Celestun house rental - Kayaking is so much fun! We have 2.
Kayaking is so much fun! We have 2.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay nights
 

Celestun House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Welcome to VILLA MARIPOSA (Butterfly House), a beautiful vacation home on a white sands beach within walking distance of the unspoiled little fishing village of Celestun, on the Gulf coast of Mexico. Here you can truly relax and be comfortable. You will find friendly people, a serene environment, a market place, and many wonderful oceanfront seafood restaurants. Walk for miles on the long deserted beach, collect sea shells, swim in the turquoise ocean waters, listen to the waves, relax in your hammock, be amazed by the breathtaking sunsets, and stargaze like nowhere else. The beach is beautiful and just outside your door!

On Google Earth you can view Villa Mariposa from Satelite at:

20degrees 52'39.39'N 90degrees 23'33.97'W

Additional pictures can be seen on Facebook; look for 'Celestun Beach'.

VILLA MARIPOSA is a renovated, fully furnished beach house with your comfort in mind. It has all the modern conveniences, with 2 large air-conditioned ocean view bedrooms with lush pillow top queen beds, WiFi Internet access, 2 deluxe hammocks, 1 full bath, fully stocked dine-in kitchen, large ocean view (wall of glass) family room with TV, DVD, small DVD library, laundry with washer, a (palm leaf) palapa covered patio. Your kitchen has all new appliances including a gas stove & oven, microwave, refrigerator, blender, coffee maker, juicer, water cooler, pots and pans, cooking utensils, and dishes. 2 Sea Kayaks, 2 bikes, and a large Gas Barbeque have been added!! All of your towels and linens are provided.

Celestun is known for its beachfront seafood restaurants, friendly people, boat tours up the estuary to see the Flamingos, and 300 other species of birds. All basic food and grocery needs can be met in the fruit and vegetable market and various small shops in the village. A coffee shop, and an internet shop, is also available.

The beautiful, colonial city of Merida, capital of Yucatan is only 1 hour 20 minutes away. Daily bus service is available. Merida offers you many cultural opportunities to see music and dance performances, churches, museums, art, shopping, and dining. Site Seeing Tours are available from Merida.

You can choose to fly into Merida’s airport (MID) or Cancun’s airport (with an additional drive).

Keywords: House, private, internet, beach, kayaks, bikes, quiet, close, romantic, sun, comfortable

More Details
Hide Details

Hi,

I'm 56 and an Undersea Artist. You will see alot of my art on the walls of the beach house. If you love the beach and comfortable furnishings, you'll love staying at Villa Mariposa. Please be gentle with my house.

Hope you enjoy your stay.

Robbie

Villa Mariposa is a private single home on a large beachfront lot. It was remodelled with high standards, easy maintenance, and in a quiet, beautiful location, yet still close enough to town to make it the ideal vacation get-away. It has easy maintenance tile floors and lots of natural light and ocean breezes, perfect for my love of painting undersea scenes.

Celestun is so wonderfully unspoiled and offers so many fun activities.

9 Reviews of Property 149348 in Celestun, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Beachfront Private Villa with Kayaks, Bikes, & Wifi Internet
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
business
Beachfront Private Villa with Kayaks, Bikes, & Wifi Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149348vbi
E-mail tazenshire@msn.com
Celestun Yucatan
Denver, Colorado
5

Wonderful, relaxing place. We will be back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Celestun is a relaxed little town that welcomes tourists. The "flamingo" tours are practically mandatory and we took a tour to view the thousands of birds in the "ria" close to town. There are many restaurants along the beach with delicious fish and seafood.

The house is clean and a few kilometers outside of town. The newly remodeled bathroom was beautiful! The location is quiet, with beautiful sunsets and amazing star gazing. We enjoyed listening to the gentle waves, the birds in the morning, taking the sea kayaks out, and riding the bicycles thru town. Most of all we enjoyed doing nothing. The covered patio facing the beach is a dream come true. The sea breeze every day kept the house cool every day even when the temperatures reached 95 degrees. If I were a writer this would be a perfect location!

The property manager is now a local business man with very good English and Spanish. The owner is improving the property on a regular basis. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Beachfront Private Villa with Kayaks, Bikes, & Wifi Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149348vbi
E-mail tazenshire@msn.com
Celestun Yucatan
London ON Canada
5

The Best Holiday ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband and I rented this house for 3 weeks in December, It was the best working holiday we have had in years. So good we decided to build our own house in Celestun. We will return to Villa Mariposa as soon as we can and until our own house is ready.
Villa Mariposa is well appointed with everything you need for cooking, it is well cared for, super clean and a comfortable home whose pictures do not do it justice. It would easily accommodate 4 people (or more in hammocks!). The caretaker was friendly and very helpful. The town,a 30 minute walk from the house, has everything needed for everyday shopping and the beach restaurants are clean, there isn't much menu variety but the fish and shrimp and calamari are fresh so what else do you need? Everywhere the service is friendly. The people of Celestun really seem to welcome the tourists rather than barely putting up with them. The beach is drop dead gorgeous.
Celestun is a quiet town so if you're looking for beach games in the day time and wild nights on the town this is not the place for you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront Private Villa with Kayaks, Bikes, & Wifi Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149348vbi
E-mail tazenshire@msn.com
Celestun Yucatan
Indianapolis
5

Relaxing Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My boyfriend and I spent a fantastic week in this comfortable little villa with a beautiful ocean view. We flew into Cancun and drove our little rental across the pennisula with no trouble at all. The house itself is clean, spacious, and very well decorated. The nearby town of Celestun is beautiful, and we were welcome at every restaurant and store we entered, even though neither of us speak any Spanish. We spent most of our week relaxing in the comfortable hammock in the house, walking up and down the beach, and took a few day trips to Merida and to some nearby Mayan ruins. The caretaker was very helpful and accessible when we needed them. I highly reccommend this little known spot of heaven to anyone who wants a quiet vacation away from the hustle and bustle of hotels and popular "tourist" destinations. Celestun had plenty to do without having to fight any crowds! It is a beautiful place and I would highly reccomend it to anyone!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront Private Villa with Kayaks, Bikes, & Wifi Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149348vbi
E-mail tazenshire@msn.com
Celestun Yucatan
Colorado Springs, Colorado USA
5

Two wonderful weeks!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
I flew into Cancun (Merida is a good option as well) and rented a car for the drive across the peninsula visiting the Mayan ruins and cenotes along the way. $10/Day unlimited mileage, great deal! The Villa Mariposa and Celestun met my every expectation! The house was clean and modern as advertised 100 feet from the Gulf. Just 2 kilometers from down town I particularly enjoyed the walk along the beach into town. I encountered a large manta ray swimming just a few feet off shore. Walked along side of it for several hundred meters until it decided that was enough. The Celestun beach was white and clean, the water clear and warm, perfect swimming temperature. There were lots of conch shells, many still populated and became my breakfast on several mornings. I found one very large one now a prize on my fireplace mantle in Colorado.
The property manager was friendly with several suggestions on where to go and what to do. There are several good restaurants downtown, but I found La Casa Peon to be a delightful place to eat. It's just one block north of the pier on 12 (the main street). It's a nice change from the restaurants more centrally located.
Celestun and Villa Mariposa were definitely worth the time and a good vacation value; definitely back again next February.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Beachfront Private Villa with Kayaks, Bikes, & Wifi Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149348vbi
E-mail tazenshire@msn.com
Celestun Yucatan
Colorado Springs, Colorado USA
5

What a Wonderful 2 weeks!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
I flew into Cancun (Merida is a good option as well) and rented a car for the drive across the peninsula visiting the Mayan ruins and cenotes along the way. $10/Day unlimited mileage, great deal! The Villa Mariposa and Celestun met my every expectation! The house was clean, well kept and modern as advertised and just 100 feet from the water's edge. It is 2 kilometers from downtown, I particularly enjoyed the walk along the beach into town. Along the way I encountered a large manta ray swimming just a few feet off shore. Walked along side of it for several hundred meters until it decided that was enough. The Celestun beach was white and clean, the water clear and warm, perfect swimming temperature. There were lots of conch shells, many still populated and became my breakfast on several mornings. I found one very large one now a prize on my fireplace mantle in Colorado.

The property manager was friendly and knowledgeable with several suggestions on where to go and what to do. There are many good restaurants downtown, but I found La Casa Peon to be a delightful place to eat. It's just one block north of the pier on 12 (the main street). It's a nice change from the restaurants more centrally located.

Celestun and Villa Mariposa were definitely worth the time and a good vacation value; definitely back again next February.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront Private Villa with Kayaks, Bikes, & Wifi Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149348vbi
E-mail tazenshire@msn.com
Celestun Yucatan
Colorado
5

Beautiful Villa Mairposa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My two boys and I had a wonderful vacation over Christmas at Villa Mariposa in Celestun. The beautiful home was warm and welcoming, and the decor often made us smile with each discovery of some whimsicle bit of art. The hammocks in the house were a favorite with my two teenaged sons - they slept in them every night! I thoroughly enjoyed cooking in the well stocked and very organized kitchen. We all looked forward to exercising our Spanish skills during our nightly excursion into quaint Celestun to purchase the fresh fish for that night's dinner. Mariposa is in the perfect location. The ocean is only a few steps away out the back door and we spent many hours walking along the white sand beach collecting shells or playing in the water. This beautiful home is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the more touristy areas to allow for some much need relaxation, but also close enough for us to enjoy shopping in Merida, sightseeing at Uxmal, and on our last day, a snorlking trip to Cancun. We had such a wonderful time... my boys and I hope to return again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront Private Villa with Kayaks, Bikes, & Wifi Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149348vbi
E-mail tazenshire@msn.com
Celestun Yucatan
Canada
1

Extremely disappointing rental - no discussion with owner or representative - beware

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
The photos showed a beautiful place with some character. Unfortunately upon arrival, very cold reception and extremely foul smell in the villa. It had probably not being aired for some days or weeks. The beds and the pillows also had the smell. Tried to tell the representative in Celestun that the place was unacceptable - but he would not say anything and just referred back to the owner who refused everything. She actually never answered emails to discuss nor phone calls. Expect nothing if you have a problem...
In addition, the windows and doors have bars and two latches to open the windows broke in my hand because they were so rusty. The bars on the door are so rusty, that they fall on the ground when you move them - not a safe place with kids. Green mould along the walls and rusty legs of furniture.
We stayed one night, the smell remained as awful the second day. We left one day after hoping to get a partial reimbursement. the worst is that nobody spoke to us.
Finally, the agent in Celestun has limited people skills - not friendly not welcoming. The owner did not reply to calls or emails but asked that we sign a six page contract when we arrived at the villa.

Extremely disappointing rental - look around there is sufficient rentals in Celestun not to go through this frustration.
Owner's Response: I have never had a bad review before. I have an entire notebook full of good reviews from wonderful renters. When my manager (who, by the way is very caring for all the renters) called me several times to make sure he could get ahold of me right away (caring) told me about this renter complaining, he said the renter was complaining about the smell in the house. He tried to explain to the renter that the entire beach smells like the seaweed and creatures that the storm washed up. He reassured me that the smell was only the beach and not the house. I received a very rude email from this renter threatening to destroy my reputation if I didn't refund his money. I told my manager about this email and he explained that this man had neglected to mention that he had found free lodging with his sister up the beach in a newly built house. The renter is an attorney. Of course he knows how to bully.
I do not respond to threatening emails.
By the way, the photos are recent! I also verified the state of the house with a friend down there.
Thanks everyone!
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Beachfront Private Villa with Kayaks, Bikes, & Wifi Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149348vbi
E-mail tazenshire@msn.com
Celestun Yucatan
Brooklyn, NY USA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
We just returned from our holiday in Celestun and
we can't stop talking about what a wonderful time
we had. The location is perfect for both an active
and relaxing vacation because there are so many
great things to do within a two hour drive (Uxmal,
Merida, Cenotes,) as well as great things to do right
in Celestun. Villa Mariposa was perfect for us, we
barely used the AC because the ceiling fans and
open windows combined with the almost constant
fresh breeze kept the whole house wonderfully
cool. Having the beach right there is honestly
nothing short of perfect. We used the kayaks
almost everyday and cooked at home a ton, but
also went to the great local restaurants at the
central beach. Falling asleep to the sound of the
gulf of Mexico and waking up to the sound of little
birds made for fantastic sleep and I guess I just
can't say enough about it. Go!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Beachfront Private Villa with Kayaks, Bikes, & Wifi Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149348vbi
E-mail tazenshire@msn.com
Celestun Yucatan
Pueblo, Colorado
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
We spent a wonderfully relaxing week at the end of January at this rental. It is a comfortable house on a beautiful beach in a private location. The hosts were always available for assistance if needed. We recommend this place for those who want a semi- remote place to just relax.
Helpful votes: 1/3