Carmel house rental - Pacific View Retreat
Pacific View Retreat
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Carmel House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 3 baths, 1/2 bath, sleeps 12-16

Watching the sunset over the Pacific Ocean, marveling at the beauty and craftsmanship of this handsome home, the perfect proportions of the architecture, the superb choice of wood and appointments, the crafted and stylized door handles and yacht quality cabinetry brings a sense of joy, serenity and knowing that people who really care built this home. Nestled between two canyons yet within walking distance of the historic Highlands Inn and renowned Point Lobos State Park, this place is a perfect get-away retreat for reflection and remembering what matters in life; a great place for reunions, family gatherings, joyous reconnections; a serene place for relieving the stress of life through immersion in the wondrous presence of nature.

Virtual tour available at pacificviewretreat.com

Nestled between two canyons yet within walking distance of the historic Highlands Inn and renowned Point Lobos State Park, this place is a perfect getaway retreat for reflection and remembering what matters in life; a great place for reunions, family gatherings, joyous reconnections; a serene place for relieving the stress of life through immersion in the wondrous presence of nature. Awake in the midst of a Monterey Pine Forest to birdsong and repose at night to the crashing sound of waves and the sea lions barking in the distance. Enjoy a card game with friends by the fire or a glass of wine while admiring Bird Rock of Point Lobos State Park from the den. Indulge yourself in the relaxing warmth of the hot tub or renew your spirit in the upstairs sauna. Revel in the true pleasure of being alive and experiencing the love of God through his most beautiful creations.

Pacific View Retreat is ideal for reunions, special birthdays and anniversaries, wedding groups,and corporate retreats.

This house was not just built, it was artfully molded throughout. The front door is an artistic master piece, a stunning large block of redwood with a door handle crafted into a beautiful curve much like a whale’s tale. The cabinetry is exquisite - made from exotic woods including mahogany, cherry, Alaskan cedar and Pacific Coast redwood. Each room is a unique statement of appreciation and gratitude for nature’s beauty - including fine artwork, hand painted sinks, hardwood floors, and hand crafted furniture. The immense master suite has its own study/ exercise room where you can view the Pacific while cycling on the exercise bike or work on your laptop while enjoying view of Point Lobos. Not a detail was missed in this architectural spectacle designed by local architect, Peter Davis.

Spacious and clean, this 4000 square ft. house provides plenty of quiet private space as well as grand joining spaces. It is large enough to find a quiet corner for reading or meditating and has ample together spaces for playing board games, chatting over the day's visit to local sites, or relaxing in front of a movie. The spacious kitchen with adjoining greenhouse breakfast nook is alive with morning sun and a fun space for group cooking and cheer. In the great room, the formal walnut hand crafted dining table can seat twelve for large dinner gatherings in the warmth of the fire place. The large windows throughout the house bring nature inside, with magnificent scenic views that create the feeling that nature outside and inside are integrated. Two decks provide sweeping ocean views. Pacific View Retreat sleeps 12 in 3 kings, 2 queens and 2 twin beds. 2 sleeper sofas (1king and 1queen) can accommodate another 4 guests.

More Details
Hide Details

57 Reviews of Property 149926 in Carmel, California

Dramatic ocean views from Pacific View Retreat in beautiful Carmel Highlands
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 57 reviews
business
Dramatic ocean views from Pacific View Retreat in beautiful Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149926
+1 831 236-8186
Carmel Central Coast California
Laguna Beach CA
5

Guestbook Comment

We just spent a week at Pacific View Retreat for a family reunion/retreat/celebration. It was just the perfect house for the eight of us, both the ho...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2007
  • Stayed: May 2007
We just spent a week at Pacific View Retreat for a family reunion/retreat/celebration. It was just the perfect house for the eight of us, both the house itself and the location. It was overcast nearly all the time and we didn't even care. The house is very well appointed, beautifully designed, and offers enough space for solitude when wanted or room for eight to sit comfortably. It is an easy drive to many of the most beautiful spots in the area and there are easy and spectacular walks not more than two miles down the road.
Helpful votes: 16/17
business
Dramatic ocean views from Pacific View Retreat in beautiful Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149926
+1 831 236-8186
Carmel Central Coast California
5

Paradise in Carmel Heights

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The views from this property are absolutely phenomenal. Every night we would watch the sunset over the Pacific ocean. The view is much more beautiful and open than pictured above. The location is next to Point Lobos, which is a fantastic nature preserve for harbor seals, california sea lions, sea otters, and various water fowl. It is just minutes by car to Carmel, Pebble Beach and 30 minutes to Big Sur allowing for nearby golf, hiking, shopping, and beach lounging. The house is comfortable and furnished beautifully with redwood interior. Keith was very helpful and accomodating. We appreciated his hospitality (recommendations on things to do in the area and the welcoming bottle of wine). We will be back to try and experience all of the activities he recommended for us. Thanks again Keith.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Karla

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so thrilled you had such a great time. I look forward to you and your group getting to return!

Keith
business
Dramatic ocean views from Pacific View Retreat in beautiful Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149926
+1 831 236-8186
Carmel Central Coast California
Bay Area
5

GREAT PLACE FOR LARGE GATHERINGS, GORGEOUS VIEW AND HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Stayed here for a short church retreat this past weekend and it was absolutely amazing. The view alone was worth it. The house was also very beautiful and comfortably furnished. The group really enjoyed the hot tub outside. You won't be disappointed by this place - great location, great view, and great house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Dramatic ocean views from Pacific View Retreat in beautiful Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149926
+1 831 236-8186
Carmel Central Coast California
Sacramento
5

Absolutely Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This was a first for us. We hosted a Young Women's retreat. Coming up the driveway, the ladies were so excited to see the place. It was perfect. My 32 year old daughter, one of the young women, kissed me she was so pleased. It accommodated our group of 17 women. We had a blast, made use of the hot tub one night. We just loved it. As to how we can top the Pacific View Retreat with the awesome views, and the feeling of seclusion, I don't know. Keith, you were wonderful. The one thing we could not get going was the fireplace. Thanks so much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dramatic ocean views from Pacific View Retreat in beautiful Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149926
+1 831 236-8186
Carmel Central Coast California
San Francisco, CA
5

Wonderful Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My friends and I were looking for a house for ten people to celebrate a birthday weekend. When I first saw photos of the Pacific View Retreat, I was blown away. I thought it would never look this amazing in person... I was so wrong! It is a gorgeous house with amazing views. It was incredibly clean and spacious with plenty of privacy. It is in a perfect location to get to the park and beaches. A Safeway is just down the street as well, which helped us to prepare meals in the beautiful kitchen that was provided. I highly recommend this house and working with Keith was a true pleasure. He made everything painless. I only hope my friends and I can make more memories here.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Dramatic ocean views from Pacific View Retreat in beautiful Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149926
+1 831 236-8186
Carmel Central Coast California
Paris - France
3

Nice house, but not the paradise

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We loved the area, Carmel is really amazing. The Pacific View Retreat is a very big house, used to be spectacular, but getting old fashioned in term of equipment and the outdoor furniture must be changed totaly. Was certainly on top in the 70's. Anyway the view from the house is really nice but no access to the coast.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Dramatic ocean views from Pacific View Retreat in beautiful Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149926
+1 831 236-8186
Carmel Central Coast California
Santa Cruz, CA USA
5

Exceeds all expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We rented the Pacific View Retreat for July 4th weekend. I don't typically write reviews, but this was such an amazing property that I felt compelled to write. The photographs of this estate simply do not do it justice. Even if you're not an architectural buff, you'll appreciate the beauty and craftsmanship of this home, not to mention the shocking views over the Pacific.

The amenities are top notch--we cooked great meals, relaxed in the sauna and hot tub, watched movies on the flat screen and took it easy in the spacious living room. You can walk to the general store for supplies, and take a very short drive to Point Lobos State Park, which is one of the greats. The house is also well positioned to cruise south into breathtaking Big Sur or eat at some of the greatest restaurants on the central coast.

Amazing house, gracious owners, great time. If you're going to be in the area, I strongly suggest the Pacific View Retreat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Dramatic ocean views from Pacific View Retreat in beautiful Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149926
+1 831 236-8186
Carmel Central Coast California
CA
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
This retreat provided an incredible opportunity to experience God's magnificent creation! For a weekend in January, a group of us girls who are all teachers decided to take a short vacation. The Pacific Retreat is the perfect spot for relaxing and touring the central coast. On arriving to the retreat, we were overwhelmed by the stunning woodwork and aesthetic appeal of our lodging. Gazing through the windows, we were mesmerized by the grandeur of the Pacific ocean. Along with the incredible scenery, the Pacific Retreat provides very comfortable sleeping accommodations. To top it off, there is also a jacuzzi that overlooks the ocean. The peaceful location of this retreat will truly allow for a restful vacation! Thank you Pacific Retreat for the incredible stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I really appreciate it. I am so glad you had such a great time.

Sincerely,

Keith Krone
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dramatic ocean views from Pacific View Retreat in beautiful Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149926
+1 831 236-8186
Carmel Central Coast California
Laguna Beach
5

A Wonderful Stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We absolutely loved the Pacific View Retreat. The view from the house was gorgeous and the house itself was beautiful, very clean and well stocked. It accommodated our group of eleven people (6 adults and 5 children) perfectly. The house was comfortable and its location is great for exploring the Carmel area. We highly recommend the Pacific View Retreat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dramatic ocean views from Pacific View Retreat in beautiful Carmel Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149926
+1 831 236-8186
Carmel Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary with friends in this gorgeous house. Thank you for making this a perfect weekend! We will tell others about this ideal getaway.

Thanks for everything!

Carlo and Naomi Iaccarino
Helpful votes: 3/4