Merida house rental - Welcome to Casa De Los Mosaicos -spacious entry hall looking into Dining Room
Welcome to Casa De Los Mosaicos -spacious entry hall looking into Dining Room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Merida House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Casa de los Mosaicos (House of Tiles) is located on a quiet street between two parks in the centre of Merida, Parques Santa Lucia and Santiago. It is literally four blocks to the main square, called the Plaza Grande or Zocalo. Here you can watch the world go by, sit in the traditional confidantes (chairs), eat ice cream in the shaded passageways around the square, and enjoy the artisans stalls set up on weekends when the centro is closed to traffic. Walk easily to nearby shops, museums and restaurants. And at night, watch the salsa dancing in the parks and maybe even give it a whirl yourself!

All our rooms have high beamed ceilings typical of these old colonial houses, with both mini-split air conditioners and ceiling fans. The kitchen and bathrooms have been lovingly renovated with modern fixtures and appliances, all centered around a courtyard with a plunge swimming pool and a rooftop deck... a great place for an outdoor breakfast or glass of wine while watching the sunset. And because this is the perfect Merida vacation rental, it even has a garage for your car! Look no further, Casa de Los Mosaicos is the perfect vacation home in Merida Mexico!

Where is this beautiful house, you might ask? Well, it is located in a very good neighborhood in the Centro Historico of Merida, which is the capital of the State of Yucatan in Mexico. Yucatan is one of three states on the Yucatan Peninsula. Merida is the largest city on the peninsula, and has been here for over 1000 years. The city is three hours west (by car) of Cancun, and a million miles away culturally. Merida was an important Mayan city before the Spaniards came to Mexico. Then it became an important colonial city... the Spaniards tore down the Mayan temples and used the stones to build the soaring Catholic cathedral (the oldest in Latin America) that graces the town square, or Plaza Grande.

Merida's weather is called tropical desert. This means it is hot and humid in the summertime, but warm and lovely in the winter months (about October to March). There are two rainy seasons: one in the late summer months, and one in the early part of the calendar year. Whenever it rains, it's usually just a shower that dissipates quickly, leaving a lovely clean city for you to enjoy.

The city of Merida houses more than a million souls, but you'd never know it... it is so tranquil, relaxed, friendly and safe. Walking around the downtown area, you'll feel as if you've gone back in time and are walking around a small colonial town. There are many cultural events to enjoy that are free, as well as restaurants, bars, coffee shops, museums, shops, a zoo, movie theaters, a symphony, galleries, parks and much more... all within walking distance of Casa de Los Mosaicos!

Keywords: Merida vacation rental, Family Home, Colonial rental, Colonial rental in centro, centro historico, Merida Yucatan rental

More Details
Hide Details

Jane and I (Clive) are British and have been travelling since we were born, Jane in Malta and me in Montevideo. From then on we travelled the world separately - Jane to Malaysia, Singapore, New Zealand and the US, me to Spain, India, Iran, Kuwait, Greece and Peru. We got together in 1989 and just kept travelling, to Oman, Nigeria and in 2002 to Mexico City, where we spent 5 very happy years.

Jane is passionate about animals and animal conservation, while I am passionate (Jane would say obsessional!!) about fishing! But we also love travelling, going to the movies and the theatre, and taking in the odd pop/rock concert!

I have recently retired after working for over 30 years for an organisation called The British Council, but Jane is still soldiering on working for a British charity.

Jane and Clive Galton purchased this house in 2005

We moved to Mexico City in 2002 and fell in love with the country and its people, and in particular with Merida and its Mayan history and culture, which is still so alive and such an integral part of life here.

I should also add that, after so many years spent travelling, usually to warm places, Jane and I don't really do winters any more!! So we were looking for somewhere warm to escape to when the nights began to draw in in London, which is where we now spend a large part of our time. And Merida certainly fits that bill!

We love the beautiful old features of our house, the exquisite old tiles (we're told they are originally from Italy), the high high ceilinged rooms with their beams.

And we love being in the centre of the city, so that we can more or less walk everywhere and enjoy all the amenities that Merida has to offer without having to get into a car. One of our treats is to wander in to the centre to one of our favourite cafes for a leisurely Mexican breakfast, delicious! Or wander down to the Zocalo for a delicious home made coconut ice-cream!

But we also have our own garage (which is such a boon in Merida, where parking can be a problem) so we can jump into our car and head off to the beach if we want to.

And there is some wonderful saltwater fly fishing (remember I said I was passionate about fishing?!) to be had in a number of spots quite close to Merida - Campeche, Rio Lagartos, Progreso, San Felipe, Holbox.

29 Reviews of Property 147072 in Merida, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Colonial Home in THE BEST Centro location with Swimming Pool!
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
business
Colonial Home in THE BEST Centro location with Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147072vb
Merida Yucatan
Fort Lauderale, FL
5

The Best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This property lives up to the pictures. It is the quintessential Colonial home with all the character; the painted tiles and vibrant colors. Extra large modern kitchen with all conveniences. Intimate little courtyard which one passes through to get to the outside bedroom. It was all so secure and safe. We didn't have a car but the garage would have been great if we had.

Walked everywhere. We were fortunate to be there for the anniversary celebration of 400 plus years for the City of Merida. The City provided incredible entertainment every night. From the absolutely charming salsa dancing in a local square to concerts in the Plaza Principal, we were mesmerized. You can feel safe walking the streets at any time of the day or night. Walking home our last night at 11:30PM we happened upon Mariachis playing and singing to a young lady standing in the shadows of a doorway while her young man stood by. Couldn’t have been more romantic or beautiful. What a way to complete our stay.

As an owner of a small hotel in Fort Lauderdale, FL we understood the challenges of renting such a property. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating.

This should be your choice when visiting Merida.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Colonial Home in THE BEST Centro location with Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147072vb
Merida Yucatan
-
5

Exactly what you are looking for.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This property lived up to the pictures on VRBO. It is the quintessential Colonial home with all the character with the painted tiles and vibrant colors. Extra large modern kitchen with all conveniences. Intimate little courtyard which one passes through to get to the outside bedroom. It was all so secure and safe. We didn't have a car but the garage would have been great if we had. . You can feel safe walking the streets at any time of the day or night. Walking home our last night at 11:30PM we happened upon Mariachis playing and singing to a young lady standing in the shadows of a doorway while her young man stood by. Couldn’t have been more romantic or beautiful. What a way to complete our stay.

Walked everywhere. We were fortunate to be there for the anniversary celebration of 400 plus years for the City of Merida. The City provided incredible entertainment every night. From the absolutely charming salsa dancing in a local square to concerts in the Plaza Principal, we were mesmerized.

As an owner of a small hotel in Fort Lauderdale, FL we understood the challenges of renting such a property. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating.

This should be your choice when visiting Merida.
business
Colonial Home in THE BEST Centro location with Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147072vb
Merida Yucatan
Denver, Colorado
5

Great property in Merida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We recently stayed at this fantastic house for 9 days and had a terrific time. Our family consisted of my two in-laws (a sprightly 78 and 80 year old) as well as two children (8 and 9) in addition to my husband and myself. The listing was exactly as described; the house was very clean and well maintained. The management team, Andrea and Andy, were helpful and great to work with; if we had a problem (which were few and minor), they responded quickly. Jane, the property owner, was also so helpful in answering the numerous questions we peppered her with before we arrived. We elected not to rent a car, but the property is in a wonderful central location; we were close to all the major tourist areas as well as numerous restaurants. We walked several blocks to the bus terminal and even made a long trip to the Merida zoo/amusement park (although my in-laws and kids decided to take a taxi home!). We made a few trips out of Merida and simply took the second class buses from the nearest bus terminal (a true slice of Mexican life). We were close to several supermarkets and having the kitchen worked well for our family (especially for breakfast). The area where the home is located is quite safe; I grew up near New York City (and lived in the city for a while) and I felt safer walking around the neighborhood in Merida than I did in NYC. That said, we were never out past 11:00 pm but we were routinely walking around after dark. The dipping pool was an endless source of amusement for the kids. The pool does get deep, so this might not be the best place for very small children. Likewise, the furniture is lovely and older, so again, not the best place for smaller kids. The only, and I do mean only, caution I would make about the property is the traffic noise (which was fairly persistent even at night). Personally, I can sleep through anything, so it was not an issue for me, the kids or for my in-laws who slept off the courtyard. My husband is a light sleeper, so occasionally he would wake up at night when a truck or bus rolled past, although he felt that it was a small price to pay for such a great home. I mention it only if you are really bothered by traffic. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone. If we go to Merida for any lengthy stay, we would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Just a couple of comments to what is a great review.
1. We have had kids of all ages stay at the house with no problem but as mentioned by the reviewer, the dunk pool is deep at one end so young kids would need to be supervised. There is a shelf to sit on so that makes it easier. Some of the furniture is antique but again, we have had no problems with smaller kids.
2. The area is extremely safe, we live in London (UK) and Merida is as safe as houses, much safer than London!
3. Traffic at night is very light and we have no problems, but guess that if you are a light sleeper, maybe best to use ear plugs!
4. The house is very central so is great for walking and for guests without a car. However, there is a garage with the house so this is a real bonus if you want to rent a car and travel further afield.

We look forward to welcoming you to Casa de los Mosaicos.

Best wishes

Jane and Clive
business
Colonial Home in THE BEST Centro location with Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147072vb
Merida Yucatan
Denver, Colorado
5

Exceptional home in Merida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We recently stayed at this fantastic house for 9 days and had a terrific time. Our family consisted of my two in-laws (a sprightly 78 and 80 year old) as well as two children (8 and 9) in addition to my husband and myself.
The listing was exactly as described; the house was very clean and well maintained. The management team, Andrea and Andy, were helpful and great to work with; if we had a problem (which were few and minor), they responded quickly. Jane, the property owner, was also so helpful in answering the numerous questions we peppered her with before we arrived.
We elected not to rent a car, but the property is in a wonderful central location; we were close to all the major tourist areas as well as numerous restaurants. We walked several blocks to the bus terminal and even made a long trip to the Merida zoo/amusement park (although my in-laws and kids decided to take a taxi home!). We made a few trips out of Merida and simply took the second class buses from the nearest bus terminal (a true slice of Mexican life).
We were close to several supermarkets and having the kitchen worked well for our family (especially for breakfast).
The area where the home is located is quite safe; I grew up near New York City (and lived in the city for a while) and I felt safer walking around the neighborhood in Merida than I did in NYC. That said, we were never out past 11:00 pm but we were routinely walking around after dark.
The dipping pool was an endless source of amusement for the kids. The pool does get deep, so this might not be the best place for very small children. Likewise, the furniture is lovely and older, so again, not the best place for smaller kids.
The only, and I do mean only, caution I would make about the property is the traffic noise (which was fairly persistent even at night). Personally, I can sleep through anything, so it was not an issue for me, the kids or for my in-laws who slept off the courtyard. My husband is a light sleeper, so occasionally he would wake up at night when a truck or bus rolled past, although he felt that it was a small price to pay for such a great home. I mention it only if you are really bothered by traffic.
I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone. If we go to Merida for any lengthy stay, we would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Hi there

The review is great but I just wanted to make a couple of comments on the noise comments and recommended ages.

The house is very well located in the colonial part of Merida and therefore is great if you do not want to rent a car. If you do decide to do so however, there is a garage with an automatic door which is a real bonus as street parking is difficult.

Being so central, there is traffic during the day but once in the house, the noise does not impinge. At night, heavy traffic is rare.

The house is suitable for all ages although small children who cannot swim will need to be supervised when in the dunk pool as it is deep. It was built this way so it could be a place to have a really good soak!

I hope that you will try out the house in the future.

With best wishes for a happy 2014.

Jane and Clive
business
Colonial Home in THE BEST Centro location with Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147072vb
Merida Yucatan
Cumming, GA
5

Great Stay in Merida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We spent 8 days in Merida with my wife and 2 children (7 and 11). The house was wonderful. We had modern appliances and the property is clean and well maintained. We were met by the management team on time as promised. She was very friendly and unobtrusive. We have travelled to different parts of Mexico and stayed in many different types of accommodations. This house is clean, clean, clean. The plunge pool was perfect for an afternoon dip. The garage was awesome. Although you can park on the streets, sometimes it won't be right in front of your house. Pulling right into a garage was awesome. The ceiling fan in the kitchen wasn't working when we arrived (NOT A BIG DEAL), but the management had workers there the next morning looking at it. It turned out to be a burned out fuse..hey, it happens. I can't blame anyone for that. The cool part about this house is that it is walkable to most of the places you would even think of walking to. The main square as well as others are only a few blocks walk without a need to drive to them. Even our 7 and 11 yo girls walked each day without complaining. When we went to Paseo Montejo, the Mayan Museum, the Mall, Progreso beach and the cenote outside of town, we did drive. There were many restaurants all within walking distance to the house. This city is safe and not once did we feel uncomfortable walking around at night with our children. There was theater, ballet, dancing, and flea markets on the weekend to walk to. We tried giving our children something new and unique this year; a trip to Mexico that was off the beaten tourist path. In other words, not just a beach with water in a tourist part of Mexico. We have done that before. The children learned a bit about true life in Mexico and for that we are grateful. After a week, they were screaming for the beach. We needed to remember they are 7 and 11 and wanted white sand and turquoise blue water too. In the end, we did drive back to Cancun and gave them 3 days of sand and ocean in a touristy hotel. That's ok though. This house and city would be a joy to visit for anyone, with or without kids. For those without kids...there is plenty to do and explore. The people in this city were always helpful and friendly. If you stay here with children, they will likely want to stay on the futon in the living room instead of the separate quarters across the courtyard. For two couples or those with older kids, the separate quarters may be a blessing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Colonial Home in THE BEST Centro location with Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147072vb
Merida Yucatan
Cumming, GA
5

Merida Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We spent 8 days in Merida with my wife and 2 children (7 and 11). The house was wonderful. We had modern appliances and the property is clean and well maintained. We were met by the management team on time as promised. She was very friendly and unobtrusive. We have travelled to different parts of Mexico and stayed in many different types of accommodations. This house is clean, clean, clean. The plunge pool was perfect for an afternoon dip. The garage was awesome. Although you can park on the streets, sometimes it won't be right in front of your house. Pulling right into a garage was awesome. The ceiling fan in the kitchen wasn't working when we arrived (NOT A BIG DEAL), but the management had workers there the next morning looking at it. It turned out to be a burned out fuse..hey, it happens. I can't blame anyone for that. The cool part about this house is that it is walkable to most of the places you would even think of walking to. The main square as well as others are only a few blocks walk without a need to drive to them. Even our 7 and 11 yo girls walked each day without complaining. When we went to Paseo Montejo, the Mayan Museum, the Mall, Progreso beach and the cenote outside of town, we did drive. There were many restaurants all within walking distance to the house. This city is safe and not once did we feel uncomfortable walking around at night with our children. There was theater, ballet, dancing, and flea markets on the weekend to walk to. We tried giving our children something new and unique this year; a trip to Mexico that was off the beaten tourist path. In other words, not just a beach with water in a tourist part of Mexico. We have done that before. The children learned a bit about true life in Mexico and for that we are grateful. After a week, they were screaming for the beach. We needed to remember they are 7 and 11 and wanted white sand and turquoise blue water too. In the end, we did drive back to Cancun and gave them 3 days of sand and ocean in a touristy hotel. That's ok though. This house and city would be a joy to visit for anyone, with or without kids. For those without kids...there is plenty to do and explore. The people in this city were always helpful and friendly. If you stay here with children, they will likely want to stay on the futon in the living room instead of the separate quarters across the courtyard. For two couples or those with older kids, the separate quarters may be a blessing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Colonial Home in THE BEST Centro location with Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147072vb
Merida Yucatan
Davidsonville, Maryland
5

A Lovely Home ...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We found a gem in Merida! We've been to this fasinating city several times, staying in one room hotels, paying more that we did for this gorgeous home. You'll want for nothing here. The home itself is charming, with state of the art appliances. It's rare to find a washer/dryer, and dishwasher, but you've got it all here. The courtyard is so inviting, with the plunge pool, lounge chairs, etc. It was also great to have our car in the garage. Parking on the streets can be a challenge, so no worries about that. The location of the home couldn't be more convenient, for touring the heart of the city. The owner, and her team are awesome to work with. We will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Colonial Home in THE BEST Centro location with Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147072vb
Merida Yucatan
Davidsonville, Maryland
5

Simply Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We just spent a week in Merida, and couldn't have found a better place. This home is charming, and in the perfect location for getting around town. It is equipped with everything one would want. It's not often that you find a washer/dryer, and dishwasher in Mexico. We loved that. The garage is awesome, not having to worry about parking on the street. It cost more to stay in a one room hotel, than to rent this gorgeous home. We will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Colonial Home in THE BEST Centro location with Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147072vb
Merida Yucatan
Baudette, Minnesota USA
5

Beautiful Colonial Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Casa de los Mosaicos for 9 days in March. This colonial house is exactly as described with the high ceilings and all the comforts of home (wi-fi, stereo, large TV, satellite/cable, furnished kitchen, washer, dryer and outside patio with plunge pool). I can't think of anything that was missing! The house was in a perfect location for exploring the city on foot with many restaurants and sites near by-however it has a garage for those who will be driving. Both the owners and property manager were very friendly and prompt with any questions or requests. We have traveled in Mexico for many years but Merida was a special find with the historical significance and the colonial architecture. We felt completely safe exploring the many cultural events and sites. I would encourage everyone to inquire about the availability of Casa de los Mosaicos. You can't compare staying at this beautiful home to a room in a hotel which often costs the same or more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Colonial Home in THE BEST Centro location with Swimming Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147072vb
Merida Yucatan
Baudette, Minnesota USA
5

Beautiful Colonial Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Casa de los Mosaicos for 9 days in March. This colonial house is exactly as described with the high ceilings and all the comforts of home (wi-fi, stereo, large TV, satellite/cable, furnished kitchen, washer, dryer and outside patio with plunge pool). I can't think of anything that was missing! The house was in a perfect location for exploring the city on foot with many restaurants and sites near by-however it has a garage for those who will be driving. Both the owners and property manager were very friendly and prompt with any questions or requests. We have traveled in Mexico for many years but Merida was a special find with the historical significance and the colonial architecture. We felt completely safe exploring the many cultural events and sites. I would encourage everyone to inquire about the availability of Casa de los Mosaicos. You can't compare staying at this beautiful home to a room in a hotel which often costs the same or more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway