Stowe condo rental - Your Summer View of Both Mt. Mansfield & Spruce Peak From LR, DR, MBR
Your Summer View of Both Mt. Mansfield & Spruce Peak From LR, DR, MBR
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Stowe Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Ideally located midway between the village and the mountain in the luxurious Stonybrook area, this condo has breathtaking views over the front lawn, to the rail fence, then to the hay field and historic farm house, and finally on up the valley to a spectacular panorama of both Mt. Mansfield and Spruce Peak. Inside are newly renovated kitchen and baths with dramatic, professionally taken Vermont photos throughout, including ski shots, native scenery and cows from the neighboring farm. While you are visiting, you have no question you are in Vermont. The unit has an open-hearth fireplace, complimentary wood, an HDTV with a TIVO DVR, wireless Internet access, a DVD/VCR player and four cordless phones. Bedrooms contain 2 new king-sized beds with specifications to match the Westin Hotel's famous Heavenly Bed. In the guest bedroom, the king can be split into two twins. For more and larger photos with expanded descriptions, visit mansfieldviewvermont*com (replace the asterisk with a period)

The Condo's Neighborhood: The Stonybrook area is the premier place to stay when you are visiting Stowe. Aside from the distinctive beauty of the buildings and surrounding grounds, you are perfectly positioned to drive just a few minutes to the village or the base of Mt Mansfield, being able to instantly access either. At an even shorter distance are a variety of local shops, delicatessens (one of our favorites within walking distance is the Edelweiss and their Vermont home-baked apple pies) and restaurants ranging from excellent pizza houses to fine dining.

At the south end of the Stonybrook property is an enormous wooded ravine which stretches for miles behind nearby farms and with more trails than you can ever cover with one visit, including one trail that leads to a spectacular nearby waterfall. At the north end, for walkers, joggers, runners and bikers, is the mid-point of the famous, paved, 6.5 mile, 'Stowe Rec Path,' which winds its way along the mountain road from the village to the ski area.

The Owner's Purchase Experience: Two years ago, when we (the owners) were looking for a Stowe property, we heard many realtors caution about Stonybrook and its high Association fees. Then we ran into a realtor who actually lived at Stonybrook and remarked, you get what you pay for! She turned out to be precisely right.

Later, on a quick side trip off the Mountain Road to visit the Trapp Family Lodge, we spotted the Stonybrook grounds and the front line of condos. It was immediately clear to us that if we were to buy in Stowe, this was the place to buy, and if at all possible to try to get one of the front line 'Farm Row' units that had the best, and truly breathtaking view of both Mt. Mansfield and Spruce Peak. We decided to wait it out, and a year and half later found and purchased Stonybrook 6.

Not only did we get a front line, Farm Row unit, we got a unit with a view that probably only 4 or 5 of the other Farm Row units have. i.e the ability to sit in either Living Room couch and see the mountain.

The Mountain: What a mountain Mt Mansfield is. Having grown up in mountain country elsewhere, this owner has been amazed at the many moods of Mt Mansfield. From dawn to noon to dusk, from rains to clouds to sunshine, and from snowstorms to the brilliant summer sunshine. Many of these views have been captured on digital camera and are permanently available for you slideshow viewing on the unit's brand new 37' plasma high definition TV.

For skiing, you already know the answer. The classic and historic Nosedive and National trails on Mt Mansfield early on led the way to Stowe being dubbed 'The Ski Capital of the East.' But then sunnier, gentler Spruce Peak, with its wider trails is also the skier's delight. Whatever your mood for the day, the perfect downhill run awaits you at Stowe.

We welcome you to duplicate our own pleasure. Come, visit, and find a place that will lead you back to Stowe and Stonybrook 6, again and again. We look forward to getting to know you!

More Details
Hide Details

Daughter (in the middle) is the real owner here. Mom and Dad help out with the management of the condo, and Gordon Setter, Dash, keeps everyone in line.

Brooks Helmick purchased this condo in 2006

With Mom and Dad having honeymooned in Stowe, we always knew we wanted to come back here.

So in 2006, when the whole family rallied once again in Stowe, we were looking this time to return for good, and to find a property with a great view. After two week ends of looking and striking out, we decided to at least wrap up our search with a good Austrian pastry at the Trapp Lodge.

As we broke off the Mountain Road and headed up the road to the Trapps we spotted the Stonybrook grounds and the front line of condos. It was immediately clear to us that if we were to buy in Stowe, this was the place to buy, and if at all possible to try to get one of the front line 'Farm Row' units that had the best, and truly breathtaking view of both Mt. Mansfield and Spruce Peak. None were for sale, so we decided to wait it out, and a 18 months later (about three years ago now) we got exactly what we wanted.

Not only did we get a front line, Farm Row unit, we got a unit with a view that probably only 4 or 5 of the other Farm Row units have - i.e the ability to sit in either couch in the Living Room, and see the mountain.

