Kealakekua Bay apartment rental - Front door
Front door
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kealakekua Bay Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, Studio + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Come enjoy this studio in our historic house (Carol's House) located literally across the street from Kealakekua Bay. Kealakekua, which means 'pathway of the gods', is the location where Captain James T. Cook first made contact with the native Hawaiians in 1778. Accounts of this historical time include a monument and actual crater in the side of the cliff created by Cook's cannonballs. You may kayak about one mile across the bay to the monument and view the craters on your way.

Today, Kealakekua Bay is a pristine wildlife sanctuary which boast dolphins, turtles, the occasional whale, and a multitude of tropical fish. It is considered to be one of the best snorkeling areas in the world. Local kayak, scuba and snorkel gear rentals.

4 miles to Pu'uhonua O Honaunau National Park, also known as the ancient City of Refuge. 'Two step' is another fantastic snorkeling spot nearby.

Groceries, restaurants, galleries etc within 5 to 10 miles.

It is 10 miles to Keauhou, where you can enjoy tennis, golfing, shopping, restaurants, and another 5 miles to Kailua-Kona. Take a day trip and enjoy Volcano National Park or the astronomy center on Mauna Kea (elev. 13,796)

All modern amenities are included. Family friendly!

Keywords: Studio apartment in house

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 146524 in Kealakekua Bay, Hawaii

Every Conceivable Beach Activity in Kona, Hawaii
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
business
Every Conceivable Beach Activity in Kona, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146524vbi
(808) 328-9982
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Washington
5

over the hill

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The studio is small but very nice to stay in. The local people are great, take time to get to know your neighbors, they will help you out. The fish and clear water is outstanding , the best snorkeling any where in Hawaii. Fun watching all the birds in the yard too. Will stay again love the house and yard.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Every Conceivable Beach Activity in Kona, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146524vbi
(808) 328-9982
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Emeryville, CA
4

Great location for exploring the Kona coast

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The studio was very clean with all the amenities you need. We went to two step for some amazing snorkeling! Be sure to have snorkel gear before you make the drive from the main highway down the hill to the studio. The studio is in a great location, literally across the street from the bay, so you can do lots around the area as described in the listing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Every Conceivable Beach Activity in Kona, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146524vbi
(808) 328-9982
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Grayslake, IL
5

Very nice place with every amenity in a special location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
My wife and I loved staying at Carol's place. We wished we could have stayed longer. We had every amenity and Carol was very helpful to make her place feel like home.

We loved kayaking to Captain Cook's Monument for the best snorkeling on the island. Kealakua Bay also has spinner dolphins. Stop by the Coffee plantation for tour and some samples as well as buy shaved ice next store. 2 Step for snorkling and City of Refuge are about 10 minutes drive. Hookena is about 20 minutes away and is a nice black sand beach. Kona is about 30 minutes away.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Every Conceivable Beach Activity in Kona, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146524vbi
(808) 328-9982
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
La Canada Flintridge, CA
5

Excellent location to explore, snorkel, kayak, hike

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
So many attractions are close at hand here. You can launch a kayak right across the street, for a paddle to Cook Monument. The snorkeling was superb near the haul-out area. The city of refuge is a few miles down the coast, and Honaunau Bay also has excellent snorkelling. The City of Arches walk along the coast has very interesting lava formations. (Wear sturdy shoes, and a hat.) Kona is close for shopping. Carol's studio is small, but comfortable, and the minimal kitchen is still adequate if you choose to cook in. We had a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Every Conceivable Beach Activity in Kona, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146524vbi
(808) 328-9982
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Chandler, AZ,
4

Nice location, Good to Excellent

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Thanks Carol, I liked staying at your place. Great access to the ocean. Great access to go to Captain Cook monument. Great assistance from the locals launcing the Kayak at the pier, and you can't beat the price!
Mahalo, Carl
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Every Conceivable Beach Activity in Kona, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146524vbi
(808) 328-9982
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Wausau, WI
5

We'd Love to Return...

We'd Love to Return...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
The Big Island is our favorite of the Hawaiian Islands, and this place became our favorite place to stay after spending a week in the studio apartment. It's close to wonderful snorkeling at Kealakeakua Bay and a short drive away from Honaunau. The studio apartment was comfortable, clean, and well-equipped. Carol made sure we had everything we needed and spent a good deal of time answering our many questions. We really enjoyed being able to walk to lovely beaches, relaxing outdoors and hearing the surf, watching the birds and other creatures, and being surrounded by amazing plants and flowers. We've no hesitation about recommending this place and hope to return before too long ourselves.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Every Conceivable Beach Activity in Kona, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146524vbi
(808) 328-9982
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Vancouver, WA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Carol's house is great. We stayed 3 nights in the studio apt. LOVED the outdoor shower and used it everyday. Great location for kayaking and snorkeling to Cap't Cook. We had whales come pretty close to our kayak and swam with a monk seal by the monument. Staying in the Cap't Cook area, you also have the "Place of Refuge" right down the street. These are considered the 2 best snorkeling areas in ALL of the Hawaiian islands. Carol is a great host, super friendly and was right there to make sure we had everything we needed. Would recomend to others easily and will be back (soon, I hope!!).
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Every Conceivable Beach Activity in Kona, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146524vbi
(808) 328-9982
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
pacific grove, ca
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Carol's studio was comfortable and had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. We were able to walk down to the beach ,1/2 block, to watch for dolphins in the morning and view the sunsets in the evening.Kayaks are available right there for going across the bay to Captain Cook monument and fantastic snorkeling. It's a great base for going to other spots on the island and Carol is a great hostess, full of interesting local information.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Every Conceivable Beach Activity in Kona, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146524vbi
(808) 328-9982
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
North Vancouver
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
The studio is small but well-designed for maximum
use of space (the bed is sideways) and it has
everything you'd need. Toaster oven, microwave
and kettle (thanks Carol for buying one for us, tea
just isn't the same from a microwave). The main
attraction here is the location, just steps from the
kayak launch to the Captain Cook monument, and
close to 2-step, the best diving and snorkelling on
the island. We saw dolphins and humpback whales
from the rocks every day. It's a bit noisy in the
morning with the kayak-renters, and the walls are
a little thin so you hear other house occupants
moving around (and snoring) but it was not a
problem. Take earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
Carol is a great host.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Every Conceivable Beach Activity in Kona, Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146524vbi
(808) 328-9982
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Worthing, Sussex, England
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Completely lucked out with this great accommadation! Such a beautiful spot a gem of the Island. Carole was a fantastic host and very helpful. This place is great for spending a few days or a full vacation. I cannot wait to go again and spend time at Carole's House. Many thanks Carole, see you again soon, Sue from England.
Helpful votes: 2/3