Puako house rental - The lanai and view from the additional master suite
The lanai and view from the additional master suite
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Puako House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Reef House Puako is a true old Hawaii getaway right on the blue Pacific Ocean. Snorkel with sea turtles from the sand and lava beach, explore tide pools, lounge in hammocks under the palms, watch for a green flash sunset, or just hang out at the two blue cottages with ocean and Maui views from almost every window. This will be a place you'll never want to leave.

In a grove of nine coconut palms, below spreading kamani and beach heliotrope, the original 1 bedroom/1 bath cottage accommodates a family of four (two adults, and 2 small children) who would sleep on small 'punees' in the living area).

This delightful, redwood-paneled beach house has Hawaiian and Asian art, a well-equipped kitchen, garden shower, dining area with an antique curly koa table seating, and sweeping ocean and Maui views from almost every window. The entire downstairs of the separate second cottage is a master suite, with bath and garden shower, for a second couple in your family. The suite is NEVER rented to another party during your stay. A private owner's apartment is upstairs but is rarely occupied.

Sorry but, no parties, weddings or large gatherings

This home is managed on behalf of the owners, by Mary Fox, R(B) 2 Papayas, LLC. Mary holds an active real estate broker's license in the State of Hawaii.

Keywords: beach house, Puako beach house, 2 bedroom house, oceanside house, Puako cottage, family house

More Details
Hide Details

Aloha, I am Mary Fox, R (B) and owner of 2 Papayas, LLC. I manage this wonderful Puako home on behalf of the Owners. I would love to help you and your family find the perfect home for your stay on the Big Island. I am a Puako resident, myself, so I am available to greet you upon arrival, answer any questions you may have, or attend to any concerns or requests that may arise during your stay. Until we meet in Paradise....

29 Reviews of Property 146931 in Puako, Hawaii

Beautiful Oceanfront Puako Home
average rating of 4.965517 based on 29 reviews
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Puako Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146931vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
5

This is THE BEST of THE BEST!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
THE BEST part of our week's vacation on The Big Island were the morning cups of coffee as we lavished ourselves in the splendid view of the rolling waves (from our ocean-front lawn)...and being in the same place with a margareta in our hands and watching the sunset for thirty minutes. We enjoyed all the other top rated "hot-spots" on the island, according to Trip Adviser, but the best moments of each day were at the beach at our home on the water. We are a fastidious user of Trip Adviser and this home on the beach was THE BEST. Ed and Jan from Seattle
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Puako Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146931vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
5

Love the Reef House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was our second stay at the Reef House. We absolutely love Puako and this house is one of our favorites. It has fabulous ocean views - turtles on the rocks all day, every day. It is a very comfortable home with plenty of amenities and a wonderful layout. Feels much bigger than many of the others in the neighborhood. Mary and Robbie are so very helpful with reservations and any needs while in town. The owners were in residence while we were there, but the property still felt very private and secluded. Our only suggestion to make the home perfect would be a gas grill to make cooking at the home easier.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Puako Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146931vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Oregon
4

Couldnt ask for more

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Mary and the 2 papayas crew are the best ive rented through so far. The house was as advertised. No surprises. A very nice home. A tad bit noisy in the bedroom close to the road, and the shoreline access was busy at times til 3 a.m.. That being said, i live in the country with no neighbors and no noise so anything would be noise to me. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone looking for an escape from the resort hassle. Whales and turtles everywhere, no need to leave the yard.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Puako Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146931vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Boulder
5

A lifetime high

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Whales breaching in front of our eyes, turtles resting at our feet, nothing between us and the Pacific sunset. The house is simple but perfect. The venue is incomparable. I don't think we've ever been so relaxed as at the Reef House. If you prefer an outdoor shower to a resort hotel, this will feel like both home and paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Puako Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146931vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Anchorage, Alaska
5