Then we proceeded to completely renovate the condo with the latest appliances and yet with photos and decor such that in every room we and our visitors would have no question that 'We are in Vermont'

The pictures below describe the result. As the saying goes, 'What you see is what you get,' although our guests typically say, 'The real thing is even better.' We welcome you to come and see for yourself, and make your Vermont vacation dream come true.

35 Reviews of Property 148059 in Stowe, Vermont

Fabulous 2 BR Luxury Condo - Ideal Stowe Location - Spectacular View
average rating of 4.9714284 based on 35 reviews
business
Fabulous 2 BR Luxury Condo - Ideal Stowe Location - Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148059
+1 000 000-0000
Stowe Stowe Area
5

Great location for our base in Stowe for both skiing and the village

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What a fantastic find Brooks' house is! Really stunning location with amazing views of the two mountains. The house is really well appointed. The welcome Vermont apple pie and ice cream were a really nice touch and to have endless free firewood was a huge treat. Kept very clean and in great order by nice housekeeper. Contact with owner and dissemination of relevant information before and during visit was very prompt and thorough. Lots of useful instructions in the handbook. Thanks, Brooks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You Brits always have a way of expressing things so elegantly!
Come back soon, Colin
Brooks
business
Fabulous 2 BR Luxury Condo - Ideal Stowe Location - Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148059
+1 000 000-0000
Stowe Stowe Area
5

Great condo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at this condo. It has a beautiful view of the mountains from the two story living room, is only a few minutes from Stowe and is near a lot of great restaurants. The condo is also very clean and has a lot of great extras such as granite countertops in the kitchen and both bathrooms, lots of towels and hot water (a big plus when 4 people need to shower after a day of skiing), WIFI and Tivo, a Keurig coffee maker, all new stainless cookware, huge wine glasses and even a fresh apple pie and vanilla ice cream when we arrived! Everything is labeled and very well organized. The only downside was we couldn't bring our dogs. Nevertheless we would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous 2 BR Luxury Condo - Ideal Stowe Location - Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148059
+1 000 000-0000
Stowe Stowe Area
5

Excellent property with great owner that is extremely responsive and helpful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We just spent a weekend at the property and everything was great. The unit was exactly as described and absolutely no complaints

The owner goes the extra mile to make you feel at home and welcome and was extremely responsive to all emails and questions

If you are planning a trip to stowe we definitely recommend and we will rent this unit again ourselves
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous 2 BR Luxury Condo - Ideal Stowe Location - Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148059
+1 000 000-0000
Stowe Stowe Area
Fort Worth, TX
5

Impressive vacation rental in Stowe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Property was very nice two bedroom two bath place to use as base for exploring Stowe andnorthern Vermont. Wonderful fireplace, super kitchen, and great views out the back of the den. Easy access to Stowe Recreation Path, great area dining (Gracie's, Pie in the Sky, Piecasso, McCarhy's, Dutch Pancake Cafe, Hen in the Woods, Von Trapp Deli) and touristic (Ben and Jerry's, Cabot Cheese, Burlington - Lake Champlain) opportunities. Wonderful owner shared lots of info on where to tour and where to eat. He also provided clear info on check-in and out and condo features. An A+ experience - we'll be back.
business
Fabulous 2 BR Luxury Condo - Ideal Stowe Location - Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148059
+1 000 000-0000
Stowe Stowe Area
5

Can't imagine a better place to stay!

Can't imagine a better place to stay!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Perfect place to stay in Stowe. The home is a combination of rustic charm and modern amenities. Brooks was wonderful to work with and has thought of every detail to make Stonybrook 6 warm, welcoming and functional. We immediately felt at home. And the view-- oh my! Gorgeous.

The Stowe recreation path is a minute walk from the property, which is not only wonderful for walking and biking, but provides easy access to some great restaurants (we loved Piecasso) and the Stowe Sunday farmer's market.

We enjoyed the local sites and attractions, but we had an equally wonderful time simply relaxing at the condo, taking afternoon swims at the nearby pool, and enjoying the view.

Thanks for making our vacation memorable, Brooks! We hope to visit again next year!
business
Fabulous 2 BR Luxury Condo - Ideal Stowe Location - Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148059
+1 000 000-0000
Stowe Stowe Area
Newton, NH
5

Peaceful, relaxing, great views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Stonybrook #6 is a wonderful, clean and well stocked condo unit. There isn't anything one could ask for that Brooks hasn't supplied. The kitchen is well organized, the electronics are state of the art, and the view is beautiful. The bed is extremely comfortable and the linens are excellent. The artwork throughout the condo is exactly what you see in the VT countryside.

The location is off the beaten path, but two minutes to Stowe and a short ride to Waterbury and Burlington.

We highly recommend staying at Stonybrook #6. Brooks is a wonderful host and it is obvious that he takes great pride in providing a five star accomodation. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous 2 BR Luxury Condo - Ideal Stowe Location - Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148059
+1 000 000-0000
Stowe Stowe Area
Stuart, Florida USA
5

Wonderful Vermont Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We were so lucky to find Stonybrook 6 and very much enjoyed our recent week stay. We previously lived in Vermont but now in Florida. It was a pleasure to deal individually with the owner and all of our questions were promptly answered, along with suggestions for restaurants, activities, current events and more. The views at Stonybrook 6 are spectacular, along with very comfortable beds, pillows, plenty of blankets, towels and higher end appliances and kitchen ware than you normally find in a rental property. Our friends from Texas, who also stayed for 4 days were equally pleased. We hope to be able to find time in our future vacation plans to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Sue. Our pleasure and desire for you to return as well, and of course great fun teaming up with you to impress some Texans - always a satisfying accomplishment!
business
Fabulous 2 BR Luxury Condo - Ideal Stowe Location - Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148059
+1 000 000-0000
Stowe Stowe Area
Massachusetts
5

Perfect relaxing weekend in Stowe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This condo is a great home-base for a Stowe vacation in any season. It is clean and bright, with high quality modern amenities and mountain charm all in one package. The location is extremely convenient to the best Stowe has to offer and the grounds and view are second to none. This truly was a perfect rental for our recent weekend get away.

The best aspects of this condo include the extremely useful organization of supplies provided by the owners and that it is extremely clean and well maintained. Supplies such as bedding or kitchen utensils are easy to find and clearly labeled, as are light switches and closets. Finding what you need is a snap in this well stocked rental. There is no fumbling with thermostats or hunting for the right light switch. Bathrooms, kitchen appliances, and fabrics are fresh and inviting. This condo is in tip top shape.

The location is within walking distance of hiking, restaurants, and recreation options. The condo complex itself includes beautiful grounds, views, and a club house.

I would recommend this condo to anyone looking for a high quality location at a fair and reasonable price. I can't wait to visit again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous 2 BR Luxury Condo - Ideal Stowe Location - Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148059
+1 000 000-0000
Stowe Stowe Area
SW Pennsylvania
5

Fireplace with comfortable space in mountain place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Arriving to a mist-shrouded mountain did not diminish the comforts of this home, but quickly inspired use of the real fireplace (with plenty of kindling and wood to awaken the scout in us). Stocking feet were the norm as the home was Mary Poppins clean. Fresh towels aplenty, a huge bed that you stay amazingly warm and snug burrowed in the soft pillow top, and enough sink space for all that you brought and all that you forgot to bring. Easily used the ancient technology known as the VHS, and enjoyed the large television ( we ran out of time for the DVD). From a command post perspective, this home is perfectly situated. One can merely walk around Stonybrook and spot deer and hawks, or walk on the Stowe bike path that is adjacent. Outstanding restaurants are a very short drive away, and major hiking is not far - you can look out the many windows and see a mountain just waiting for hikers. Beer enthusiasts can find an amazing store in Stowe, or venture to The Alchemist brewery for samples of highly rated beer. Relax by the fire and enjoy some beautiful views. One can peer over the upstairs railing and keep an eye on those in the living room. Cross country trails that may be used for walking are within Stonybrook - lack of time prevented checking out the trails. Any kitchen items we needed were there, great glassware and every question I had was quickly answered by the owner. We were truly welcomed into their home - Vermont style! The photos of the home are exactly as we encountered (except for the snow - that will be someone else's adventure...). We were there for less than a week, and that was not enough time for all we wanted to see around Stowe. We will return (owners willing) to continue what we started, but with more down time to relax in the home (especially if one does climb every mountain). Note to cookie lovers - the Von Trapp bakery had cookies the size of a dogs head. I was full of Stowe Dutch pancakes and did not try one, but if one is daring... The Stonybrook staff were helpful with directions and bakery questions (Edelweiss Mountain Deli makes a VERY fine apple pie).
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous 2 BR Luxury Condo - Ideal Stowe Location - Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p148059
+1 000 000-0000
Stowe Stowe Area
southport nc
5

wonderful vacation condo - great location- near stowe recreational path in stowe vt.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
we enjoyed our month stay during color season at this comfortable condo. the condo is spotless, well-maintained, and nicely appointed. the owner has thought of everything you would need to make your stay memorable. he was also helpful with any questions we had and we felt we could contact him any time .the view of mt mansfield from from the condo is the best -ever changing with the leaves turning,the fog and the clouds-it was always beautiful .walking distance to link-up with the stowe rec path was nice. the stowe area qffers a multitude of walking and biking trails, many good restaurants, and farm markets. p.s. -the shower is fantastic also. we enjoyed having the fireplace on cool evenings-well seasoned wood.-appreciated. we would highly recommend this condo (stonybrook #6) to our friends and anyone looking for a great vacation spot. we are already looking forward to returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3