East End condo rental - Covered porch area for shaded relaxation and snacks.....this is my unit's porch
Covered porch area for shaded relaxation and snacks.....this is my unit's porch
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

East End Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, Full Bath, Queen bed

Sapphire Beach is the finest beach on St Thomas, and this unit is a professionally renovated condo on the first floor. The glass wall faces the beach and ocean - you walk out the wall to wall patio doors onto the beach sand. The ocean is 100 feet away, the unit is next to the pool for family or sunbathing convenience, and the view out of the full wall glass doors is tropical paradise. Lite lunch and restaurant facilities are available on site and within walking distance. Red Hook is one mile away - a very short car or taxi ride to a town which is active both day and night for restaurants, pubs, shopping, music, and if you want to travel further, Red Hook has the ferry service to other islands. And by the way, if you need a car - and we highly recommend getting one - we have one to rent.

36 Reviews of Property 148976 on East End, Virgin Islands

Beautiful Oceanfront Condo
average rating of 4.9722223 based on 36 reviews
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148976
+1 631 586-9194
East End St. Thomas
5

John H

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Another magnificent week a sapphire. Pete is a terrific owner. And his manager Kathleen is top shelf as well. Brand new bed. A/C just serviced and cleaned. Can wait to go back in July and staying here again of course. Thx again Pete and Kathleen for a great week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148976
+1 631 586-9194
East End St. Thomas
Washington, DC
5

Simply the best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Sapphire Beach is where we spent our honeymoon years ago as well a return visit 10 years ago. On our third visit to the island, this is where we wanted to stay again, as this is the best beach overall. On this visit, however, we decided to book through VRBO because this is the only way to really know what you’re going to get. All condos are not equal! After reading a number of reviews we decided on Pete’s unit, as it looked like a no-brainer. And it was.

I won’t be redundant by repeating the numerous praises others have left about Pete’s unit here, but will validate them. Call the U.S. for free from the unit? Check. Use his car at a very reasonable rate? Check. Free pickup and drop-off at the airport? Check. (But you must tip Ibu!) Dishes, pots and pans, coffee, spices, oil, and more in the unit? Yes. Wi-fi, beach towels, George Foreman grill? Yep!

And Pete is simply a first-class guy! He’s generous, friendly, and cares very much about the quality of your stay. He stays here regularly, so is sharing his home with you. Anything in the unit is yours to use (with the exception of what he's locked away). And it feels like a home, not a hotel room.

You are well taken care of by Kathleen and Ibu, both of whom regularly checked in on us. Why would you stay anywhere else?

A quick note on the beach and resort, which has gotten some attention lately in online reviews. The public but privately-owned facilities (restaurant, chair rentals, snorkeling rentals, etc.) were temporarily shut down on our visit. Pete has a snorkeling mask in the unit, but if you want full gear at this beach -- and if these facilities are still closed (so inquire) -- bring your own. It was no big deal to us, as we mainly love sitting by the water and just occasionally swimming. The condo association has some beach lounge chairs for residents’ use only. (Pete has two chairs for your use.) The upside of this is that the cruise ships aren’t bringing people here anymore, so the beach is uncrowded.

When we return next year, we’ll stay in Pete’s unit again. No brainer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148976
+1 631 586-9194
East End St. Thomas
5

Wonderful stay at Sapphire Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We recently returned home from our 7 night stay at Sapphire Beach Resort. Peter was really easy to coordinate with pre-arrival. Kathleen is the on-site manager and stopped by to make sure we had everything we needed. She was able to arrange a pack and play for our 4 month old daughter for our stay and provided a housekeeping mid-stay to freshen up the linens. The condo was very clean and tastefully appointed. There were plenty of pantry basics (oil, vinegar, spices, coffee) available for use and nice kitchen equipment and dishes for those who want to cook meals at home. We took advantage of renting Pete’s car for the stay which was really convenient and we really appreciated the airport pick up/drop off. Our driver, Ibu, was very pleasant, pointing things out of interest and providing directions along the way. The condo also has wi-fi which is nice for those of us who don’t completely want to disconnect from home. We also really liked being on the first floor, it made life easier with the stroller and it was wonderful literally being a couple of steps from the beach. I would definitely recommend staying here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148976
+1 631 586-9194
East End St. Thomas
4

Fantastic vacation spot on St. Thomas!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We just spent 10 fabulous days on Sapphire Beach and really enjoyed this unit. The location was better than we imagined, just steps from the pool and the beach, and although it was on the ground level we still felt that our privacy was not compromised. The unit was very clean with an updated bath. The updated kitchen was well-stocked with many extras such as spices and nice quality dishes and cookware. The owner, Peter, was very easy to work with and responded quickly to any concern or questions we may have had. Kathleen, the manager, is a pleasure to work with as well!
This location is so convenient, just a short distance from the ferry, shopping, and a nice variety of restaurants. Our view of St. John and other islands in the distance presented a beautiful backdrop for relaxation, and the snorkeling was really great right from our own beach! The beach and pool never felt crowded. The marina was close by for day sailing trips and fishing and power boat charters.
We definitely rate this vacation 9 out of 10 and would return to this unit and this location without hesitation!
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148976
+1 631 586-9194
East End St. Thomas
New York, NY
5

Long-delayed review for excellent visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was perfect! Pete is quick with communication, and keeps a very well-stocked, well-maintained, and clean condo. You can tell he uses the property often himself and it's not just an investment.
The local property manager picked us up from the airport and even stopped at the grocery store on the way to the condo so we could get provisions. We used the grill every day of our stay.
Pete allows the use of his car (a necessity because of the location) for a very reasonable $25 a day. We would definitely want to stay here if we come back to Sapphire Beach.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148976
+1 631 586-9194
East End St. Thomas
5

Unbelievable vacation time.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed at peter's place and was exactly what he advertised it as. The condo was clean and was most enjoyable as we were able to walk straight to the pool or to the beach and swim and snorkel. This was the most relaxing vacation that we have had in years.

The outside of the condo is being renovated and we would love to see the finished product.

It was tough to say goodbye to st. Thomas yesterday! We would go back and ask for this condo again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148976
+1 631 586-9194
East End St. Thomas
Springfield, PA
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
What an amazing experience and wonderful accomodations. Cannot say enough about how wonderful this Condo was - we loved every minute of our stay. The condo was extremely clean and much better than the pics. Waking up each morning and walking out of the sliding glass doors to the beach/pool/sand/sunshine - it had everything. Snorkeling was great. The staff throughout Sapphire Beach were so wonderful and so friendly. Highly recommend this to anyone wanting to relax and simply enjoy the beauty of the island.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148976
+1 631 586-9194
East End St. Thomas
Bolton, CT
5

Fabulous setting.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed 1 week in this fully furnished condo, right on the beach. The views were spectacular. The owner provided excellent information prior to our arrival and had resources available for us on arrival. Renting his car made our trip even better. The area is beautiful, safe and very relaxing. We would definitely return for another visit at this location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148976
+1 631 586-9194
East End St. Thomas
Fairfax Station, VA
5

The way to relax!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We chose D103 based on the recommendation of friends, and our high expectations were exceeded. FIRST, this condo was clean and very well maintained. You would be hard-pressed to find a nicer kitchen in a rental; the bathroom is awesome; the decorations and color schemes are very nice; the wifi speed is good (and probably as good as you get on St. Thomas); there is a safe to lock away valuables, etc. It is the perfect size for a couple's get-away, and had we brought a small child or two, the same would be true. NEXT, snorkeling Sapphire Bay is amazing--we swam with spotted eagle rays; turtles, and all kinds of beautiful fish. PLUS, this is a great spot because you are so close to lots of fun spots at Red Hook, and with the car associated with the unit, you are read to explore. We are not night-people, but even for us, Red Hook had a great deal to offer, including good food (exception was Molly Malone's--way over-priced for average food); a day sail (highly recommend Rumbaba); and ferry's for a day-trip to St. John. OF NOTE, , timing and weather are obviously key. We booked the last week of August--prime hurricane time--but our luck held, and our weather was beautiful, and we pretty much had Sapphire Bay all to ourselves on days without cruise ships--and even in the mornings and afternoon's of cruise ship visits. In fact, everywhere we went on both St. Thomas and St. John, we pretty much had the bays, cays, and beaches to ourselves; I'd take this and the risk of a hurricane (with trip insurance for the flight, of course) over crowded bays, cays and beaches any day. LASTLY, if someone tells you Sapphire is rundown (we were told this by a well meaning individual), don't be deterred from this unit--D103. There may be some truth to the statement as applied to other units, but not this one. You are not getting a full spa with this property, but you are getting a slice of paradise. We could not have been happier with the quality of the unit and the great price. The property is accurately described and the owner is great and very responsive to calls and emails. We heartily recommend this property--we stayed four nights, and would go back in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148976
+1 631 586-9194
East End St. Thomas
Houston, Texas
5

AWESOME VACATION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband just got back home from the best vacation ever! The condo is just as you see it in the photos. The view from the patio is breath taking. I am so happy I came across Pete's listing. He was vry helpful from my first phone call. He arranged for someone to pick us and take us back to the airport. They even took us to the grocery store on our way in. I have nothing negative to say at all. I am already planning my next trip back!!!! :) Thanks Pete for sharing your condo with us!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2