Hawaii Kai estate rental - Sunset from Backyard
Sunset from Backyard
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps13
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Hawaii Kai Estate Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 4.5 bathrooms, sleeps 15

Welcome to our elegant plantation style beachfront home on Portlock Beach in Hawaii Kai. The spacious and open living area, dining room and designer kitchen all draw your eyes outside to the breathtaking views of Moanalua Bay, Diamond Head and Koko Head craters.

Step outside to the lanai and be shaded by a huge banyan tree, then wander the spacious lawn to 100 feet of private beach. Watch for whales, swim in the calm waters, and enjoy spectacular sunsets over Diamond Head.

The main house has three bedrooms, each with its own bath. The master suite has a king sized koa bed, large walk-in closet and separate dressing area. A private jacuzzi surrounded by lava rock and local plants awaits you outside the master suite.

The second bedroom has a queen bed and a double punee, with separate bath. The third bedroom has a full attached bath. All are decorated with native Hawaiian koa furniture and lovely antiques. There is also a half-bath located off the living room for convenience.

The house is lovely and serene. With the trade winds gently blowing, we rarely needed the ceiling fans!

Just a quick note to say Thank You so much for all your help with our Hawaiian Anniversary vacation! We really had a wonderful time during our stay, and made our anniversary a memorable one! The house was amazing and more than I dreamed of. The open feel of the patio made it so relaxing not to mention all the accommodations. I will definitely be coming back with my kids and staying at the beachfront plantation style home again! Ruiz Family

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 148467 in Hawaii Kai, Hawaii

Oceanfront Banyan Tree Beach House, Hawaii Kai
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Oceanfront Banyan Tree Beach House, Hawaii Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148467
917 776-7497
Hawaii Kai Oahu
Mountain View
5

Beautiful Home, Beautiful Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Rented this beautiful beachfront home for our small and intimate wedding. Stayed in this home for a week and couldn't be happier with our selection. We had 10 family members with us, and it was ideal for such a crowd. We were all together, but had plenty of room to spread out and not get in each others way. The yard and lanai couldn't have been more ideal for our wedding ceremony. Just a spectacular setting for the event.

The home is beautifully decorated and well stocked with necessities. The lanai is so perfect for watching the sunset, relaxing and enjoying the scenery. The house was clean and very comfortable. It is conveniently located off the main highway, only 15 minutes into downtown Honolulu and groceries and great dining are just minutes away. Some even in walking distance!

The owners were easy to work with and very responsive to all questions. Definitely a pleasure to work with and it made our stay so enjoyable.

Highly recommend the Banyan Tree Beach House! Hope to return soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Oceanfront Banyan Tree Beach House, Hawaii Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148467
917 776-7497
Hawaii Kai Oahu
Quincy, MA
5

Better than Photos!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Dear Ryan and Ginger, thank you so much for a wonderful stay at the Banyan Tree Beach House. I have been to Honolulu before and always thought I liked other islands better, but this house has changed our view. The property really made our stay the best vacation of our lives. To have your own private beach and large tropical yard, the photos do no capture how magical the place is. We spent hours relaxing by the ocean under the banyan tree, enjoying the tradewind breezes and warm weather. There were a lot of outdoor seating areas. We had everything we needed and both of you were so welcoming and kind. I can not recommend the house enough and would be delighted to discuss the house with people considering renting the estate. Also, we found our stay an excellent value compared to other vacation rentals. We understood what good value it was after staying here - you get more than you pay for! We spent less than if we were staying in a hotel, but we had the advantage of a huge common living area and our private outdoor beach backyard with a large double spa that could accomodate our whole group - it was more like the "plunge pools" advertized in fancy Four Seasons-type resorts. The spa also was private and planted like a lava rock grotto with tropical vegetations to one side of the house facing the ocean. The beach is very private and the location was convenient and a neighbor explained that is why a number of celebrities have homes on this beach. We enjoyed snorkeling in the bay and swimming and the kids made sand castles on the beach. We did have to be careful of the coral further from shore but I guess that goes with the territory. My husband also bought a cheap fishing pole and caught a number of fish! It took us about 25 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes to Waikiki. We can't wait to stay again. The photos do not quite capture how lovely the home is. Aloha, Cora
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Oceanfront Banyan Tree Beach House, Hawaii Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148467
917 776-7497
Hawaii Kai Oahu
San Francisco, CA
5

A dream come true

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
I recently stayed at this home for a week, and was blown away by it! This house is all they say it is and more. It was hard to leave. The house has many different hidden gems- the banyan tree is stunning, the kitchen is gorgeous and big enough to let ten people move about freely and have a caterer feed 30 people, the hot tub is incredible and easy to use, the house is decorated with beautiful taste, there are a few outside areas for relaxing which made the space feel even bigger, and the location is conveniently located to shops and happenings, and yet it is quiet and private. The layout is ideal since each room is in a separate part of the house with a bathroom in each. I got married here, and the home, yard, and aesthetic were all perfect. It really was a dream come true.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Oceanfront Banyan Tree Beach House, Hawaii Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148467
917 776-7497
Hawaii Kai Oahu
Lacey, WA USA
5

Wow more than we paid for!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My wife and I recently stayed at the Banyan Tree Beach Estate for 1 week, we were also married there while stating on the property. Our wedding and reception included around 40 guest it facilitated them perfectly. Our guest were amazed with the property and had a very good time.
I must say that the managment and ownership were easy to work with and made it feel like you were dealing with friends when called apon.
One of the features we found usefull was the Hanama Bay state park less than 1/2 a mile away from the property, we spent days there snorkeling and laying in the sun. The shopping center accross the street made it very convenient for day to day shopping, dinning, ect.
The house truly felt like a home away form home, I would recommend it to anyone wanting to get away and stay in thier dream home for a week. Thank you Ryan and Ginger for making our wedding something extra special...
We will be back
Chris and Christina
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Oceanfront Banyan Tree Beach House, Hawaii Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148467
917 776-7497
Hawaii Kai Oahu
San Diego, CA
5

Gorgeous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This house is magnificent. Beautiful kitchen, beautiful floors, and breathtaking backyard. I was recently there for my friends' wedding which was held in the backyard at sunset. We were there for a week and it felt like home. The pictures do no justice for the house. It's a must see to appreciate even more. The lanai was big and made tanning fun cause of the ocean view. The backyard was big enough for the fellas to play a game of football and the entire group for a game of volleyball. It was a memorable trip thanks to this house and our privacy. Sure beats staying at a hotel.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Oceanfront Banyan Tree Beach House, Hawaii Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148467
917 776-7497
Hawaii Kai Oahu
Ojai, CA
5

LOVELY HOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This home is even lovelier than pictured. The exterior is not spectacular but the grounds are beautiful and well cared for. The true beauty is inside and the and beautiful backyard on the beach. It is an older home that has been lovingly remodeled with beautiful furnishings and the property is very well cared for. There was a beautiful fresh arrangement of Ginger that lasted the 10 days we were there. You leave your shoes at the door to protect the lovely floors. The owner and the agent representing the property over there are the nicest possible people to deal with. We were there with our family of four generations, and the single level made it very convenient for the elderly in our group. The exterior steps are large and gradual. It is a spacious home with an additional cottage out in front. The bath in the cottage has yet to be remodeled but all three others are 'state of the art'. The kitchen has a Viking range and all the other appliances disappear behind the lovely Koa wood cabinets. Every room is light and bright and the trade winds flow freely through the house and rustle the palms surrounding the house. The house has a good flow and all the bedroom suites offer privacy from each other. The family really enjoyed the jacuzzi and it was probably large enough for a group of 10. I was told that the house was once owned by a CEO of Dole Pineapple and also Dolly Parton, so you know it's in a lovely location. I would say the only downside is the traffic in front of the house. But there is so much more to this lovely home that it is hardly worth mentioning. I strongly hope to be able to return to this lovely home some day to rekindle the memories made there. It really makes you feel 'at home'. Thank you Ryan and Ginger, for your hospitality and care.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Oceanfront Banyan Tree Beach House, Hawaii Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148467
917 776-7497
Hawaii Kai Oahu
Chicago, IL
5

Stunning House and Location - Best Vacation of Life

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
The Banyan Tree Beach House was the best vacation of our lives. The one story house was perfect for my elderly parents who were able to enjoy the lanai and all rooms being on the same level. Also, the property's location couldn't have been more convenient for walking to Hanauma Bay for the best snorkeling in Hawaii or walking to the original Roy's Restaurant. The sandy beach was also perfect for our young children as the bay is protected by a coral reef.
The original Koa chef's kitchen was fabulous and all the bathrooms were luxurious.
The manager was so helpful and made us feel at home. The place was obviously well-loved and maintained.
Overall the highlight was the sunset over Diamond Head over the water by the sandy beach right in the yard. I have stayed in many rentals and this one was by far the best.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 18/18
business
Oceanfront Banyan Tree Beach House, Hawaii Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148467
917 776-7497
Hawaii Kai Oahu
New York, NY
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
This is the perfect vacation rental for families. My family and I had the pleasure of staying there for a week. Everyone who walked into the house was stunned by the view. The house has a warm welcoming feeling with huge glass sliding doors that open into the spacious backyard overlooking the ocean. The house was clean and well kept. The Koa wood kitchen is gorgeous! There was no shortage of plates, utensils, or glassware. The house is equipped to entertain. The master bathroom is newly remodeled with a very sleek look. It is probably spacious enough for the whole family but what a treat to have it all to ourselves. Clean towels and sheets were easily accessible. The living room setup is perfect for having company over and enjoying time with friends and family. The washer/dryer is a great convenience to have, especially when winding down the vacation – if you have to do laundry, why not do it while enjoying the warm breeze and beautiful scenery on the lanai. One of the best features of the house is its location. It is flanked by two shopping centers: the Hawaii Kai Town Center and Koko Marina Shopping Center. You have everything you need and want within a 2 minute drive from the house in either direction. Without traffic you can find yourself in Waikiki Beach in about 15 to 20 minutes. I have nothing but good things to say about the house, the property manager, the owner, and the staff who help maintain the house. They were all very pleasant to work with, and very helpful. I can’t wait to return there soon. My whole family is already asking when our next trip to Hawaii will be. I hope this was a helpful review and I wish you all the best experiences with the Banyan Tree House if you choose to stay there. I am personally very fond of this house as it has provided me and my family with a beautiful backdrop for some of the most memorable moments in our lives.
Helpful votes: 22/22
business
Oceanfront Banyan Tree Beach House, Hawaii Kai
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148467
917 776-7497
Hawaii Kai Oahu
North Vancouver Canada
5

Spring Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2007
  • Stayed: May 2007
We had an excellent relaxing holiday in this beautiful home. The house was well kept with everything we could possibly need. Having your own lawn and beach front was a bonus. Great for a large number of people and for children. Beach area is safe for swimming due to reef. We were well taken care of by the caretaker. We look forward to future holidays here.
Helpful votes: 20/22