Depoe Bay house rental - Cottage built in the 1930's...tons of charm with modern updates.
Cottage built in the 1930's...tons of charm with modern updates.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Depoe Bay House Rental Photos and Description
Home on large lot, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)

Whale Vista Cottage lets you enjoy a close-up, captivating view of the ever-changing oceanfront action. The spectacular ocean views are seen from every room. From the spacious decks or a plush living room chair you can relax and watch a sleek Coast Guard cutter ride the waves, grab the binoculars and spy on the pelicans and sea gulls, watch the occasional sea otter feeding just beyond the rocky shore, or gasp in awe as a huge whale flips its tail and rolls against the rocks below. Whale Vista Cottage provides some of the best whale watching available in Depoe Bay—the 'Whale Watching Capital of the World.'

Why is Whale Vista Cottage so special? Read the Reviews!

Depoe Bay and the Central Oregon Coast offer plentiful vacation activities. Depoe Bay is a small ocean front town with world class golf (3 courses within 15 miles, including incredible Salishan at Gleneden Beach), gourmet restaurants, art galleries, casinos, deep sea fishing/whale watching tours and oodles of shopping including a 65-store outlet mall (in nearby Lincoln City). You'll find plenty to keep you entertained!

Experience an Awesome Ocean Front Vacation

Whale Vista Cottage is located only minutes from Newport, Lincoln City and Salishan Golf Course. Beautiful sandy beaches await you at Fogarty Creek State Park (2 miles) and Beverly Beach State Park just a few minutes away. Whale Vista is a beautiful private home offering an exceptional oceanfront vacation experience for you, your family and friends.

Limit 6 guests. Taxes and cleaning fee extra. $10 per person per night over 4 guests. ($50 maximum per week.)

Keywords: Oceanfront Home, panoramic views from most rooms, decks, balcony, picnic terrace, privacy on a quiet street a short stroll from the 'world's smallest harbor' and the heart of town.

More Details
Hide Details

Patti and Michael are long time practitioners in the arts -- a former Gallery owner and a Theatrical Promoter. We now run a boutique tax firm catering to creative professionals.

Stephanie Wiarda purchased this house in 2012

40 years ago Patti first saw Whale Vista Cottage and fell in love with it. Since then, most trips down the Oregon Coast have included a stay in Depoe Bay (and a stroll on the quiet road that passes by Whale Vista!) The tiny harbor, the unique collection of boats that live there, the resident and passing whales, the endless excitement of the ocean patterns there, the many activities and beaches nearby and the serenity of the location are what charmed us to this magical place.

Whale Vista Cottage is steps away from the Oregon State Whale Watching State Park in Depoe Bay. The uniqueness of the house, its furnishings and serenity set it apart from other rentals in the area.

It is a special place to relax and lose yourself in the majesty of the Pacific Ocean!

14 Reviews of Property 331372 in Depoe Bay, Oregon

The Most Charming Original 1930's Beach Cottage - Ocean Front!
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
The Most Charming Original 1930's Beach Cottage - Ocean Front!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331372vb
503-484-7148
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Troy, ID
5

Beautifully Eclectic Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My brother, sister & I took our almost 84 year old mother to this wonderful cottage as her Christmas gift. We were greeted with a welcome basket & lovely note from the owners. The cottage is FULL of beautiful, funky, delightful "treasures". It was such fun to find something different every time we turned around. The main floor bedroom/bathroom worked perfectly for Mom. We loved the views from the big windows downstairs as well as upstairs. We had a bit of a problem with the TV but that was simply operator error & our call for help was promptly returned. Our security deposit was returned less than a week from our departure WITH a very nice note from the owners. I highly recommend Whale Vista & I hope to return. The cottage was very clean with nice linens & towels. The owners have done a wonderful job of making guests feel welcome in their home. It's obvious that they love their beautiful cottage!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We have such wonderful guests, and very much appreciate your kind words!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
The Most Charming Original 1930's Beach Cottage - Ocean Front!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331372vb
503-484-7148
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Cleveland, OH
5

Just about perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Not only were we gifted with unseasonably spring-like weather on the coast just after the Christmas holiday but we had a most beautiful vantage point from which to view and enjoy it. Everything about Whale Vista was meticulously kept and prepared, from the kitchen to the gorgeous master bedroom. Every bedroom and the living room offered a view to treasure, high above but directly at the ocean. Binoculars in every room and a telescope in the upstairs hall made the fun search for whales and other marine sights so easy. It's a marvelous retreat that felt like home to the youngest --age seven-- and the oldest --60+, let's say-- and those in between. This is a place good for the spirit, to return to again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is such a pleasure to host our very appreciative guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to review, and please do come again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Most Charming Original 1930's Beach Cottage - Ocean Front!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331372vb
503-484-7148
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Little Rock, AR
5

Wonderful Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. This cottage was everything you said it was. Even the fog we encountered during our stay did not take away from the ambience of this place. Would love to bring our family and stay again. We are very particular and your cottage was exceptionally clean while remaining very comfortable. Thanks for the memories. It was our first time to Oregon and the coast cannot be described in words.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Guests who appreciate the cottage make our day!
business
The Most Charming Original 1930's Beach Cottage - Ocean Front!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331372vb
503-484-7148
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Boulder, Colorado USA
5

Lovely home with Amazing Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Whale Vista turned out to be one of the best VRBO vacations we have ever had. The home was warm and comfy yet beautifully furnished in a cool mix of Maritime and Victorian. The views out the large windows over the ocean were absolutely fantastic. And the back deck was perfect for watching for seals and sea lions but we did not have any whales. October is probably not the perfect time for whale watching (although the natives told us there had been plenty the week before) but we had lots of other compensations! The weather was gorgeous but even the few foggy days were fun with the magical mist and wild ocean. Within walking distance to the little town.... tiny but with fun shops and restaurants. Easy access up and down the Central Coast to the Lighthouses, Lincoln City and Newport. It was very hard to leave our beautiful little place and head east away from the most enchanting coastline we have encountered since Mendocino. And the owners were great in their responses to any questions we had... i can only hope that future VRBO experiences turn out this rewarding. We have been missing Whale Cottage every night at bedtime without the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below.... and then missing it every morning when we don't wake up to the outrageous views of the ocean and the pelicans flying right by the upstairs windows!!! Thanks Patti and Michael for sharing your wonderful place on the Sea.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is such a pleasure to have our guests enjoy the house. Thank you so much!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Most Charming Original 1930's Beach Cottage - Ocean Front!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331372vb
503-484-7148
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Washington State
5

A great but foggy stay in Depoe Bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family stayed at Whale Vista last week and it was fantastic! The weather didn't cooperate with my daydreams of watching the sunset over the ocean every night, but even when the fog was at its' densest I could hear the ocean crash against the cliffs from my bedroom.

The rooms were comfortably appointed, the towels were really soft, the kitchen is well prepared for cooking for your family or yourself for a stay of several days, and the location is amazing. Well worth the all-day drive to get there. Great for families with children (I really appreciated that there is a fence so you can't go over the cliff) or a group of adults.

The Depoe Bay-Newport area has always been a favorite place for me for vacations, and now I know where we'll plan to stay when we go!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Enjoying the coast no matter what the weather does is such a great attitude. Please come another time too!
business
The Most Charming Original 1930's Beach Cottage - Ocean Front!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331372vb
503-484-7148
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Toronto, Canada
5

Lovely views and comfortable charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My mother, sister, and I stayed four nights at Whale Vista and would highly recommend it - we hope to visit again soon. The views are lovely from every room, and we saw whales just outside several times (no need to keep an eye out yourself, since the whale watching boats arrive whenever one has been spotted). The three of us thoroughly enjoyed the cottage and the peaceful chance to visit with one another.

The owners and their manager were very helpful at all stages, and they promptly returned my deposit. The cottage is as represented in the listing and has everything you need, including comfortable beds, fully equipped kitchen, and a livingroom perfectly furnished for comfortable lounging, reading or chatting in front of the fire. The decor and linens are tasteful and high quality, and the cottage was scrupulously clean.

The main part of the town is a short walk and has a few good restaurants and numerous touristy shops. Other towns, beaches, and sights are easily accessible along the coastal road. We particularly enjoyed kite-flying on the beach in Lincoln City (there's a very nice kite store in Depoe Bay and an unending supply of wind).

Overall, a wonderful experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What a pleasure to have such wonderful guests, and thank you so much for the review!
business
The Most Charming Original 1930's Beach Cottage - Ocean Front!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331372vb
503-484-7148
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Indianapolis
5

like being on a boat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house gives "ocean view" a whole new meaning. When I woke up and looked out my window, all I saw was water. The house itself is very charming. The kitchen was well appointed and had better pots and pans than we have at home. The house is within walking distance to several nice shops. It's an easy drive to parks and trails. Just a wonderful experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What a wonderful description! Thank you so much for the review.
business
The Most Charming Original 1930's Beach Cottage - Ocean Front!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331372vb
503-484-7148
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
clatskanie oregon
5

get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
have stayed in the house before-nice updates to appliances and paint-beatiful deck-have told many friends about the house-great overall experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for being our guest again, and for the nice comments. Hope to see you another time soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Most Charming Original 1930's Beach Cottage - Ocean Front!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331372vb
503-484-7148
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Federal Way, Washington
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Wow! great place. I recomend your house Patti to all groups of people. The view from every window in every room was second to none. The place was as clean as could be. Depot Bay is a great small town. I used to be in the coast guard many moons ago and visiting the coast guard station there was a treat. All parties in my group loved the house. There is one thing that I would change though, we wanted to watch the Cival war game togather between Oregon and Oregon St. and the small TV(20"ish) in the living room made it bit difficult. I would at least have a 36"-42" TV there however having small flat screen TVs in the bedrooms was a nice touch. That was the only thing that I would change other wise a great place and we are going to rent it again. There are some steps from the parking area so no the best for the very elderly or disabled. My mother is 86 and it was almost too much but she was able to do it. Thanks Patti you were great.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Most Charming Original 1930's Beach Cottage - Ocean Front!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p331372vb
503-484-7148
Depoe Bay Coastal Oregon
Portlaknd, OR
5

JImmy Greene

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We were invited to the beach by a close friend (Karen L). We were impressed before we even got inside. This house is so very well kept and inviting all the way from the front steps to the upstairs quarters. Everything you could possibly need for a relaxing visit is here. We made a trip to the store (very close) and ate in, except for one evening at Tidal Rave which is worth a trip. The view from the house is phenomenal and entertaining with all the fishing boats leaving and entering the harbor just a stone's throw away. The home's decor is fun and warm with a little mix of antiques and just plain comfy seating areas. We plan to visit again whenever we can.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1