Duluth house rental - Direct Beach Access off the Backyard
Direct Beach Access off the Backyard
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Duluth House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12)

A 4+ Br, 2 bath historic Duluth beach cottage on Lake Superior's Park Point. Private direct access to the beach (there is no house between the cottage and the beach) and a view of the Superior Bay from the home and front deck; it is one of the best locations to take advantage of all that Park Point has to offer. The secluded backyard retreat features a Gazebo and the path to the beach for swimming and beach walks. Far from all of the public beach areas, it is like having your own private beach on 'Minnesota's Riveria.' The front deck is perfect for outdoor dining and watching sunsets on the bay. Five minutes from the historic Aerial Lift Bridge and Duluth's Canal Park and Downtown area. Five minutes from Sky Harbor Airport. Quick Access to the Scenic North Shore drive and hiking and sight seeing. Also quick access to Spirit Mountain Ski Resort. Free wireless internet on site. A perfect getaway for families, groups and couples!

Keywords: Vacation Home

I used to live in Duluth and much of my family is still there. Park Point brings back memories of the past every time I go there. Great beach and, depending on the wind that day, water temps in the 70's-80 degrees.

Has both direct beach access and a view of Superior Bay.

24 Reviews of Property 105146 in Duluth, Minnesota

Cottage on Park Point/Lake Superior with Direct Beach Access
average rating of 4.75 based on 24 reviews
business
Cottage on Park Point/Lake Superior with Direct Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105146vbi
612-802-4789
Duluth Minnesota
Stuart, Florida
5

Fun for All

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was our second time staying in this wonderful cottage on Park Point. Family and friends ages 24 – 70 all had a wonderful time. We walked the island and enjoyed the flowers. We sat on the balcony every morning with coffee and enjoyed the bay. Lake Superior was so crystal clear that even the Floridians among us enjoyed a swim.

We were having such a good time that we got a little loud one night. In the morning we apologized to the next door neighbor, Charlie. Charlie responded that he enjoyed hearing the laughter, that meant everyone was having a good time. Charlie even brought over homemade salsa and fresh corn.

We drove into Canal Park, a five minute drive, where we indulged in the restaurants, shops, and breweries. We also spent time in close by Enger Park. Several times we took a trip up the North Shore to enjoy lake views from Two Harbors, Gooseberry Falls, Split Rock, and Palisade Head.

The cabin is roomy, well situated, and more than met our expectations. The property description is accurate and the neighborhood is beautiful, beachy and friendly

We love this place and hope to come back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We love hearing that! Thanks for the great review!
business
Cottage on Park Point/Lake Superior with Direct Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105146vbi
612-802-4789
Duluth Minnesota
Ham Lake, MN
4

Location is Eveything-

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Six of girls just returned from a girls weekend our ages are from 35 to 65 so location and fun stuff around us was a must which this cabin had everything for location. The beach was very nice could maybe clear the walking path a little better. We did not have a good time with a very "mean neighbor". Three of the girls started a fire at 7 pm in what was already a fire pit on the beach the neighbor we think lived two doors down came down and yelled put the fire out and said that the landlord of our cabin is a liar it was just very un called for his behavior even pointing his figure in my 65 year old mother face... than he left and decided to call the cops on our "little fire" which she was a very nice lady I have a feeling it was not the first time she got a call from that neighbor. I really liked the cabin very nice and clean but couple of things to think about six women four days only two rolls of toliet paper had to take trip to walmart. Also we where half way down grilling our dinner then the propane ran out.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: I am glad that I can address this issue. The beach all along Park Point is the City of Duluth Park property and it is illegal to have fires on the beach (Duluth City Ord. 35-7. Setting fires prohibited). When I grew up in Duluth, it was common to do it, but not allowed by the park's code. Many of the residents on the Point will have fires and you can see them dotting the beach if you go out there. I have neighbors several houses down on both side who are "on fire" about the fires. According to the Duluth Police Officer who is the community liaison for the Point, it has become a problem with many of the vacation rentals, especially those that are closer to the bridge where the houses are closer to the beach and they have been contacting owners to get the message out to renters to not have fires on the beach. I considered having a fire pit on the property, but if the smoke bothered the neighbors, that would lead to another call by the police and the renters would be required to put the fire out. Until the ordinance changes, we sit on the deck and watch the bay. Last July, a group of us took advantage of some warm water and swam at the beach until almost 10pm (sans fire).

With regard to the toilet paper, I had a person filling in for the regular cleaning person, who normally puts out a spare roll in each bathroom. I will get word to her the next time she fills in. I'm glad to hear that she did a good job cleaning besides that.

I've thought about putting a spare tank of propane, but realized that during the summer someone would be stuck with two empty tanks in the middle of grilling. The best I can do is provide the tank and reimburse renters for replacements.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottage on Park Point/Lake Superior with Direct Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105146vbi
612-802-4789
Duluth Minnesota
Bemidji, Minnesota
1

girls trip,

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This property is deceitfully advertised and the present condition makes it very overpriced. It was very dirty, many broken fixtures ,leaky faucet, false advertising as to extra sleeping area,gazebo, This was a very musty area and the sofa bed unuseable. Totally unkept from inside out. The yard hasn't been cared for probabably the season. Not very much positive except it does have potential to be a lovely property.Right now it just looks to be an abandon piece of property collecting way too much for rent.
Owner's Response: We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and have evaluated the property based on your comments and made the necessary improvements. As you can tell by our previous responses, we have worked hard to make this property a good place to stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottage on Park Point/Lake Superior with Direct Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105146vbi
612-802-4789
Duluth Minnesota
Stuart, Florida
5

Something for Everyone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We spent a wonderful week at the Cottage on Park Point with three generations of family and friends and loved every minute. The cabin location is ideal. It is in a relaxed quiet beach community yet close to Canal Park restaurants and a short drive to hiking at Gooseberry Falls and breath taking views at Split Rock. Every morning we sat on the deck drinking coffee and watching bicyclers, joggers, and kayakers on Superior Bay. Every evening we walked down the wooded path to the beach to enjoy the Lake Superior Shore.
The cabin is roomy, comfy, and fully stocked with dishes, sheets, towels, and more. The cabin also comes with great neighbors. We plan to go back next year just so we can get some more of Charlie’s homemade salsa!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the five star review. We are glad you had a great stay. Hope to see you next year!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Cottage on Park Point/Lake Superior with Direct Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105146vbi
612-802-4789
Duluth Minnesota
Brooklyn Park
5

review of Cottage on the Point.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Wonderful place to stay. Much like a home that you would want to live in. Has everything that makes a house a home. Will, for sure, stay there again. Lovely folks to work with as far a renters. 4 gals who go away every year, this was one of the very best we have stayed at in 18 years. Book it!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are glad that we met your expectations. Thanks for the great review!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Cottage on Park Point/Lake Superior with Direct Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105146vbi
612-802-4789
Duluth Minnesota
Bemidji, MN
5

As advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
I have to admit I was very nervous and skeptical as this was my first time renting through this website. I shouldnt have been - the house was as advertised.

Owners were very prompt and courteous in answering all my questions prior to our stay.
You enter under the deck area into a nice large mudroom type laundry area. The washer and dryers are great and detergent is provided. There are 2 bedrooms and a bath on that floor, beyond a door. Bedrooms were nicely sized, and the bath between was shared by my teenagers. Both bedrooms had their own TV. Up a flight of stairs to the upper level is a nice kitchen (complete with knife block, dishes, everything you need to cook including rice cooker, toaster, blender, microwave, dishwasher, coffeepot, coffee grinder). Large dining table - beautiful living room that opens to a nice deck. Grill on deck. Master bedroom included a futon that our youngest slept on.
Everything was very clean. Lots of towels and extra linens, pillows and blankets for the futon. Plently of linens for the kitchen.
Gazebo was just out the door of the kitchen - nice little getaway with pull out couch, chairs, electric fireplace and TV.
Best of all in my opinion was the short walk through the yard and down a short wooded path to the beach. Very private - hardly anyone else around. Great sandy beach. Wonderful place to sit and unwind and watch the boats come in. Great at night to sit and listen to the waves.
Very short drives to Vista Boat cruises, Railroad museum, IMAX, etc. Nice large park short way down the road with more beaches and play areas.
Some very small cons - awning over deck was coming apart so we didnt want to use in case something happened to it. Screen door to deck had tear in it and came off track - but that happens too so really no big deal. Recycle bins and garbage was already full from prior guests so we just bagged up our garbage and brought it home. All very minor points.
Overall very great place to stay - we made some great memories there.
Thank you for opening your house up and allowing others the chance to experience such a great lifestyle! I would definately love to bring my family back for a visit another year.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the comment. We appreciate that!

We installed a brand new screen door three months ago and was very surprised to hear that the screen door to deck had already tear in it and came off track. We will fix the screen door as well as awning as soon as possible. Per contract, it is the tenant's responsibility to ensure that the trash bin gets set out at the curb before check out time. We are very sorry to hear about the recycle bins and garbage.

We are just hoping if the tenants who stay at this property take a little ownership and take care of the place, everyone will enjoy the house and bring good memories back home.

We just refunded your deposit back to the credit card that you provided. Again, thanks for the lovely comment and have a great Summer!

Gina
Helpful votes: 10/11
business
Cottage on Park Point/Lake Superior with Direct Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105146vbi
612-802-4789
Duluth Minnesota
Chanhassen, MN
5

Guestbook Comment

I had been to Duluth a handful of times and always enjoyed the scenery. Of all place I've stayed, this was my favorite. With the bay on one sid...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
I had been to Duluth a handful of times and always enjoyed the scenery. Of all place I've stayed, this was my favorite. With the bay on one side and the lake on the other it was quite the scene! It was a nice quiet getaway, but we were just minutes from downtown Duluth.

The cabin was huge! A perfect spot for a big group or just a few. I hope to get up there again in the summer to enjoy the lake when its warm!
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Cottage on Park Point/Lake Superior with Direct Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105146vbi
612-802-4789
Duluth Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
5

Guestbook Comment

The Duluth cabin was both comfortable and convenient for a weekend away from the city. It offered a beautiful view with the amenities of being at hom...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
The Duluth cabin was both comfortable and convenient for a weekend away from the city. It offered a beautiful view with the amenities of being at home. I will certainly return to "The Duluth Cabin" soon with the knowledge of a weekend well spent!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Cottage on Park Point/Lake Superior with Direct Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105146vbi
612-802-4789
Duluth Minnesota
Becker, MN
5

Guestbook Comment

I had a great time at the cabin. I was shocked when I saw how much room there was. I definitely will be bringing the family up. The property was cl...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
I had a great time at the cabin. I was shocked when I saw how much room there was. I definitely will be bringing the family up. The property was clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed the gazebo. The way the gazebo is set up it’s a nice little getaway. If you like to have some quiet time.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cottage on Park Point/Lake Superior with Direct Beach Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p105146vbi
612-802-4789
Duluth Minnesota
Maple Grove, MN
5

Guestbook Comment

I have stayed here at this location several times now, and each time has been a wonderfully relaxing experience. The nicely appointed rooms offer a we...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
I have stayed here at this location several times now, and each time has been a wonderfully relaxing experience. The nicely appointed rooms offer a welcoming warmth that when coupled with the cozy heated gazebo and gas fireplace in the living room are second to none. It is a Duluth getaway at the its highest level of enjoyment. Scenic Canal Park and access to many restaurants is just minutes away, as is the historic and legendary Duluth Lift Bridge, approaching its 100th year of service. Call or email today to reserve your weekend and experience the flavor of Duluth!
Helpful votes: 2/2