants on Meredith Bay on Lake Winnipesaukee. We are one of few owners who allow dogs, as this is a full family friendly setting. At night, it is very dark so you can see the stars and so quiet you can hear all the sounds of nature including crickets, frogs, loons and owls.

11 Reviews of Property 149949 in Center Harbor, New Hampshire

Lake Winona Vacation Rental, Lakes Region, Waterfront, Quiet, Wooded
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Lake Winona Vacation Rental, Lakes Region, Waterfront, Quiet, Wooded
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149949
+1 7812642292
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had the best vacation ever! My son brought his two children (3&7yrs) for the weekend and everyone had a fabulous time. The house was clean, beautifully decorated and had all the amenities we could have wished for -and more! We enjoyed swimming, kayaking, lazing around on the deck and, of course, 'smores around the fire pit. There is plenty to see and do in the vicinity, but we did very little sightseeing and opted to stay by the lake and let its quiet beauty take away the stress of city living. I cannot say enough about this wonderful home away from home except to say, thank you Paige and Jim for allowing us into your incredible lake house. We hope to return very soon. I highly recommend this house to anyone who wants to get away from it all, and still have all the comforts of home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Winona Vacation Rental, Lakes Region, Waterfront, Quiet, Wooded
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149949
+1 7812642292
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Lake stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Well, all the kids want to come back next year..so guess that says it all! Especially since they had to leave all electronic devices home!
We really enjoyed being able to watch the kids from the deck or the docks, and know that they would be safe.
The water toys and variety of boats was a real treat....the kids took advantage of all of them, as did the adults. For the little ones the sandy beach area gave them a place to play and wade safely. And having a variety of sizes of life jackets to chose from made it easy to have everyone safe in the water.
The town nearby provided some fun shopping and exploring, although we basically stayed home and played! And even when the weather wasn't the best, the variety of inside toys and games for all ages kept everyone having busy and having fun.
We had a fine time and hope to be able to repeat next year.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lake Winona Vacation Rental, Lakes Region, Waterfront, Quiet, Wooded
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149949
+1 7812642292
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

absolutely wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This was our first stay but it will not be our last. We have been to all 50 states and this is number one in our book. This home has everything warmth, charm, convenient location and magnificent view of the lake. We were not disappointed it is a perfect getaway and can be enjoyed by both couples or family. Thanks Paige for a wonderful vacation.

Bernice Charlie and Sarah (Woof)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Winona Vacation Rental, Lakes Region, Waterfront, Quiet, Wooded
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149949
+1 7812642292
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
Sandown, NH
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Everything we wanted and then some. Fun in the water, lots of attractions nearby, and outlet shopping just a few miles away. The cottage was very well stocked and we wanted for nothing. We will be back next year!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Winona Vacation Rental, Lakes Region, Waterfront, Quiet, Wooded
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149949
+1 7812642292
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Great Destination

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was our second stay at this fabulous lake house. It is definitely a home away from home, as it has everything you could possibly need. The house is very clean and cozy, and the outdoor area is great with the deck and the two docks and the surrounding property is very nice. It's wonderful to just relax next to the lake and do some kayaking, or it's just a short drive into town with plenty of restaurants and shops. It's also pet friendly, which is great for people who like to travel with their dogs. Our lab had a great time! We will hopefully be back again next year. Thanks Paige and Jim.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lake Winona Vacation Rental, Lakes Region, Waterfront, Quiet, Wooded
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149949
+1 7812642292
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

The Perfect Vacation Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My family and I enjoyed a delightful stay at this property in July 2012. The cottage contains all the amenities of home including AC in the 2 of the 3 bedrooms, dishwasher, microwave and washer & dryer. The master bedroom has a fan with sliding doors, so really doesn't need AC. You may want to bring along a portable fan for the living room if you are going during a very hot and humid week (like we had).

In addition to all of the amenities in the home, outside there is a great beach area; 2 different docks; kayaks and plenty of life jackets for the entire family to use. There is a fabulous back porch that has surrounding trees to provide relief from the sun and still keep an eye on the water. There is also a gas grill right by the porch.

The part of the lake where this house is situated is fairly shallow, so probably good for someone who had younger children. Getting into the water is fairly shallow (although you will want water shoes as there are a few rocks and sticks in the water) and makes for easy entry in and out of the water. The lake seems to be extremely quiet during the week and many mornings as I sat on the dock drinking my coffee, it was just me and the Loons! Beautiful site to watch those birds.

There were plenty of little fish to provide hours of entertainment while fishing. We never did quite reel in 'the big one' but I am sure there must be a few of them out there. Watch the mosquito's as they seem to appear like clockwork around 8PM. By 9PM you will be swarmed if you don't use some type of spray on you or around you.

As a past Lake Winnepesaukee renter, I was very pleased to realize that this lake is literally right around the corner from Lake Winnie. The location is very centrally located to anything you could need from a grocery store to restaurant to Weirs Beach.

We are hoping to be able to rent this property again in the future, as we really felt like we found a gem. Thanks so much Paige and Jim for allowing us to enjoy your home for the week.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lake Winona Vacation Rental, Lakes Region, Waterfront, Quiet, Wooded
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149949
+1 7812642292
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
manlius, n.y.
5

great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We spent a week here in July, one of the hottest this summer, yet we were comfortable and truly enjoyed the lake. The kayaks were a wonderful asset. Tthe house had everything you need and we would love to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Lake Winona Vacation Rental, Lakes Region, Waterfront, Quiet, Wooded
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149949
+1 7812642292
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
baltic,ct
5

great experiance

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
My family and our dog stayed on Lake Winona for 10 days in Feb. We had a wonderful time, very relaxing. It was great for ice fishing and ice skating. The web site didn't do it justice for how beautiful the views were and how cute the house was. The location was great, private yet close to some local attractions. We highly recommend this house and would go back again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Lake Winona Vacation Rental, Lakes Region, Waterfront, Quiet, Wooded
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149949
+1 7812642292
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
Peabody Ma
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We think this home is beautiful and cozy. Our favorite restaurant is TBones in Laconia.The only draw back for us couldn't have a camp fire outside,we are use to having when renting. Would recomend this house to friends and family. The owner is very nice to work with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Lake Winona Vacation Rental, Lakes Region, Waterfront, Quiet, Wooded
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149949
+1 7812642292
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
Folsom PA
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We just got back from our vacation at this lovely home in New Hampshire. The house was as described on the web site. The furnishings were comfortable and the house was very clean. Having a washer and drier was very handy.
We would recomend this house to our friends and family.
We are all retired and had a great time relaxing, fishing, enjoying nature and sightseeing.
Our favorite restaurant was The Canoe in Center Harbour.
I do have some mobility problems but am able to walk up steps with a railing which this house does have.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 10/11