Governor's Harbour house rental - Stairway to Heaven on Earth
Stairway to Heaven on Earth
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Governor's Harbour House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-7)

Experience the Real Meaning of Eleuthera 'Freedom' at Da Villa. Located 10 minutes south of Governors Harbour Airport. Beautiful private pink sand beaches, crystal clear turquoise water with local reefs 15 feet off shore waiting to be explored. New house with 2 large bedrooms with king bed and twin sofa bed in each with full baths and combined kitchen/family room with 1/2 bath. All overlooking the beautiful multi blue Atlantic ocean. Relax and enjoy the breeze on the 50' x 15' patio and watch the cruise ships go by. Beautiful tropical landscape for your tranquil pleasure. Transportation to and from airport including rental car available. Da Villa is located approximately 10 minutes from Governors Harbour, the center of Eleuthera. For all your island getaway needs, groceries, fishing supplies and restaurants.

14 Reviews of Property 148153 in Governor's Harbour, Bahamas

Da Villa Ocean Front Home, Luxury & Privacy on Pink Sand Beach
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
business
Da Villa Ocean Front Home, Luxury & Privacy on Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148153
+ (847) 662-6597
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Wisconsin
5

Untitled

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2007
  • Stayed: Mar 2007
My husband and I stayed at Da Villa for a week. The property was beautiful and the house was very comfortable and met all our needs. I would highly recommend anyone travleing to Eleuthera stay at Da Villa.
Helpful votes: 7/17
business
Da Villa Ocean Front Home, Luxury & Privacy on Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148153
+ (847) 662-6597
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Absolutely Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My wife and I travelled to Eleuthera to start our retirement. We stayed for 30 days starting on January 13, 2014. The house was perfect and very comfortable for the two of us. There are about 5 houses located on the 1/2 mile stretch of beach. We seldom saw anyone else on the beach. The beach is beautiful with white power sand. I snorkeled almost every day on the reefs in front of the house. We travelled to about 10 different beaches during our stay. I found the snorkeling in front of the house to be the best. The island seems very safe and reminded us of the 1950s in the US. Everyone was very friendly and we did not feel uncomfortable anywhere that we travelled on the island. We travelled the entire island from Lighthouse Beach to Harbor Island. I would not recommend the Harbor Island trip. It is a long way to drive and there was not much to see on the Island. The entire stay at Davilla and on Eleuthera exceeded our expectations.
business
Da Villa Ocean Front Home, Luxury & Privacy on Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148153
+ (847) 662-6597
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Brooksville, FL USA
5

Three Weeks in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We spent three weeks here in June and July of 2012. As others have said, the photos don't do it justice. If you have kids or friends it's the perfect layout for everyone's privacy. The two widely separated bedrooms have a king bed and a fold out sleeper. The living room sofa is fold out and could sleep two if needed. The kitchen has everything you need!

The location too is perfect. It's centrally located in Governor's Harbor, so you can easily make it to Friday night's fish fry. Our pace was to stay home and swim, walk and enjoy the place one day, then travel the island the next. We'd prepare our own food some days (there are two grocery stores in Gov. Hrbr) and eat out others (Wade's and Sunset Inn are nearby and great).

The beach in front is wonderful. Lot's of great walking .. the old Navy base is a mile or so north ... an abandoned restaurant a half mile or so south. Bring your Crocs for walking on the rocks. The snorkeling is terrific. Lots of life (turtles, giant parrot fish, lobsters, eagle rays ...) and lots of overhangs and tunnels to swim under and through. Most days the visibility was excellent. The reef and the breakers are way, way out so the surf near the beach stays very calm.

We got up to Harbour Island one day, but the prices there turned us off ($107 for two burgers, two sodas and a quesadilla at Sip Sips). There are cheaper places to eat on Harbour Island, but you have to walk away from the crowds. I'd suggest snacking it up near the dock instead. The beaches there are groomed and gorgeous.

You must see the Looking Glass, the Queens baths and Hatchet Bay caves while you are there (bring flashlights and a solar shower to rinse off afterwards). Don't be scared of the bats or the dark! Get lunch and the great iced tea at the Laughing Lizard. See the bay and find the bakery (in someone's house) in Gregory Town. Skip Surfer's Beach unless you have a four wheel drive ... the road is the worst on the island (and that's saying something). In Gov. Hrbr, buy fresh fish on the beach $$$, get lunch at Pammy's, get ice cream at the movie theater, and make sure to hit the Friday fish fry!

Talk to the folks at the guard shack on Windimere and find out who's been in town lately. Visit the Ocean Hole, Lighthouse beach!!, Sammy's restaurant, have drinks at the Sky Club, fritters and Kaliks at Tippys ...

There's so much to see and do. We didn't want to leave and we'd certainly stay at Da Villa again! And watch that palm tree backing out!

Scott Bland
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Da Villa Ocean Front Home, Luxury & Privacy on Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148153
+ (847) 662-6597
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Xenia, Ohio
5

A Little Piece of Heaven in the 'Hamas

A Little Piece of Heaven in the 'Hamas
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We have vacationed in Eleuthera for the last four years. The last three years we've stayed at Da Villa. We've explored the island from one end to the other and we're quite sure that we have the best spot on the entire island.

The house is comfortable and nicely decorated. The kitchen is open and roomy. It is wonderful for preparing and sharing meals and entertaining family and guests. The entertainment area opens out on to the deck. It's a great place to watch a sunrise and then, after dark, stare at the velvet night sky for shooting stars and satellites.

The beach has beautiful sand that turns shades of pink as the sun sets. The water is inviting and the reefs provide opportunities to see fish and plant life. Boogie boarding (byob) is fun and great recreation.

A favorite part of the entire Da Villa plot is the hammocks. It may be the most perfect spot on the planet. The two hammocks are suspended over a patch of thick green grass between the coconut trees positioned just off the deck. The fronds provide shade and a soothing rustle as the breeze flows through them. It is a place that treats all of your senses.

Jim, 'Thank you' for sharing your house. We look forward to our next stay and visiting with all of our Eleuthera friends.

Take care, Bud and Maureen Mc
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Da Villa Ocean Front Home, Luxury & Privacy on Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148153
+ (847) 662-6597
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Silver City, Nevada United States
5

One Month in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I love this house. Going to sleep and waking to the sounds of the ocean and viewing the breathtaking colors of the Atlantic were just what we needed. We spent a month at DaVilla and had every kind of weather--wind, rain, thunder, lightning, and blessed sun. Two friends stayed for two weeks and then, later, two of our daughters spent a week. We never felt crowded; the rooms are large and the furniture comfortable. The house is clean and easy to maintain. We cooked many meals and the kitchen has most everything you’ll need.

Absolutely the best thing though, is outside the house. The deck is huge and the outside furniture good quality. The beach with its cabana, beach chairs, and lounges make it the perfect place to hang out. The reefs were the best we’ve seen in a long time. Fields of yellow fan coral, parrot fish, rays, turtles, and even a shark.

The owner, Jim Davila, is easy to work with and the caretaker, Arthur Nixon, is a miracle worker. We had been there four days when the hot water heater broke. Our friends were due to arrive the same day and I thought we would have at least a couple of days of taking cold showers. After explaining the situation to Art, we left to pick up our friends at the airport and by the time we returned, a new water heater was installed and working. We also rented a car from Art at a competitive (for Eleuthera) price. The location is only 10 minutes from Governor’s Harbour where there is easy access to supplies, gasoline, and the dock to buy the catch of the day.

We love Eleuthera and would definitely stay DaVilla again.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Da Villa Ocean Front Home, Luxury & Privacy on Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148153
+ (847) 662-6597
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Silver City, Nevada United States
5

One Month in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I love this house. Going to sleep and waking to the sounds of the ocean and viewing the breathtaking colors of the Atlantic were just what we needed. We spent a month at DaVilla and had every kind of weather--wind, rain, thunder, lightning, and blessed sun. Two friends stayed for two weeks and then, later, two of our daughters spent a week. We never felt crowded; the rooms are large and the furniture comfortable. The house is clean and easy to maintain. We cooked many meals and the kitchen has most everything you’ll need.

Absolutely the best thing though, is outside the house. The deck is huge and the outside furniture good quality. The beach with its cabana, beach chairs, and lounges make it the perfect place to hang out. The reefs were the best we’ve seen in a long time. Fields of yellow fan coral, parrot fish, rays, turtles, and even a shark.

The owner is easy to work with and the caretaker, Arthur Nixon, is a miracle worker. We had been there four days when the hot water heater broke. Our friends were due to arrive the same day and I thought we would have a least a couple of days of taking cold showers. After explaining the situation to Art, we left to pick up our friends at the airport and by the time we returned, a new water heater was installed and working. We also rented a car from Art at a competitive (for Eleuthera) price. The location is only 15 minutes from Governor’s Harbour where there is easy access to supplies, gasoline, restaurants, and the dock to buy the catch of the day.

We love Eleuthera and would definitely stay at DaVilla again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Da Villa Ocean Front Home, Luxury & Privacy on Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148153
+ (847) 662-6597
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Boise, ID
5

Perfect in Every Way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
If you are considering staying at the Da Villa house, you will not be disappointed. Everything about the house and property is magnificent. It was extraordinarily clean (way cleaner than your average high end hotel room), centrally located, spacious, and it is perched above an excellent beach. We snorkeled out front of the house and saw many tangs, parrotfish, sturgeonfish, jacks, and many more. We even saw a sting ray 4 out of the 8 days. No sharks - which disappointed me but made my wife and the rest of my sissy crew happy. The beds and couch are comfy and there is air conditioning for the nights since you have to keep the windows closed due to those pesky noseeums. Cable tv and wireless internet access is also provided. My only regret about staying at this house is that we didn't use its own beach as much as we should have. Don't get me wrong, Eleuthera is full of marvelous beaches and other great sights, but the beach down the stairs from the Da Villa house was our favorite. I would love to stay at this property again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Da Villa Ocean Front Home, Luxury & Privacy on Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148153
+ (847) 662-6597
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Boise, ID
5

Excellent property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
6 of us (5 adults and 1 child) stayed at the Da Villa house in March of 2011 and I can not recommend it highly enough. The pictures of the house and surrounding scenery do not do it justice. This was our first trip to Eleuthera and we would absolutely chose this house again for our next visit. Two of our party members are clean freaks (OCD level of cleanliness) and they were astonished at how clean the house was. The beds, couches and loveseats were all very comfortable. The pullout sofa in the living room was the least comfortable but it was still acceptable. The kitchen is large and had all the utensils and pans that we needed. The beach at the house has a very private feel to it and it has excellent snorkeling and fishing. In fact, it was our favorite beach that we visited, even including Lighthouse Beach. The owner is easy to work with and the caretaker of the house, Art Nixon, is very nice and helpful. Also, the house is centrally located and the town of Governor's Harbour is only a quick 5 minute drive. Definitely consider staying at this property - you won't be sorry.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Da Villa Ocean Front Home, Luxury & Privacy on Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148153
+ (847) 662-6597
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Doesnt get better than this!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
It doesnt get better than this! Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed our time at Da Villa. The house was spacious and has everything you need to have a wonderful, relaxing time on Eleuthra. The view is amazing on top of the hill where the house is located, and the wind never stops blowing making it nice and cool to sit outside any time of day. The beach down below is just as pink as the one on Harbour Island, and while the water can be rough there, we were able to go to different beaches very close by. The location near the airport, and very near the middle of Eleuthra, makes it a great location to get to either end of the island. Do go to Airport Beach in south Eleuthra for the rock formations, (climb to the top for excellant views) and to Rainbow Bay in north Eleuthra for snorkeling. Alabaster Bay for sunsets is a must. French Leave Beach was wide, and clean. No matter where we ventured, we found all the beaches mostly private, secluded and beautiful. We rented a car for the time we were there and still did not get to see all that Eleuthra has to offer. We drove to north Eleuthra and ferried over to Harbour Island. We especially loved the marinas there. We went to Valentines and the Harbour Island Marina's Aqua Pazza bar for rum punches and Bahama mamas. Sip Sips for lunch, (pricey but great grouper sandwich) After drinks and lunch, we traveled back to Eleuthra, and then on to Spanish Wells.. Spanish Wells was really lovely and one of the highlights of our trip. One of the most beautiful beaches are there with lots of starfish and sand dollars laying in the water very near shore. Eleuthra, Spanish Wells, and Harbour Island all have very different "flavors" and we loved them all. Tippys for dinner on Eleuthra was the most amazing meal I think we have ever had in our lives and very near Da Villa.(get the filet) There are so many things we loved about Eleuthra and Da Villa, that we cant possibly name them all in this forum. Jim Davila was wonderful to work with and answered all our questions in a timely manner and made us feel like family. Be prepared to feed the two little potcake dogs that will arrive during your stay and then wait for you in the driveway to return from your adventures. Oh, there was one thing we all hated about Eleuthra. That was leaving it!. Hush and dont say a word.. Lets keep Eleuthra and Da Villa our little secret! Enjoy!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Da Villa Ocean Front Home, Luxury & Privacy on Pink Sand Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148153
+ (847) 662-6597
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Toronto, ON
5

Little slice of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
My husband and I and our 2 kids just returned from our 4th visit in Eleuthera and this vacation was our favorite for a number of reasons. The #1 reason however was "Da Villa" itself! The house is new and well equipped. It is in a great location (close to the airport and Governor's Harbour) and the view cannot be beat!!! The beach is amazing and it's nice and quiet. We only saw 1 family, 1 time all week. Peace and tranquility at its best! Thank you! We will return next year for sure!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1