Lesley

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
It was our second stay at the Reef House. We love the character of an older Hawaiian home and the outdoor shower. The highlight however is the view - of the water, the whales, the tide pools, the turtles and the North Kohala mountains. Most days we start out thinking we will go find a beach, only to decide there is nothing better than just sitting on the grass overlooking the ocean, right where we are! AND no one takes care of you like 2Papayas - it is our 7th year coming back, they make every vacation a DREAM come true!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Puako Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146931vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Grand Junction, CO
5

Wonderful Stay at the Reef House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This house was perfect for us. Small and simple, but with everything we needed. Great kitchen, and our two kids, 5 and 7, were very comfortable on the couch/beds. Our bed was very comfortable. We loved having a yard and hammocks, and the outdoor shower! We saw turtles constantly, and had a good time snorkeling with them. Great to be just down the street from the General Store. Beautiful views and a great section of reef, and only a few minutes drive to other great beaches (recommend Hapuna and 69). Also you can go to the Mauna Kea and ask to go to the beach there, they have 40 public parking spaces. A bit quieter and smaller than Hapuna.

Mary and Robbie were excellent too and we would definitely rent from them, and rent this house again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Puako Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146931vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
California
5

The Reef House in Puako was Perfectly Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our stay at the Reef House - Aug. 31-Sept. 7 - was perfect. The cottage had all the charm and comfort as the pictures implied and our experience confiirmed. The soothing teal, aqua and blue hues of the furnishings seemed to bring the outdoors in on the tropical breezes which added to the relaxation factor immensely. The beds are comfy, and the fully supplied kitchen made it easy to fix a snack, meal or happy hour at our leisure. We found the outdoor shower to be equally refreshing and actually a convenience to each other because there was no taking up the entire bathroom for ever nor having to endure a steamy room on a summer day! As for the owner in residence - we would never have known he was there. Fact is, we met more people on the beach and at the shore access point next door. We always felt like we had complete privacy and it was "our place' for the week. If this note in the rental info makes you hesitate renting - please reconsider. Reef House is a charming comfortable gem of a cottage, and with turtles greeting you each morning on the shore, and beautiful sunsets at night it's a can't miss. Mary & Robbie gave us fantastic local info like the pie lady at the Sat. Waimea farmer's market, the awesome snorkeling beach in Kona, Kanalu'u, and through the info book they put together we chose the Blue Dragon Musiquarium for dinner and it too was fantastic. The cottage has plenty of outdoor lounge chairs, a weber bbq, boogie boards, snorkel gear, beach chairs, beach towels - they made it all to easy to enjoy our stay. It really gave us an islander's feel for the Big Island. It truly is paradise - so what's not to like? We will definitely be back - and next time will bring our kids (or not - Reef House is also a very romantic get away)! Aloha and Mahalo for a great vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Puako Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146931vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Oakland, California
5

Wonderful Location - Charming Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was a great place to stay in Puako. Beautiful and amazing sunsets, wonderful climate, nice amenities. We loved the turtles and the fish. Great snorkeling and great beaches near by!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Puako Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146931vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Victoria
5

Australian family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Reef House was everything the resorts aren't - outdoor shower was a wonderful Hawaiian experience/ turtles choosing to bask on the rocks/ peace in the garden hammock (teenager was so excited, she tried sleeping in the hammock stretched between palm trees our first night)/ solitary beach walks from the house/ as we breakfasted, we witnessed a local family was scattering petals in the rockpools to in memory of family members who had holidayed in Puako half a century ago/ equipped with ALL the home and holiday necessities/ 3 min drive to the superb beach 69. Mary, Robbie and Holly at 2Papayas would not have been more helpful - Mary was so pleasant and helpful when I had to contact her at her home re baggage that I had forgotten.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Oceanfront Puako Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146931vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Swarthmore, PA USA
5

Who can ask for more or better?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We stayed at the Reef House for a week and loved it (understatement) - in addition to its perfect location (ocean-front), it is perfectly furnished and appointed, with every possible need (kitchen, laundry, comfortable beds, good lighting, r&r amenities such as hammocks, etc., etc.) anticipated and met. The management is also wonderfully accessible and helpful. And it is a 2-minute walk from the glorious General Store, surely the best-stocked market per square foot in the northern hemisphere.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway