Lost River farmhouse rental - Wake up to this view. Classic WV farmhouse, real farm, real animals.
Wake up to this view. Classic WV farmhouse, real farm, real animals.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lost River Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 5-6

Constructed in the 1930’s , this classic, West Virginia farmhouse located in Lost City, Lost River is sure to warm your heart. Hardwood floors, antique fixtures, a gas cast iron stove and comfortable furniture provide a casual, country atmosphere. The location provides breathtaking vistas of the mountains from every window, the screened porch, and large back deck.

This vacation home sits on a paved road and is surrounded by thirteen acres and has eight resident goats, turkeys and a few chickens. Beyond that and within walking distance are the rest of the million plus acres that make up the George Washington National Forest.

Three great bedrooms make the home perfect for families or couples - two rooms each with a queen bed and a third room with one twin bed. All linens are provided for you. There are two full baths, one upstairs and one down. Soak in the claw foot tub with windows that overlook the mountains.

From Washingtonian Magazine : 'The Lost River Valley of West Virginia has been found.'

'Tucked between two mountain ridges, the valley—a couple of hours from Washington—is drawing more weekenders. The lure is rugged woodland scenery, tumbling mountain streams, and outdoor fun—hiking, fishing, biking, canoeing, swimming, rafting, climbing, horseback riding.' -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Many of our weekly guests drive the two hours to DC for a day trip to see the sights. We can steer you towards a bus company in DC that offers a driving tour of DC that allows you to get a glimpse of everything in one day.

Home Amenities ---: There is a fully equipped kitchen with microwave, dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker, etc.There is a washer and dryer in the basement if you need it. House has central heat and A/C.

During your visit, explore the property and surrounding area on foot or by car. Rolling Meadows, rocky crags, cool forests, mountain streams and great vistas wait. Nearby Lost River State Park maintains miles of hiking trails and a horse stable in the summer. Climb or ride to Cranny Crow—elevation 3,200 feet—for commanding panoramas.

Watch satellite TV or listen to satellite radio (dvr included) or do some star gazing with the telescope provided on the back deck. Or just enjoy sitting by the fireplace,on the porch swing or on the sunporch take a nap, read a book, all without ever leaving the property.

Your dogs will love the farm!: Well-mannered pets permitted with an additional pet rent. Backyard is completely and separately fenced for dogs! (no goats in the dog area) and there is a doggy door for dogs under 30 lbs. Dogs love hiking on the marked trails throughout the uncrowded GW National Forest. Take them down the road for a romp in the mountain stream or let them watch the goats and chickens through the fence.

More Details
Hide Details

60 Reviews of Property 149422 in Lost River, West Virginia

3 br/2ba Classic WV Farmhouse Escape/13 acres/Great views/Pets OK/TV/A/C!
average rating of 4.983333 based on 60 reviews
business
3 br/2ba Classic WV Farmhouse Escape/13 acres/Great views/Pets OK/TV/A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149422
+1 7035685375
Lost River West Virginia
Richmond, Va
5

Guestbook Comment

Had a great time at the Farmhouse. Love the goats and chickens. The house has loads of charm and character. Mark and Phil are great hosts. Will ma...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2007
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
Had a great time at the Farmhouse. Love the goats and chickens. The house has loads of charm and character. Mark and Phil are great hosts. Will make this a long weekend habit. Looking forward to future visits.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 br/2ba Classic WV Farmhouse Escape/13 acres/Great views/Pets OK/TV/A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149422
+1 7035685375
Lost River West Virginia
5

Five Guys

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
5 of us came up for the weekend and we really enjoyed are stay. The process of renting was easy. The house is nice, clean, and in a quiet area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
3 br/2ba Classic WV Farmhouse Escape/13 acres/Great views/Pets OK/TV/A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149422
+1 7035685375
Lost River West Virginia
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was the perfect getaway for me and my wife. The farmhouse was great and the views were outstanding. Our dog was in heaven, running around the fenced yard and constantly fascinated by the nearby goats & chickens. The best part for us was sitting on the deck with a glass of wine and enjoying the sunset over the mountains. All around a perfect getaway, we'll be returning.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 br/2ba Classic WV Farmhouse Escape/13 acres/Great views/Pets OK/TV/A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149422
+1 7035685375
Lost River West Virginia
5

Wonderful Visit!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a wonderful time we had at the Lost River Farmhouse. Our sons were overjoyed to see "their" goats again this year and what a great surprise to find two little peeps - baby chicks in the hen house. The weather was lovely and the AC inside was just perfect! We had a great dinner at the B&B and spent three days at the 'beach' at Trout Pond. What a wonderful place to get away from the hustle and bustle of life!
business
3 br/2ba Classic WV Farmhouse Escape/13 acres/Great views/Pets OK/TV/A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149422
+1 7035685375
Lost River West Virginia
Washington, DC
5

Best Thanksgiving Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My extended family (and dogs) had a wonderful time at the farmhouse. It was so very cozy and relaxing. As everyone has said, the goats and chickens are entertaining and the muffins were delicious! I think we fought over who got to nap on the back couch in the sunroom. GW Forest is right around the bend, and we were able to get in many hikes on different, very quiet trails. Lost river is great. Definitely check out the artist's coop and the general store. Most importantly, our dogs loved it. It is very hard to find a place so willing to accommodate pets and a place where pets can have so much fun. Our very city-dwelling dogs quickly learned how to use the dog door so they could stare endlessly at the goats. Cannot wait to return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 br/2ba Classic WV Farmhouse Escape/13 acres/Great views/Pets OK/TV/A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149422
+1 7035685375
Lost River West Virginia
Philadelphia Suburbs
4

August 2012

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Very quaint farmhouse that is kept clean and functions well as a vacation home. It was quite comfortable for the time we spent around the house, and the activities within a reasonable drive worked well to keep our children entartained. Each morning the childsren would feed the goats and chickens while the rooster and our dog played. The charcoal grill worked well for BBQ activities when we chose to eat in, and the stars at night were spectacular. We ate in the area (Lost River Brewery and Lost River Grille) and were pleased with the quality of the dining and menu selections. Activities included zipline at Bryce Resort, horseback riding in Lost River State Park, tubing on the Shenandoah and Cavern touring at Seneca Caverns. Coupled with the occassional fishing and swimming, the kids were engaged while we relaxed and enjoyed. All around a fun vacation.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 br/2ba Classic WV Farmhouse Escape/13 acres/Great views/Pets OK/TV/A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149422
+1 7035685375
Lost River West Virginia
Cheseake, VA
5

Thanksgiving at the Farmhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Our family wanted to spend Thanksgiving together so my niece found the farmhouse and the Cottage on VBRO and I booked them. We had a wonderful time exploring the mountains, feeding the goats, hiking the trails (and yes the weather was unbelievable - in the 60's and 70's and sunny with blue blue skies). The older folks loved sitting in the farmhouse room where old gas stove was and reading and snoozing. Some of the family brought their dogs and their dogs loved it there as much as we all did. The accommodations for the pets(especially dogs) are great (both yards have big fenced in yards). I loved feeding the goats with Chris every morning - he is 7 and would wake me up very early to go feed them. We saw some pretty spectacular sunsets too. You all have one beautiful spot there in Lost City and the folks are so nice. Everyone you pass gives you the country wave. One side note - leave your cell phones at home – you will leave wondering why you ever thought they were so great.

We had a nice surprise one morning - Phil (the owner) left us a warm basket of lemon muffins outside our front door. They were melt in your mouth delicious - thank you Phil and Mark for a thanksgiving we will never forget.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
3 br/2ba Classic WV Farmhouse Escape/13 acres/Great views/Pets OK/TV/A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149422
+1 7035685375
Lost River West Virginia
Cheseake, VA
5

Thanksgiving at the Farmhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Our family wanted to spend Thanksgiving together so my niece found the farmhouse and the Cottage on VBRO and I booked them. We had a wonderful time exploring the mountains, feeding the goats, hiking the trails (and yes the weather was unbelievable - in the 60's and 70's and sunny with blue blue skies). The older folks loved sitting in the farmhouse room where old gas stove was and reading and snoozing. Some of the family brought their dogs and their dogs loved it there as much as we all did. The accommodations for the pets(especially dogs) are great (both yards have big fenced in yards). I loved feeding the goats with Chris every morning - he is 7 and would wake me up very early to go feed them. We saw some pretty spectacular sunsets too. You all have one beautiful spot there in Lost City and the folks are so nice. Everyone you pass gives you the country wave. One side note - leave your cell phones at home – you will leave wondering why you ever thought they were so great.

We had a nice surprise one morning - Phil (the owner) left us a warm basket of lemon muffins outside our front door. They were melt in your mouth delicious - thank you Phil and Mark for a thanksgiving we will never forget.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 br/2ba Classic WV Farmhouse Escape/13 acres/Great views/Pets OK/TV/A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149422
+1 7035685375
Lost River West Virginia
Pennsylvania & New Jersey
5

Amazing Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Phil & Mark, Thanks for sharing the Farmhouse with us. It was the most perfect "Memory of Mom Getaway" we have ever had! Everything from Phil's morning muffins, fresh eggs comfy beds, friendly & funny goats was perfect! So many other things to mention we amazing too! We had all we needed to completely relax and enjoy! Again a SPECIAL thanks too Phil for thinking of mom when he saws the double rainbow!!! We hope to make it back! Cathy would love to come back with her husband...but we may keep it special just for mom!! Thanks again, Melanie C of PA and Cathy K of NJ!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
3 br/2ba Classic WV Farmhouse Escape/13 acres/Great views/Pets OK/TV/A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149422
+1 7035685375
Lost River West Virginia
Lehigh Valley, PA
5

We loved this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed the week we spent in Lost City. Such a charming cottage, with comfy furniture and bed. Satellite TV and WIFI. The owner Phil was a true gentleman, who brought us wonderful fresh baked muffins and fresh eggs from his chickens! Excellent location to do lots of hiking and enjoy nature. We had our dog with us, and he had as much fun as we did. We'll definitely do this again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway